View Full Version : Alan Cawley has re-signed for UCD

ihatejam
20/12/2005, 1:39 PM
i kid you not lads..we have re-signed alan cawley..not sure how long the contract is etc..but he has re-signed for ucd..

20/12/2005, 1:48 PM
Well you were right about Micko so i'll have to trust ya on this one, decent player and did very well last time around for UCD

20/12/2005, 2:11 PM
Feck ya jammy boy - don't know what to think now! :D Where'd you see this?

Funnily enough, I had a feeling we might re-sign him alright, even though he left in slightly acrimonious circumstances (what with effectively trying to sue us and all). Still, if Pete can get the most out of him (and he did at the end of 2003, when he was superb), this could be a great signing. Presumably he'd be playing wide on the left?

bambi
20/12/2005, 3:11 PM
No Way!!!!! :)

CHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOCOLATE has returned!!! :D :p

ETBY!!

20/12/2005, 5:45 PM
Keep in mind Jam's last "rumour" was just relaying what he read in a national news paper. If this comes to the fore he might earn some credability.

I was going to suggest this myself but like you Pineapple reckoned the whole past thingy would rule it out. Would be nice to have a tried and proven left winger and someone who can hit a free kick. Would also be nice to have got one up on Shels. They had to pay the compensation, never got any use from him and now he is back where he was. Sligo fans seem to have reckoned he was on the way there or were they just fantasising?:confused:

ihatejam
20/12/2005, 6:28 PM
lads if im lying about this ill never post on the site again! you have to learn to trust me lads!:D

20/12/2005, 7:15 PM
Would be nice to have...someone who can hit a free kick.
Who's that then?:confused: :p

20/12/2005, 9:05 PM
Sligo fans seem to have reckoned he was on the way there or were they just fantasising?:confused:

Fantasising!!! what's that supposed to mean coming from a ucd fan?

we've never heard anythin to think he cud be joining us&i doubt connor has any interest in him

Aberdonian Stu
20/12/2005, 10:22 PM
lads if im lying about this ill never post on the site again! you have to learn to trust me lads!:D

Trust needs to be earned.

20/12/2005, 10:24 PM
Fantasising!!! what's that supposed to mean coming from a ucd fan?
Need help with the big words again?;)

21/12/2005, 2:25 PM
Would be nice to have...someone who can hit a free kick.Who's that then?:confused: :pDo you not remember the two quality free kicks he scored off the opposition wall? An impressive skill. :D

21/12/2005, 6:37 PM
I don't know - doesn't Aberdonian Stu claim credit for one of those for shouting at Shay Kelly just when the kick was taken?!

21/12/2005, 6:44 PM
Sorry lads, I must have mixed those anecdotes up in my head and put him down as some free kick specialist.

21/12/2005, 6:50 PM
In six years going to games, I think I've seen three free kicks scored without a deflection. Robbie Doyle in Dalyer, Seán Finn at home against Shels and Robbie Mac in the Cup quarter-final replay last year. We lost every one of those games!

21/12/2005, 10:44 PM
It was really just talk among our fans about signing him. Sean Connor never once said that he was trying to sign him or even expressed an interest in him. If he has signed then good luck to him anyway!

Aberdonian Stu
21/12/2005, 10:45 PM
I don't know - doesn't Aberdonian Stu claim credit for one of those for shouting at Shay Kelly just when the kick was taken?!

Ah if it was mere shouting he wold most probably have ignored it. No instead I spoke at home in only a slightly raised voice, far more unexpected than shouting and thus more distracting. I claimed an assist on the goal.

Redtop
24/12/2005, 12:36 PM
great signin..but im sure that he wont get a kick off a ball when we play ye next year!!good luck next season

red metal
05/01/2006, 6:03 PM
Cawley and O Grady are great mate,s.And yes we did try and sign him.Alan has a house in dublin and does,nt want to be travelling.And i say alan know,s or manager is a bluffer.

Bald Student
05/01/2006, 9:21 PM
Alan has a house in dublinI hope his mortgage isn't too much. He's back on a student budget now!

Student Mullet
12/01/2006, 1:56 AM
What's the exact rule relating to the 'New Player of the Year' trophy?

12/01/2006, 1:28 PM
Exact rule. :D

They have to be new, ruling out Cawley who isn't.

12/01/2006, 1:57 PM
In six years going to games, I think I've seen three free kicks scored without a deflection. Robbie Doyle in Dalyer, Seán Finn at home against Shels and Robbie Mac in the Cup quarter-final replay last year. We lost every one of those games!

Was that not a 1-1 draw ?

12/01/2006, 3:04 PM
What's the exact rule relating to the 'New Player of the Year' trophy?
Rule 1. Player's debut was that season.
Rule 2. Rule one does not apply if the player only played a few games last year or we otherwise decide to ignore it.

15/01/2006, 2:05 AM
Was that not a 1-1 draw ?
Nope, 2-1 defeat according to my stats (can't for the life of me remember either Bohs goal at this stage)

ihatejam
15/01/2006, 6:20 PM
Nope, 2-1 defeat according to my stats (can't for the life of me remember either Bohs goal at this stage)

bobby ryan came on in his debut for them and nipped down the line,cut inside and scored at the near post,if you can remember who scored the 1st one it might jog my memory.....:confused:

15/01/2006, 6:26 PM
Quick fanzine consultation says Paul Keegan scored the other shortly before the break - walking the ball into the net apparently.

16/01/2006, 12:58 PM
bobby ryan came on in his debut for them and nipped down the line,cut inside and scored at the near post,if you can remember who scored the 1st one it might jog my memory.....:confused:

I remember Ryans goal alright, can't remember Keegans thou ? Doyle scored a lovely free kick that night. UCD were unlucky to loose from what i remember of the match....

16/01/2006, 1:30 PM
UCD were unlucky to loose from what i remember of the match....We usually are in those 2-1 defeats in Dalymount. :(