View Full Version : Best debut albums of all time

ThatGuy
06/01/2006, 4:22 PM
To rule out fads, I suggest no albums from the last ten years be included.

1. Never Mind The ******** Here's The Sex Pistols - The Sex Pistols
2. The La's - The La's
3. Definitely Maybe - Oasis
4. The Stone Roses - The Stone Roses
5. Are You Experienced - The Jimi Hendrix Experience
6. The Ramones - The Ramones

EDIT: Why is b*ollocks censored? The word means priest, and in this sense it is being used to mean "nonsense" rather than testicles.

06/01/2006, 4:31 PM
The Doors - The Doors
A Century Ends - David Gray

They are the only 2 i can think of at the moment,i'll edit this when i think of more.

klein4
06/01/2006, 4:50 PM
2. The La's - The La's
3. The Stone Roses - The Stone Roses
4. Definitely Maybe - Oasis

hard to disagree with above

searching for the young soul rebels - dexys midnight runners
are you experienced - jimi hendrix experience

(am sure the **** is only a program that picks out certain words, I wouldnt take it personally)

Gerrit
06/01/2006, 4:58 PM
Definitely the broody dark "Crocodiles" by Echo & The Bunnymen (although I admit not too be really neutral when the Bunnies are concerned)

Iorfa
06/01/2006, 11:17 PM
Unknown Pleasures - Joy Division
Tigermilk - Belle & Sebastian
Slanted & Enchanted - Pavement
Blue Lines - Massive Attack
Original Pirate Material - The Streets

06/01/2006, 11:38 PM
Quite enjoy the Boomtown Rats' self-title debut album. Sex Pistols is a must as well though.

M@ttitude
07/01/2006, 12:20 AM
My generation, Oasis defo!

Dr.Nightdub
07/01/2006, 1:09 AM
Apart from ones already mentioned like the Pistols, Roses and Dexy's:
The Clash - The Clash
Leftfield - Leftism
Massive Attack - Blue Lines
Stereo MCs - Connected
Jesus & Mary Chain - Psychocandy

Other personal faves, though not necessarily in the "of all time" league:
Lemon Jelly - KY
Alabama 3 - Exile On Coldharbour Lane
Groove Armada - Vertigo
Black Rebel Motorcycle Club - Black Rebel Motorcycle Club
The Blue Nile - A Walk Across The Rooftops
Doves - Lost Souls
The Beat - I Just Can't Stop It

07/01/2006, 1:22 AM
Eminem - The Marshall Mathers Album
Audioslave - Audioslave
Velvet Revolver - Contraband
Evanescence - Evanescence
Keane - Hopes & Fears
Radiohead - Pablo Honey
Smashing Pumpkins - Gish

all recent enough albums I know, most others I would have included have already been mentioned

07/01/2006, 1:47 AM
The Strokes - Is This It

M@ttitude
07/01/2006, 6:47 AM
Eminem - The Marshall Mathers Album

That wasnt his first...his first was the Slim Shady EP ...........

The Good Son
07/01/2006, 8:06 AM
From the previously mentioned - The Clash, Dexys, Pistols, Roses, La's.
Not already mentioned, Television - Marquee Moon, Specials - Specials, Tindersticks, Super Furry Animals - Fuzzy Logic and Beta Band - The Three E.P.'s (don't know if it qualifies as a debut)

Oops, just re-reading thread and the 10 years thing so Beta Band don't count anyway.

Gerrit
07/01/2006, 9:33 AM
In terms of landmarks on music, we definitely have to mention Black Sabbath's titleless debut (the first ever metal album, legendary for its dark semi-occult cover alone) and The Smiths' first album which some critics still consider their best bar The Queen Is Dead.

and what "The Velvet Underground & Nico produced by Andy Warhol" by the Velvets? This album along with the Doors' first record, was the start of truely alternative/psychedelic music.

07/01/2006, 9:41 AM
In terms of landmarks on music, we definitely have to mention Black Sabbath's titleless debut (the first ever metal album, legendary for its dark semi-occult cover alone) and The Smiths' first album which some critics still consider their best bar The Queen Is Dead.

Good call on both albums Gerrit. The Smiths in particular marked a sea-change in British alternative music at that time and they certainly had an impact at the time on one then-spotty teenager I can think of... ;)

and what "The Velvet Underground & Nico produced by Andy Warhol" by the Velvets? This album... was the start of truely alternative/psychedelic music.

Truth? As a musical work it was a pile of toss. The best thing about that album was the cover. I take your point about what it stood to represent though. :)

:ball: PP

07/01/2006, 11:01 AM
A few others...
Super Furry Animals 'Fuzzy Logic'
Suede 'Suede'
Guns n Roses 'Appetitite for Destruction'
Ash '1977' (know they had Trailer but does that count as a proper album though?)
Pearl Jam 'Ten'
Rage against the Machine's debut
Sterephonics 'Word Gets Around'

Spudd
07/01/2006, 11:19 AM
That wasnt his first...his first was the Slim Shady EP ...........

Wrong again mate,his first album was infinite..:p

Neish
07/01/2006, 11:54 AM
My Top 5(In no priticular order just as they come to mind)
The Clash- The Clash
Never Mind The ******** Here's The Sex Pistols - The Sex Pistols
The Stone Roses - The Stone Roses
Kasabian-Kasabian
Grace-Jeff Buckley

noby
07/01/2006, 1:16 PM
This is proving a lot more difficult than I first thought, but here it goes:

1. Stone Roses - Stone Roses
2. Tindersticks - First album (obviously)
3. Wedding Present - George Best
4. Manic Street Preachers - Generation Terrorists
5. Red House Painters - Red House Painters I (Rollercoaster LP) (I'm counitng Down colourful Hill as a demo)
6. Belle & Sebastian - Tiger Milk
7. Dexy's Midnight Runners - (Searching for the) Young soul rebel
8. Specials - Specials
9. Gang of Four - Entertainment
10. MC5 - Kick out the jams

I could go on, to fit in the smiths, jamc, la's, pixies, air and others already mentioned.

onenilgameover
07/01/2006, 3:10 PM
most first albums are the better albums in my opinion...suede - suede. was very good...

ThatGuy
07/01/2006, 3:21 PM
A lot of violations of the ten year rule!!! ;) Though of the recent ones mentioned I have to go along with BRMC and Is This It, though I'd like to hear how those albums sound when they have aged a bit though.

My generation, Oasis defo!
I think you're answering the wrong question!!!!

M@ttitude
08/01/2006, 12:33 AM
Wrong again mate,his first album was infinite..:p
Was that released under a label?

Spudd
08/01/2006, 1:45 PM
Was indeed,not under interscope tho...supposed to be pretty hard to get a hold of!

09/01/2006, 10:38 AM
I thought I put this one to bed about a year and a half ago. Damn ye insurgents.

London Nil Hull Four by The Housemartins (Go! Discs 1986) is the best debut LP by any band anywhere ever.
12 songs any one of which could've been a single. League of it's own. Good day Sirs.

noby
09/01/2006, 10:44 AM
I thought I put this one to bed about a year and a half ago. Damn ye insurgents.

London Nil Hull Four by The Housemartins (Go! Discs 1986) is the best debut LP by any band anywhere ever.
12 songs any one of which could've been a single. League of it's own. Good day Sirs.
You see, I knew I'd forget a good one.

09/01/2006, 12:21 PM
The Wedding Present - George Best
The Smiths - The Smiths
Jeff Buckley - Grace
Stone Roses - Stone Roses
The Sundays - Reading, Writing & Arithmetic
Trashcan Sinatras - Cake
BRMC - BRMC

09/01/2006, 12:34 PM
Super Furry Animals - Fuzzy Logic
Was that before Radiator?

09/01/2006, 12:42 PM
Damien Rice - O

declan hide
09/01/2006, 12:45 PM
Audioslave - Audioslave

youre kidding me right? useless garbage. two far superior albums that include same band members would be...

badmotofinger - soundgarden
ratm - ratm.

Dublin12
09/01/2006, 12:48 PM
My Bloody Valentine - Isn't Anything.
Jesus And Mary Chain - Psychocandy.
Rolling Stones-Rolling Stones.
The Clash-The Clash.
The Stooges-The Stooges.
Bob Marley-Catch A Fire.
Pixies-Surfer Rosa.

09/01/2006, 1:22 PM
Exile on Main Street - The Rolling Stones

That would be my choice

noby
09/01/2006, 1:27 PM
Holy crap. I can't believe I forgot Mercury Rev - Yerself is steam.

BTW, 'Isn't anything' wasn't their debut.

noby
09/01/2006, 1:33 PM
Exile on Main Street - The Rolling Stones

That would be my choice
...if you ignore their first dozen or so albums, then yes.

Reality Bites
09/01/2006, 1:46 PM
The Velvet Underground & Nico,

but to be a little bit more contemporary Arcade Fires debut "the funeral" is superb, after 5 listens u just get hooked in.. every song has a timeless classic feel to it..one hell of a debut Unique

noby
09/01/2006, 2:22 PM
Arcade Fire is probably a prime example of the OP's 10 year rule thingy.

09/01/2006, 2:40 PM
forgot about Chemical Brothers 'Exit Planet Dust'...

09/01/2006, 2:42 PM
Arcade Fire is probably a prime example of the OP's 10 year rule thingy.

I forgot about that myself,sorry :o

09/01/2006, 2:46 PM
Led Zeppelin 1 is a great album

Boy - U2

Fuzzy Grant Lee Buffalo.

klein4
09/01/2006, 3:31 PM
neil young harvest
(was that his first solo?)
van morrison astral weeks ( damien rices "o" wishes it was but never could be...)

09/01/2006, 4:41 PM
surprised no ones mentioned Liberty X's
'Thinking it over'

Metrostars
09/01/2006, 4:52 PM
Are You Experienced? - Jimi Hendrix
My Aim Is True - Elvis Costello
Outlandos d'Amour - The Police

noby
10/01/2006, 7:58 AM
neil young harvest
van morrison astral weeks ( damien rices "o" wishes it was but never could be...)
Sadly, you're wrong on both counts. 'After the Goldrush' came out before 'Harvest', and I would guess there was a couple of earlier ones too.
Van Morrison's debut (after a quick google) was 'Blowin' your mind'

Rover 2 U
10/01/2006, 8:44 AM
Sadly, you're wrong on both counts. 'After the Goldrush' came out before 'Harvest', and I would guess there was a couple of earlier ones too.

correct, neil young released a solo self titled album before either of these two which included the classic song the old laughing lady. he also had an album with crazy horse after that called everybody knows this is nowhere and then relased the two you mention.

10/01/2006, 10:24 AM
neil young harvest

at least Damien Nice's bass player appears to have had the foresight to tune the fcuker up before putting his tracks down.

(I can't believe I'm defending DRs p|ssyknickers dirge:p What next? me nominating 'Take That And Party'?)

klein4
10/01/2006, 10:39 AM
Van Morrison's debut (after a quick google) was 'Blowin' your mind'
no I'm right as per van himself.

noby
10/01/2006, 11:51 AM
no I'm right as per van himself.
I stand corrected. As I said, it was just a quick google. On further reading, I see what you mean.

In saying that, and I know it always tops polls, I've never listened to it.

10/01/2006, 1:10 PM
one or two other overlooked ones..
Portishead 'Dummy' - astonishing debut...
Kings of Leon 'Youth and Young Manhood'

10/01/2006, 3:22 PM
Illmatic by Nas or Funeral by the Arcade Fire.

ken foree
10/01/2006, 3:55 PM
Illmatic by Nas or Funeral by the Arcade Fire.

what, no "Free Your Mind...And Your A$$ Will Follow"?? :D ;)

Pat O' Banton
10/01/2006, 4:24 PM
Most of these have been mentioned at some point on this remarkably tastelful thread!

The Smiths - The Smiths
Psychocandy - JAMC
The Stone Roses - The Stone Roses
Isn't Anything - My Bloody Valentine
Qualty Control - Jurassic 5
The Clash - The Clash
George Best - The Wedding Present
Inflamable Material - Stiff Little Fingers

Neish
10/01/2006, 4:49 PM
Inflamable Material - Stiff Little Fingers

Forgot about that one would definitely make my list too.