20/12/2005, 8:51 AM
O'Flynn and Kearney quit champions Cork
ADVERTISEMENT

click here to enlarge
John O'Flynn had a trial at Swansea

Eoin

Dunne

CORK CITY manager Damien Richardson is now seeing the downside of his side's success this season as he tries to keep the nucleus of his Championship-winning side together.

Although full-back Neal Horgan re-signed over the weekend, yesterday both John O'Flynn and Liam Kearney left the club.

O'Flynn was at Swansea City last week on trial, but it is thought that at least three clubs are interested in signing the 23-year-old striker. Kearney will be playing in the Dutch Premier Division next season, with Heerenveen expected to be his destination.

As both players were free agents after the FAI Cup final no transfer fee will be paid, but Kearney is still under 23 and Cork may be entitled to some compensation.

The two join Greg O'Halloran, who signed for Shelbourne last week, in leaving the club.

In comparison, Derry have managed to keep most of their squad together and have announced that centre-half Clive Delaney and goalkeeper David Forde have signed new deals.

Stephen Kenny has so far only lost out-of-contract Alan Murphy and Damien Brennan. Kenny still wants to strengthen the squad and has been linked with prolific Finn Harps striker Kevin McHugh. http://www.unison.ie/irish_independent/stories.php3?ca=94&si=1529995&issue_id=13439

Thats really bad form by City IMHO. Thats the third player that City have just given away for free basically. Its a fúcking disgrace and the club should be ashamed of themselves.

Its about time Eircom League clubs tighten up their contracts. So many clubs are in financial problems yet they give away their top player like a charity organisation.

20/12/2005, 8:52 AM
The club should learn a valuable lesson from this ..... not to pander to players unless they are coming up with the goods.But he did come up with the goods...consistently. He couldn't help being injured, and apart from that, he was unquestionably Cork Citys number one man over the past three seasons. Is that not payback enough for ye. He did sign one contract extension a year or two ago, and made no effort to disguise his ambition to go back to England where, like it or not, the standard is still higher, the game is played to bigger audiences, and where he has a far better chance of getting a really big break a la Doyle. How anyone can begrudge the lad that beggars belief.

Its a business as well as a game today lads, and sad and all as it is, the time for loyalty to anyone is long gone out the window. If the shoe were on the other foot and he wanted to renew his contract but wasn't playing well enough then I have no doubt that Lennox and Rico would have shown him the door.

Its time to stop feeling hard done by. Its not as if he were a Cork City boy through and through. After all, ye got him from an English club. Give the lad the credit he deserves and move on. Doyle was not considered a Judas, and ye got next to nothing for him, and he is worth a lot more than John O'Flynn. Yet, ye still talk of him as if he were God. Cop on.

20/12/2005, 9:04 AM
Djurgarden are interested in O'Flynn according to the Star.
Swansea have not offfered him a contract yet AFAIK.

20/12/2005, 9:07 AM
lads , all i can blame is the club for not giving him an extension to his contract last season. It a shambolic way to run a club and City have no one to blame but themselves.

Any club who doesnt tighten up on the contract side of things has to get their house in order. Celtic let Miller go on a free and the club has to take the blame.

Even if they didnt want O'Flynn at least they would get some form of payment. At the end of the day, city splashed out €60,000 on Flynn and what have they got in return ?

The Good Son
20/12/2005, 9:08 AM
Thats really bad form by City IMHO. Thats the third player that City have just given away for free basically. Its a fúcking disgrace and the club should be ashamed of themselves.

Both Flynn and Kearney wanted away. How the fcuk are you supposed to keep them if they have no interest? Flynn admitted he was offered a very good deal by City, but he still is under the impression that he's good enough to play at a "higher level". Anyone watching Kearney for the last quarter of the season could see his heart was not in it.

The Good Son
20/12/2005, 9:16 AM
lads , all i can blame is the club for not giving him an extension to his contract last season. It a shambolic way to run a club and City have no one to blame but themselves.

Any club who doesnt tighten up on the contract side of things has to get their house in order. Celtic let Miller go on a free and the club has to take the blame.

Even if they didnt want O'Flynn at least they would get some form of payment. At the end of the day, city splashed out €60,000 on Flynn and what have they got in return ?

Flynn would only sign a one year extension. Kearney had agreed a new contract mid season, then he changed his mind. Flynn admitted he was offered a very good new contract. You can't force players who don't want to be there to sign new contracts.

20/12/2005, 9:39 AM

They got as much out of Flynn as they could.

He was always going to leave the club at the end of the season, he would openly sign a one year extension, and said in interview immediately after he signed that he wanted to move cross-channel.

He admitted he was offered a 'great deal' to sign again, but he's wanted to leave since he arrived.

Kearney seems to be more complicated, there were mistakes made on both sides.

20/12/2005, 10:02 AM
O'Flynn has never fully recovered from injury at belfield a couple of years ago. He is good when he gets a run in the team but will get injured every couple of months anyway. I think the club stalled on offering him a contract earlier in the season as he was injured or too inconsistent. Need quality replacement as he was our no1 forward.

Kearney is good but not key player - he was important last season as no real cover for wingers. I think City are due compensation (no doubt be ripped off by tribunal as usual) as he is under 23.

20/12/2005, 10:23 AM
Threads merged.

Kearney was offered contract months ago & clearly decided to leave.

O'Flynn was injured for half the season so would have been big gamble by the club to offer him a long term extension as they've effectively been paying him double wages with his injury problems.

Both players have done well for us so wouldn't be bitter enough to be telling prospective employers about injuries or anything as thats petty.

sfc red
20/12/2005, 11:13 AM
From an outsider's perspective:
First of all, Eanna, you are a clown.
Secondly, whatever about Kearney, I think you'll really miss JOF. The best all round striker in the league IMO

MOD EDIT : Can you please stop attacking the poster, i dont believe it is that hard. It is a discussion forum, you can discuss all you want, and very liberally i might add. You are asked one thing and that is to not attack the poster. Please see to it that you keep this in check.

ollie
20/12/2005, 12:35 PM
i hate this judas stuff.we cant go calling everyone who leaves our club judas like.i'm as p!issed of as anyone about them leaving but calling them judas is just getting tired at this stage.

20/12/2005, 2:21 PM
Both of them hate Cork, always have, my grandmothers friends ma used to double date them, told me last year they wanted away from cork

20/12/2005, 2:29 PM
Both of them hate Cork, always have, my grandmothers friends ma used to double date them, told me last year they wanted away from cork

Worst windup of the year. :rolleyes:

However Kevin Doyle was quoted as saying he hated Dublin. :d

rebs23
20/12/2005, 2:58 PM
i hate this judas stuff.we cant go calling everyone who leaves our club judas like.i'm as p!issed of as anyone about them leaving but calling them judas is just getting tired at this stage.
Agreed. Footballers are professional and will always seek to go where they can get more money, just like any of us in our jobs. No great suprise really is it?

20/12/2005, 3:00 PM
Worst windup of the year. :rolleyes:

However Kevin Doyle was quoted as saying he hated Dublin. :d

yeah.....wind up :rolleyes:

Kearney defnitely hates it, he just can't settle in his new primary school at all at all

20/12/2005, 3:16 PM
Only Rico clearing out the previous managers clique that existed in the dressing room, no huge loss either of them.

nismo
20/12/2005, 10:16 PM
I don't think every city fan considers him a judas. Most of us are ****ed off we won't get a penny for him but would wish him well.

Now ye Limerick boys are about as ....................................

ye didnt pay a penny for him..:rolleyes:

nismo
20/12/2005, 10:20 PM
**** the pair of them. judas ****s. O'Flynn is the greatest traitor I've ever seen- the club spent a fortune rescuing sicknote from the dole office and he ****s off first chance he gets. I wish him nothing but injury, misery and more injury.

kearney has wanted out of City for months, you only have to look at how he played to see that, so good riddance.

eanna as a mod your not setting a very good example in this thread.:rolleyes:

20/12/2005, 10:22 PM

Kearney defnitely hates it, he just can't settle in his new primary school at all at all

wws ... are you trolling ??

20/12/2005, 10:56 PM
Relax, he's taking the ****, there's a difference...

Ruairi
21/12/2005, 9:08 AM
eanna as a mod your not setting a very good example in this thread.:rolleyes:

eanna's not a mod, but i agree, calm down a bit fella.

Ruairi.

The Sheliban
21/12/2005, 9:40 AM
If, as Rico said, Cork "didn't get the time" to negotiate new contracts, then frankly you deserve to lose them.

21/12/2005, 12:03 PM
not trolling

just a fact of life - they want more money - so long boyos

21/12/2005, 3:28 PM
Taken from the Reading FC website.

Doyle blazes a trail
Cork City striker John O'Flynn wants to follow ex-teammate Kevin Doyle's path of success in English football. O'Flynn will move to England in January, and said, "Kevin gave every player in the eircom League a boost, to say that you can make it over there. I'll try to do the same as he's doing, go over there and get a good club and try to get on the scoresheet."

The sad reality for you though John, is that Doyler is 10 times a better player than you'll ever be.

nismo
21/12/2005, 6:20 PM
eanna's not a mod, but i agree, calm down a bit fella.

Ruairi.

BTW WWS isn't trolling, he's completely taking the p!ss and anyone who actually takes him seriously should take a long hard look at themselves.

how did he treaten to ban me before so??

21/12/2005, 9:14 PM
One thing for sure, its win win for City ... if John stays, fair play .... if John actually goes then its in Citys interest to offload a guy with absolutely no ambition !! :ball:

Swansea ?? :eek: :(
Fair play a face. At least you can say it.

All the Cork fans calling them judas, it's the clubs fault. "Too busy", what a ****y excuse. Kearney was a really good player and imo he will be missed. As for O'Flynn, he wasn't going to score the amount of goals a striker of his type should.

22/12/2005, 1:15 AM

All the Cork fans calling them judas, it's the clubs fault. "Too busy", what a ****y excuse. Kearney was a really good player and imo he will be missed. As for O'Flynn, he wasn't going to score the amount of goals a striker of his type should.

I'll be honest ... Kearney is going onto better things, i'd love it to be different but its the way it is. I dont like the people around him, or more to the point i dont like what they are at, what they are doing but Liam is a great player and will do well. Will keep an eye on him definitely.

It just another chapter in eircom league not wising up and getting done over again. Will it ever stop !!

StephenPiggott
22/12/2005, 6:45 AM
I really cant believe ye lads. JOF was brilliant for city when he was healty.The most important player. He was the best striker in ireland when he was healthy especially his first season. But you must remember that he did a lot more for the club, for example he played a huge part in bringing dan murry to the club as they played together in england and flynny told dolan about him. Ye should say thanks for your time here and move on to getting a replacement.

22/12/2005, 7:03 AM

He used to be a mod AFAIK, but gave it up

JOF was brilliant for city when he was healty.
Agreed

JOThe most important player. He was the best striker in ireland when he was healthy especially his first season.
He was never our most important player IMO, and he was one of the best strikers in Ireland, you also have to remember that the first season form can't sustain a reputation through four years at a club.

But you must remember that he did a lot more for the club, for example he played a huge part in bringing dan murry to the club.
True, I'd forgotton that

Ye should say thanks for your time here and move on to getting a replacement.
I've no problem acknowledging what good he did at CCFC, but I can't respect the decision he's taken, I have a feeling it'll blow up in his face.

22/12/2005, 11:04 AM

I don't see where ALL fans calling him a judas... :confused:

Just because Rico said he was "too busy" doesn't mean he doesn't have another agenda. O'Flynn has barely played 5-6 plays in a row in last 2 seasons without injury so offering him a contract mid season would have been stupid. Kearney was offered a contract months ago but wanted more cash. Its simple really.

Hulsey
22/12/2005, 11:13 AM
It's Corks own fault for letting two of their better players get out of contract. Should have been sorted out during the summer or tried to sell them on. Won't yous pick up componsation for Kearney as he's U23? Why couldn't it be George "Irish version of Robbie Savage" O' Callaghan going instead of Kearney. I hate players who dish it out at the first chance but as soon as it comes around on them, fein injury and throw the toys out of pram if the ref decides not to agree that by them diving, others should get a card.

rebs23
22/12/2005, 11:20 AM

No not all Cork fans are calling them Judas. Read the thread!

22/12/2005, 11:23 AM
It's Corks own fault for letting two of their better players get out of contract. Should have been sorted out during the summer or tried to sell them on. Won't yous pick up componsation for Kearney as he's U23?

O'Flynn can't get a contract in UK as a freebie so little chance we'd have been able to sell him. Whats the point in contracting a player (big medical bills for him).

Hulsey
22/12/2005, 11:27 AM
O'Flynn can't get a contract in UK as a freebie so little chance we'd have been able to sell him. Whats the point in contracting a player (big medical bills for him).
Shels might have taken him? Supose your right, but people getting upset about them leaving and calling them "judas" is a bit harsh. Know it's only a section of the posts voicing that opinion. Didn't call Eamo or Wesley "judas" when they left, was happy for them to get the chance they earned. Only "judas" is that cnut smith:mad: :mad: . Would have been a Leeds legend if he had have joined ANY club other than that lot!:mad:

michaelguineys
22/12/2005, 1:42 PM
this is a site for irish / eircom league football.
Who gives a sh*t bout alan smith, leeds and man ure?????

22/12/2005, 3:38 PM
No not all Cork fans are calling them Judas. Read the thread!
I mean all or "the" Cork fans. It's an expression.

22/12/2005, 6:26 PM
I mean all or "the" Cork fans.

Sure you did !! :p

jofyisgod
23/12/2005, 6:40 PM
Looks like JOF is coming back, Liam possibly could too.

Official announcement in the next few days. Good news IMO.

27/12/2005, 4:12 PM
I was a mod, but I quit in protest at the way certain people were treated on the site. And if I did threaten to ban you, it was because you deserved it.