View Full Version : What are you listening to?

02/12/2005, 1:53 PM
saw this thread on metalireland go on for ages. its funny the mix ye get so heres what am listening to at the mo.

lynrd skynrd
europe
ozzy
saxon
zztop
nelly
tq
g n r.

all random but of course.:cool:

finlma
02/12/2005, 2:35 PM
Bit of a mixed bag too:

Redneck Manifesto
Four Tet
Arcade Fire
Boards of Canada
Badly Drawn Boy
Kila
The Roots

ken foree
02/12/2005, 2:55 PM
Bit of a mixed bag too:
Kila

the dublin band right? the one that did an entire concept album devoted to the asian kung-fu show Monkey? they are probably the only irish band i've heard that interest me. at their worst they sound a bit like rusted root but other times they have a great, loose, er, throb. i confess i don't listen to a lot of irish music but their re-invention of folk is cool

finlma
02/12/2005, 3:03 PM
the dublin band right?

Thats them alright. Great to see live - really put on a performance.

02/12/2005, 3:04 PM
Listenin' to Flloyd a lot lately
I'd forgotten how good they were until live 8

ken foree
02/12/2005, 5:02 PM
Thats them alright. Great to see live - really put on a performance.

so i've heard, mate from kildare is always bangin on about them and the live gig being amazing and.. cloudy! ;)

ken foree
02/12/2005, 5:03 PM
Listenin' to Flloyd a lot lately
I'd forgotten how good they were until live 8

amazing weren't they, poignant with waters up there. and wish you were here for syd barrett, just great. they wasted all the other posers that came before them at that thing. do you like the early syd stuff at all??

02/12/2005, 5:42 PM
Fairytale of New York - The Pogues :)

02/12/2005, 11:48 PM
Bell X1 - Flock
Death Cab For Cutie - Plans
Audioslave - Audioslave
Rolling Stones - 40 Licks
Ian Brown - Solarized

hamish
03/12/2005, 10:21 AM
Amigos........i know this is auld lads stuff and very low-fi but I thoroughly recommend this album. This guy is hitting 60 or maybe over it but still has a voice that makes foghorn-voiced Anastacia sound like a silent faart in a bread bin.

John Fogerty/Creedence Clearwater Revival..

You won't be disappointed by this.........TRUST ME.;)

http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/B00004VWGN/qid=1133608958/sr=8-1/ref=pd_ka_1/026-5107633-4971658

Even some live stuff and a song (live and studio versions) written for the Vietnam War that's still relevant today, what with rich kunts sending working class kids to war for oil and based on a bunch of lies.
FORTUNATE SON

Another CCR album "Cosmos Factory" contains a song called "Long as I can see the light"........his voice on this makes the hair stand up on the back of my head.
Get that too
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B00004TBWT/qid=1133609355/sr=8-2/ref=pd_bbs_2/103-2939672-0098217?v=glance&s=music&n=507846
Check out a bit of that song in the Amazon samples above

03/12/2005, 11:48 AM
Mostly still listening to the Coldplay album and Oasis' back catalogue . havent really bought any new albums in a while , oh and Antics too is great

Gareth
03/12/2005, 12:54 PM
Currently listening to Enigma to soothe the hangover away. Anything with the remotiest loudness attached could result in my head exploding.

04/12/2005, 12:42 PM
What a waster - The Libertines

declan hide
05/12/2005, 12:41 PM
Currently listening to:

1. yer man in the apartment downstairs taking a pi$$
2. hard fi
3. fc five
4. giveamanakick
5. darkest hour
6. social distortion
7. grant lee buffalo
8. candiria
9. the shams
10. lawnmower deth

05/12/2005, 12:54 PM
Air - Moon Safari. :)

finlma
05/12/2005, 1:45 PM
Currently listening to:
4. giveamanakick

I saw them supporting the Rednecks here in Galway. Seem pretty good. Limerick lads I believe.

05/12/2005, 6:19 PM
No Mercy(live) - Nils Lofgren

declan hide
06/12/2005, 9:44 AM
I saw them supporting the Rednecks here in Galway. Seem pretty good. Limerick lads I believe.

yep limerick lads. just released their 2nd album and its outstanding. do yourself a favour and buy it.

havent seen the rednecks in a while. 4 or 5 piece thesedays?

finlma
06/12/2005, 9:49 AM
havent seen the rednecks in a while. 4 or 5 piece thesedays?

5 piece - there's a keyboard chap, 3 guitarists and the drummer. The main lad that plays the bass is some nutter.

joey B
06/12/2005, 12:23 PM
Listening to 'Negative Vibes' by Damien Dempsey I think he is a superb artist.

Hulsey
06/12/2005, 12:31 PM
Dropkick Murphys- Blackout
Transplants- Haunted Cities
Goldie Lookin' Chain- Safe as Fcuk
Collie- Is Ainm Dom
American Head Charge- The Feeding
Flogging Molly- Drunken Lullabies
Alkaline Trio- Good Mourning
Bit varied really.

06/12/2005, 12:39 PM
Long and winding road - The Beatles

06/12/2005, 1:06 PM
ForeigNer
ERIC JOHNson
elton john
pantera
rage against the machine
sultans of swing
journey
europe
ozzy ozzbourne
black sabbath
heart - alone

to name just a few...

ken foree
06/12/2005, 5:29 PM
Currently listening to:

10. lawnmower deth

ha, 'who spilled my pint?'

07/12/2005, 9:16 PM
Mana ;) Vivir sin aire....heaven :)

monkey magic
08/12/2005, 7:45 PM
What a waster - The Libertines

yeah, great band tho, i assume ur talkin about the second album? love it.
listening to the bravery aswell at the mo, and goin back through my smashing pumpkins cd's

12/12/2005, 2:09 PM
Giveamanakick, The Hitchers, Alabama 3, Fatboy Slim, Apocalyptica, The PUSA, Donovan.

finlma
12/12/2005, 2:25 PM
Giveamanakick, The Hitchers, Alabama 3, Fatboy Slim, Apocalyptica, The PUSA, Donovan.

The Limerick boys all supporting their own and why not. Giveamanakick are good - put on a good live show anyway.

Going to see Alabama 3 play an acoustic set here in Galway next week, great band.

12/12/2005, 3:03 PM
pearl jam ten at the moment. was just listening to nirvanas single boxset. lithium is a great tune.

ive heard a bit about alabama 3, are they any good?

finlma
12/12/2005, 3:15 PM
ive heard a bit about alabama 3, are they any good?

I think they're excellent but maybe not to everyone's liking. They did that "Hello, I'm Johnny Cash" recently. They're a kind of blues/gospel/rock/techno hybrid. Hard to explain really but well worth a listen.