View Full Version : Roddy Collins
12/01/2006, 12:02 PM
Anyone see the back page of the Herald today ?
He's moved into Gealic Management ! Fairview's St. Joesphs, he said he wants to lead them to Croker :D
12/01/2006, 12:08 PM
Is this some sort of píss take??
Will you scan the back page and host it somewhere because I need something to make me laugh??
12/01/2006, 12:09 PM
Brilliant....I say give him the GAA Presidents Job and see if he can bankrupt them.....
More Gah heads will then see the light and come to the eL for some real football.:D
12/01/2006, 12:14 PM
Brilliant ! You've gotta give Roddy Collins credit for persistence and an all-consuming self-belief !
You couldn't invent a character like him ! He's blown his shot at football, so now he's moved onto GAA - using the same 'all the way to Croker'-type hype that he used to intoxicate clubs in the Eircom League and English Championship.
Will the bookies take bets on how many sports/teams he can burn his way through before he finally reaches his nirvana, or surfaces as a PE Teacher ?
i'd have roddy collins in the eire job before stan and laurel
12/01/2006, 12:22 PM
GAA ?? your joking me !!
12/01/2006, 12:55 PM
GAA ?? your joking me !!
Honest to god, i nearly choked on me sambo reading it ! and i quote
"Well nobody in the eircom league was on the phone so i asked myself, whats the biggest sport in this country ? and thats mamaging a team to an all-ireland final in croker"
The man is insane ! Apperently there the GAA club Richie Foran used to play for......
(no scanner so can't scan it in)
12/01/2006, 12:57 PM
That guy is just unreal, non-stop comedy from him all the time !!
Fair play Rodders !!
12/01/2006, 12:58 PM
Honest to god, i nearly choked on me sambo reading it ! and i quote
"Well nobody in the eircom league was on the phone so i asked myself, whats the biggest sport in this country ? and thats mamaging a team to an all-ireland final in croker"
The man is insane ! Apperently there the GAA club Richie Foran used to play for......
(no scanner so can't scan it in)
Ah but he did laugh at the end of that sentence so at least he knows he's insane!!
sonofstan
12/01/2006, 1:11 PM
Funny, but I was wondering the other night if any GAA managers ever fancied doing a Clive Woodward (or indeed if any have?) Mickey Harte for Ireland? (after 6 months training as Rico's side kick)
12/01/2006, 1:14 PM
Who is Mickey Harte?
Story is probably a pile of sh*t, but I hope its true. The G.A.A. can have the c*nt if it keeps him outta the League of Ireland
12/01/2006, 1:17 PM
The bloke who sang for Ireland at the Eurovision Song Contest!! :D :p :D
12/01/2006, 1:26 PM
The bloke who sang for Ireland at the Eurovision Song Contest!!
Oh right.
I suppose if he has the right back-up he'd be ok. :p
12/01/2006, 1:29 PM
Who is Mickey Harte?
To be fair - more people in the country are likely to need to ask "Who are Bohemian FC" than 'Who is Mickey Harte'.... !
12/01/2006, 1:33 PM
I am only having you on bohdiddley - afaik he is the Tyrone manager???
*BohDiddley hears the penny drop*
12/01/2006, 1:34 PM
Roddy doesnt sound like a GAA head. Its going to be very funny watching him trying to motivate the players and watch his subs etc.
12/01/2006, 1:39 PM
Originally posted by thejollyrodger
Roddy doesnt sound like a GAA head.
Are you serious - he never shuts the fcuk up about the Dubs!
If you read his weekly column in the Star you will know what I'm on about!
"Ah the aul hill was bleedin' rapid tis afternoon' - wen ta Cusack's befur ta game, had a few pints and a couple of ham sambos. Ah aul Maeve makes ta bestest ham sambos goin"
Obviously not that extreme but he never shuts up about his "sambos" though!
sonofstan
12/01/2006, 2:21 PM
To be fair - more people in the country are likely to need to ask "Who are Bohemian FC" than 'Who is Mickey Harte'.... !
think you got a bite, BD
12/01/2006, 2:23 PM
think you got a bite, BD
D'oh ! Though think you have an awareness issue, SOS..... :D
12/01/2006, 2:36 PM
If you're the son of stan, does that mean you're the grandson of Mick and the great grandson of Jack???
Den Perry will understand. :D
sonofstan
12/01/2006, 3:18 PM
Though think you have an awareness issue, SOS..... :D obviously i do ... you're going to have to explain that
12/01/2006, 3:52 PM
Roddy doesnt sound like a GAA head.
According to a well known kit manufacurer and former boss of Roddy's, he applied for 18 GAA jobs before getting the Dublin City job. This was told to me by the man himself in the jax of the Horse and Jockey. Apart from the strange location and the fact that the man has a grudge against Roddy (don't we all?) I sort of believed him.
Any bloke that wears a tie with Chewbacca & R2D2 on it to a business meeting has to be believed!! Surely??!!:(
hamish
12/01/2006, 4:16 PM
Are Roddy Collins and George Galloway related??:D
12/01/2006, 4:32 PM
roddy is good for entertainment value at least. wonder what his next wild&wacky adventure will be? second hand car saleman?
12/01/2006, 4:33 PM
Any bloke that wears a tie with Chewbacca & R2D2 on it to a business meeting has to be believed!! Surely??!!:(
I'd forgotten that you were at that meeting the jax in the H & J too. Our man in the stupid tie was ever so slightly bitter about Roddy to say the least.
Good Luck to Roddy.........I can say that mainly because he's now a safe distance away from the Eircom League
12/01/2006, 5:46 PM
I am only having you on bohdiddley - afaik he is the Tyrone manager???
*BohDiddley hears the penny drop* :eek:
Sweet! :D
Hook, line and sinker.
Roverstillidie
12/01/2006, 5:48 PM
apparently roderick got an interview for the westmeath bigotball job but they gave it to paudi o'shea......
Mayo Red
12/01/2006, 8:32 PM
Apparently, Carlton Palmer has signed for St. Josephs GAA Club on a one year deal. In an interview given to Gerry McDermott of the Irish Independent, Roddy stated that Palmer, who will Captain the side was signed to provide much needed experience and leadership to St. Josephs rearguard. Roddy is quoted as saying "Carlton is a great lad and while his fielding skills may be a little rusty, there are few in the game who can head an O'Neills like him. I want him to be a leader both on the pitch and in the dressing room".
It is believed that Palmers services were secured by St Josephs for a nominal fee, after Roddy traded in his Mercedes in a show of loyalty to his new club. Palmer had quit as Mansfield Town boss in September after a poor run of form which saw his team slip to third from bottom in League Two. According to sources, he is believed to be looking forward to his new challenge. Roddy also announced that he is on the look out for more players in the U.K., and that his brother Steve will become his First Team Fitness Coach, Minder, and Waterboy. ;) :D
12/01/2006, 10:33 PM
obviously i do ... you're going to have to explain that
It was to do with the fact more Irish people would've heard of Mickey Harte than Bohemian FC - hence the awareness issue.
13/01/2006, 9:31 AM
It was to do with the fact more Irish people would've heard of Mickey Harte than Bohemian FC - hence the awareness issue.
More's the pity. BTW, did anyone catch a glimpse of a clip of the bigotball*-loving greats of RTE -- Michael Lester (Lister?) etc., getting a bit of exercise and craic recently? I just caught the end -- think it was some health promotion of the 'getting active' variety. What sport do you think they were playing: that of Mickey Harte or BFC? Answers on a postcard to Bigotball (and soccer when it's at a nice safe distance) Department, RTE, Dublin 4.
* My favourite new word. With thanks to one of our new contributors from Div 1. Nice to be able to agree on something.
Special disclosure for Raheny Red (for whom it seems that penny is still slo-mo-ing to the floor): this one's hook-free. ;)
BohsFans
13/01/2006, 9:48 AM
This was told to me by the man himself in the jax of the Horse and Jockey. KOH
When did it re-open?
It's a kip but miss drinking in there before Bohs - Pat's games
13/01/2006, 12:17 PM
Was Talking to Roddy in the Hartstown House last saturday (Dont know what the fcuk he was doing in there) And he was still giving all "The next club I manage WE will own"Shyte.
so I'd say his little sojourn into bog ball wil be fairly short lived if anyone is thick enough to sell their club to whoever WE are