View Full Version : University interview Wednesday

liam88
04/12/2005, 9:26 PM
I've got my interview for uni from this wednesday to Saturday-am well nervous (hence not been on here for ages-loads of work)! I know loads of ye have way more important things going on but I just thought I'd let you guys know because a few are interested in history and politics and a few helped me out with a question for it :)

04/12/2005, 9:52 PM
All the best with it Liam, I am sure you will do really well, try not to be nervous, you can only do your best and you have prepared well. :cool:

Go for it! :D

05/12/2005, 7:24 PM
well nervous??

i think you;ll need the best of luck

05/12/2005, 8:14 PM
Liamo anything you want to know between now and then feel free to PM me and I'll try to help. Best of luck.

liam88
05/12/2005, 8:26 PM
Liamo anything you want to know between now and then feel free to PM me and I'll try to help. Best of luck.
Ah cheers matey!! Any general interview technique? I've done a bit of background research on the college for i they ask why this college. I need to think of an original answer for "why this coruse" because they'll probably here the same thign over and over agian!
Any ideas?

Prayers appreciated guys! "That is thje confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he heards us. And if we know that he hears us-whatever we ask-we know that we have what we asked of him".

Am off to bed in a bit-leaving about 6 tommorow night and should be back either Friday ngith or Sturday night! See you all soon :D

05/12/2005, 10:37 PM
Ah crap, I meant stuff about History or Politics not interview technique stuff.:D Well, if I remember from my mock interviews, give a firm handshake, not too limp or strong. Make good eye contact. Also does know, do you only sit down in an interview when told or something?

Liam, possibly a good reason to give for choice is that in this world of complex situations and events and breaking news you'd like to study Politics to gain a clearer understanding of these things and be able to form your own informed opinions. You could say you want to study History as you believe it is essential to know the past to understand the context of these current events, that it would compliment Politics perfectly and you always found yourself interested in it.

Jon'o
05/12/2005, 11:43 PM
good luck liam, take it easy, it will all fall into place.

most student tax dodgers dont need an interview...being lazy is innnnstinct ;)

only kidding all the best

06/12/2005, 8:51 AM
Yeah man good luck
best advice i can give you on interview technique is dont do speed before the interview(remember spud from trainspotting)

Drumcondra Red
06/12/2005, 8:55 AM
Firm handshake, eye contact, control the interview, don't answer questions with yes or no expand a bit, don't figit, speak clear a nd concise and enjoy it, don't be nervous, nerves can be a big downfall! Piece of píss really!!!

liam88
06/12/2005, 9:27 AM
Thanks guys!!! All good advice there which I will use (including the speed bit :D ) Will let you know how it went on Saturday......then I find out the results on....wait for it....Christmas eve!!!!

06/12/2005, 9:52 AM
Thanks guys!!! All good advice there which I will use (including the speed bit :D ) Will let you know how it went on Saturday......then I find out the results on....wait for it....Christmas eve!!!!
Bazturdz going to ruin some poor fcukerz xmas it wont be you though liamo
you've done your homework you should be ok just try and relax and come across confident(not smug now confident) if the opportunity arises try and make them laugh if it comes off they'll remember you
also might be worth while mentioning i used to manage a well known retail outlet in blanch ans I used to get nervous interviewing for staff so it works both way's

Drumcondra Red
06/12/2005, 5:28 PM
And be sharp, don't seem at all sloppy, slow or lazy, give the impression your on the ball and interested in everything they talk about! And don't be afraid to speak about the student lifestyle outside study, not oo much though...

08/12/2005, 10:48 AM
Well Liam How'd You Go Lad?

08/12/2005, 10:09 PM
Well Liam How'd You Go Lad?
he's not back til friday or saturday, so we may have to wait til then...:)

Drumcondra Red
09/12/2005, 8:51 AM
Jaysus, thats a long 'un, had an interview yesterday, by the afernoon I was offered the job! Horay!!!

09/12/2005, 11:35 PM
Jaysus, thats a long 'un, had an interview yesterday, by the afernoon I was offered the job! Horay!!!

well done! :D
va va voom! :D

hamish
10/12/2005, 1:53 AM

Congrats Roy - delighted for ya amigo.:D

liam88
10/12/2005, 9:59 PM
Well done buddy!!!!! Great to here that-you deserve it;your a right sound bloke :D

Cheers for allt he support guys I think it went really well! Got back a few hours ago, had a great couple of nights and am realyl glad i''ve done it all :D

Thomo
10/12/2005, 10:59 PM
liam88, what uni did u apply for? just in my first term at uni, its alot of fun believe me!!!!

liam88
11/12/2005, 10:13 AM
liam88, what uni did u apply for? just in my first term at uni, its alot of fun believe me!!!!
Wow-hopefulyl you can give me some tips to go witht hose from my brothers ;)
Where abouts are you?
My interview was with Oxford, I've also got Hull and Liverpool in the running :)

11/12/2005, 10:36 AM
Hull's a ****hole. Number 1 in the UK Crap Towns Survey. Don't do it. As for Liverpool, it's where I read for my MA in Irish Studies and a perfectly good alternative if you don't get in to Oxford. But if you do, that's the only place to go.

:ball: PP

liam88
11/12/2005, 2:00 PM
Hull's a ****hole. Number 1 in the UK Crap Towns Survey. Don't do it. As for Liverpool, it's where I read for my MA in Irish Studies and a perfectly good alternative if you don't get in to Oxford. But if you do, that's the only place to go.

:ball: PP

:D :D Cheers for the advice!

Aye thought that about Hull.....went up though though and the Uni itself is the friendliest in Britain and the surrounding area isn't to bad. The course is amazing, 3 year Politics with a one year snadwhich placement work shadowing an MP (pretty much of your choice). Added to this they've offered me a scholarship which will certainly help with the money! v. nice uni who sent me a good lcuk letter for my Oxford interview!!!

As it stands Hull is the first and Liverpool (for Irish studies and history!) is the second-both having made offers.

Oxford would be amazing and liek you said if they ofer it to me it's going to be the only one!

EDIT: another point worth adding is should I move out of halls for the second/third year on astudent budget am likely to end up in the worst part of any town-i'm not expecting to live anywhere posh. The parts of Hull I could afford to rent a flat in (especialyl with a scholarship) would be no worse than the parts of Reading/York/London that I could afford to live in should I have gone to any of them.

Babysis
11/12/2005, 2:42 PM
EDIT: another point worth adding is should I move out of halls for the second/third year on astudent budget am likely to end up in the worst part of any town-i'm not expecting to live anywhere posh. The parts of Hull I could afford to rent a flat in (especialyl with a scholarship) would be no worse than the parts of Reading/York/London that I could afford to live in should I have gone to any of them.

Good luck with it all liam. I went to Sussex university, and the only regret i had about the place was that there was no real irish community. It isnt the be all and end all but it would have been nice to have known there were pubs showing the celtic or ireland games etc. Apart from that Brighton was great.

Most people I know moved out in there second year. It gives you an oppertunity IMO to get to know the town or city your living in. Yep your on a budget, but so is everyone else. As for living in the worst part of town, you will more than likely end up living with all the other students, so it should be good craic. I know in Brighton where me and my sister went, and where my brother currently is, and Sheffield where my other sister went all had sections of the town which was mainly student accomodation. For me, moving out of halls was a great decision. Try not to worry too much about the debt side of (easier said than done I know) but it really is worth it. Best of luck :)

11/12/2005, 6:00 PM
Alternatively Liamo did you ever think about coming over here to study in a fine institution like UCD?:D

liam88
11/12/2005, 8:45 PM
Alternatively Liamo did you ever think about coming over here to study in a fine institution like UCD?:D
I am thinking about putting in an application to Trinity (has to be in by Feb so I have some time) :D but I can't do politics and history because English qualifications are now worth less than Irish ones in order to stop an huge flood of people coming for the free tuition. As a result I physically cannot get the grades to get onto Politics and History, the grades that will get me onto politics and history at Oxford won't get me onto politics and history at Trinity. I can however get onto history so it's deffinatly worth a try! It would be good as well ebcause my brother doesn't live to far from Trinity and has a bedroom I could have! Plus I wouldn't have the problem Babysis mentioned about no Irish community ;)

Thomo
11/12/2005, 8:49 PM
Wow-hopefulyl you can give me some tips to go witht hose from my brothers
Where abouts are you?
My interview was with Oxford, I've also got Hull and Liverpool in the running

am at sussex liam. as for tips, i'd say have fun. thats the best i can tell you. what babysis says is all true, and i'd also say not to think too far ahead, in so much as living in ur second year as any town of reasonably size will have uni friendly accomodation. every town has its up and down sides, and you'll make the best of it anyways, good luck mate, and trust me, uni is a blast, u'll love it!

REVIP
11/12/2005, 9:36 PM
Liam,

I did my first degree at the LSE, then post-grad stuff at TCD, and now am doing a part-time MA with Bristol.

I visited a load of campuses going to see various friends and my favourite place in undergraduate days was always the campus at Sussex. (I went back there for a couple of Open University summer schools).

Mind you, I wasn't in the league to get a shot at Oxford - it would be the only choice if you got the chance - dreaming spires and all that.

11/12/2005, 11:03 PM
I am thinking about putting in an application to Trinity (has to be in by Feb so I have some time) :D but I can't do politics and history because English qualifications are now worth less than Irish ones in order to stop an huge flood of people coming for the free tuition. As a result I physically cannot get the grades to get onto Politics and History, the grades that will get me onto politics and history at Oxford won't get me onto politics and history at Trinity. I can however get onto history so it's deffinatly worth a try! It would be good as well ebcause my brother doesn't live to far from Trinity and has a bedroom I could have! Plus I wouldn't have the problem Babysis mentioned about no Irish community ;)

Arts in UCD allows you to combine History and Politics only it requires a good deal less points.

AidoM
12/12/2005, 8:04 PM

Well done Roy:) . It's definitely the higher tax rate now even after the budget :rolleyes: :D

liam88
18/12/2005, 1:11 PM
Got an early response-rejected :(

Hull it is :D

aido_b
18/12/2005, 1:20 PM

hard luck buddy, just stay as far away from wolverhampton as ya can! its a feckin depressing little city!

Babysis
18/12/2005, 5:14 PM
I know its easy for me to say no to be too downhearted, but you really shouldnt worry too much. We all got rejections, hence applying to 6 unis. What you need to remember is that you always have options. Clearing is one thing to consider, as is taking a year out. I took a year out and highly reccommend it. You can earn some much needed cash for uni and you can also re-apply to the universities knowing your grades.

18/12/2005, 7:45 PM

Seriously Liam, why have you never considered History and Politics in UCD if you were open to Trinity? Hard luck on the interview btw.:(

liam88
18/12/2005, 8:09 PM
Seriously Liam, why have you never considered History and Politics in UCD if you were open to Trinity? Had luck on the interview btw.:(
That's a realyl great idea mate. Seriously the honest reason is it's because I know very little about education in Ireland. We are guided through appyling to the UK but until a couple of years ago I probably couldn't even name 3 Irish universities! When I was hel;ping my brother move to Dublin I went on a tour of Trinity and thought wow this is nice. I havn't even see any other uni's so i'll deffinatly have a look at UCD! Could you point me in the righ tdirection of applying? I'm guessing I can find info on the website?
Cheers :)
Presuming you do Politics and History?

18/12/2005, 8:15 PM
That's a realyl great idea mate. Seriously the honest reason is it's because I know very little about education in Ireland. We are guided through appyling to the UK but until a couple of years ago I probably couldn't even name 3 Irish universities! When I was hel;ping my brother move to Dublin I went on a tour of Trinity and thought wow this is nice. I havn't even see any other uni's so i'll deffinatly have a look at UCD! Could you point me in the righ tdirection of applying? I'm guessing I can find info on the website?
Cheers :)
Presuming you do Politics and History?Their is probably info on www.cao.ie about applying from England

18/12/2005, 8:37 PM
Liam, I couldn't guide you through the process of applying from abroad. However here's the site www.ucd.ie . I did Greek & Roman Civilization and Politics, I also did History in 1st year.

You can take those subjects through this degree http://www.ucd.ie/horizons/programmes/arts.html .

Drumcondra Red
19/12/2005, 9:09 PM
What employment prospects do you get from courses like those??? Hardly very practicle??

19/12/2005, 9:14 PM
What employment prospects do you get from courses like those??? Hardly very practicle??

Apparently a lot better than if you took English....:D

19/12/2005, 10:32 PM
Got an early response-rejected

Hull it is

I wouldn't be too dispondant about getting rejected by Oxford, the competition
for places there is pretty amazing, I think it's about 10 or
more applications for every place, plus the place is likely to be stuffed with
upper class twits (apologies to any upper class twits here :D ).
I ended up in Reading myself, which is a bit of a dump in my opinion
plus it was very expensive for accommodation, I envied a friend who
went to Newcastle where he was paying about half the price for
acommodation (and beer). Hull and Liverpool should be relatively cheap
places to live though. The only place which rejected me was Bristol, I think
it was because I unbuttoned the top button of my shirt because it was
dead hot on that day. I was told I was one of only a few people who answered a
particular question correctly, didn't stop them rejecting me though :rolleyes:, they obviously
didn't want any smartarses there.
I would have needed AAB anyway which was a bit beyond me, I only got BBB as
it turned out. I studied electronics by the way (or rather didn't). I came out with a
third class degree (like Carol Vorderman) and a chip on my shoulder :D

Babysis
20/12/2005, 9:22 AM

Alot of employers now look for someone who has a degree, regardless of the subject. Admittedly it depends on the type of degree and the type of work your applying for, but I know that my history degree has not stopped me getting work (Its not knowing what i want to do thats stopped me getting work :o )

20/12/2005, 9:36 AM
My advice would be concentrate on the course rather than where for now Liam. As someone said, student life pretty much the same in all cities anyway. You're going to have to sit through hours of lectures over the 3 years, so it'd want to have a syllabus you're interested in.

Be aware that Dublin is fookin expensive, but I have to say in my experience when I first moved over and my mates were still in college it has good student scene. (although probably best ask a current student, as half the old places are closed now :eek: )

Spudd
10/01/2006, 8:12 PM
Ahrite lads, need a little help...
A letter just arrived in the door a day or two ago from the college i hope to go to next year! The letter says i have an interview at the end of next month...right i know its ages away but heres the thing!
Ive NEVER had an interveiw before and im actually ****ting myself...i went straight from school into a family run business so i havent a clue what to expect!
What to wear...
What kind of questions will they ask....
Any Techneques....
Anything will be a massive help..
Cheers!

10/01/2006, 8:15 PM
Ahrite lads, need a little help...
A letter just arrived in the door a day or two ago from the college i hope to go to next year! The letter says i have an interview at the end of next month...right i know its ages away but heres the thing!
Ive NEVER had an interveiw before and im actually ****ting myself...i went straight from school into a family run business so i havent a clue what to expect!
What to wear...
What kind of questions will they ask....
Any Techneques....
Anything will be a massive help..
Cheers!Threads merged, as some tips given already might help you Spudd!;).

Spudd
10/01/2006, 8:23 PM
Ya ,no bother...i never seen this thread...ill have a read through it now..

10/01/2006, 8:39 PM
The main thing is remember you are trying to sell yourself, they are looking for certain qualities and you have to let them know you have them. That is it in a nutshell ... there is a science behind it, i suppose it wouldn't hurt to read up on it but if you are hnoest and have an aptitude for the job then you shouldn't have a problem.

Have a look here (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Job_interview), there are links at the bottom aswell.

Spudd
10/01/2006, 9:40 PM
Cheers mate,much appreciated!

Gerrit
10/01/2006, 10:18 PM
Liam, the best of luck with it! Just be yourself, and be self-confident, it ain't easy at those moments but it's the best advise. I'll keep my fingers crossed for you!

And yeah, control the interview. The more motivated you sound and the more you seem self-assured, the better your chances. And the longer you spend talking on one subject, the fewer time for them to ask tricky questions :)

Best of luck.

10/01/2006, 10:50 PM
Liam, the best of luck with it! Just be yourself, and be self-confident, it ain't easy at those moments but it's the best advise. I'll keep my fingers crossed for you!Eh Gerrit, Liam has had his interview, we're talking about Spudd now:p:D.

Drumcondra Red
11/01/2006, 7:06 PM
Spudd, wear a shirt and tie, no harm in looking good!!!

Gerrit
11/01/2006, 8:05 PM
Or wear eyeliner, helped in my case during my job interview :)

And as usual I am behind on the rest, but my advise for Spudd and well-wishes are identical as those to Liam.