View Full Version : Foot.ie in Saturdays "Star"

MrJoeSoap
24/12/2005, 11:53 PM
I may be completely blind, but I can't see this posted anywhere else.

Did anyone see the huge article on foot.ie in Saturdays edition of The Star? It was in the actual news section, not the sports part, and was to do with members of foot.ie levelling criticism at the RTE panel of "experts". I think the headline was something like "Internet fans criticise RTE coverage" or something, and it got a fair chunk of a page.

My sincere apologies but I only managed to catch a fleeting glimpse of the article as I was in work, but should be able to get a copy of it on Monday morning and hopefully scan it in for you. I'm pretty sure there was a picture of Giles et al there somewhere.

Apologies if it has already been posted, I'd imagine something like this couldn't escape absolutely everyone on here. Also apologies if I'm posting this in the wrong place, just think its nice to see the site mentioned in a national newspaper.

Fair play lads, keep up the good work.

25/12/2005, 10:47 AM
Just read it there myself. I'll give it a bash putting it up but I'm woeful at this sort of thing!! :o :o :o

Gareth
25/12/2005, 10:47 AM
PUT it up :) Mad to read that :)

25/12/2005, 11:00 AM
I have the article saved to my documents but when I go to host it in image shack it doesn't load it for some reason!

Anyone got any ideas??

Gareth
25/12/2005, 11:17 AM
Mail it to me and I will put it up on a server for you

aido_b
27/12/2005, 6:32 PM
lads any joy with that article?

27/12/2005, 7:40 PM
I have the article saved to my documents but when I go to host it in image shack it doesn't load it for some reason!

Anyone got any ideas??

Yeah, come on .... do it, do it, do it, do it, do it, do it, do it !!

monzo
27/12/2005, 7:49 PM
Aye - haul her flat!

27/12/2005, 8:34 PM
I sent it to Gareth via e-mail - but I'll have another go now to try and host it!!

blutil
27/12/2005, 11:23 PM
try www.photobucket.com very quick and easy to use

27/12/2005, 11:44 PM
Sorry about the delay lads
Saturday's article (http://photobucket.com/albums/d96/RAHENYRED/)

27/12/2005, 11:45 PM
Sorry about the delay lads

Saturday's articleThat link aint working:confused:.

MrJoeSoap
27/12/2005, 11:51 PM
http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d96/RAHENYRED/img001.jpg

Not very clear but barely readable. Cheers Raheny Red, I wasn't in the mood for rooting through the skip in work!

27/12/2005, 11:56 PM
Do any of yous want to PM and send me your e-mail address and one of yous can have a better attempt at it!! :confused: :confused: :confused:

28/12/2005, 8:43 AM
Well it is the Star, I automatically assume it is a lie unless proved otherwise.This story is no different. From a glance at the two pundit threads, (one is in World Football forum) the overwhelming majority of the 50 or so posters on those two threads are in favor of the RTE pundit panel and the presenter Bill.

28/12/2005, 11:26 AM
I reckon its just lazy journalism. Saves them a few bob getting out there on the street doing a vox pop when they can just go on the web.... and they just recycle stories from the UK Daily Star anyway...

28/12/2005, 11:37 AM
that was a pure bad effort at scanning in the article. Lazy journo's is all I can say

28/12/2005, 1:05 PM
Bill was on the Late Late on Friday night so since that's fresh in the minds of the people who watch that show I'm sure quite a few would read that article.

Gareth
28/12/2005, 2:16 PM
I never recieved it Raheny!!!

28/12/2005, 2:35 PM
It seems my college internet mail server has been down for the past number of days so that may be the problem. I'll send you an e-mail in a while when I geta chance!

28/12/2005, 11:13 PM
Not really the best pic of Adam there either :(

EireBadBoy
29/12/2005, 1:20 AM
Katie Melua is worth a look though.

29/12/2005, 1:22 AM
Not really the best pic of Adam there either :(:eek:Wait til he sees that. I feel a ban coming on:D.

02/01/2006, 8:50 PM
Bit of the beauty & the beat there. :eek:

02/01/2006, 11:56 PM
Oh shíte I forgot to e-mail this article to Gareth! :eek: :rolleyes:

I'll do it first thing in the morning!! ;)

03/01/2006, 1:00 PM
Sorry about the delay!:o :o

http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d96/RAHENYRED/img004.jpg

03/01/2006, 1:06 PM
FFS the alternative of Houghton, Quinn and Ian f**king Wright :rolleyes: !!

I know which 3 pundits I'd rather on :)

03/01/2006, 1:12 PM
FFS if this was to be taken to its logic you'd have "newspapers" full of articles based on internet posts. If i had bought the Star i'd be looking for refund. :rolleyes:

03/01/2006, 1:14 PM
well done lads for scanning that article in.

03/01/2006, 1:24 PM
Not really the best pic of Adam there either :(ROFL.

Great article, in that it demonstrates (yet again) the cheapass, lazy "journalism" of the Star. If anyone knows the meaning of the word "buffoon", it's a Star "journalist".

...which isn't to say that, in my opinion, the RTE pundits are just a tad long in the tooth at this stage. They've been around since I was a lad, and I'm no spring chicken at this stage. A bit of new blood to go alongside the "New National League" wouldn't go astray...

...but of course the same could be said of the FAI...

03/01/2006, 1:31 PM
What superb irony from the "journalist" -

He accused Bill of "recycling" opinions and comments he read in newspaper sport sections.

Couldn't make it up!

03/01/2006, 1:43 PM
ROFL.
I'm no spring chicken at this stage.

Old Picture of Mr. Shabby (http://image24.webshots.com/25/2/26/48/4022648tfYSXHzBqR_ph.jpg)

Who would have known tabloids knew what irony was...

Hows about an article in the Star re-quoting tablid journo blasting?

noby
03/01/2006, 1:50 PM
As a rule of thumb, if the headline and photo are bigger than the article, you're not missing much by not reading it. Which is pretty much everything in the Star et al.

aido_b
03/01/2006, 4:55 PM
You'd think he'd at least tried to contact one of the people who posted on the topic about the story than quoting their posts, pure lazyness!

04/01/2006, 9:31 AM
What superb irony from the "journalist" -

Originally Posted by Crappy article
He accused Bill of "recycling" opinions and comments he read in newspaper sport sections.

Couldn't make it up!

Very well pointed out!! :D :D