View Full Version : Warning: Global Travel Rugeley

Eire06
23/12/2005, 10:13 AM
If you are booking any football trips (or any holidays for that matter!!) Avoid Global Travel Rugeley at all costs. :mad:

They are great to deal with when you are handing over your money to them but as soon as you have any problems, queries or complaints the ignore you, avoiding your phone calls, Steve the person I booked the trip through is the only one in the office that can deal with my questions and he is always conveniently on the other line or out of the office at the moment or there is just no answer at the office...

As for emailing them that's just as bad. No reply whatsoever they are a joke of a company..

I had a problem with my hotel in Cyprus for Ireland match in that I had on where to stay, hotel was double booked even though I had paid for the hotel. So I'm looking for my money back for accommodation that was not there for me. I got in contact with him as soon as we came back and he was going to investigate it but haven't heard anything since, I have rang and rang 2-3 times every working days since and emailed once a week but NO RESPONSE

:mad: JOKE OF A COMPANY AVOID AT ALL COSTS:mad:

23/12/2005, 10:46 AM
He posts here so why not PM him, that way you'll know he definately got the message.

Eire06
23/12/2005, 10:52 AM
Yep I have... :(
Totally ignoring me....

23/12/2005, 10:57 AM
thats well bad, especially considering he was using foot.ie to promote his own company - package and deals - indirectly.

dont know how admin will feel about this, but i think you are dead right eire06.

feel sorry for ye :( even if ye are from galways ;)

Eire06
23/12/2005, 11:03 AM
Thanks Paul, Its a matter of principle now... He has me seriously Pi$$ed off

There has been a few travel agents that posters have had issues with, the faroe Islands trip was one can't remember the agents name!

Maybe there should be a list of who to avoid, for future reference

23/12/2005, 11:14 PM
What's his name on here so we can all PM him and tell him to give you yer fecking money back?:).

25/12/2005, 12:38 PM
PM his handle to me please, I want to review his posts.

Thanks,

Drumcondra Red
28/12/2005, 9:32 PM
Do you know where they operate from? It might be worth a personal visit??? Also this will be read and a bullsht excuse will be made, such as I was busy, here's your money back, apologies etc. we all know now and his business will or should take a massive dent!

Hope it works out ok Eire06, if any assistance is required, do not hesitate to ask via pm!

28/12/2005, 11:34 PM
Looks like a trip to the small claims court is on the horizon! :0

onenilgameover
29/12/2005, 10:22 AM
Alot of people have good things to say about them to. They helped a few lads out with the Faroes trip. I think its because they have a small enough set up that the can't be on the phones the whole time etc (although how you descirbe things is not cool. I was on their cyprus trip. They had to change things around last minute cos of a company goin under but they were very accomodating. Steve is a sound bloke and puts loads of effort in. I wouldn't be righting them off just yet.

anto eile
29/12/2005, 2:42 PM
onenilgameover= propaganda minister for global travel rugeley

btw, wtf is rugeley?

29/12/2005, 4:36 PM

btw, wtf is rugeley?
Rugeley is a small town in Staffordshire UK, where I assume Global Travel is based????

onenilgameover
29/12/2005, 5:17 PM

btw, wtf is rugeley?

lol

Na not at all....just yer man Steve is alright. Certainly not someone tryin to make big money off these trips or pull the wool over anyones eyes. Just a normal bloke with a load on. That however does not excuse no emailing or not getting back to someone. I wouldn't let things lie and I'd still get the money back etc.

Eire06
03/01/2006, 9:25 PM
lol

Na not at all....just yer man Steve is alright. Certainly not someone tryin to make big money off these trips or pull the wool over anyones eyes. Just a normal bloke with a load on. That however does not excuse no emailing or not getting back to someone. I wouldn't let things lie and I'd still get the money back etc.

Yes he was lovely and very helpful when he was taking my money but as soon as I had a problem he cut all contact with me..:(

onenilgameover
04/01/2006, 10:27 AM
Yes he was lovely and very helpful when he was taking my money but as soon as I had a problem he cut all contact with me..:(

Nah your dead right. if he's still not getting back i'd do what ever ye need to to make him listen. He's hurt his reputation on this site now at any rate by not defending himself...

monutdfc
04/01/2006, 11:46 AM
Presuming Rugeley is in the UK, try:
http://www.abta.com/complain.htm

04/01/2006, 7:36 PM
He's hurt his reputation on this site now at any rate by not defending himself...Who is he????:confused:

Eire06
09/01/2006, 8:36 AM
Rugeley is a small town in Staffordshire UK, where I assume Global Travel is based????
Yep which makes it harder to get to them seeing as I'm in Galway..
Still haven't heard anything from them, was hoping he would see this thread and contact me :o

Anyone else have hassle with travel agents when booking away trips??

09/01/2006, 9:29 AM
He won't be replying now anyway. Role accounts aren't allowed on Foot.ie, for precisely this reason. I left the account active to give him an opportunity to respond, but now he's had his chance and ignored it the account has been banned. And for the record, he's been visiting the site regularly in the interim, last visit January 5.

Eire06
09/01/2006, 9:32 AM
He won't be replying now anyway. Role accounts aren't allowed on Foot.ie, for precisely this reason. I left the account active to give him an opportunity to respond, but now he's had his chance and ignored it the account has been banned. And for the record, he's been visiting the site regularly in the interim, last visit January 5.

Ya I saw that! so he did get my pm's and just didn't respond

09/01/2006, 9:59 AM
http://www.garda.ie/angarda/gbfi.html

Jon'o
09/01/2006, 5:39 PM
If you are booking any football trips (or any holidays for that matter!!) Avoid Global Travel Rugeley at all costs. :mad:

They are great to deal with when you are handing over your money to them but as soon as you have any problems, queries or complaints the ignore you, avoiding your phone calls, Steve the person I booked the trip through is the only one in the office that can deal with my questions and he is always conveniently on the other line or out of the office at the moment or there is just no answer at the office...

As for emailing them that's just as bad. No reply whatsoever they are a joke of a company..

I had a problem with my hotel in Cyprus for Ireland match in that I had on where to stay, hotel was double booked even though I had paid for the hotel. So I'm looking for my money back for accommodation that was not there for me. I got in contact with him as soon as we came back and he was going to investigate it but haven't heard anything since, I have rang and rang 2-3 times every working days since and emailed once a week but NO RESPONSE

:mad: JOKE OF A COMPANY AVOID AT ALL COSTS:mad:

If you paid by credit card, contact them as they may be able to charge the transaction back and persue the company directly for the money back.

10/01/2006, 9:38 AM
credit card companies never ever do that, if you gave your details they will say its between you and the company.

10/01/2006, 9:47 AM
Nonsense. Credit card companies can and do do chargebacks. I had a chargeback against letsbuyit.com processed by Visa a few years ago, the trick is to put your complaint in writing to the card issuer, explaining that you didn't recieve the product or service you ordered. It's a black mark against the merchant too, so it's actually a good thing to do if you've been screwed.

Eire06
10/01/2006, 9:49 AM
credit card companies never ever do that, if you gave your details they will say its between you and the company.

Ya I feel it is a bit of a lost cause..
I have contacted the company that book the hotels and they said the sent their report to Global travel on the 8th November and I have to contact my travel agent for more information!!!

Have still heard nothing from them :mad:

10/01/2006, 9:57 AM
Nonsense. Credit card companies can and do do chargebacks. I had a chargeback against letsbuyit.com processed by Visa a few years ago, the trick is to put your complaint in writing to the card issuer, explaining that you didn't recieve the product or service you ordered. It's a black mark against the merchant too, so it's actually a good thing to do if you've been screwed.

well i worked for both mbna and aib ( collections and inbound ), and neither would ever do it if you willingly gave your details, they would "wash their hands" of it, as it is an un-necessary expense for them. they say their is nothing we can do as you willingly gave your details i.e. its not a fraudulent transaction.

10/01/2006, 10:11 AM
Again, nonsense. If a product or service is knowingly not provided despite payment - in this case we know Global Travel knows about this issue, because he's been monitoring this thread - that's fraud. If someone in AIB or MBNA told you different, they're either a liar or a fool. I know which one my money's on.

10/01/2006, 10:39 AM
well i worked for both mbna and aib ( collections and inbound ), and neither would ever do it if you willingly gave your details, they would "wash their hands" of it, as it is an un-necessary expense for them. they say their is nothing we can do as you willingly gave your details i.e. its not a fraudlent transaction.

If you buy goods/services on a credit card and do not receive them then the credit card company will refund you. The time limit may have expired so move fast. I actually succeeded in getting a chargeback for a non football trip where the person who was supposed to post my flight tickets went on holdiay and left them on her desk.

Sad to see this happen with Global and see other posts re E Travel both of whom only cam eto prominence i nthe past 12 months. However there are a few points to remember here.

1) Travel Agents have no rights to away tickets (although apparently Treacy does get some for his regulars)

2) You will always do better booking flights/hotels yourself on the internet.

I use travel agents if I can only do a day trip and even then they often screw up.

If you know a good one they can get you better flight deals sometimes and can maybe recommend a hotel but the package trips are always either badly run and/or overpriced. The markup on these packages is far higher than your standard 2 weeks in the Costas.

Just a few simple guidelines. If booking with friends ideally get their credit card details as well or be sure they'll fit in with the arrangements. If you have to check back with 3 guys for every slight change on the flight etc forget it.

10/01/2006, 10:47 AM
If you buy goods/services on a credit card and do not receive them then the credit card company will refund you.

yes, thats a different issue, what i meant was if she paid for a package and for whatever reason didnt get what she expected, then a credit card company would not chase this up. this was practice.

heres an example of something i remember off the top of my head, a guy called up saying that he had "thought" he had signed up for a magazine subscription on a website, but he ended up getting charged for this porn site every week, and he wanted mbna to cancel and refund all this, i was duly told by my manager that this is strictly between him and the company and we could do nothing, even though he "unknowingly" or so he said was getting charged for a porn site, because he willingly gave over his details. what i really beleieved was that we could do something but as i learnt it was great expense on us as a company to go chasing this stuff up, ringing america, man power, hours wasted etc etc.

10/01/2006, 11:34 AM
yes, thats a different issue, what i meant was if she paid for a package and for whatever reason didnt get what she expected, then a credit card company would not chase this up. this was practice.

heres an example of something i remember off the top of my head, a guy called up saying that he had "thought" he had signed up for a magazine subscription on a website, but he ended up getting charged for this porn site every week, and he wanted mbna to cancel and refund all this, i was duly told by my manager that this is strictly between him and the company and we could do nothing, even though he "unknowingly" or so he said was getting charged for a porn site, because he willingly gave over his details. what i really beleieved was that we could do something but as i learnt it was great expense on us as a company to go chasing this stuff up, ringing america, man power, hours wasted etc etc.

Yes but I think in this case it is goods/services not being received.

1) Paid for a trip - flights/hotel etc

2) hotel was double booked so failed to get hotel part of the package.

small claims court is probably the way to go anyway but worth trying the credit card company.

A common trick here is to stall the person

1) We're looking into the matter and will get back to you in a few weeks.

which translates as

1) We are stalling until the time limits run out for your credit card/small claims court. It can be as little as 3 or 6 months.

It works and I've seen it work recently on friends despite me pleading with them to just fill in the small claims court form and send it in. Natural inertia works here.

Normally when in the wrong these people will pay up once they know you are serious eg small claims court form arrives.

Best to

1) Write outlining your issue. (e-mail will do fine keep a copy). Say if you don't get satisfaction within 7 days you will take the matter further.

2) Letter is normally ignored so then you must complete the next step.

Jon'o
10/01/2006, 7:12 PM
Ya I feel it is a bit of a lost cause..
I have contacted the company that book the hotels and they said the sent their report to Global travel on the 8th November and I have to contact my travel agent for more information!!!

Have still heard nothing from them :mad:

Dont give up mate, thats whats he's after, just hoping you'll give up and it will all die down. He's in the wrong here not you and you are more than within your rights to kick up a fuss.

You could still contact the trading standards office in the uk, the nearest one to where his company are based (i can get you the adress if you want) and i would still persue the chargeback on your credit card.

I also tried to see if the company was registered with ABTA which is the UK travel industry's regulatory body, they didnt seem to be listed but their website has lots of usefull info about complaining.

11/01/2006, 7:22 PM
Dont give up mate, thats whats he's after, just hoping you'll give up and it will all die down. He's in the wrong here not you and you are more than within your rights to kick up a fuss.

You could still contact the trading standards office in the uk, the nearest one to where his company are based (i can get you the adress if you want) and i would still persue the chargeback on your credit card.

I also tried to see if the company was registered with ABTA which is the UK travel industry's regulatory body, they didnt seem to be listed but their website has lots of usefull info about complaining.
Global Travel are not registered with ABTA.

zinedineontour
12/01/2006, 9:21 AM
Global Travel are not registered with ABTA.

whats their website ??? Just trying to get money back myself

12/01/2006, 10:06 AM

From an Ireland trip??

Maybe this thread should be moved to the Ireland Fans section as most people probably dont read this section? :confused:

Eire06
12/01/2006, 10:11 AM
From an Ireland trip??

Maybe this thread should be moved to the Ireland Fans section as most people probably dont read this section? :confused:

Ya I wasn't sure which section to post this in so I just posted this one presuming most people will be looking in here!!

Contacted my credit card company and then realised I don't know how much money I'm due back!! I paid for flights and hotel all in one so I don't know exactly so there is nothing they can do about it then!
I am writing a letter to Global Travel to tell them that if I do not receive a response within 7 days I will be seeking legal advice on the matter

12/01/2006, 10:27 AM
Moving to Ireland fans. FYI user globaltravel was still on the site a couple of days ago, because he emailed to ask why he was banned. I didn't respond because he knows damned well why he's banned.

Junior
12/01/2006, 1:16 PM
may be just reply with a link to this thread - just to be sure like?

12/01/2006, 2:08 PM
Try http://www.globaltravelrugeley.com

12/01/2006, 2:33 PM
i see that the midlands club do travel with him, you should try getting onto one of them. maybe they can ring on your behalf or something??? im sure sylv or one of the guys on here can get you a contact for them. try pm'in pat o banton or sylvo cos i know they know a few boys part of that.

go to customer comments.

zinedineontour
12/01/2006, 3:12 PM
Try http://www.globaltravelrugeley.com

cheers for that .. gonna try to get him now .. though I doubt I will due to the fact he always seems to be missing from the office ..

Eire06
12/01/2006, 3:28 PM
cheers for that .. gonna try to get him now .. though I doubt I will due to the fact he always seems to be missing from the office ..
or on the other phone line.......
on the 15th December I decided to start writing down the times and dates I rang and left messages!!
Finally gave up on the 23rd after ringing him 14 times leaving my name and number and a message each time

He doesn't know how to reply to mails either!! even though I received a few from him before, he must have just forgotten how to use the computer!!
Good luck let me know how you get on

12/01/2006, 3:53 PM
I'd say our mate Steve is over in Lourdes, praying for this whole mess to blow over. :D

12/01/2006, 5:15 PM
i see that the midlands club do travel with him, you should try getting onto one of them. maybe they can ring on your behalf or something??? im sure sylv or one of the guys on here can get you a contact for them. try pm'in pat o banton or sylvo cos i know they know a few boys part of that.

go to customer comments.
Contact for ROISSC Midlands:
PO Box 101, Guild of Students, University of Birmingham, Edgbaston, Birmingham B15 2TU, UK

SuperSaints
13/01/2006, 8:49 AM
e-travel is the name of the crowd that made a mess of the faroes trip. It'd be very good if there was a sticky of which travel agents to avoid.

13/01/2006, 9:12 AM
e-travel is the name of the crowd that made a mess of the faroes trip.

We got some compensation for that.

SuperSaints
13/01/2006, 9:23 AM
We got some compensation for that.

As far as I remember it was only half what was paid though.

Eire06
13/01/2006, 9:38 AM
As far as I remember it was only half what was paid though.
And you had a long fight for it too!!!
I think there should be a sticky of travel agents\companies to avoid and recommended ones

13/01/2006, 10:11 AM
It'd be very good if there was a sticky of which travel agents to avoid.

That's a good idea. Done, although the thread is couched in more positive terms. We have to reward good practice among travel companies as well as "name and shame".

And you had a long fight for it too!!!
I think there should be a sticky of travel agents\companies to avoid and recommended ones

Your wish is my command. :)

:ball: PP

michaelguineys
15/01/2006, 12:30 AM
Just noticed this thread now, going mad.
We had hassle with them. 22 of us had orignally booked to go to cyprus with them aswell.
All paid up and everything, my friend organised it all and everything and found them very helpful.
She even got a free holiday coz she got more than 20 people to go.
But the hassle started bout a week before we were due to leave.
Check out pgs 18/19/20 of the Cyprus thread, and check out the start of the thread aswell coz i was full of praise at the start. Dont know how to paste link so have just copied and pasted to give ye the gist of it...........

1 - Originally Posted by michaelguineys
Did anyone hear from Global Travel that the company supposed to be flying us from Stansted are gone bust???
And we have to fly from gatwick now?
I don't know if my friend is winding me up or what.
Hope she is-

2 - Originally Posted by michaelguineys
Well we were told from day one from your man steve that it was stansted.
my friends has the emails from him to prove it.
What the hell is going on???
Im not impressed
We have to fly cork-stansted and then get bus to gatwick and go from there.
Why were we lied to in the 1st place???

3 - Originally Posted by michaelguineys Quote:
Dont talk to me...its going from bad to worse with them.
They have changed the apartments now!!
We were originally going cork-stansted-paphos
Now, with less than a week to go we are told everything is changed...
Now its cork-stansted...
Bus to gatwick
Gatwick - larnaca
Bus to paphos!!!!!!!!!

And now we were told today that our apartments are changed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! With no reason given!!!!!!

Has anyone else had this hassle with them? Surely we are owed some financial compensation.
Can anyboday shed some light on this please?
Loads us have cancelled already and im thinkin of cancelling now too. Sounds very dodgy[/I][/I][/I]

in the end 9 cancelled because they thought he was dodgy and were welll ****ed off, so 13 of us went coz no way were we missing this game
There was hassle from the start wen we got to gatwick eventually after a 2 hr bus journey.
Steve legged it off the bus, left us standing there wondering whats the story coz we still hadnt received our tickets for flight, accomodation etc.
Eventually found him, miles from where he left us. Got the tickets eventually anyway and off we went.
So then got to cyprus, and we were told that our group were staying in different apts AGAIN!!! The 3rd change!!!!
Now they did turn out to be unreal with great facilities but we were the only ireland fans there, the rest were in a diff hotel. Suited us coz there was a load of us, but thats not the point.

Holiday turned out to be the best laugh ever and we even met up with steve and co for game of ball and we kind of forgot all the hassle beacuse the hotel was so nice and the holiday was brilliant.
But going home was hassle again. Our flight from cyprus was delayed and becasue he had screwed us around with moving us from stansted to gatwick and paphos to larnaca we arrived in stansted after another 2 hr bus journey from gatwick with 30 MINS TO SPARE before our flight left for cork!!!!!!!!

We had absolute war with ryanair ( steve had booked these for us aswell so it was ultimately down to him to see if we made the connecting flight as if we didnt, surely we would need to be compensated) coz they were ignorant pr icks and practially refused to check us in coz so late and then charged us £200 STERLINg excess baggage even though we werent charged anything going out and our bags were heavier then but thats a different story but point is Steve didnt even get off the bus to see if everything was ok coz he knew we were going to struggle to make the connecting flight, he just sped off on the motorway never to be seen again.
That was a disgrace.

I cant believe that he hasnt even answered any of your call, emails etc.
That is an absolute disgrace. You should definitely report him.
The slim possibilty of us travelling with them them again has vanished.
Not a fceking hope in hell

Forever Dreamin
03/02/2006, 4:13 PM
IF you pay by credit card and you say you did not get what you paid for the card co must credit back your card provided its done within a reasonable space of time and you have tried getting a refund.

As a retailer we have had chargebacks charged to us by people even though they signed a credit card slip. The retailer is on a hiding to nothing in these cases provided the person claiming writes to the credit card issuer demanding a refund, they will deny they can do this but when its put up to them they cave in quickly. Remember they are banks, and at least Dick Turpin wore a mask.