View Full Version : What happens when we "kick the bucket"?

Pages : 1 [2]

Marked Man
21/12/2005, 5:03 PM
Sure God always was and always shall be - that's just one of the great mysteries of religion we have to try and accept and not understand! ;)

So we explain a mystery by means of a mystery? I'd rather just stop at the mystery I can see. If something was always around, why not the universe--in which I would include whatever it was that went bang--rather than god?

Marked Man
21/12/2005, 5:09 PM
The one true religion:

http://www.venganza.org

21/12/2005, 6:16 PM
And about Paddy being a protestant if you can tell me Jesus God the whole Bible is aload of s*it then who is to say that story about St Patrick isnt.

Read up on St. Patrick. He was very real. He left two documents his "Confessions" and his "Letter to Coroticus". There's enugh known about him to paint a decent picture of his life. He was not a Catholic in the conventional sense, it is true.

As for Christ being mentioned by Romans. Christ is mentioned by only one Roman historian, Tacitus and very briefly. He is also mentioned by the Jewish historian Josephus who was exiled to Rome after the Great Jewish Revolt in 66 AD. There is not one extant directly comtemporary source of Christ. An argument often given to argue against his existence. However there's not one extant contemporary Roman historian who would have recorded him. There is a laughable long list of Romans who never mentioned him however it neglects to mention that many of them contained on the list were poets, playwrights, satirists and biographers of the emperors.

hamish
21/12/2005, 6:16 PM
There's a smoking ban in purgatory though. :D

LOL - yep Purgatory for sure then.:D

Happy Christmas Peadar.;)

21/12/2005, 6:21 PM
nothing.

Thunderblaster
21/12/2005, 7:16 PM
When you are buried, the maggots and worms eats into you and you become a skeleton. Simple answer. When you are a skeleton, it doesn't matter if you were rich or poor; beautiful or ugly.

21/12/2005, 7:32 PM
All relatives that we know and those we don't all have an excuse for a biiig party and meanwhile, we all rot away in a wooden box (or burn away) and sin é.:)

hamish
21/12/2005, 8:53 PM
Maggots, skeletons, Purgatory, no God...............

Jaysus, lads/lassies.......you're depressing the fcuk out of me.

It's Christmas, cheer up will youse.:(

21/12/2005, 9:52 PM
Maggots, skeletons, Purgatory, no God...............

.......Cremation, embalming, funeral directors, wakes, memorial services, ashes, rigor mortis, death, no heaven, no God....:(

but happy Christmas anyway Hamish...;) :D

21/12/2005, 10:12 PM
Jaysus, I think some of ye are reading too much into kicking this so called "bucket". Surely this "bucket" can't do that much damage if kicked?:confused::p.

hamish
21/12/2005, 11:05 PM
.......Cremation, embalming, funeral directors, wakes, memorial services, ashes, rigor mortis, death, no heaven, no God...

but happy Christmas anyway Hamish..

What an awful depressing list:eek:

And a Happy Christmas to you, amigo.:D

22/12/2005, 7:55 AM
Well they wouldnt have been cannonised by the Church (i think that what it is called) we have no proof they made it to heaven but because of wat i believe i believe they did, when it comes down to it its just faith in your own religion.
That's just what you believe - I believe they were just good blokes, so I have the right to celebrate their days by getting hammered in the pub. It's what they would've wanted, or so I believe anyway.

Hither green
22/12/2005, 12:38 PM
Eh no. You could just think they were good blokes while they were on earth.

To any non-believer though how can St Patrick be a good bloke? I don’t think he went round healing the sick or feeding the poor. He went round converting people to Christianity. To a non-believer that would be bad wouldn’t it? Unless you’re approaching his contribution from having a snake-phobia?

22/12/2005, 1:33 PM
To any non-believer though how can St Patrick be a good bloke?

St. Patrick invented Guinness, Shamrock and leprechauns.
He's a champion of the Irish tourist industry.
Great bloke, if you ask me!

22/12/2005, 1:37 PM
To any non-believer though how can St Patrick be a good bloke? I don’t think he went round healing the sick or feeding the poor. He went round converting people to Christianity. To a non-believer that would be bad wouldn’t it? Unless you’re approaching his contribution from having a snake-phobia?
No, but Irish Tour 434 was a great album.

22/12/2005, 3:31 PM
We're all doomed, doomed, I say.:D

Steady on there "Fraser";) ,The Lord said the first shall be last and vice versa...................:cool:

22/12/2005, 4:23 PM
We are made out of inanimate atoms, none of which is living or alive,
thus they do not contain you soul, it is elsewhere, so therefore you can never die. What happens to you body is immaterial it is still the same pile of atoms and was never alive in the first place.

Merry Xmas :)

22/12/2005, 4:27 PM
Great bloke, if you ask me!And some of us get a day off every March 17th cos of him. Top man!:).

hamish
22/12/2005, 7:18 PM
Great bloke, if you ask me!

Could have done a better job on that club he founded in Inchicore though.:D

hamish
22/12/2005, 7:19 PM
Steady on there "Fraser";) ,The Lord said "vice"

I'm up for that.:D

Partizan
22/12/2005, 7:53 PM
What happened to the 72 virgins? :D

hamish
22/12/2005, 8:00 PM
What happened to the 72 virgins? :D

Sorry Partizan, first come first served.:D

Marked Man
22/12/2005, 9:49 PM
[QUOTE=tricky_colour]We are made out of inanimate atoms, none of which is living or alive,
thus they do not contain you soul, it is elsewhere,

QUOTE]

Where is this 'elsewhere' of which you speak?

23/12/2005, 6:43 AM
I'm up for that.:D

I'll be looking for "an assist" at least on that gag;) s h,btw is it not "first served first come" regarding the virgins:D

Gareth
23/12/2005, 9:32 AM
Not sure if it has been said already but I read at the start about how can you explain the universe? Its far easier to state something and believe than say its not true. I can't prove that there isn't a planet of walking chocolate bars but its highly improbable. Likewise when you die, I personally would be surprised if a heaven in the way we talk of existed. I am open to surprise but its as cocky to suggest the universe was made for us as is it for someone to say a forest was made for the ants.

Your into the issue of do we have a soul. If you have an entire body transplant, one bit at a time and the only remaining original part was your brain, would you still be the same personality etc? Probably yes bar the emotional trauma of having a body transplant :)

23/12/2005, 9:46 AM
I've always believed in An afterlife butwhat I could never work out was if its supposed to be a utopian paradise how can you have everthing you ever wanted if the people you leave behind are not there i for one know that I could not enjoy "Heaven" without my mother and my Daughter

23/12/2005, 9:50 AM
That's just what you believe - I believe they were just good blokes, so I have the right to celebrate their days by getting hammered in the pub. It's what they would've wanted, or so I believe anyway.

Dont Beleive in saints and such like
I Think Paddy's day should be renamed Ireland Day like they Have Austrailia Day coz at the end of the day its a celebration of our Irishness and not really a religious celebration ie do you go to mass on paddy's day

Hither green
23/12/2005, 11:31 AM
Dont Beleive in saints and such like I Think Paddy's day should be renamed Ireland Day like they Have Austrailia Day coz at the end of the day its a celebration of our Irishness and not really a religious celebration ie do you go to mass on paddy's day

Great let's all become cultureless drones like the Australians and Americans.

Personally I don't go to mass on St Pats, but I know lots of people who celebrate it by taking a break from their Lenten abstinence.

ken foree
23/12/2005, 2:18 PM
Great let's all become cultureless drones like the Australians and Americans.

..or could we just settle for tarring a huge amount of people with a very very big brush..

Hither green
23/12/2005, 7:59 PM
..or could we just settle for tarring a huge amount of people with a very very big brush..

It's a bit harsh but... oh go on then... only if we can feather them too.

23/12/2005, 8:12 PM
...ive had so many talks of people stating facts that God is real that i do believe and im amazed that most don't.

23/12/2005, 10:32 PM
You'd be amazed how little people take out of school!

Gareth
24/12/2005, 8:12 AM
Proof that we are willing to believe too much too easily is look at Ron Hubbard's Scientology. He admitted it was a money making scam and still people flock to it. Fantastic.

24/12/2005, 8:31 AM
I Think Paddy's day should be renamed Ireland Day like they Have Austrailia Day coz at the end of the day its a celebration of our Irishness and not really a religious celebration ie do you go to mass on paddy's day

Paddys Day is a religious celebration? I suppose they do say pubs are thge new churches...

24/12/2005, 10:08 AM
Not unless you consider the whole God stuff. And I haven't heard any atheist come up with a good explanation for the existence of the universe (yes, it came from the Big Bang, but where did that come from?). The universe is far too complicated to be set in motion all on its own...
Me and my buddy genuinely thought we'd come up with a faultless theory of how the world began once(admittedly at the end of a nights drinking) and i was ringing loads of people to tell them.
I don't know where that confidence came from cos i forgot a lot of the detail next morning.
Anyway, the general gist of it is that "A time-machine will be invented."

needs a bit of work yet.

24/12/2005, 10:32 AM
Anyway, the general gist of it is that "A time-machine will be invented."

Do you work in Project Management?

27/12/2005, 3:31 PM
This is what one guy said after been clinically dead for 8 minutes:

The good news is there's no devil. The bad news is there's no heaven. There's nothing

hamish
27/12/2005, 4:22 PM
Don't fcuking believe in me huh?:mad:

Well, when you're all fcuking roaring and fcuking screaming on yer fcuking death beds and undergoing last second fcuking conversions, then I'll have the fcuking last laugh. I'll give ye one of two fcuking choices to go to -1/fcuking Hell or 2/The fcuking Showgrounds:D either fcuking venue and ye'll fcuking spend the rest of fcuking eternity in excruciating fcuking pain.

Ye have been fcuking warned.:mad:

Mrs. God

PS and BTW - don't make any remarks about my bad fcuking language, I invented fcuking English so I'll fcuking say what I fcuking want.

27/12/2005, 10:12 PM
Don't fcuking believe in me huh?:mad:

Well, when you're all fcuking roaring and fcuking screaming on yer fcuking death beds and undergoing last second fcuking conversions, then I'll have the fcuking last laugh. I'll give ye one of two fcuking choices to go to -1/fcuking Hell or 2/The fcuking Showgrounds:D either fcuking venue and ye'll fcuking spend the rest of fcuking eternity in excruciating fcuking pain.

Ye have been fcuking warned.

Mrs. God

PS and BTW - don't make any remarks about my bad fcuking language, I invented fcuking English so I'll fcuking say what I fcuking want.

Absolute classic :D

27/12/2005, 10:27 PM
I'll give ye one of two fcuking choices to go to -1/fcuking Hell or 2/The fcuking Showgrounds:D either fcuking venue and ye'll fcuking spend the rest of fcuking eternity in excruciating fcuking pain.I'll take option number 2 please;)., that's Heaven for me anyway:cool:

hamish
29/12/2005, 4:12 PM
I'll take option number 2 pleasethat's Heaven for me anyway

I've had a chat with that fcuking upstart Lucifer and we had agreed on constructing a special circle of hell for Sligo Rovers fans but decided that there was no need to since The Showgrounds matched all our criteria.:p :D

Ms. God