John O'Flynn staying at City !!

Thats the rumour anyway.

23/12/2005, 9:07 PM
Who says?Where did you hear that?

Pablo Escobar
23/12/2005, 9:46 PM
Says Red FM for a start!
It's seeming as the day goes on that this may very well be the case!
I'm a bit for and against it though!

23/12/2005, 9:50 PM
wonder what Eánna will make of that :)

24/12/2005, 8:28 AM
Its pretty much guaranteed to happen now. Should make close season a bit more interesting.

O'Flynn + Fort strikeforce running amuck next season?

Aaron GUFC
24/12/2005, 8:30 AM
Well fair play lads I wasn't looking forward to seeing some of the leagues finest being shipped out.

Redtop
24/12/2005, 12:39 PM
i thought that in read in the paper that he had signed with some english team:confused: :confused: but hes a great player so looking forward to seeing him play in the showgrounds next year

colm3012
26/12/2005, 10:08 PM
o flynn signed a new contract this evening

27/12/2005, 1:59 PM
O'Flynn to stay at Cork

CorkCityFC.ie has announced that John O'Flynn has done an about turn and re-signed for the eircom League champions.

The striker quit the club less than two weeks ago and was reportedly on trial with Swansea City. However, he now appears to have had a change of heart and signed a new deal at Turner's Cross.

Read more at www.irishfootballonline.com (http://www.irishfootballonline.com/news_story.php?newsid=4023)

27/12/2005, 2:05 PM
Here is the statement from the club on www.corkcityfc.ie

Cork City are delighted to announce that John O’Flynn
has had a change of heart and has committed his immediate future to the
club. John spent the Christmas period mulling over his future and after
talks with his family, with fans and with the club the Cobh native has
agreed to sign a new two year deal.

In signing a new two year contract John has recognised the part the club has played in the
development of his career and has acknowledged that Cork City can provide
him with the platform to fulfil his personal and professional ambitions.
As eircom League Premier Division champions and with Champions League
football guaranteed for next season both the club and John are eagerly
looking forward to facing these new adventures together.

John is personally delighted that he can now concentrate on helping Cork City
become the dominant force in the eircom League while continuing to improve
the club’s record and standing in the European football. The club are very
pleased that John has had a change of heart and are delighted to have him
back on board for a two year spell.

27/12/2005, 2:09 PM
The club are very pleased that John has had a change of heart and are delighted to have him back on board for a two year spell.What about the fans, are ye happy he's staying?:confused:.

27/12/2005, 2:16 PM
What about the fans, are ye happy he's staying?:confused:.

Very mixed feeling at the moment but i'd say it'll be all sorted out by the time the season starts. He'll be ready to slot one or two past your keeper (thats if he oesn't end up moving across the water)

ollie
27/12/2005, 2:18 PM
i'm happy enough that he's staying because we would have had a real lack of firepower without him but i'd say overall people will have mixed feelings about him staying.

27/12/2005, 2:20 PM
Very mixed feeling at the moment but i'd say it'll be all sorted out by the time the season starts. He'll be ready to slot one or two past your keeper (thats if he oesn't end up moving across the water)By your keeper I presume you mean all EL teams in general yeah? Cos he won't be scoring against O'Hara:p:D.

27/12/2005, 2:23 PM
By your keeper I presume you mean all EL teams in general yeah? Cos he won't be scoring against O'Hara:p:D.

Why is he going somewhere? :p

27/12/2005, 2:24 PM
Why is he going somewhere? :p:D, walked into that one I suppose:o.

27/12/2005, 3:55 PM
wonder what Eánna will make of that :)
The guy came close to making a big mistake, fortunately he saw sense and changed his mind. We all make mistakes.

28/12/2005, 10:58 PM
The guy came close to making a big mistake, fortunately he saw sense and changed his mind. We all make mistakes.

Like calling people a Judas when they are about to re-sign for the club? ;)

29/12/2005, 9:08 AM
fortunately he saw sense and changed his mind. We all make mistakes.Correct, he has re signed and all we want now are two 20+ goal seasons from him.
You can't beat a bit of good advice eh !

29/12/2005, 9:38 AM
The guy came close to making a big mistake, fortunately he saw
sense and changed his mind. We all make mistakes.

Did he really have a change of heart or did all 4 offers fall through?
I thought he was quoted as saying that a number of clubs wanted
him and he had decided it would be the best to go back to England
to learn his trade?

29/12/2005, 12:59 PM
I guess we'll never know, but to an onlooker it appears that he wasn't going to be getting the money or the clubs he wanted in England, and changed his mind, Wether the clubs pulled out completely, or didn't offer him enough, is the one bit I'm not sure of.

31/12/2005, 2:54 PM
From what i've heard, he had options but noone was willing to give him a contract longer than 6 months.
He's injury prone.