View Full Version : 27th January - ideal draw for trips

Saint Tom
02/01/2006, 2:36 PM
Anyone any suggestions on where we would like to be going on the road to Austria/Switzerland? I would take anywhere apart from Georgia and the Central Asian Uefa members.

Spoke to some of the Pats lads who went to Chisinau in Moldova and that place sounds god forsaken.

A trip to Scandanavia would be warmly welcomed by all and maybe a trip to Milan/Rome or Seville/Madrid

Im not talking about qualification prospects just good trips:ball:

Kerry Blue
02/01/2006, 5:39 PM
Well if you want sunshine then this would probably be the best line up:
Greece, Spain, Bulgaria, Albania, Cyprus and Malta.

Actually wouldn't be a bad group for qualification either!

02/01/2006, 5:47 PM
Germany, Sweden and Greece would be good:). Not great for qualification though:o.

02/01/2006, 7:17 PM
Hoping for (travelwise) -
Sweden
Croatia
Bulgaria (make up for missing UCD's InterToto game there in 2000)
Ireland
Estonia
Belarus
Kazakhstan
Liechtenstein

The latter two I'd be particularly interested in going to. A return to the Faroes wouldn't go amiss either though!

02/01/2006, 7:25 PM
Sweden
Croatia
Bulgaria
Ireland
Estonia
Belarus
Kazakhstan
LiechtensteinWell I'd say Ireland will be in our group anyway:rolleyes: :p.

02/01/2006, 7:37 PM
http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=30348
discussed before here

02/01/2006, 7:39 PM
Well I'd say Ireland will be in our group anyway:rolleyes: :p.
That's why I put us in!

02/01/2006, 7:48 PM
Croatia is an away trip I could make handy if it were in Zagreb. Serbia and Montenegro might be handy too as I could get a place to stay in Belgrade.

Gerrit
02/01/2006, 8:29 PM
* Armenia or Kazachstan anyway (because the countries have fascinated me for most of my life, just like the ex-USSR in general)

* a Scandinavian trip (apart from Norway, which would force me to for once support against the Boys In Green)

* Luxembourg or San Marino: easy 6 points

* something like Hungary, Belaruse, Lithuania, Scotland or so: the easiest ones of the countries ranked just above the minnows. Scotland'd be a guaranteed full house as well.

* as for the pot I countries: I'd say you better avoid Greece cause they're decent enough to give a hard time, yet not good enough to get a full house + massive TV incomes. Maybe Portugal or Czech Republic are the best bets.

As for NI, I'd like them to draw Belgium and beat them. That'd be sweet to then phone my friends back home :D

03/01/2006, 3:19 PM
Kazhakstan or Azerbaijan from Pot 7. Pot 6 has Georgia, Macedonia, Belarus, Armenia and Moldova in it!

Reasons being you would never go to these places otherwise unless your club played there in Europe. But mainly because none of the ole ole brigade would go there cos they wouldnt know how to go independently and there would be nobody there to hold their hand:rolleyes:

03/01/2006, 4:22 PM
* Luxembourg or San Marino: easy 6 points

Luxembourg gave us hell in the jack charlton years in european qualifiers. We struggled to beat them home and away. FACT!

davey
03/01/2006, 6:09 PM
For me, its anywhere thats easy to fly to from Scotland. Being a teacher, I can only make weekend matches (unless it falls during school hols - like Israel last campaign). New flight from Edinburgh- Helsinki - never been to Finland:)

03/01/2006, 6:47 PM
Luxembourg gave us hell in the jack charlton years in european qualifiers. We struggled to beat them home and away. FACT!
Luxembourg were hammered home and away by Liechtenstein in their last campaign - they're a shockingly poor side now. Amazingly, I think they have the longest reigning manager in Europe - could have been appointed even before Charlton!

Beavis
05/01/2006, 4:17 PM
Kazhakstan or Azerbaijan from Pot 7. Pot 6 has Georgia, Macedonia, Belarus, Armenia and Moldova in it!

Reasons being you would never go to these places otherwise unless your club played there in Europe. But mainly because none of the ole ole brigade would go there cos they wouldnt know how to go independently and there would be nobody there to hold their hand:rolleyes:

Agreed, we need at least 1 trip to separate the men from the boys..:)

05/01/2006, 4:20 PM
Lads can you not just enjoy the trip yourself without having to look down on others. I see this with music too. I heard Arcade fire Before you etc etc.

Saint Tom
05/01/2006, 6:30 PM
wouldnt mind finland actually or the baltics. from the lads who were in Rijecka craotia sounds a blast.

Places i dont want (i) Cyprus- ****ing kip (ii) Scotland - Too Local (iii) Norn Iron - Ticket shortages.

plus from our point of view, all games will be a sell out at home

05/01/2006, 6:31 PM
Lads can you not just enjoy the trip yourself without having to look down on others.
It's not about one-up-man-ship. The difference in craic and atmosphere in the ground was marked between the Faroes and Cyprus in the last campaign. Only the true fans - hate to use the phrase, but you know what I mean - went to the Faroes, which practically everyone who was there has nominated as one of the best ever away trips, while every bandwagon jumper was in Cyprus, which had a dire atmosphere despite the 11,000 there and ended in me nearly punching some bloke for telling me to shut up during the game!

Saint Tom
05/01/2006, 6:35 PM
agreed craic was better in israel than elsewhere I was. Many didnt make the faroes due to the weather though

06/01/2006, 11:14 AM
It's not about one-up-man-ship. The difference in craic and atmosphere in the ground was marked between the Faroes and Cyprus in the last campaign. Only the true fans - hate to use the phrase, but you know what I mean - went to the Faroes, which practically everyone who was there has nominated as one of the best ever away trips, while every bandwagon jumper was in Cyprus, which had a dire atmosphere despite the 11,000 there and ended in me nearly punching some bloke for telling me to shut up during the game!

Agree. Heard the Faroes was great alright and only heard bad things about Cyprus. Best trip I've been on has been Finland and this from someone who's been to the 3 World Cups:D

True fans rule!

Colie
08/01/2006, 9:04 AM
Only the true fans - hate to use the phrase, but you know what I mean - went to the Faroes, which practically everyone who was there has nominated as one of the best ever away trips!And one fan has nominated as the best night of his life. Oh Yeah.:)

Schlooooomp
09/01/2006, 9:21 AM
while every bandwagon jumper was in Cyprus, which had a dire atmosphere despite the 11,000 there and ended in me nearly punching some bloke for telling me to shut up during the game!

Hey Stu, maybe if you didn't try supporting the team and just sat down and enjoyed the game that guy wouldn't have had a problem with you...:D

09/01/2006, 12:23 PM
Shut the f*** up, I'm trying to read the forum!!! :D

Bald Student
10/01/2006, 10:20 PM
Hey Stu, maybe if you didn't try supporting the team and just sat down and enjoyed the game that guy wouldn't have had a problem with you...:D

Shut the f*** up, I'm trying to read the forum!!! :DLads, I was at home, asleep in bed. 2 miles from my nearest internet access when I was woken by this racket.

FFS some of us are trying to sleep!!

horney
13/01/2006, 11:02 AM
eastern europian countries for the draw its the only way forward

Saint Tom
15/01/2006, 6:00 PM
i have had a dream that we will play in kiev soon!! wouldnt mind there or belorussia for a change. my trips for the next two years hinge on the 27/1. we could potentially have seven away trips in a little over a year if we are in the group of eight.. the pocket says ouch

horney
16/01/2006, 10:36 AM
your dead right stu and i saw theose c...s telling you to shut it we had none of that s..t in the faroes definitly the best trip ever hopefully we get some mad teams in the draw

Bomb Landsdowne
25/01/2006, 4:38 PM
Just back from Riga.Brilliant city. Would be great if we drew the Latvians. Latvia has my vote any excuse to go back.

lopez
25/01/2006, 4:57 PM

Reasons being you would never go to these places otherwise unless your club played there in Europe. But mainly because none of the ole ole brigade would go there cos they wouldnt know how to go independently and there would be nobody there to hold their hand:rolleyes: Or even better, somewhere where they are likely to be fogbound out of it.

...every bandwagon jumper was in Cyprus, which had a dire atmosphere despite the 11,000 there and ended in me nearly punching some bloke for telling me to shut up during the game!I believe that alright. Saw some eejit in Barcelona a few years back against Andorra telling people to sit down when they were going to their seats. Also, have you met the type of fan that thinks he's Jimmy Magee, with his one man commentary of the game. F*cking muppets. :rolleyes:

27/01/2006, 11:41 AM
An absolute **** draw for trips. Qualifying is another matter altogether. Every knobend, ole ole merchant will be in Cardiff and Prague.

Cyprus again:rolleyes:

Germany will be avalanched with them too. Slovakia could be okay though. Very disappointed. No Scandinavian countries or Azerbaijan, Moldova etc.

Have to wait for the next WC draw in Dec 2007.

27/01/2006, 11:43 AM
Get your head out of your arse. They will be great trips in great cities. Look there are knobends in all walk of life and just cause someone goes to the small trips does not mean they cant be a knobend either.

lopez
27/01/2006, 11:48 AM
An absolute **** draw for trips. Qualifying is another matter altogether. Every knobend, ole ole merchant will be in Cardiff and Prague.

Germany will be avalanched with them too. Slovakia could be okay though. Very disappointed. No Scandinavian countries or Azerbaijan, Moldova etc.

KOHAgree with you there although these w*nkers do weekend trips only, often just the one a season (to tell their mates at the office). Can't see them doing a week day trip to Bratislava. Bad draw for qualification. Bad draw for tickets. Good draw for drunks and whoorers, though. :rolleyes:

Hulsey
27/01/2006, 11:53 AM
Get your head out of your arse. They will be great trips in great cities. Look there are knobends in all walk of life and just cause someone goes to the small trips does not mean they cant be a knobend either.
Great point well made. Recognise whats being said about "jump on the bandwagons", they are a bit annoying alright, but you have to live with them at every major game for any given club, likes of an Fai cup semi or something like that.

lopez
27/01/2006, 11:58 AM
Great point well made. Recognise whats being said about "jump on the bandwagons", they are a bit annoying alright, but you have to live with them at every major game for any given club, likes of an Fai cup semi or something like that.I don't mind the bandwagon jumpers - very few people can go to every game - so long as they go to the back of the queue. Also if they actually support the team not f*ck about or annoy others. See the post of Pineapple Stu for a good example.

27/01/2006, 12:03 PM
To be hones I saw that incident in Cyprus and both sides were to blame also. But the guys telling the guys to sit down were bang out of order and were muppets. But there was blame on both sides in my view but that was not posted here.

Beavis
27/01/2006, 12:48 PM
I'm a bit dissapointed as regards trips.
Theres nowhere exotic. I was looking forward to at least 1 unknown where I wouldnt be sure what to expect. As it turns out, it will be thousands of irish descending on easily accessible cities. Thats alright, but having to stress for reasonable flights, accomodation and tickets, and being relatively familiar in your surroundings, is not what you want for every game.

27/01/2006, 1:30 PM

Read beavis' thread arsewarrior. Dont forget to bring your inflatable hammer

27/01/2006, 1:36 PM
Ha ha passing judgement on me already even though you have not met me. I have never once brought and iflatable hammer to a game in my life. You sound like a music snob who was a fan of the Smiths or the Pixies and get frustrated when other people start to like them (They are ruining it for the rest of us who werehere first). It happened with Arcade Fire too this year and Eyebrowy rightly took the **** out of such people.

Lets look at this , I dont think Staunton or the sqaud would like to go to Moldova or any of the former Soviet natinos such as Belarus etc. They are tough places to get points from and we have avoided all of them which must be good. Prague and Bratislava will rpobably be a double header which would be fantastic in my view.

TheJamaicanP.M.
27/01/2006, 1:38 PM
Read beavis' thread arsewarrior. Dont forget to bring your inflatable hammer

What sort of way is this to treat somebody who contributes a lot to this forum?

The mods should take action on NY Hoop.

27/01/2006, 1:50 PM
Cheers for that

nedder
27/01/2006, 3:27 PM

Great, so you won't be travelling so.
imagine not wanting to go because their might be more than a few hundred there. Get a grip on yourself! Happens with every sport, every competition. Deal with it and start enjoying yourself!!

27/01/2006, 3:59 PM
The last few contributors actually made me laugh out loud.:D

Eh read the thread title kids.

Firstly you take offense even though you said that I should get "my head out of my arse":rolleyes:

Jamaican PM thats hilarious. Tell you what why dont you ban me cos I have an opinion. Down with that sort of thing.

Oh nedder I will be there and always do enjoy myself as have done on countless trips including 3 World Cups.

Whats wrong with inflatable hammers?!:D

Have a good weekend ladies and dont forget to agree with yourselves!

nedder
27/01/2006, 4:06 PM
Timing of trips will be everything, but I'd fancy a mid week in bratislav

nedder
27/01/2006, 4:15 PM
NY hoop,
Sounded like you were only going to go to some god forsaken place in the ar*e of europe.
Just saying its easy to go on about the ole ole brigade on this site. I don't think its going to change anything, It's always going to be there.
Other countries fans , like our friends across the water have far worse to worry about in terms of supporters i'm sure you'd agree.

27/01/2006, 5:30 PM
I dont think I took offence at anything you said to be honest. I just said take your head out of your arse as it seemed to me that you were coming across as a Irish football supporter snob.

lopez
27/01/2006, 5:33 PM
Timing of trips will be everything, but I'd fancy a mid week in bratislavThat'll be cool. It leaves out the w*nkers Hoop talks about and with a 30K ground it didn't sell out when the Tans came and won't sell out for us. Prague looks like the b*stard. Their stadium holds 20K (Sparta's ground). They want to build a 50k one to host internationals (sounds familiar).

27/01/2006, 6:24 PM
Germany, Sweden and Greece would be good:). Not great for qualification though:o.Well we got one of the team's I wanted:).

27/01/2006, 10:08 PM
But there was blame on both sides in my view but that was not posted here.
I was told to "shut the **** up". I wasn't prepared to accept that from a fellow fan. I was restrained from thumping the person by one of the other lads. Could you please tell me where the blame on our part lies?

NY Hoop is correct. Kind of. Every trip there sounds like great craic. Prague, Bratislava, Berlin/Munchen, Cardiff, Cyprus, San Marino - some great places to visit. However, I can only see Slovenia and San Marino as having any sort of decent atmosphere. It's a shame, as the atmosphere before games is rocking (e.g. Cyprus), but once the game starts, it dies, which ruins the entire trip. (France was different because a few people around the place refused to sit down and the stewards basically told anyone who complained to cop on and stand up, so the whole place ended up standing).

On another note - what odds a double haeder in Prague and Bratislava on Saturday and Wednesday? Now that'd be a good trip!

onenilgameover
28/01/2006, 5:12 AM
see below

onenilgameover
28/01/2006, 5:45 AM

I think you might have been beside me so..I had the same problem...I brought the girlfriend and even she noticed the difference in fans there. ie bandwagon jumpers v fans and she could hardly say if a football was round or oval.(BTW she wasn't bandwand jumper, I paid for her trip (birthday pressie) and she went for the sun)

Roll on euro 2008!

NY Hoop's attitude sounds worse than the bandwagon jumper TBH Ye can deal with someone coming along for the ride but those snobby type fans who only want the ball for themselves...well screw em....

I think its a great draw.....

Germany - we're actually getting to go now..(should be alright for a ticket)
Czech Rep - Never been but sounds nice yada yada (should be a hell finding a ticket)
Slovakia - Very interesting (defo alright for a ticket you'ill be missing out on the oler's) (30,000 plus stadium)

http://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_pictures/europe/slovakia/bratislava_pole.shtml

Wales - went to college there and haven't been back in 4 years would never go on holiday (alright for a ticket with contacts might be difficult as will defo sell out, great stadium)
Cyprus - Well its what we know and its sunny (tickets swapped for milk...nice stadium)
San Marino - sure why not? (another tricky one regarding tickets but ye might not have the olers depending on time of year) fits about 4,600

http://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_pictures/europe/san_marino/serravalle_olimpico.shtml

spain had 3 and a half for the wc qualifiers

http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com/06/en/t/sc/archive.html?id=36674&year=2005&month=10&day=12

nedder
28/01/2006, 10:49 AM
I was told to "shut the **** up". I wasn't prepared to accept that from a fellow fan. I was restrained from thumping the person by one of the other lads. Could you please tell me where the blame on our part lies?

NY Hoop is correct. Kind of. Every trip there sounds like great craic. Prague, Bratislava, Berlin/Munchen, Cardiff, Cyprus, San Marino - some great places to visit. However, I can only see Slovenia and San Marino as having any sort of decent atmosphere. It's a shame, as the atmosphere before games is rocking (e.g. Cyprus), but once the game starts, it dies, which ruins the entire trip. (France was different because a few people around the place refused to sit down and the stewards basically told anyone who complained to cop on and stand up, so the whole place ended up standing).

On another note - what odds a double haeder in Prague and Bratislava on Saturday and Wednesday? Now that'd be a good trip!

True about cyprus before and during the game, difference in atmosphere was immense, and it really left a bad taste in the mouth. Performance on the pitch didn't help, but if you had 2,000 real fans there would have been more noise and support. It will probably put me off going there this time around. Will hardly afford all the away games so depending on the draw, would favour going to slovakia and germany above all others. Hopefully will get a double header in. San marino could be an interesting trip also.