View Full Version : Pre season friendlies announced

08/12/2005, 11:07 AM
distillery first early febuary
galway at home feb 25[:rolleyes: ]
harps away mar 3

games with 3 other northern team[the usual we play] tbc...before the harps game will be at least 2 of them

redrov2005
08/12/2005, 11:30 AM
Don't suppose that if Birmingham get knocked out of the FA cup early on that they might come over for a midweek game seeing as we have such strong ties now with the club:rolleyes:

Shelsman
08/12/2005, 4:41 PM
Lads, how about ye play some decent teams?

08/12/2005, 6:24 PM
what?,like ye,i suppose:rolleyes:

08/12/2005, 6:29 PM
Premier teams won't play each other. We've played Sligo last 3 years I think but not next year...

Mayo Red
08/12/2005, 6:35 PM
what?,like ye,i suppose:rolleyes:

No, sure he means Cork or Derry!:D

Redtop
08/12/2005, 6:43 PM
i suppose the northern teams are all we'll be able to play because english teams wont come over during there season

08/12/2005, 7:17 PM
didnt lincoln come over ?

08/12/2005, 9:22 PM
didnt lincoln come over ?In the middle of our season they did, but not their's;).

Redtop
08/12/2005, 9:28 PM
not unless an english team send over there reserves or youth team but that would cost the club more money than it would be worth especially when playing an irish team would be a higher standard than playing a reserve team from the english leaugue 1 or 2

08/12/2005, 9:35 PM
If any of you still have the "programme" from the Lincoln game, you'll see that their manager invited Rovers over to play them in England next year. Anyone fancy travelling to that one?:D

Redtop
08/12/2005, 9:36 PM
the trust might charter a flight:D :D LOL

10/12/2005, 8:13 PM
the trust might charter a flight:D :D LOLYeah:D.

We should be playing a few bigger teams in fairness though. I mean, no offence to Distillery, Galway or Harps but, we're not really testing how we will do in the Premier by playing teams like this. Cliftonville are the only team there that will give us a true measure of how we can perform against the "big teams" in my opinion.

10/12/2005, 8:21 PM
Burton Albion???:rolleyes:

Highly Doubtful after the 'terrific' links our two groups of supporteers have forged.:( :mad:

10/12/2005, 8:22 PM
Burton Albion???:rolleyes:

Highly Doubtful after the 'terrific' links our two groups of supporteers have forged.Eh, I said big teams;). Playing Burton matches to about the same as playing Harps/Galway:p.

10/12/2005, 8:29 PM
You seem to forget that we drew 16 games last season against these so called lower teams!

10/12/2005, 8:30 PM
You seem to forget that we drew 16 games last season against these so called lower teams!We did not draw 16 games, what are you talking about?:confused::rolleyes:.

Battery Rover
10/12/2005, 8:43 PM
We did not draw 16 games, what are you talking about?

2005 eircom League First Division

League Complete

Pos Team P W D L + - GD PTS
01 Sligo Rovers 36 15 16 5 45 27 +18 61
02 Dublin City 36 15 14 7 57 34 +23 59

I think you did;)

10/12/2005, 8:46 PM
2005 eircom League First Division

League Complete

Pos Team P W D L + - GD PTS
01 Sligo Rovers 36 15 16 5 45 27 +18 61
02 Dublin City 36 15 14 7 57 34 +23 59

I think you didWhoops, I thought he was refering to Burton as "we" again:o.

redtildead
10/12/2005, 8:49 PM
Brewer who have you been supporting longer: Rovers or Burton

10/12/2005, 9:33 PM
Went to my first rovers game when i was six...

Rovers

10/12/2005, 9:36 PM
Went to my first rovers game when i was six...

RoversI know this is completely off-topic here but how in the name of Jaysus did you start supporting them? Normally if an Irish fan supported an English team they'd be in the Premiership or near enough. Do you have relations if or from Burton or something?:confused:.

10/12/2005, 9:44 PM
Yeah...

Used to support utd until my uncle got me into burton albion.
Was already a big fan of brian clough and when i heard nigel was managing them...