View Full Version : Shamrock Rovers to play in Tolka.

23/12/2005, 2:18 PM
From Shels Web

Rovers in Tolka (http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=216)

New Tolka Tenant

Shamrock Rovers to play in Tolka.

It has been confirmed today by Shelbourne Football Club that Shamrock Rovers will play in Tolka Park next season.

Shamrock Rovers were relegated last season but since then they have appointed Pat Scully as manager and he has brought in a number of new players. Shamrock Rovers are hoping to move to a new stadium in Tallaght eventually.

hoopy
23/12/2005, 3:37 PM
Why oh why would nobody believe me when I posted this ages ago? All I got was sarcasm. Seeing as I was the one who first broke the news of Roddy's suspension on this mb as well I hope I won't be laughed at the next time I post an exclusive :p

23/12/2005, 4:51 PM
Yes but you never had any links or anything. People want evidence!!:p :p :p

23/12/2005, 5:14 PM
Bit of a ****ty press release by Shels... "eventually"

Made me smile but certainly not professional

23/12/2005, 5:50 PM
That was probably put up by Fintan or Gareth who both do great work for the site.....voluntarily. They are fans giving a hand.

Why does it have to be professional?? The information that needs to be known is there.

23/12/2005, 6:18 PM
If its published by the club it definitely should be professional. Otherwise its amatuerish (obviously)

I've no problem with sly digs at the homeless, just saying that it makes shels look like cûnts. Which I'll grant you, they are...

hoopy
23/12/2005, 6:23 PM
Yes but you never had any links or anything. People want evidence!!:p :p :p

F*** the links!! The truth is what counts!

Gerrit
23/12/2005, 6:41 PM
I hope Rovers' fans leave it in the state they got it, which somehow I doubt will happen... ;)

Anyway, welcome to Tolka I guess. Don't forget to pay the bills (if there's any money left) :D

Gareth
23/12/2005, 7:28 PM
It actually says in two years on the actual website Dodge. It is a poorly section of text but I wrote it and I was under all kinds of time pressures. Now I have more time, I am making it more professional. Consider it my Xmas present to you Dodge.I agree eventually does sound bad but I can assure you I welcome Rovers and look forward to them having their own stadium.

23/12/2005, 8:17 PM
Good for us to have a trip to a proper ground....unlike the rest of the clubs grounds with a few exceptions.

Roverstillidie
24/12/2005, 10:04 AM
happy enough with a short stint in tolka.
lets just hope we dont beat them in the cup and they fling us out as a reuslt... again

24/12/2005, 10:10 AM
When you consider some of the stuff that appears on Drogheda's and Dublin City's website I think that for an amateur job Shelsweb is done well by Gareth and co.

Speranza
24/12/2005, 10:35 AM
So much for the hardline stance the Rovers board were going to take with Oily after the $hels vs Linfield match and those unfounded claims. Instead of taking action they go and line his pockets. :rolleyes:

24/12/2005, 11:03 AM
I have heard Shels are getting 50K in rent. Can any Rovers fans shed any light on how much is involved!!

Gareth
24/12/2005, 11:51 AM
As a shels fan and a person with a strong interest in League of Ireland football, we need to sort out management level bickering within the league and create good working relationships. Fans can dislike each other and players etc but at the top level if we are to progress, we need to help each other. I welcome Rovers to Tolka and hope that is proves a successful deal. Rovers board has said they are working to sort out rogue fan elements and you have to commend the levels of work being put into the club now.

harpskid
24/12/2005, 12:02 PM
Well said Gareth

24/12/2005, 11:26 PM
^^

Put as well as anyone could. Enjoy playing there.

Billy Lord
25/12/2005, 1:07 AM
I totally agree with Gareth, but only in some respects (if you get the irony). The reference in the Shels' press release to ``eventually'' was essentially gratuitous, obviously insulting and grammatically incorrect. The name Jeremiah O'Reilly and the term schadenfruede sping to mind. The sentence should've read: Shamrock Rovers are eventually hoping to move to a new stadium in Tallaght. And it would still be incorrect.
The reality is that Shamrock Rovers are moving to a new stadium in Tallaght. It's not an eventuality, it's a certainty.
As for Tolka, we will treat it with the the dignity it deserves.

Gareth
25/12/2005, 8:11 AM
Billy Lord, I actually don't have eventually in the news item. It was there for around 20 seconds until I re-read it and changed it cos it sounded insulting. In that time Raheny Red cut and paste the article. Its a little bit of a pain in the ass to be held over something I corrected myself in around 20 seconds.

Apart from that, good luck next season. Treating Tolka with the respect it deserves though is a very loaded sentence :) The question really is, how much deserve do you think it deserves??? :)

Roverstillidie
28/12/2005, 7:44 PM
Billy Lord, I actually don't have eventually in the news item. It was there for around 20 seconds until I re-read it and changed it cos it sounded insulting. In that time Raheny Red cut and paste the article. Its a little bit of a pain in the ass to be held over something I corrected myself in around 20 seconds.

Apart from that, good luck next season. Treating Tolka with the respect it deserves though is a very loaded sentence :) The question really is, how much deserve do you think it deserves??? :)

care to comment on the damage caused in Croke Park by a certain shels fan, a rovers fan and 3 random gypos over the christmas Gareth? (if that is your real name....) :D

Gareth
28/12/2005, 8:18 PM
Far too many gypos there for my liking RTID :) Welcome to our ground for next season :)

ndrog
28/12/2005, 9:37 PM
When you consider some of the stuff that appears on Drogheda's and Dublin City's website I think that for an amateur job Shelsweb is done well by Gareth and co.

I presume you a refering to the match reports ? which by the way most people enjoy because they are not the run of the mill borefest.Explain ?

Gerrit
28/12/2005, 9:41 PM
I also wish Monaghan, Kilkenny City, and Athone Town welcome to Tolka next season for what may be their only chance to play in the Theatre Of Dreams anytime soon. The opponent's less dream-esque, but you can't have it all ;)

Roverstillidie
28/12/2005, 11:53 PM
Far too many gypos there for my liking RTID :) Welcome to our ground for next season :)

as you are well aware gareth, tolka isn't yours, it belongs to Dublin Corporation!!

enjoy the extra cash, not ideal, but we would rather you got it than the boyezzzzz. oh how they begged us to stay :D

29/12/2005, 1:18 AM
I presume you a refering to the match reports ?

Probably more about when they idiotically publish 'statements' filled with slanderous lies about certain players that video evidence literally completley prove never happened.

Roverstillidie
29/12/2005, 3:25 AM
Probably more about when they idiotically publish 'statements' filled with slanderous lies about certain players that video evidence literally completley prove never happened.

a quick question to check for consistency:

did shamrock rovers fans attack linfield fans outside tolka at the setanta cup final?

29/12/2005, 4:28 AM
Maybe/maybe not

But they were defo seen wearing shell thick gear!!

But there was a scum element of rovers fans in the new stand trying to incite bigot songs and the sort! Only about 12 - 15 of them

But not quite sure what "fans" attacked linfield???

Who do you think it was??:confused: :confused:

Gareth
29/12/2005, 8:33 AM
as you are well aware gareth, tolka isn't yours, it belongs to Dublin Corporation!!

enjoy the extra cash, not ideal, but we would rather you got it than the boyezzzzz. oh how they begged us to stay :D

Its classed as our home ground. Hence our home ground.And we have the lease on it. But thats another days story and as for now, we no doubt will enjoy the cash. Lets hope we can both enjoy an ok playing surface?

atfconline
29/12/2005, 4:30 PM
I also wish Monaghan, Kilkenny City, and Athone Town welcome to Tolka next season for what may be their only chance to play in the Theatre Of Dreams anytime soon. The opponent's less dream-esque, but you can't have it all ;)

Yes indeed, another ground to tick off the list! Think that will just leave Derry, Cork and Drogheda to visit now. Oh and Waterford!

Roverstillidie
29/12/2005, 5:29 PM
Maybe/maybe not

But they were defo seen wearing shell thick gear!!

But there was a scum element of rovers fans in the new stand trying to incite bigot songs and the sort! Only about 12 - 15 of them

But not quite sure what "fans" attacked linfield???

my point as you well know is that slash is giving out about inaccurate allegations from official club sources. we are still waiting for oilys proof about the slanderous allegations he made about Rovers fans. if the evidence is they were wearing celtic gear.... :rolleyes:

pot kettle black.

and for the record i believe they were shelbourne fans who attacked linfield. why else would they have been at tolka?

29/12/2005, 7:05 PM

Well I saw (and was talking to) a couple of shels supporters who were involved in a wee scuffle down by the canal beside fagans ;)

(btw as i said after it happened wouldnt have mentioned it only for the shels press release blaming it all on rovers which i thought was very unfair)

30/12/2005, 2:10 PM
What age were these "shels fans". Have you seen them before at Tolka or any other eL ground ?

There were Rovers fans in the New Stand in the first half....why were they told to by the Gardaí :rolleyes: :confused: ........because they had only one thing in mind!!

30/12/2005, 3:22 PM
What age were these "shels fans". Have you seen them before at Tolka or any other eL ground ?

No but I probably wouldn't recognise 99.9% of Eircom league supporters when I go to a match :rolleyes:

30/12/2005, 3:44 PM
No need to be smart!!

Anytime I go to an eL game I always see the same supporters of the opposite team. It's not as if there are 30,000 people attending the games!!

What age were they??

30/12/2005, 3:50 PM
No need to be smart!!

Well dont ask a stupid question then :)

Dug this up for ye, not going over old ground and repeating myself http://www.foot.ie/showthread.php?t=25379&highlight=setanta+final

All minor stuff at that final anyway - dont know why shels had to release that stupid statement - wouldve been better for us all if they released one blaming it all on Celtic fans :) (seen as most of them were wearing celtic jerseys)

BohsFans
30/12/2005, 3:59 PM

yeah in your dreams!

The simple fact is that you couldn't afford the Home of Irish Football :p

30/12/2005, 4:02 PM
Cheers for that info!!

It wasn't a stupid question by the way!!

So, what age were they??

30/12/2005, 4:05 PM
So, what age were they??

Dunno, probably around 20

30/12/2005, 4:29 PM

Well I saw (and was talking to) a couple of shels supporters who were involved in a wee scuffle down by the canal beside fagans

OK, so obviously you must know how this all came about!! What exactly happened, how many people were involved?? Why didn't you make a statement to the Gardaí about this alledged scuffle?

Back on topic I personally can't see Ollie's patience lasting with Rovers in Tolka. One misplaced foot and he will show them the door!!

30/12/2005, 7:20 PM
a quick question to check for consistency:

did shamrock rovers fans attack linfield fans outside tolka at the setanta cup final?

Do you assume merely because I'm a Shels fan I agree with every decision they take at all times? That was a stupid statement, but not as much as Droghedas one was not only unproven, it was worse, video evidence shown on national TV proved 100% it never happened.

31/12/2005, 12:08 PM
Why didn't you make a statement to the Gardaí about this alledged scuffle?

Because I couldnt give a f**k to be honest. If people want to kick lumps out of each other thats fine by me once they dont go near innocent people - the bigger battering they give each other the better as far as im concerned :)

31/12/2005, 12:30 PM

the bigger battering they give each other the better as far as im concerned :)

Must be a Drogheda way of thinking so!!:rolleyes:

04/01/2006, 12:10 PM
yeah in your dreams!

The simple fact is that you couldn't afford the Home of Irish Football :p

Quiz time - Is this a) typical gypo delusion or b) a pathetic attempt at face-saving?

The reason why Hoopy's post about us moving to Tolka was rubbished originally was that Bohs were still trying to get us into Dalymount right up to the last minute. As Hoopy said, the deal was done but Bohs wanted to come back with one more offer. Hence the lack of an announcement to back up Hoopy's post, even though we all knew that Tolka was a done deal.

Bohs even rang Ollie to complain about the Tolka deal. Ollie, quite rightly, asked them WTF it had to do with Bohs and then told them to do one. €50,000 hole in the Bohs budget, oh dear, oh dear. :D

BohsFans
04/01/2006, 4:57 PM
Bohs even rang Ollie to complain about the Tolka deal. Ollie, quite rightly, asked them WTF it had to do with Bohs and then told them to do one. €50,000 hole in the Bohs budget, oh dear, oh dear. :D

Typical ****in hoop, always twisting it to suit yourselves!

The above didn't happen -FACT!

KOH - Kilcoyne Our Hero:D

DvB
05/01/2006, 8:06 AM

KOH - Kilcoyne Our Hero:D

Yeah its a proven fact because you say so!:rolleyes:

05/01/2006, 8:21 AM
Yeah its a proven fact because you say so!:rolleyes:
I believe him anyway....

Can I just ask a question - Santry was proposed on the basis of cheaper rent and pitch side advertising. What's the deal with tolka - are you going to allowed hang your own advertising, which I think Dublin City did (i.e. like a banner tied over the existing advertising?)

Passive
05/01/2006, 10:21 AM

Ignorance is bliss, so keep on smiling.

05/01/2006, 10:36 AM
I believe him anyway....

Can I just ask a question - Santry was proposed on the basis of cheaper rent and pitch side advertising. What's the deal with tolka - are you going to allowed hang your own advertising, which I think Dublin City did (i.e. like a banner tied over the existing advertising?)
They had that deal at Richmond (limited to a few I think) but nobody from Rovers bothered to do it... Presume the new board will be different.

DvB
05/01/2006, 11:06 AM
They had that deal at Richmond (limited to a few I think) but nobody from Rovers bothered to do it... Presume the new board will be different.

That doesnt suprise me one bit, the incompetence of the old board was beyond belief, as you say Dodge i cant imagine the current board repeating the offence!
I havent heard the full details of the Tolka arrangement beyond the fee involved, no doubt more details will be revealed at the clubs agm on the 16th Jan though!
As the Santry deal was excellent in relation to advertising i cant imagine a situation were some arrangement hasnt been agreed in relation to Rovers being able to gain some sponsorship through ground advertising in Tolka! Though without the facts at the moment its all speculation!

Koh

Mark Breen
05/01/2006, 11:39 AM
On thing i do remember about the last time you played your home games @ tolka was a few Woodie's sign's around the ground, and as far as i'm aware we have never had a sponsorship with woodies and they wern't up at our home games so i'm gonna assume it will be summit similier