PDA

View Full Version : Identity Fraud

A face
26/12/2005, 9:15 PM
What can you do to stop it ??

Had a convo in the pub before we got drunk about the eastern Europeans that were caught here recently, mixed up with identity fraud and dodgy credit cards and the like. We didnt really know what they were at but discussed the indentity fraud issue. Basically, it is very easy to obtain the information. Full name, address, photo would all be very easy things to get on practically anyone who was unsuspecting.

What can you do to prevent it, not alot against anyone who is resourceful and intent. Is there anyway of making it harder for people to apply that information ?

Lionel Ritchie
27/12/2005, 12:17 PM
I suppose an obvious one that I've been doing for about 18 months now is shredding anything with my name on it before it goes in the bin. I mean everything -from birthday cards to utility bills to those annoying yokes the likes of tesco and supervalue send out. We've also obliterated our name from our wheelie bin sticker which caused a bit of hassle for us but we ironed it out with a phonecall.

A face
27/12/2005, 7:07 PM
I suppose an obvious one that I've been doing for about 18 months now is shredding anything with my name on it before it goes in the bin. I mean everything -from birthday cards to utility bills to those annoying yokes the likes of tesco and supervalue send out. We've also obliterated our name from our wheelie bin sticker which caused a bit of hassle for us but we ironed it out with a phonecall.

They are measures that you'll always have to police, if you know what i mean .... and even at that, they may still get your info via social engineering or whatever. Its a dodgy one alright !!

A face
16/01/2006, 12:35 PM
Bump .... just wondering about this lads !!

dahamsta
16/01/2006, 12:43 PM
What are you wondering Face? Lionel pretty much covered the basics there.

adam /who's had his identity stolen, so it can happen to anyone

dcfcsteve
16/01/2006, 12:55 PM