View Full Version : Dunphy and Giles
08/12/2005, 11:35 AM
Does anybody listen to these two muppets anymore?
They were ****ing on last night about how Man U and Arsenal are finished (much as I'd enjoy it to be true), how Barca aren't all they're cracked up to be, how great Spanish football is and subsequently how bad Italian football is. They referred to Man U as "we" and "us" and talked ****e about their playing days.
Really it's time to get rid of them. We don't need muppets like this representing Irish journalism.
johnny Giles is one of the most ignorant people out there. How can he give opinions on who will the Champions League when he only watches the British clubs.
As for Dunphy, I know he played but he hasn't a clue about football in general.
I don't know how Bill put's up with him, he's not great himself now.
08/12/2005, 11:40 AM
bill o herlihy:eamon,what does this mean for alex ferguson now
eamon:its over..bill...its over
bill:but eamon,we've been doing it for so long,i can change
Eamon:i was talking about man uniteds team
John Giles:bill,it started 4 years ago in munich
Eamon:we said it was the beginning of the end
Bill:theres someone else isnt there
Eamon:carlos queiroz,he doesnt have a clue...its his fault,the main man is too old now too
Bill:you said i matured with age like a fine cheddar
Eamon:bill you can talk about cheese all night but the fact is that cheese ran away with a young one and in saipan he was creep
Bill:come on now eamon,you cant say that
Eamon:well its true..i cant stay here any longer [walks off]
thats the way i see it
i think its funny...there like a big dysfunctional family....hate liam brady so much though...he is the black sheep of the family
08/12/2005, 11:44 AM
Dont think Giles even has much of a clue about British football either he cant remember the players names half the time.
Dublin12
08/12/2005, 11:45 AM
I like them,they wind people up and are good at it,I'd rather see them on the panel than Kevin Moran,Niall Quinn or that other muppet Keith O'Neill.
08/12/2005, 11:46 AM
Whats with the use of the word "muppet" . its really annoying!
Dublin12
08/12/2005, 11:47 AM
Whats with the use of the word "muppet" . its really annoying!
It's meant to be.
08/12/2005, 11:54 AM
i thought last night was one of the better nights. The football match was brillinat (i thought anyway). a lot of games in europe have become boring and predicatable. i thought united would do the business last night and when scholes scored i thought it was all over. dunphy was right when he called it.
When benfica got one back i was punching the air. personally i think united are boring beyond belief and they need a new manager and new players.
RTE is only any good when something good happens in football, if the futty is muck so is the commentarty
klein4
08/12/2005, 12:28 PM
jaysus they are two lads in their 60s. of course they dont remember the names of every player. doesnt mean they dont know nuthin about football. they arent two teenagers. dunphy is pure panto and giles always logical. bradys opinions are always interesting as he is heavily involved in the set up of one of the top clubs. who would ya rather, niall quinn???? hes a creep...(joke!)
08/12/2005, 2:27 PM
and giles always logical.
What?? Man U lose one match so they're "finished"? Arsenal finish top of their group with 16 points, same as Barcelona and Lyon and they're "past it"?
I don't see how that's logical.
08/12/2005, 2:42 PM
who will take over from Giles when he retires ? RTE will go down hill unles they can get a Roy Keane in or someone very contraversal.
08/12/2005, 2:48 PM
jaysus they are two lads in their 60s. of course they dont remember the names of every player. doesnt mean they dont know nuthin about football. they arent two teenagers. dunphy is pure panto and giles always logical. bradys opinions are always interesting as he is heavily involved in the set up of one of the top clubs. who would ya rather, niall quinn???? hes a creep...(joke!)
fair enough like but the least you would expect of a "football pundit" is a good knowledges of the game and its players
johnny Giles is one of the most ignorant people out there. How can he give opinions on who will the Champions League when he only watches the British clubs.
I only caught the end of the show last night but I think Giles said something like
that he couldnt comment on other teams as the only games he ever watches
inthe CL are the ones he presents on.
08/12/2005, 3:05 PM
was gas too when one of the English teams were playing Betis to hear Dunphy try to pronounce Joaquin
I only caught the end of the show last night but I think Giles said something like
that he couldnt comment on other teams as the only games he ever watches
inthe CL are the ones he presents on.
And how more honest can ye get than that!! If anyone on bbc/ itv or sky were asked they'd give a bullsh!t answer without seeing most of the teams!!
I remember some ex leeds player was on sky before a match and he was brutally honest - was asked about some new kid at leeds prematch and he said he knew nothing about him as he never saw him play - richard keys didnt know what to say :D - your man hasnt been on since (wonder why :eek: ) but at least he didnt go bulling like all the other clowns about something he knew nothing about!!!
Giles/ Dunphy/ Bill are the A Team of football punditry - nobody is better entertainment than these for prematch/ half time and postmatch viewing!!!
stickyjoe
08/12/2005, 3:14 PM
Giles and Dunphy may talk some rubbish, but for entertainment i dont think their punditry can be beaten.
Particularly when compared to Skys Champions League coverage, Richard Keys and 3 of his fellow clowns all licking up to each other and agreeing on absolutely everything. Redknapp in particular is awful on it. I dont think Ive seen him yet disagree with anybody else on any game hes covered.
08/12/2005, 3:41 PM
Looked like Dunphy had had a few again last night. It seems like RTE/Bill/whoever are going to try and get him deliberately drunk each week and have Brady saying things to try and get a rise out of him. With Manchester gone so early they will be worried about their viewing figures but the row over Keane was one of the most talked about bits of TV this year.
Did anyone notice the rehabilitiation of Beckham in Dunphy's eyes - United should have never got rid of him, he's one of the best in Europe, Real Madrid are a great team, etc? Not so long ago, in fact earlier this season Dunphy was his usual spiteful self and went over the top several times in his criticism of Beckham. Is this evidence of insider knowledge on Keane's next move:confused:
08/12/2005, 4:34 PM
Yes, he mentioned Beckam in the same sentence as Keane would you believe :eek: But that's typical of the muppet. He'll totally contradict himself to make a point.
It's all very well to say that as a pundit, he's dire but that he's great entertainment. He has abused his position as a "pundit" to ridicule people such as Charlton, McCarthy and Quinn aided by the national broadcaster, RTE, under the guise of "objective analysis". It is only since Brady was allowed join the panel to sometimes put a contrary view to Dumm and Dummer ("I agree with Eamon; "I agree with John") that there has been some modicum of balance in RTE.
cheifo
08/12/2005, 5:04 PM
Some valid criticisms(?) but BBC & Sky are so cliched I still enjoy RTE coverage.
08/12/2005, 5:22 PM
well Beckham has been Reals best player this season and they are one of the best teams in arguably the best league in the world so he isnt doing that bad:)
08/12/2005, 5:57 PM
For me the comic moment of the night on Rte last night came in the post match interview with Benfica manager Ronald Koemann, I thought Ronnie had said 'my sister was playing better' but he must have been saying Myshester.
08/12/2005, 7:02 PM
was gas too when one of the English teams were playing Betis to hear Dunphy try to pronounce Joaquin
Wakien is right.
What did he say?
Joe a quinn?
Joachim?
Wa quinn?
Roy Keane?
Liam, isn't Roa Keane great on the wing for Betis?
No, it's Arsenal Eamon. The lads name is Arsenal. He's a great player.
08/12/2005, 7:23 PM
Dunphy is contraversial and fun to watch but Giles? He hasn't a clue about modern day football and doesn't do any research.
08/12/2005, 7:25 PM
Wakien is right.
What did he say?
Joe a quinn?
Joachim?
Wa quinn?
Roy Keane?
Liam, isn't Roa Keane great on the wing for Betis?
No, it's Arsenal Eamon. The lads name is Arsenal. He's a great player.
yeah it was something like Joa quinn
08/12/2005, 7:26 PM
its WHACK - EEEN.
Giles outlook is just to the basics right... that was what you had to do back in the day but things have moved on a lot. But its good that he in on the telly, the other pundits play off him a lot and dunphy and Brady arent slow to disagree.
08/12/2005, 7:28 PM
I do Spanish. It's something like Wha-keen.
Dunphy is contraversial and fun to watch but Giles? He hasn't a clue about modern day football and doesn't do any research.
I lost any respect i had left for Giles when he dismissed out of hand any notion that might be possible (in the future) to keep kids at home & learn football in Ireland before going abroad at 19-20. The only football Giles sees is the stuff he paid to watch & i think he'd prefer to play golf & then watch highlights than actually watch live game as preparation...
08/12/2005, 7:54 PM
Thats right,
i heard him on newstalk 106fm one night having a go about players staying at home. I sent in a few messages to the newstalk crew and told them to tell giles to get a grip.
He was slating the Eircom LEague and slating any notion of football academies at home. Clearly the man has lost touch with modern day football.
08/12/2005, 9:56 PM
Giles outlook is just to the basics right... that was what you had to do back in the day but things have moved on a lot.Giles was Irelands most intelligent footballer, superb passing ability with either foot and he was a hard fekker, back to basics my arshe.
08/12/2005, 10:47 PM
Giles made me laugh quite a few times on Newstalk. On one occasion after Spurs signed Santini up to take over as manager after the Euro's:
Ger: "So, John, what do you think of Spurs' knew manager, Jacques Santini?"
John: "Seriously? I didn't hear anything about it".
Ger: "Yeah, it was announced today".
John: "Oh! Tottenham seem to be changing everything now. Who's Santini by the way?"
08/12/2005, 11:22 PM
It a risky business if you want sound opinions from outside Giles's radar.
But he good at analyzing what ever game he is watching and at his best when co commentating. Especially that Liverpool Chelsea game from earlier on this season. It had a years worth of Giles gems including the 5 minute diatribe on Drogba, diving and rolling around. Generally he stripped that game, Mourinho and Chelsea apart from all the hype and wasn't impressed by the negativity.
08/12/2005, 11:46 PM
Here is a story from behind the scenes.
http://astonvilla.blogfootball.com/BlackCountryVilla/paul_mcgrath_interview
After the break Bill O'Herlihy was coming to Paul Mc Grath to ask about Kevin Campbell. Paul realised there was nothing on earth he could say about Kevin Campbell. Nothing that sounded right. Nothing that a TV company would pay him for saying. Nothing. So, he turned to Johnny Giles. 'Sorry Johnny, what can I say about Kevin Campbell?' Giles saw the sheer panic in those eyes.
"So Johnny leaned over and said, 'why don't you just say that since he came back from Turkey he's looking very lean, he's playing well and he's very fit - it's obviously done him good'." Thanks Johnny.
A minute later O'Herlihy makes the throw. Paul McGrath catches. "Well Bill, since Kevin has come back from Turkey, he's looking really fit and he's shed a few pounds. He's playing well and obviously it's done him some good." Bill nods. Looks to Giles.
"I'd have to agree with what Paul has just said there, Bill. He looks magnificent."
PAUL McGRATH smiles at the memory. "How generous is that?" he asks. "Here's me a young upstart in the other chair. He gives me the line and then agrees with me to make me look good. He's brilliant at what he does. A really lovely man."
09/12/2005, 12:16 AM
thats a nice touch by giles fair play to him:)
klein4
09/12/2005, 8:11 AM
!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Giles knows loads about football.........research???????? he is john giles for jaysus sake!!!! I mean for gods sake...people think if he cant pull every name off the top of his head that means he somehow doesnt know anything about football...its called getting old..he isnt some 10 year old swapping football stickers in the schoolyard...listen to his newstalk programme. he knows a hell of a lot about football. as for the comment about giles saying arsenal and man u are in decline... If you dont agree with what giles,brady or dunphy says then well fair enough its an opinion and you dont have to agree with it. but at least you get an opinion on rte and not just banal cliches. credit where credits due.
!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Giles knows loads about football.........research???????? he is john giles for jaysus sake!!!! I mean for gods sake...people think if he cant pull every name off the top of his head that means he somehow doesnt know anything about football...its called getting old..he isnt some 10 year old swapping football stickers in the schoolyard...listen to his newstalk programme. he knows a hell of a lot about football. as for the comment about giles saying arsenal and man u are in decline... If you dont agree with what giles,brady or dunphy says then well fair enough its an opinion and you dont have to agree with it. but at least you get an opinion on rte and not just banal cliches. credit where credits due.
Spot on. He knows how football should be played and is a good analyst. It doesn't bother me that he can't name every player in every CL team.
09/12/2005, 8:37 AM
Giles was Irelands most intelligent footballer, superb passing ability with either foot and he was a hard fekker, back to basics my arshe.
obviously you dont listen to him. Listen to what he says next time. He always says stuff like, the player isnt doing this right, he isnt defending properly, he isnt making the passes, he is out of position etc.
Tenderloins
09/12/2005, 9:25 AM
Glies, Brady and Dunphy are a class above whats on offer on Sky, BBC, UTV.
When Brady is between the two there is also an added tension. I suppose we have been watching them years and feel that we know themwell. Dunphy can rant and we dont take it seriously etc. Dunphy is great entertainment, Giles is a good analyst and Brady is excellent although is anti Man Utd.
Like the other night Giles and Dunphy talking about what managers say at half time, that unless the job is done on the training ground first, the managers words will have little or no effect. Simple stuff, but stuff you wont hear elsewhere.
RTE also use their time well, knowing that people do tune in to listen to the boys as well as the game. Where BBC and ITV dont spend as much time after the match talking or analysing the game.
As for Skys coverage its just overkill, everyone afraid to say anything bad about their team becaiuse they are too connected to the clubs involved. Thats another reason why the RTE lads are great in that they dont care whose toes they tread on as they have no vested interests(bar Brady and Dunphy re Keane).
09/12/2005, 9:32 AM
!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I'm sorry, Giles was a fabulous player but most people on here no more about modern (I think you missed that word in my last post) day football then him. Listen to his Newstalk programme? That's all about the modern day football I'm talking about. He'll ramble on about "well, in my day you couldn't do that", "John Charles would run rings around any defender playing today". He's fine telling us about what a certain defender should be doing in a certain situation when analysing a match on RTE but his show on Newstalk is poor.
People text in asking what he thinks of Liverpool's chances, etc. He's not the type of person to be asking that to.
klein4
09/12/2005, 11:35 AM
I think his newstalk show is brilliant. do you not find it interesting to hear someone like giles talk about his career?
and in fairness to him the interviewer usually asks him bout the past
I would be interested to hear who you would say is better?
09/12/2005, 1:38 PM
I think his newstalk show is brilliant. do you not find it interesting to hear someone like giles talk about his career?
and in fairness to him the interviewer usually asks him bout the past
I would be interested to hear who you would say is better?
All I said was the following:
"He hasn't a clue about modern day football and doesn't do any research."
I believe that to be true.
klein4
09/12/2005, 4:01 PM
no i was genuinely interested in who people thought were good pundits and why...
09/12/2005, 6:30 PM
obviously you dont listen to him. Listen to what he says next time. He always says stuff like, the player isnt doing this right, he isnt defending properly, he isnt making the passes, he is out of position etc.
Thats the foundation of a good game. He does highlight the negative.
In a way that's fair enough, he expects a 'modern day' professional to do the basics right. He gets annoyed when things are not done right. "We are told that Lampard and Gerrard are the best midfield players in the world. Neither of them have strung two passes together all night so how can we tell?"
Giles's game was about a lot more than basics, with his finely tuned craft he would thrive at the highest level in todays game played on todays pitches.
no i was genuinely interested in who people thought were good pundits and why...
There are no good pundits - all the brit one's are too bland* (ditto TV3) and the Irish ones are clueless and/or bitter. However, if punditry is about entertainment, then Dunphy, Giles, Brady win hands down.
*This is especially true since Hansen's "You can't win anything with kids". Everyone has bottled it since then imo.
12/12/2005, 4:05 PM
Giles is good at analysing a game that he is watching but he is terrible about facts etc. He wont know one thing about Ivory Coast or Angola in the World cup but when the match is over he will analyse the game well. However did anyone thing that Dunphy having a pop at Essiens tackle was a bit rich when compared to Roy Keanes tacke that Dunphy wrote about and defended. He was saying that people like Essie should be thrown out of the game. A bit of a double standard there from Dunphy
12/12/2005, 6:05 PM
Dunphy is getting some major press over in the UK! hes had a selection of his rants printed in todays football section of the Sun, and also a few mentions on football365.com, Dunphy in, Le Saux out according to them!
Marked Man
12/12/2005, 9:48 PM
A bit of a double standard there from Dunphy
Say it isn't so.
15/12/2005, 8:17 PM
id say he likes his standards like he likes his vodka...
i didnt even take off me coat