View Full Version : Did You Ever Wonder?

Pages : 1 [2]

08/12/2005, 1:31 PM
I'm confused. Why would the Egyptians design a pyramid whose co-ordinates matched a measurement in a measure which was only invented a couple of hundred years ago?

Now your starting to think out of the box
it is pretty strange no?

08/12/2005, 1:46 PM
No, I just think it's a case of people using statistics to prove whatever they want. Sure 75% of people know it can be done, Kent.

Bald Student
08/12/2005, 7:02 PM
In this picture there is a similar affect. http://www.apfn.org/apfn/moonlanding7.htm

The claim is that for a far away light source all shadows should be paralell but they're not in the reflection in the helmet. Again this points to a near source of light. Again it is explained by a curve, this time on the rounded helmet.Also, the shadows in that picture are converging, not diverging as they would if caused by a close source of light. All in all, a poor attempt a conspiracy theory.

It is ironic that earlier in that link the author says that a university chemistry student could spot flaws in NASA's plan when in fact two university engineering students can spot fairly obvious holes in this fellas 'proof'.

08/12/2005, 7:12 PM
...when you add the sides of the pyramid together you get in inches the exact diameter of earth in miles. the co-ordinates of the point of the great pyramid is exactly the first six digits of the speed of light (the pyramid is a monument to the sun god rah sun/light)
the list goes on and on http://www.aloha.net/~johnboy/Reticulum.htg/Reticulum.htm (http://www.aloha.net/%7Ejohnboy/Reticulum.htg/Reticulum.htm)

News to me that the Egyptians used 'inches' and 'miles' identical to modern ones. Sounds like this is either made up, wishful thinking or a co-incidence.

The co-ordinates measured from where and in what units? Ditto for the speed of light.
My first thoughts exactly, Schumi.

The co-ord's given in degrees minutes and seconds on google earth
as compared to the closest estimation of the speed of light in kilometers per second
What's a kilometer? Or a second? What's a degree? Or a minute, or a second? Why the heck would the Egyptions predict that we'd make a co-ordinate system with the meridian running through Grenwich? None of that makes any sense if you assume it's a deliberate plan, unless the ancient Egyptians had time travel. If the ancient Egyptians had time travel, I'll eat my hat. I don't have a hat.

Taking the Hebrew cubit to be 25.025 inches, the length of each side of the base is 365.2422 cubits, the exact number of days in the solar year (including the extra day for every 4 years).
Okay, here's another one. First it was the diameter of the earth, now it's the days in the year. Which is it?

The slope of the sides of the pyramid is of such an angle that they meet at the apex at the predetermined height of 232.52 cubits. If twice the length of a side at the base, be divided by the height of the pyramid we arrive at the figures 3.14159, which when multiplied by the diameter of a circle, gives its circumference.

The perimeter of the base of the pyramid (365.242 x 4 = 14609.68) is exactly equal to the circumference of a circle whose diameter is twice the height of the pyramid (232.52 x 2 x 3.1416 = 14609.68). So here we have in these figures the solution to the problem of how to square a circle
So what you're saying in these two paragraphs is that 3.14159 = 3.1416? Damn, but these Egyptians were crafty.

The angle of slope of the sides is 10 to 9. That is, for every 10 feet you ascend, you rise in altitude 9 feet. And if you multiply the altitude of the pyramid by 10 raised to the power of 9, you have 91,840,000, which in miles, is the exact distance of the sun from the earth!
Which is a restatement of both your earlier facts about the slope of the sides and the hight/base ratio, only once again coincidentially matches some random distance in a measurement system that didn't exist for a few thousand years until after the fact.

The year of the stars is called the 'Sidereal' and the year of the seasons is called the 'Equinoctial'. They differ by about 50 seconds per year. In other words, the stars in their rising and setting are retarded by about 50 seconds each year. In order for the 'Sidereal' and the 'Equinoctial' years to come around and coincide again would take 25,827 years, which is called a 'cycle'. If we add together the diagonals of the pyramids base in inches, we arrive at 25,827, or as many inches as the cycle has years.
Again, statement comes from same geometry as the length of the base, and again, it's in some random imperial measurement compaired to some other random constant.

The Great Pyramid stands at the exact centre of the world. It is midway between the west coast of Mexico and the east coast of China. Between the north cape of Norway and the Cape of Good Hope in South Africa. It stands at the intersection of the 30th parallel, both latitude and longitude. The Great Pyramid was the highest buildings in the world for thousands of years until modern man began building skyscrapers such as the World Trade Center. If it were compared to a skyscraper, the Great Pyramid would be 42 storeys high. It contains enough stone to build a six foot high wall from New York to Los Angeles.
Impressive. I really like how they picked the exact location of Grenwich to be 30 arbitrary units of measurement off the arbitrary exact central line of longitude. Fingers in all the pies, these time-travelling Egyptian buggers. No wonder the Yanks are working for them.

I give up. I can't compete with bucketloads of random facts without so much as a healthy reserve of cynicism.

As for the pyramids, there are hundreds of different measurements you can take of them and hundreds of units those measurements can be taken in. Compare all of these to a few hundred physical constants and chances are you'll get a few that match.

I'm confused. Why would the Egyptians design a pyramid whose co-ordinates matched a measurement in a measure which was only invented a couple of hundred years ago?
Jaysus, half of UCD is here to debunk this one!

08/12/2005, 7:19 PM
Sounds like you should on be on Questions & Answers!

JFK, the Moon landing and the Pyramids were all before my time...but does anyone think there was a conspiracy involved in Wacko Jacko's case?

I mean it's very grey and the chap's obviously going mad during the case.

08/12/2005, 7:27 PM
JFK, the Moon landing and the Pyramids were all before my time...but does anyone think there was a conspiracy involved in Wacko Jacko's case

Well, there is a theory out there as to why Mr Jackson is banned from Dunnes Stores during sales, with boys pants being half off and all.:eek:

08/12/2005, 7:32 PM
Well, there is a theory out there as to why Mr Jackson is banned from Dunnes Stores during sales, with boys pants being half off and all.:eek:
I heard that one on Conan months ago.:(

Bald Student
08/12/2005, 7:35 PM
Jaysus, half of UCD is here to debunk this one!I have on for you John,

Think of a number between 1 and 99, it must be even.

Now add 5,

divide by 2 and round down if the number is less that 25, round up otherwise,

now, multiply your answer by zero,

add 7.

Is your final answer 7?
How did I do it?

08/12/2005, 7:51 PM
My God, it's a conspiracy!!!

I used to have great fun with that when I was a kid. No-one ever got it right!

monkey magic
08/12/2005, 8:39 PM
therefore Aldrin would have to have been facing Armstrong to have taken the photo
he was.
and as for "that" film by oliver stone, the only FACT about it is that its complete rubish...

i dislike intensely film makers who use big budget productions and studios to turn complete fiction stories into "facts" which will inevitably be absorbed as such by that plague of a society we call america- it really is quite baffleing as to how an education system could go so wrong...

btw, im not having a go at the posters on this thread, as long as you are being objective and accurate i dont have a problem. it just annoys me that it appears acceptable in american culture to blatantedly ignore factual evidence on the basis that it does not support your viewpoint, and then to profiteer on your lies. you only have to look at the da-vinci code and the countless books on jfk to know what im talkin about.

what bugs me is that many peoples reputations and lives are ruined by conspiracy theorists, very often for no reason at all.

09/12/2005, 4:46 AM
it just annoys me that it appears acceptable in american culture to blatantedly ignore factual evidence on the basis that it does not support your viewpoint

That very same statement can be used to argue against you - i.e, everything wasn't as it seemed to begin with. By the way, it takes a mighty big brush to tar an entire nation of 280,000,000 people, but it would seem that you have that brush.

09/12/2005, 9:12 AM
he was.
and as for "that" film by oliver stone, the only FACT about it is that its complete rubish...

i dislike intensely film makers who use big budget productions and studios to turn complete fiction stories into "facts" which will inevitably be absorbed as such by that plague of a society we call america- it really is quite baffleing as to how an education system could go so wrong...

btw, im not having a go at the posters on this thread, as long as you are being objective and accurate i dont have a problem. it just annoys me that it appears acceptable in american culture to blatantedly ignore factual evidence on the basis that it does not support your viewpoint, and then to profiteer on your lies. you only have to look at the da-vinci code and the countless books on jfk to know what im talkin about.

what bugs me is that many peoples reputations and lives are ruined by conspiracy theorists, very often for no reason at all.

Which Stone film are you talking about that was Rubbish? There's been a few. Seriously which one? JFK? Because I didn't make any reference to any movie in my assertion the credulity was stretched way beyong breaking point in asking anyone to accept the FBIs balistics reports -which someone else said the Stone movie ignored.

If you accept Warren or anything like Warren you have to accept those balistics and if you accept those you have to accept what's commonly known as "magic bullet" which involves a single bullet going left right up down slowing down and Accelerating.

For anyone utterly unfamiliar with this -you'd have to see a diagram to truly appreciate what a crock o'sh1t people were told to accept as truth.

09/12/2005, 9:16 AM
For anyone utterly unfamiliar with this -you'd have to see a diagram to truly appreciate what a crock o'sh1t people were told to accept as truth.

Diagram Here (Site gives pro's and cons of the single bullet theory)

http://mcadams.posc.mu.edu/sbt.htm

read this book a few years ago and its certainly a feasable if unfortunate theory
http://www.parmaq.com/truecrime/MortalError.htm

its this book that really got me started on the kennedy thing

09/12/2005, 3:23 PM
None of that makes any sense if you assume it's a deliberate plan, unless the ancient Egyptians had time travel. If the ancient Egyptians had time travel, I'll eat my hat. I don't have a hat.
If they had time travel, what would they be doing using the imperial system? :D

09/12/2005, 3:29 PM
If they had time travel, what would they be doing using the imperial system? :D
Confusing students - the ultimate goal of all time-travelling civilisations and Pineapple Stu.

09/12/2005, 7:19 PM
Another unsolved mystery-dandruff. What's the deal with it? Where does it come from? How do you get rid of it?

09/12/2005, 7:24 PM
How do you get rid of it?Head and Shoulders anti-dandruff shampoo:D :p.

09/12/2005, 7:32 PM
Head and Shoulders anti-dandruff shampoo:D :p.
Reminds me of a joke.

This blonde one is talking to her friend. The friend said he has a bad dandruff problem but she sorted it out. The blonde says "how?". The friend said "I gave him Head and Shoulders". The blonde says "How do you give shoulders?":D

monkey magic
09/12/2005, 7:59 PM
Which Stone film are you talking about that was Rubbish? There's been a few. Seriously which one? JFK? Because I didn't make any reference to any movie in my assertion the credulity was stretched way beyong breaking point in asking anyone to accept the FBIs balistics reports -which someone else said the Stone movie ignored.

If you accept Warren or anything like Warren you have to accept those balistics and if you accept those you have to accept what's commonly known as "magic bullet" which involves a single bullet going left right up down slowing down and Accelerating.

i was referring to jfk. i presume some people have seen the documentary(apologies but im not able to remember its title) which looked at the kennedy assanitation, specifically in relation to the magic bullet theory, the oliver stone film, and lee harvey oswalds communists links... it completely rubbished the first two, but left some questions unanswered about oswald... i cant remember the details but they factually proved that there was no magic bullet, and was highly crittical regarding stones dramaticisation of the events in his film jfk. nothing i have read on the matter, and ive actually read a few books on jfk, has ever came close to convincing me otherwise, primarily because of what i mentioned last nite- their failure to back up the allegatoions being made with factual evidenct.

dancinpants, while i accept what your saying, i just think that sometimes the simplest and most logical explanation is the best, and that some people have go to great lengths to bend the truth, in this case and others, very often for a book deal. as regards my pet hate of the american psyche, i think youl find my grudge is what appears acceptable in american culture and not with every living american:)

Student Mullet
13/05/2006, 2:18 AM
http://www.stuffucanuse.com/fake_moon_landings/moon_landings.htm

15/05/2006, 12:09 PM
A ghost??? Probably a rational explanation for it but my mate will never forget that sound and breath on his neck.
As they say, I report, you decide.:confused:

Just on ghosty things etc, my grannys house had an exorcism performed on it
years ago as a few months after my eldest uncle was born, she swore that she
could see hands coming out from the walls and ceiling etc trying to grab him at night :eek:

Got the local priest in and he cast out the demons etc. Dont know if it was a
young priest and an old priest or what the story was!

ken foree
15/05/2006, 2:00 PM
i was referring to jfk. i presume some people have seen the documentary(apologies but im not able to remember its title) which looked at the kennedy assanitation, specifically in relation to the magic bullet theory, the oliver stone film, and lee harvey oswalds communists links... it completely rubbished the first two, but left some questions unanswered about oswald... i cant remember the details but they factually proved that there was no magic bullet, and was highly crittical regarding stones dramaticisation of the events in his film jfk. nothing i have read on the matter, and ive actually read a few books on jfk, has ever came close to convincing me otherwise, primarily because of what i mentioned last nite- their failure to back up the allegatoions being made with factual evidenct.

dancinpants, while i accept what your saying, i just think that sometimes the simplest and most logical explanation is the best, and that some people have go to great lengths to bend the truth, in this case and others, very often for a book deal. as regards my pet hate of the american psyche, i think youl find my grudge is what appears acceptable in american culture and not with every living american:)

though i pasted the warren commission link above, i was actually referring to this late 70s congressional investigation which found some evidence of conspiracy in two major american assasinations (nothing to do with stone's movie, never seen it - more don delillo's 'libra' which got me piqued re: kennedy):

"The Final Report of the House Select Committee on Assassinations presents the HSCA's findings in the murders of both President John F. Kennedy and Reverend Martin Luther King, Jr. The HSCA found a "probable conspiracy" in the JFK assassination, but was unable to determine its nature or participants (other than that Oswald was still deemed to have fired all the successful shots). In the King case, the HSCA similarly found that James Earl Ray assassinated Reverend King, but that there might have been a small-scale conspiracy involved.

For many assassination researchers, the HSCA's findings suggested a 'limited hangout' of a deeper and more disturbing reality. The release of the HSCA's internal files in the 1990s has certainly provided fodder for this view, including evidence of HSCA cover-ups in the area of the medical evidence and of Oswald's intelligence connections and his mysterious trip to Mexico City."

american intelligence forecasting company stratfor has said the elephant in the room regarding oswald was his wife marina, and her uncle's KGB background, while delillo's (great) book, though fiction, posits disgruntled ex-cia operatives (over the bungled bay of pigs invasion) as the players in an 'attempted assasination' to be blamed on the cubans.. which would swing american public opinion firmly in favor of a proper invasion of the island.

16/05/2006, 7:02 AM
Just on ghosty things etc, my grannys house had an exorcism performed on it
years ago as a few months after my eldest uncle was born, she swore that she
could see hands coming out from the walls and ceiling etc trying to grab him at night :eek:

Got the local priest in and he cast out the demons etc. Dont know if it was a
young priest and an old priest or what the story was!

You should have got yer man from most haunted to come to your Grans house,he would have had a chat with the ghost and sorted him out.:D :p

SaucyJack
16/05/2006, 12:18 PM
I thought the answer was kind of obvious
http://tim.rawle.org/simpsons/songs.php?iframe=1&song=19

anto eile
16/05/2006, 7:40 PM
Did You Ever Wonder how the pyramids were built or who really killed jfk or did neil armstrong ever really set foot on the moon?
just wanted to get peoples opionion on some of the stuff that is stilla mystery to us in the 21st century
aliens built the pyramids.
the tv show stargate is based on true events
FACT!

anto1208
17/05/2006, 3:39 PM
It is funny how desperate people are to belive conspiract theories despite being faced with facts

as homer says you can use facts to prove anything even remotely true :D

i love a conspirecy theory while i think most are rubbish they could very easily be true , its just people trust people in power to tell them the truth which rarely happens .at least people are willing to question things .

one of the newest ones on the news last night was that a plane didnt hit the Pentagon on 9/11 , aparently there is no photos of a plane hitting there are some stills the US gov had to release yesterday under the freedom of info act , and it clearly shows the place blowing up with no plane anywhere insight

ken foree
17/05/2006, 5:05 PM
one of the newest ones on the news last night was that a plane didnt hit the Pentagon on 9/11 , aparently there is no photos of a plane hitting there are some stills the US gov had to release yesterday under the freedom of info act , and it clearly shows the place blowing up with no plane anywhere insight

it's not exactly the newest "theory" - it's been doing the rounds on the web for years. and THIS is from the fringes of lunacy i'm afraid - i know which security camera footage you're referring to and i agree it doesn't look anything at all like a plane on the right side of the frame before the explosion.. but this discounts literally hundreds of eyewitness accounts of the plane striking the building, knocked down telephone poles that the plane's wings clipped on the way in, and the clincher: where are all those passengers if there was no flight 77?? i don't buy the missle thing at all. however, there are at least two puzzling things about the pentagon strike:

- how did the most securely defended structure on the entire planet suffer such a primitive, straightforward, direct hit? i've read reports that the pentagon is armed with surface to air missles that would automatically track and shoot down anything encroaching its restricted airspace. the same report says that a manual override of this safeguard would've been necessary to allow anything to approach the building. in my mind, if true, that's a far more sinister and chilling scenario..

- where is the security camera footage from the marriot hotel and nearby petrol stations which purportedly show the plane striking the building and why hasn't that footage been released?

..?

18/05/2006, 1:10 PM
Pentagon attacks
Anyones mind changed by this? (http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=5415578059017835301)
I'd imagine not.

20/05/2006, 7:29 AM
When I was about 7 a neighbour across the road from our house died. On the day before the funeral I was walking by the house and a man who looked identical to him was standing at the front of the driveway and stared at me but didn't say anything. I presumed that it must have been his brother who had come to the house for the funeral, and it turned out that he had no brothers. I remember that to this day. I don't believe in ghosts as it isn't logical, but that was a very eerie experience which I can't explain.

When I was younger than that I used to see things like what is in the quoted message and transparent people approach me in my house, but I would put that down to kids imagining that they are seeing things!

How's Bruce Willis keeping these days?.;)

22/05/2006, 8:41 PM
- where is the security camera footage from the marriot hotel and nearby petrol stations which purportedly show the plane striking the building and why hasn't that footage been released?

..?

The Fed's seized them all that day.

anto eile
25/05/2006, 8:05 PM
talk about "blink and yould miss it"
didnt look like a plane really though the footbage is crap.and the explosion was small for a plane

ken foree
26/05/2006, 6:45 PM
talk about "blink and yould miss it"
didnt look like a plane really though the footbage is crap.and the explosion was small for a plane

it does but i think the pentagon is deceptively large.

the f.o.i. request was filed with all footage (e.g. gas station security cameras) in mind but the pentagon only released their camera footage.. which was already in the public domain anyway. and the burden of proof is still upon the missle crowd, where are all those passengers??

27/05/2006, 9:00 AM
, where are all those passengers??
Will Smith and Tommy Lee Jones wiped their memories with the flashy thing:D

ken foree
27/05/2006, 11:02 AM
Will Smith and Tommy Lee Jones wiped their memories with the flashy thing:D

urh i probably should get that joke but i'm glad i don't! :o

27/05/2006, 5:00 PM
urh i probably should get that joke but i'm glad i don't! :o

Men in Black.

27/06/2007, 3:10 PM
Reading about Dr. David Kelly (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/pages/live/articles/news/news.html?in_article_id=397256&in_page_id=1770) recently and the manner of his death is very suspicious.
Good documentary (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rkuEtYQOFpY)

27/06/2007, 3:18 PM
2. What do Rocket Scientists compare something to when they have a really difficult problem?.

Talking to women.

anto1208
27/06/2007, 4:19 PM
From my understanding JFK was shot by a gassy mole :confused:

My fav is if armstrong was the first man on the moon who was holding the camera ??

gilberto_eire
27/06/2007, 4:39 PM
Did You Ever Wonder how the pyramids were built or who really killed jfk or did neil armstrong ever really set foot on the moon?
just wanted to get peoples opionion on some of the stuff that is stilla mystery to us in the 21st century

saw a conspiracy documentary on the moon part, very interesting all the flaws that they found....anyway at the end said the japs were sending a satellite to the moon to take close up pictures and that it might reveal once and for all....dont know what yr it was gonna be or when the docu' was made but i think it was a few yrs ago and the yr was this yr!!

27/06/2007, 10:56 PM
Well I read that they did land on the moon but the pictures are fake coz the pics didnt survive re-entry so they got the lads to re-enact it.

That grassy mole is one dangerous **** tho.

04/01/2008, 3:28 AM
What would be much more credible is actually foreseeing such stories.
If I was pushed for a suggestion I'd say
Barack Obama is all but assured of a horrible car crash at some stage this year.

Wolfie
04/01/2008, 8:51 AM
I foresee David Icke being vindicated this year.

"At the heart of Icke's theories is the view that the world is ruled by a secret group called the "Global Elite" or "Illuminati". In 1999, he published The Biggest Secret, in which he wrote that the Illuminati are a race of reptilian humanoids known as the Babylonian Brotherhood, and that many prominent figures are reptilian, including George W. Bush, Queen Elizabeth II, Kris Kristofferson, and Boxcar Willie."

We just weren't listening!!!!!!!!

04/01/2008, 9:26 AM
What I love about conspiracy theories is the number of people who have to get together to implement them and then keep a lid on the whole thing.

I am 100% convinced that Oswald, acting alone, killed JFK. I saw documentaries which totally debunked "the magic bullet" theory but people love conspiracies. "They're" out to get us. The Queen mother murdered Diana. There are a host of aliens in Roswell etc etc The FBI conspired to blow up the Twin Towers with high explosives.

Je d'espair.

Angus
04/01/2008, 10:12 AM
What I love about conspiracy theories is the number of people who have to get together to implement them and then keep a lid on the whole thing.

Je d'espair.

I agree with the sentiment but not on some of your examples. agree with the 9/11 and Diana stuff - my other favourite nonsense one is the Titanic.

The one I do believe was a conspiracy was JFK - I am not in the Oliver Stone camp but I do not believe Oswald acted alone, if indeed he acted at all. For more on this, check Anthony Summers book.

Not sure about the moon - I stuggle to see how anybody could go to the moon, before we have colour TV, video recorders, ATM's, personal stereos, but these guys flew to the moon ? Hmm......

04/01/2008, 10:31 AM
Not sure about the moon - I stuggle to see how anybody could go to the moon, before we have colour TV, video recorders, ATM's, personal stereos, but these guys flew to the moon ? Hmm......
NASA had colour TVs and video recorders too.

Anyway I agree with Owlsfan on all three theories

However my favourite conspiracy theory is the Denver International Airport one. Google for some excellent photos...