View Full Version : Website question

08/12/2005, 10:02 AM
alright lads and lassies.
a mate of mine wants to setup a website for a local club, he is going to pay to have it hosted on a site, the thing is i said i would setup the initial site for him(free of course), nothing too fancy and granted he wont be able run php or mysql on the host server, but basically he wants to be able to upload pics and information from the games himself. the thing is he will want to learn this as i wont have time to do it every game, so what i wanted to know is there any handy way he can just upload the pics and relevant txt without having to re create the html every time i.e. links and anchors for new pics and games etc??

if anyone can shed any light on this thanks a lot!!

monutdfc
08/12/2005, 10:12 AM
You want to use a Content Management System (CMS).
Mambo, joomla, moodle etc.
If you can set up the CMS site for him it is dead easy to use once it is up and running.

08/12/2005, 10:13 AM
what does it have to run on though? cos im not sure what is host company can supports etc. do ye know what i mean?

finlma
08/12/2005, 10:20 AM
Does he already have a host company? Who is it? If not I'm sure Adam could help you out.
I use me2uweb.com and find them pretty good. I've set up an easy enough was to load photos but it does involve file creation, new database entry but no touching of html or php.

Gareth
08/12/2005, 11:12 AM
I use Siteground. For a small site you will pay 5 dollars a month. They provide a great package for that including plenty of bandwidth and space and loads of apps and php mysql postgres etc etc. I think they are great.

Photos upload, you can use Gallery 2.0 but that requires php to run it.

monutdfc
08/12/2005, 11:44 AM
"Here are the minimum requirements for Mambo 4.5

PHP 4.2.x or above - http://www.php.net

MySQL 3.23.x or above - http://www.mysql.com

Apache 1.13.19 or above - http://www.apache.org

You must ensure that you have MySQL, XML and Zlib support built into your PHP."

Most budget hosting sites will offer the above - check with them before you sign up.
Qualityhostonline costs about $10 for a year, I think it has all of the above (definitely the first 2)
web-mania.co.uk which is £20 per annum definitely has all of the above and more than enough bandwidth for your needs, but I have had problems with server downtime with them.