View Full Version : Sligo Weekender

shedhead
10/01/2006, 3:31 PM
SLIGO Rovers will have another five new faces taking to the pitch when the squad returns to training on Saturday, January 21. Rovers boss Sean Connor has confirmed that five trialists will join new signings Chris Turner and Keith Foy, as well as most of last year’s panel, when the team report back for duty.
And Connor expects one or two more new players to be added to his Premier Division squad as they prepare for pre-season.
Among the five, who will join Rovers for pre-season training with a view to a longer stay, will be goalkeeper Charlie Tracey, who is also being tracked by Dublin City. Also coming to The Showgrounds are three U-21 players that have been released by English clubs – two Irish players and one Scot.
Connor said: “We are working under a tight budget so I am trying to bring in young players with a lot of potential, who have a point to prove. Football is a young man’s game and technically I feel these young men are up to the task.”
Elsewhere, Connor has confirmed that Northern Ireland U-19 captain Turner, Fahrudin Kudozovic and Paul Brown remain committed to Rovers despite being linked with other clubs.
Connor said: “I don’t know where these rumours come from but it certainly wasn’t the players themselves. Chris [Turner] was in Sligo last week and a lot of people don’t realise this but he trained with us for the last week of last season so he is ready to go.
“I know that Linfield and Portadown were interested in Chris, while Faz [Kudozovic] was attracting interest from Premier Division clubs but both lads are committed to us.
“Paul [Brown] has a two-year contract with us and we have had no approach for him so he remains very much a Sligo Rovers player.
“In a way it is good that these players are being heavily pursued because it shows that we are attracting quality players.
“This is why I am trying to keep my targets quiet and not tip-off other clubs. Some fans may feel there has been a lack of transfer activity but they need to trust me,” he stated.
“The squad is coming together nicely and I won’t be signing players just for the sake of signing them. We will have a competitive squad by the time March 10 comes around.”
Meanwhile, Rovers have been boosted by the news that Tubbercurry full-back, and fans’ favourite, Rafael Cretaro has signed a new one-year deal with the club, ending speculation about his immediate future.

Businesses are asked for their support

Sligo Rovers manager Sean Connor has appealed to Sligo businesses to back Sligo Rovers on their return to the top-flight.
Connor said: “I would encourage the business community to get behind the team in any way they can – whether its is with e500 or e5,000, it will all help towards keeping the players at the club and keeping the team where it belongs.
“For any businesses that haven’t been contacted by us, I encourage them to get in touch with either myself, members of the finance committee or anyone at the club.
“We hope to get to the stage were we have 14 full-time players at the club but this takes money and we are going to need a lot financial backing to keep the club going forward.”

rovers mad
10/01/2006, 9:32 PM
Who is Charlie tracey,Is he any good,Surely he is not better than John ohara, What the hell are we doing looking at goalkeepers anyway,When we need midfielders and stikers

11/01/2006, 1:20 PM
we only have 2 keepers at the club between U-21 and the senior squad....we could do with one more to be safe just incase john or banana get injured!

redrov2005
11/01/2006, 2:14 PM
Sounds to me like O'Hara might not be here next season. We are not going to have three keepers on the books i reckon so someone must be leaving if this new lad is coming. And certainly from the recent article posted here it seems that Alvin is coming back.

11/01/2006, 8:20 PM
dunno maybe sean doesnt rate alvin as cover in the prem

rovers mad
11/01/2006, 9:59 PM
If john leaves were fu#ked how many times did he win games for us last season.If he was not in the goals for us we would not have won the league and thats for sure.And alvin not being good cover in the prem your dame right,he was not good cover in the first division

Redzer
12/01/2006, 9:43 AM
I've heard that "inquiries" have been made about both John and Alvin.
John's interest is from Scotland and Alvin from some of the northern clubs.

roversforever
12/01/2006, 11:06 AM
And alvin not being good cover in the prem your dame right,he was not good cover in the first division
Emm so your one of these new people to the forum since we won the league.i'd suggest that you don't know what your'e talking about and probably never even seen banana play.ask any good rovers fan or even his coach nicky brujos what they think of banana and they'll tell you the same thing....damn good keeper.

shedhead
12/01/2006, 11:12 AM
Losing O'Hara would a huge blow to rovers.yer man was right without ohara we would not have won the first division but hopefully the new guy is just cover for ohara but its very scarce to get good back up

12/01/2006, 11:16 AM
If john leaves were fu#ked how many times did he win games for us last season.If he was not in the goals for us we would not have won the league and thats for sure.And alvin not being good cover in the prem your dame right,he was not good cover in the first division

yes he is...he is class....he was a bit dodgy in his 1st season but i seen him play about 10 times last year and he did really well and is unbelievable in the air

12/01/2006, 4:10 PM
thankfully we have a manager who is planning for the long-term here. o'hara&banana will be here for 2006 i'd say treacy is here for when o'hara leaves

rovers mad
12/01/2006, 10:16 PM
roversforever your saying im one of these sun shine supporters,well how about this,banana played three times last season,Finn harps,Longford and Athlone.I have not missed a home game either in six years and im only 17.And if you new me you would be sick of listening to me about rovers.so get your facts right

<MOD EDIT> cut out personal abuse

akearins
13/01/2006, 9:29 AM
As fars as I am aware John O'Hara is ona two yearr contract, so looking for a keeper is simply covering your bases for next season

13/01/2006, 11:14 PM
Finn harps,Longford and Athlone.

any real fan would know he played against kilkenny twice. f*ckin sun shine supporters for ya. ;)

redrov2005
19/02/2006, 10:39 PM
This is from the FAI website and is part of a preview for the Setanta cup.

Looks like Charlie Treacy decided to go for Drogheda rather than Rovers !

---------www.fai.ie

Drogheda manager Paul Doolin has signed a back-up goalkeeper in Charlie Treacy, who was with Oldham, and he is chasing Longford Town's smart young striker, Shane Barrett.

19/02/2006, 10:40 PM
From what I hear, Tracey isn't great so it's no loss really.

19/02/2006, 10:51 PM
dublin city fans didn't think too highly of treacy after his trial. he played 1st half v st.catherine's but had nothin to do at all. he's probably 3rd choice at drogs behind dan the c*nt connor&gary rogers. sc mite have signed that brush fella. has any1 seen banana lately? he wasn't at st.catherine's or st.john's games

marktis
20/02/2006, 9:23 AM
There was no sign of banana at rovers training on thursday on the astro turf. Saw some other keeper training with John O'Hara.

20/02/2006, 5:37 PM
banana is gone now
according to a rovers player

20/02/2006, 6:42 PM
lads, i dont like the way things are going at the minute....thats our assitant manager gone and only one keeper with little over two weeks left till the first match

20/02/2006, 9:38 PM
we seem to be gettin like Harchester Utd! Fights between staff and players, between managers and assistants and with more players going out in pre season than ever before! I'm not happy about Gerry Carr, Banana, Ciaran Foley, Steve O' Donnell, etc. all leavin the club!!

21/02/2006, 8:49 AM
who told you banana is gone wild rover?

21/02/2006, 5:38 PM
Well to be honest i think he was right to get rid O'donnell , Foley wanted to move closer to home because he has a kid !

havin seen foley play against shels and seein how good chris turner&others probably are, i think connor got it spot on to let foley go even if he did leave for other reasons. o'donnell's commitments to the army would mean he wouldn't train enough as well.

21/02/2006, 8:48 PM
lads, i dont like the way things are going at the minute....thats our assitant manager gone and only one keeper with little over two weeks left till the first match

i'm agreeing with you again:o

Oh Well. Gerry should stay.
He's desevring of a playing contract without a doubt

21/02/2006, 9:18 PM
disagree! Ciaran Foley was by far our most improved player last season and he was our best player for the last 10 games of the season aswell! We have absolutely no strength in depth in the squad now. about 20 people in a premier league squad isnt big enough!!

21/02/2006, 9:23 PM
we could do with foley really at this stage we are looking very lightweight especially up front but id say we will be ok

Mayo Red
21/02/2006, 9:30 PM
He's desevring of a playing contract without a doubt

In fairness, those days are gone for Carr. With his age and lack of pace he would really get shown up in the Premier Division.

22/02/2006, 3:06 PM
foley wanted to leave himself simple as that. i seen him play for galway against shels and u just realise how f*ck we'd be if he had to play against joey ndo every week. good 1st div player but the premier is a f*ckin different sport

Redzer
01/03/2006, 8:44 AM
Is the Weekender a month ahead of itself? Surely this is an April Fool.:D “ Paul Deering has always acted in a professional manner in his dealings with every club, including Sligo Rovers. We accept that Mr Deering, who is Sligo’s longest serving Eircom League referee since 1998, has always officiated both locally and nationally with the utmost integrity”.:confused:

Redtop
01/03/2006, 9:14 AM
Is the Weekender a month ahead of itself? Surely this is an April Fool.:D “ Paul Deering has always acted in a professional manner in his dealings with every club, including Sligo Rovers. We accept that Mr Deering, who is Sligo’s longest serving Eircom League referee since 1998, has always officiated both locally and nationally with the utmost integrity”.:confused:
who was saying that?

01/03/2006, 10:08 PM
saw that in the paper....the biggest load of S**t i've read in a long time! you know what they say...dont always believe the papers!:D

1 9 2 8
02/03/2006, 6:33 PM
Maybe he threatened them with his dog

02/03/2006, 7:46 PM
what an @rse of a ststement by the weekender...after publishing seanie's rant bout him the week b4!