View Full Version : Congratulations

Gareth
04/12/2005, 4:08 PM
Well done!! Good to see you win the cup and first trophy!!!!

04/12/2005, 4:10 PM
Yep fair play to ye. A good advertisement for the league with a good atmosphere too.

04/12/2005, 4:12 PM
Well done!

04/12/2005, 4:35 PM
congrats to the drogs....we'll be taking our trphy back next season though:D

Ruairi
04/12/2005, 4:42 PM
Yeah congrats.. well deserved over 90 minutes...

Mental Man
04/12/2005, 5:07 PM
Well done Drogs, the pub went nuts when they got the goals, totally deserved it and well done to Shane Robinson from Tramore.
Great player and delighted for him, made a few bob on the drogs as with whelan to score first goal so its an extra special day.:D

04/12/2005, 5:09 PM
Yes, well done! I'm proud to say we lost 2-1 to the cup winners!

04/12/2005, 5:39 PM
Congratulations to the Drogs, met some nice folk in Drigheda at the semi and was rooting for ye today. Fully deserved, well done.

Redtop
04/12/2005, 8:58 PM
ya well done watched the second half of the match and taught ye fully deserved it

crc
04/12/2005, 9:35 PM
Well done Drogs. I was at the game (in the crowd with Cork friends), and although I would like to have seen Cork win, I thought United were good value for the win. Took the goals well - I'm open to correction but I don't remember Cork getting a shot on target apart from Flynn's first half effort off the post. Bloody cold, but a good day out.

blueviking1980
04/12/2005, 10:52 PM
Well done Drogheda... ya's didn't get to the final for nothin! Cork need to learn bout sharin anyway... :p

Snoop Drog
04/12/2005, 11:08 PM
FAI Cup Winners!

I never thought I would see the day :p

All those years of relegation, early embarrasing cup exits, slagging from Craptown, players who didn't give a sh1t about the jersey all seem a million years ago now.

Thanks for the congrats lads, I hope we do the league proud in Europe (Europe...)

Anyone know where we can buy a trophy cabinet? I hear Craptown have one they don't use anymore...

05/12/2005, 12:04 AM
Congrats ladies. :)

radar
05/12/2005, 2:02 AM
Congrats ladies. :)
And from Cork also congrats to the gentlemen who play on the team and those gents who support them. Our Shelbourne friend forgot about ye but i am sure he meant well. About time ye won something like this!!! Time to rock on now and lets hope we can banish the Dubs from the top three next season in the league. Besides all that heartfelt congratulations from a tired beaten Cork supporter back from our Capital City. Have a great time enjoying your success. Well deserved. And noone deserves it more than the Drogs fans there today who were class. Great to enjoy these occasions especially before them when the craic is flowing. Well done. Brought my kid to the game and like with the Derry lads i say to him thats what its all about. Courtesy, friendship and shaking hands afterwards. With the usual winding up in between. No complaints. And someone tell the Shels lads to sign off till next season and leave those of us still involved enjoy it. Contemplate the past. Well done Derry. Well done Cork. And especially tonight well done Drogheda. Champions All.

05/12/2005, 2:11 AM
I hope you're not refering to me! I use the term ladies all the time, don't know why - its just something I do. I always refer to a group of friends when out, as ladies.

"Congrats ladies", complete with smiley face (:) - This, for those with no eyes) - is the same as saying "Well done Drogheda, very happy for you all. Enjoy it." Pretty much the same thing I said to Cork fans after the final day of the season. So please, calm down and stop bieng a tit.

Thats the last time I'll ever congratulate someone where its liable for someone from the deep dark south to read it, God knows what he'd have said if Cork won and heavens forbid I congratulate them! :rolleyes:

05/12/2005, 8:32 AM
Nice one Drogs.

As a Limerickman who lived in Cork for years my natural allegiance would've been for the Leesiders but the old romantic in me had me rooting for the underdrogs as it were.

I'll get my coat.

Well done again.

Hulsey
05/12/2005, 11:28 AM
Well done Drogs. Did a great job on Cork yday. Whelen had Gamble in this pocket, O'flynn only really had one chance, Kearney was stopped altogether and all O' Callaghan did was make a show of himself with all his unsporting shenanigans. At least we got beaten by the deserved winners of the cup! It's ours next year though;) .

McSligo
05/12/2005, 12:57 PM
Well done lads, looking forward to seeing a few of ye in The Showgrounds next season..............Enjoy the party!!

ccfcgirl
05/12/2005, 1:08 PM
And from Cork also congrats to the gentlemen who play on the team and those gents who support them. Our Shelbourne friend forgot about ye but i am sure he meant well. About time ye won something like this!!! Time to rock on now and lets hope we can banish the Dubs from the top three next season in the league. Besides all that heartfelt congratulations from a tired beaten Cork supporter back from our Capital City. Have a great time enjoying your success. Well deserved. And noone deserves it more than the Drogs fans there today who were class. Great to enjoy these occasions especially before them when the craic is flowing. Well done. Brought my kid to the game and like with the Derry lads i say to him thats what its all about. Courtesy, friendship and shaking hands afterwards. With the usual winding up in between. No complaints. And someone tell the Shels lads to sign off till next season and leave those of us still involved enjoy it. Contemplate the past. Well done Derry. Well done Cork. And especially tonight well done Drogheda. Champions All.Great post .I agree with all the above.

Mayo Red
05/12/2005, 1:29 PM
Well done Drogheda, ye fully deserved it on the day!

05/12/2005, 3:06 PM
Well done Drogs.
Best team won.

Well done on the numbers you brought down, and the colour they generated, I hope the majority of them are back to watch you next season, Enjoy the win!

05/12/2005, 3:08 PM
Just like to add my congrats as well.
Great crack with the Drogs in Murray's beforehand, and a good laugh with a few of you after as well. Enjoy the buzz, you deserved it yesterday, and hopefully a good few who came for the first time yesterday will come back for next season.

pegan
05/12/2005, 3:42 PM
...from all the genuine EL supporters at Sligo Rovers too.

Nice to see that the world does not revolve around Patrick Street...

pegan

Fair_play_boy
05/12/2005, 11:07 PM
Still thawing out from the game, back at all hours last night. Woke up today feeling sorry for meself and for the CCFC team and manager.
But what the feck. We were beaten by a Drogheda side who came down to Dublin hungry for a win. It was not a pretty game to watch, but I loved the passion that the Drogs players and supporters brought to Lansdowne Road. I am really looking forward to seeing ye at Turners Cross next season. I reckon the Derrynane Stand will not be big enough for ye.
A few stray kicks aside, I thought ye played us fair and square off the park. This is what sport is all about. Dead certainties are a thing of the past in Irish soccer. Who would have thought that in two consecutive years, four different teams would contest the FAI cup final, and not one of them from Dublin!!
I brought a squad of kids with me to this game. They saw two excellent goals, full blooded passionate play, and a deserving team, manager and fans take away a big prize in Irish sport.
This is a great occasion for Drogheda, and not before its time. Sincere congratulations from this Cork city fan.

05/12/2005, 11:56 PM
Nice to see that the world does not revolve around Patrick Street

Hey ... it still does ... nothing has changed there !!

Only kidding, great to see Drogs win it ... its a reward for all the investment that has been put in at United Park, its only right ..... the best team on the day won it, and thats what the competition is about.

hamish
07/12/2005, 1:53 AM
Congratulatiosn Drogheda United. It was great to see Vincent Hoey enjoying the success after all his years toiling away.

I believe the Drogheda Indo gave 29 pages in the Cup Final preview. Wow.:eek:

Best of luck in Europe next season but will United Park be a venue under all those new UEFA rules thingys?? Hate to see your Euro games shifted to Dublin.......no offence to Dublin BTW.