View Full Version : New Manager's Priorities
30/11/2005, 3:12 PM
Assuming our next qualifier is in September and we have games against Sweden in March, Holland in August, plus in all probability 3 or 4 other friendies to play, what do people think the priorities of the incoming manager should be between now and September? This includes, to avoid doubt, any caretaker manager that may be in charge.
30/11/2005, 3:29 PM
Change the style of football. We have the players to compete, but we need to get the whole idea of sitting on a one-goal lead out of our heads. In that regard, Sweden and Holland probably aren't the best friendlies to have (have to get a one goal lead to sit on it obviously), but still...
I'd give a couple - but not too many - players debuts as well. Maybe the likes of Darren Potter, Stephen Kelly or even (dare I say it!) Kevin Doyle.
livehead1
30/11/2005, 3:31 PM
Lee Trundle :d
colster
30/11/2005, 3:43 PM
Assuming our next qualifier is in September and we have games against Sweden in March, Holland in August, plus in all probability 3 or 4 other friendies to play, what do people think the priorities of the incoming manager should be between now and September? This includes, to avoid doubt, any caretaker manager that may be in charge.
I think he needs to look at addressing the problem areas in the team i.e. left back, central midfield, right wing and cover for centre half + right back.
He has to get the team playing in a more confident and aggressive way.
30/11/2005, 4:16 PM
he needs to get friendlies under his belt and improve morale. He also needs to blood a load of new players , anyone no matter what they are like. Mac Geady has sorted himself out now, so its a good oppurtunity to give him full games or full halfs any way.
Give a cap to anyone over 20 yearss of age and under 35 !!
Hither green
30/11/2005, 4:30 PM
I think he needs to look at addressing the problem areas in the team
I agree with that. He needs to sort out left back and try to forge settled partnerships in central midfield and central defence. Also needs to increase the size of the squad, so that we’re not always relying on players playing out of position. And given the fringe players some experience (if we do need to call on the likes of Kelly in a competitive match then I’d rather he had some experience first).
colster
30/11/2005, 4:46 PM
he needs to get friendlies under his belt and improve morale. He also needs to blood a load of new players , anyone no matter what they are like. Mac Geady has sorted himself out now, so its a good oppurtunity to give him full games or full halfs any way.
Give a cap to anyone over 20 yearss of age and under 35 !!
He doesn't need to give caps to all and sundry. We have a number of players who are still good enough. There is a basis of a good team there. He needs to focus on filling in the gaps. Central Midfield, Right Wing and left back are the places we need to concentrate. The mini tasks are to get cover for right back, centre half and try out the striker options.
youngirish
30/11/2005, 6:11 PM
The new manager should give Stephen Ireland and Joey O'Brien a run out in central midfield together in one of the friendlies and see how they get on. Both have looked impressive this season playing in good sides.
I agree he should stick Doyle up front and see how he does and also give McGeady a chance on the wing against some decent opposition.
I wouldn't play Kelly unless he starts getting some games in the premiership under his belt. I also don't think Trundle is worth a look while playing for Swansea. He's getting on a bit now (29) and I can't see him being a valuable player for Ireland by the time the next major championships comes around. We need to brood the young talent or we'll continue to go backwards.
30/11/2005, 8:19 PM
1. Decide what long-term role John O'Shea, Liam Miller and Gary Doherty are to play.
2. Determine the true merits of Doyler, Trundle and Ireland
30/11/2005, 11:11 PM
I'd prefer not to see the likes of O'Brien, Duff, Given and Robbie not play the first few games, to let some of the promising young players get a run and see if they can do a job for us. We well know what the 4 I've listed can do and letting them play a full 90 minutes in place of the likes of McCarthy, McShane, McGeady, Paddy Kenny, Trundle, Doyle, etc is pointless. These players will in all liklihood not get a chance in the qualifiers if they have no experience at international level, so why not give it to them in some "meaningless" friendlies?
onenilgameover
30/11/2005, 11:40 PM
Talk to Andy Reid...Start S.Ireland...Drop Doherty completely...(i mean for fooks sake) Not too sure what to do with Miller O'Shea Kilbane and whole bunch of others who fell far short..To be honest he has to shake things up completely. We're in a bad state IMO :
(
01/12/2005, 7:18 AM
We're in a bad state IMO :(
I'm more inclined to agree with Colster in that we have the basis of a good team but there are problem areas that require attention. If most of the above is done right then we'll be in good shape.
I wouldn't play the likes of Ireland and O'Brien together as realistically they won't be required together for a while. I think a lot of the young guys can be given meaningful pitch time without disrupting the team or putting them under too much pressure.
as_i_say
01/12/2005, 8:30 AM
yep I think O'neill should stick McGeady on the right and Ireland in the middle anyway. Also no point in playing Given at all in goals for any friendly.(what a keeper he is though-single handedly kept newcastle in it last night)
Up front we should be trying out connolly,elliot (where has he disappeared to), trundle and Doyle.
01/12/2005, 8:44 AM
elliot (where has he disappeared to)
yeah, just asked the same in another thread. Injured? Wore a Roy Keane jersey to work?
Reality Bites
01/12/2005, 8:47 AM
Elliot is injured!
New manager - dump Kilbane and Doherty please!
Hither green
01/12/2005, 8:54 AM
1. Decide what long-term role John O'Shea
Agree with you there but it's difficult when O'Shea doesn't have a settled role for his club. During November he seems to have started in all 3 of his different position.
I don't think we're in that bad a state. There's some good players there but we just need to strengthen it and find different options.
01/12/2005, 9:03 AM
elliot (where has he disappeared to)
Has a back injury and was expected back for last night's match.
Galwayexile
01/12/2005, 9:09 AM
base the team around the young players like doyle, ireland, joey o brien. Good to see john o shea playing well for Utd and acoring in his last two matches, will give him the confidence he needs.
Young kevin doyle is on fire at reading and has to be one of the bargains of the season.
Also good to see mcgeady back to his best.We have the basis of a very good team, just need to motivate the players and change the style of play.
01/12/2005, 9:32 AM
yep I think O'neill should stick McGeady on the right and Ireland in the middle anyway. Also no point in playing Given at all in goals for any friendly.(what a keeper he is though-single handedly kept newcastle in it last night)
Up front we should be trying out connolly,elliot (where has he disappeared to), trundle and Doyle.
I like your optimism about O Neill
Clifford
01/12/2005, 9:41 AM
Put O Shea with Dunnie at CB and let it develop. Ireland and Kav in the centre mid will work a treat, they will compliment each other. Elliott and Robbie up front, again to work on a relationship. Duffer, Reid (Spurs), Finnan and Maybury possibly to fill the other holes. Use Doyle, McCarthy, McGeady,
O Brien (Bolton) etc to come on.
I'd dispense with the likes of Clint, Killer Kilbane, Doccccherty, O Brien (Pompy) etc..
Might stick Given in goal!!!:rolleyes:
Hither green
01/12/2005, 10:13 AM
Elliott and Robbie up front, again to work on a relationship.
I'd dispense with the likes of Clint, Killer Kilbane, Doccccherty, O Brien (Pompy) etc..
Dispense with Clint? Why? He's played well in an Ireland top; puts in a lot of effort; he's scoring well at club level and he's not that old. I don't get why people have a downer on him.
Elliott on the other hand... well I suppose he's got youth on his side and can occasionally look quite good. Frankly I'd have Doyle much further in front of Elliott.
01/12/2005, 10:19 AM
Stephen Reid and Liam Miller should be given a decent run-out. Other than the new manager's priority should be on getting stability in the left-full position and ensuring that everyone in the squad is a happy-camper so that we don't have more "earlier" retirements.
Does anyone know what's happen to Clive Clarke? Doesnt seem to be getting anywhere near West Ham's first-team squad.
01/12/2005, 11:16 AM
Stephen Reid and Liam Miller should be given a decent run-out. Other than the new manager's priority should be on getting stability in the left-full position and ensuring that everyone in the squad is a happy-camper so that we don't have more "earlier" retirements.
Does anyone know what's happen to Clive Clarke? Doesnt seem to be getting anywhere near West Ham's first-team squad.
I'd like to see a narrower midfield of Kavanagh central / holding, with Steven Reid RHS and Andy Reid LHS and Duff behind the front two.
The full backs can add extra width.
Dare I say it, it's a "diamond" but I thought Steven Reid added something when he came on against the Swiss and it'd solve the problem of the big gap we've had all last campaign between the midfield and the front two.
The morale issue is key too.
Clifford
01/12/2005, 1:54 PM
Dispense with Clint? Why? He's played well in an Ireland top; puts in a lot of effort; he's scoring well at club level and he's not that old. I don't get why people have a downer on him.
Elliott on the other hand... well I suppose he's got youth on his side and can occasionally look quite good. Frankly I'd have Doyle much further in front of Elliott.
Not a lot to choose between Doyler and Elliott, but why would you have Doyler ahead of him when all Kev is doing is exactly what Steveo did last season (not as well in my book) and Elliott has carried on into the Prem in a woeful team? No logic there I'm afraid.
Clint has had his crack, gives it everything, smashing lad, but Brum showed what level he is at by letting him go, in my humble opinion.
01/12/2005, 2:08 PM
Brum showed what level he is at by letting him go, in my humble opinion.
Some truth in that I agree, but I also think Bruce is a poor judge and even when Morrison was showing form and benefitting Heskey he went for Pandiani who has repeatedly failed to show he's any better. I suspect there were some brown envelopes being passed in Bruce's direction around the time of the Pandiani transfer.
Hither green
01/12/2005, 2:09 PM
Clint has had his crack, gives it everything, smashing lad, but Brum showed what level he is at by letting him go, in my humble opinion.
I wouldn't go on what Brum does. Bruce makes such poor decisions that it's probably a compliment to Clinton that he was let go, afterall Bruce rates Heskey! I still think Morrison will make him regret that decision.
I know Elliott scored plenty last season and a couple of crackers this season but even if he is in a poor Sunderland side I can't see him as a regular topflight scorer. I guess there's plenty of time but going on what I've seen of him in a Sunderland and an Ireland jersey I'm just more convinced watching Doyle. Anyway I'd still put Morrison before both just because he's proved he can do it at that level.
colster
01/12/2005, 2:17 PM
I wouldn't go on what Brum does. Bruce makes such poor decisions that it's probably a compliment to Clinton that he was let go, afterall Bruce rates Heskey! I still think Morrison will make him regret that decision.
I know Elliott scored plenty last season and a couple of crackers this season but even if he is in a poor Sunderland side I can't see him as a regular topflight scorer. I guess there's plenty of time but going on what I've seen of him in a Sunderland and an Ireland jersey I'm just more convinced watching Doyle. Anyway I'd still put Morrison before both just because he's proved he can do it at that level.
I think we're getting off track here. Our forward options are fairly good. I can't remember having as many options there. I'd be happy enough with any 2 from the 4 mentioned. I think there are more pressing problems for the team i.e. left back, central midfield and right wing.
I think left back is the biggest problem as we don't seem to have many options there. We have a lot of options for Central midfield and Right Wing.
P.S. On Doyle, i've heard he plays on the wing for Reading sometimes. Would he be an option for the right wing for us? Is he right footed?
Clifford
01/12/2005, 2:25 PM
Fairy muff, it will all unfurl itself in time. Both Doyle and Elliott will prob end up being a better option the Robbie and AN Other, due to Robbie's attitude.
Hither green
01/12/2005, 3:06 PM
I think we're getting off track here. Our forward options are fairly good. I can't remember having as many options there.
I quite agree. I don’t desperately want to see any change up front - Keane and Morrison is fine with me, with Doyle and Elliott as backup. Priority has to be: consistency in central defence, who’s going to play at left back and who’s going to play alongside Kavanagh in central midfield.
01/12/2005, 5:17 PM
o'brien has rarely if ever let us down so why dipense with a decent enough player in a position where we are hardly spoilt for choice? also, kilbane didnt have good 2nd half to the wc campaign but was rightly given our player of the year last year so hardly good idea to dispense with a player with such experience. he may come good again. finally, clinton is at least a good option on the bench in an area where we again hardly blessed with options.
think these lads are easy targets for some
colster
01/12/2005, 5:24 PM
o'brien has rarely if ever let us down so why dipense with a decent enough player in a position where we are hardly spoilt for choice? also, kilbane didnt have good 2nd half to the wc campaign but was rightly given our player of the year last year so hardly good idea to dispense with a player with such experience. he may come good again. finally, clinton is at least a good option on the bench in an area where we again hardly blessed with options.
think these lads are easy targets for some
Totally agree.
Would it be worth giving Kilbane a go at left back?
The Legend
01/12/2005, 10:01 PM
Or a go in the stands...
jimbob117
01/12/2005, 10:58 PM
I dont understand why people are saying central defence is a problem. O'Brien (as was said already) has never let Ireland down, and Dunne has been a revelation the last year or two. Obvious choice for our pairing i think.
However i agree that left back is a problem area. As for the right wing, surely one of stephen reid,mcgeady or andy reid can play there.
And noone seems to be mentioning Holland in the centre..
Hither green
02/12/2005, 9:28 AM
Holland can certainly do a job for us but he’d fallen a bit down the pecking order for us and has fallen out of favour at Charlton, so it would depend whether he can get sufficient club games and put in the performances. With all the youngsters around though he’s going to be under pressure.
Dunne’s having a great spell. I’m a bit concerned about the lack of pace in the central defence though with O’Brien there alongside him. I agree O’Brien hasn’t let us down yet although he’s not set the world alight either. Personally I was put off by his backward move to Portsmouth and am thinking about the future - by the time of the next competitive match he’ll be playing in the Championship.
colster
02/12/2005, 9:57 AM
I dont understand why people are saying central defence is a problem. O'Brien (as was said already) has never let Ireland down, and Dunne has been a revelation the last year or two. Obvious choice for our pairing i think.
However i agree that left back is a problem area. As for the right wing, surely one of stephen reid,mcgeady or andy reid can play there.
And noone seems to be mentioning Holland in the centre..
Dunne + O'Brien are a good pair but after that we may be struggling if one gets injured. Breen(has he retired yet), Doherty, O'Shea, McCarthy and possibly McShane all need to be given a run out.
Left back is a problem in that we have only 1 natural left footed contender in Harte. Kilbane might be an option there.
Right wing isn't a major problem area. We have options. We need someone to cement that spot down. I think we need a right footed player there so we need to try S.Reid and McGeady. I'd also like to see Potter given a go there. Whenever I've seen him play for Liverpool there he's done quite well.
02/12/2005, 10:03 AM
I don't see who Andy O'Brien isn't at all rated by a lot on here. He is always as steady as a rock when not partnering someone like Titus Bramble. He has started every premiership game he's been available for this season. He doesn't seem to be having a bad season. I haven't been hearing rave reviews but then again, I haven't heard rave reviews for John Terry either.
The players he has signed have laregly been sub-standard - apart from Priske and O'Brien.
Portsmouth signed 9 players in the summer (Robert, Westerveld and Vignal are the only names I recognise tbh). They seem to rate him as a good signing anyway. I thought he played very well against Newcastle and also before Perrin left he named O'Brien as one of the 3 players who would be a good candidate for captain.
02/12/2005, 10:34 AM
I think O'Brien captained Pompey on at least one occasion this season? He was easily better than Bramble at Newcastle, but Souness (in his infinite wisdom) thought Bramble was a better option. O'Brien realised if he wanted first team football, he'd have to move. So he did. Fair fcuks to him, there's plenty of "better" players who are content with a spot on the bench
Hither green
02/12/2005, 12:09 PM
I think O'Brien captained Pompey on at least one occasion this season? He was easily better than Bramble at Newcastle, but Souness (in his infinite wisdom) thought Bramble was a better option. O'Brien realised if he wanted first team football, he'd have to move. So he did. Fair fcuks to him, there's plenty of "better" players who are content with a spot on the bench
I’ve no issue to O’Brien moving on, was just disappointed it wasn’t to a better club.
That’s a shock, Souness choosing another player over an Irishman. As it looks like he’s about to be sacked by Newcastle maybe he should offer him the Ireland job and truly test his discrimination skills.
02/12/2005, 12:33 PM
Dunne + O'Brien are a good pair but after that we may be struggling if one gets injured. Breen(has he retired yet), Doherty, O'Shea, McCarthy and possibly McShane all need to be given a run out.
Left back is a problem in that we have only 1 natural left footed contender in Harte. Kilbane might be an option there.
Right wing isn't a major problem area. We have options. We need someone to cement that spot down. I think we need a right footed player there so we need to try S.Reid and McGeady. I'd also like to see Potter given a go there. Whenever I've seen him play for Liverpool there he's done quite well.
I think I've agreed with nearly everything you've said on this thread so far. You've saved me the trouble of articulating my thoughts! Not sure I'd persist with Doherty but we are short options as CB cover. I expect McShane & McCarthy will emerge as credible candidates for cover in the next 12-15 months which is why they should be carefully introduced now in my opinion. I'd like to see Potter emerge as a midfield candidate but I think we've better options than him on the right.
I like O'Brien. He & Dunne will be a fine paring. It's just the back up that's an issue right now. O'Shea is next in line I'd say. Holland could be a short-term option - I think he's played there before.
02/12/2005, 12:43 PM
I still think the new manager should give out as many caps as possible to all the fringe players. its a good way to build up loyality and clear the old slate so to speak.
At the end of the day, we all know what the likes of Robbie, Given, doherty and duff are going to produce so there is little point in giving them yet another run out in a meaningless friendly. Most of the first 11 have played with each other time and again and it all looks like we have ran out of new ideas.
We need to change the way we play so we arent so predicatble. Everyone in Europe knows who the first Ireland 11 will be and what we will try to do when kick off starts.
We can always organise a tour somewhere with some fringe players and try new ways of playing.
colster
02/12/2005, 1:20 PM
I still think the new manager should give out as many caps as possible to all the fringe players. its a good way to build up loyality and clear the old slate so to speak.
At the end of the day, we all know what the likes of Robbie, Given, doherty and duff are going to produce so there is little point in giving them yet another run out in a meaningless friendly. Most of the first 11 have played with each other time and again and it all looks like we have ran out of new ideas.
We need to change the way we play so we arent so predicatble. Everyone in Europe knows who the first Ireland 11 will be and what we will try to do when kick off starts.
We can always organise a tour somewhere with some fringe players and try new ways of playing.
I agree with you to a certain extent. I think we need to bring in players to freshen the squad up. I don't see the point of playing 9/10 regulars and only introducing new/fringe players for a half or 10 or 20 minutes (less than a minute in some cases).
I think you're right about a tour.
colster
02/12/2005, 1:32 PM
I think I've agreed with nearly everything you've said on this thread so far. You've saved me the trouble of articulating my thoughts! Not sure I'd persist with Doherty but we are short options as CB cover. I expect McShane & McCarthy will emerge as credible candidates for cover in the next 12-15 months which is why they should be carefully introduced now in my opinion. I'd like to see Potter emerge as a midfield candidate but I think we've better options than him on the right.
I like O'Brien. He & Dunne will be a fine paring. It's just the back up that's an issue right now. O'Shea is next in line I'd say. Holland could be a short-term option - I think he's played there before.
I have doubts about Doherty myself but if Dunne/O'Brien are suspended/injured at the same time we're going to have to play 2 out of Doherty, Breen, O'Shea, McCarthy, McShane.
Holland as centre half. That's interesting. Worth a try there.
TerryPhelan
02/12/2005, 3:52 PM
Miller, Barrett and Quinn deserve to be dropped from the squad for a short time to send the message that they need to up their club performances; Doherty and Kilbane have not been good enough for a long time and should now have played their last games for Ireland.
Who to call up?
Ronnie O'Brien - lighting up the US and has been on the team of the season for two years running. Attacking right midfielder, surely worth a good look at over the space of 4 or 5 games.
Stephen Ireland - echoing what was said beforehand.
Kevin Nolan - would be a fantastic coup if he decides to declare!
Joey O'Brien - as extra defensive cover for Finnan who will now finally be first choice, as well as for centre mid (his natural position).
Lee Trundle - give him three caps or so, see what he can do. No harm in it - there are too few options for us upfront otherwise to say that he would be 'blocking young lads coming through'. He is on form and high on confidence. Kevin Doyle should also get a string of 2 or 3 games and make his case, as well as Elliott being kept involved either as a sub or strike partner.
I agree Paddy Kenny should start both friendlies. Given could even be dropped from the squad.
I think Andy Reid should be given a role in centre mid. He doesn't have the pace to trouble full-backs, but is our best passer of the ball, has fantastic vision, excellent delivery and a superb shot (egs: Cyprus goal, France effort that hit the post, first goal for Spurs). A playmaker whose creative influence would prosper alongside a grafter like Kavanagh or even Ireland to an extent. Showed in the home France game that he is well capable of getting stuck in and putting in the tackles (he, Given, Dunne and Keane were our outstanding players that night I thought), so centre mid is an option. Had his best moments in an Irish shirt (eg: Brazil, Israel home, Cyprus) when he appeared in a more central role, reducing the need to cut in onto his left. This would free up the right wing to a more specialised player eg: Ronnie O'Brien, Steven Reid, Aiden McGeady. I think there's a very strong case to be made here; I only hope he gets back into the Spurs team.
Everyone being fit then, I my squad for the Sweden game would be:
Kenny
Stack
Finnan
Stephen Kelly
Joey O'Brien
Dunne
Andy O'Brien
Harte
O'Shea
Paddy McCarthy
Ronnie O'Brien
Andy Reid
Aiden McGeady
Kavanagh
Ireland
Steven Reid
Kevin Nolan
Duff
Doyle
Trundle
Morrison
Elliott
Keane
What say ye?! This player-manager gig in Otago is doing wonders for my managerial insight...
Hither green
02/12/2005, 4:02 PM
Kevin Nolan? Think you could slip that one through without us noticing eh?
colster
02/12/2005, 4:07 PM
Miller, Barrett and Quinn deserve to be dropped from the squad for a short time to send the message that they need to up their club performances; Doherty and Kilbane have not been good enough for a long time and should now have played their last games for Ireland.
Who to call up?
Ronnie O'Brien - lighting up the US and has been on the team of the season for two years running. Attacking right midfielder, surely worth a good look at over the space of 4 or 5 games.
Stephen Ireland - echoing what was said beforehand.
Kevin Nolan - would be a fantastic coup if he decides to declare!
Joey O'Brien - as extra defensive cover for Finnan who will now finally be first choice, as well as for centre mid (his natural position).
Lee Trundle - give him three caps or so, see what he can do. No harm in it - there are too few options for us upfront otherwise to say that he would be 'blocking young lads coming through'. He is on form and high on confidence. Kevin Doyle should also get a string of 2 or 3 games and make his case, as well as Elliott being kept involved either as a sub or strike partner.
I agree Paddy Kenny should start both friendlies. Given could even be dropped from the squad.
I think Andy Reid should be given a role in centre mid. He doesn't have the pace to trouble full-backs, but is our best passer of the ball, has fantastic vision, excellent delivery and a superb shot (egs: Cyprus goal, France effort that hit the post, first goal for Spurs). A playmaker whose creative influence would prosper alongside a grafter like Kavanagh or even Ireland to an extent. Showed in the home France game that he is well capable of getting stuck in and putting in the tackles (he, Given, Dunne and Keane were our outstanding players that night I thought), so centre mid is an option. Had his best moments in an Irish shirt (eg: Brazil, Israel home, Cyprus) when he appeared in a more central role, reducing the need to cut in onto his left. This would free up the right wing to a more specialised player eg: Ronnie O'Brien, Steven Reid, Aiden McGeady. I think there's a very strong case to be made here; I only hope he gets back into the Spurs team.
Everyone being fit then, I my squad for the Sweden game would be:
Kenny
Stack
Finnan
Stephen Kelly
Joey O'Brien
Dunne
Andy O'Brien
Harte
O'Shea
Paddy McCarthy
Ronnie O'Brien
Andy Reid
Aiden McGeady
Kavanagh
Ireland
Steven Reid
Kevin Nolan
Duff
Doyle
Trundle
Morrison
Elliott
Keane
What say ye?! This player-manager gig in Otago is doing wonders for my managerial insight...
Looks good to me but I'd have Given, Miller and Quinn in as well. Don't think we'll get Nolan though.
I don't think A.Reid is a viable CM option in a 4 man midfield.
02/12/2005, 4:53 PM
Kevin Nolan is not eligible to play for us so let him go. :)
Its only a matter of time before Andy Reid is moved into the centre permanently. He has all the attributes to be the supporting midfielder. Definitely not partnering Ireland though. Ireland is also an attacking midfielder and that would leave us too exposed. Ireland and Reid would actually be quite similar players. Both not afraid of a tackle but wouldn't be renowned for it and have a top class passing ability.
Good topic btw. Building me up a little as I've been down since the Swiss game. Telly off while the WC is on and I'll be fine. :)
colster
02/12/2005, 5:23 PM
Kevin Nolan is not eligible to play for us so let him go. :)
Its only a matter of time before Andy Reid is moved into the centre permanently. He has all the attributes to be the supporting midfielder. Definitely not partnering Ireland though. Ireland is also an attacking midfielder and that would leave us too exposed. Ireland and Reid would actually be quite similar players. Both not afraid of a tackle but wouldn't be renowned for it and have a top class passing ability.
Good topic btw. Building me up a little as I've been down since the Swiss game. Telly off while the WC is on and I'll be fine. :)
Yes, i don't think we are as badly off as some make out.
I think we could do very well with the right manager.
klein4
02/12/2005, 8:17 PM
the only two players I would like to see start is Stephen Reid in midfield and macgeady.I think MacGeady is the sort of creative player we need to open up things a bit more and take some of the pressure off duff who we seem to be looking to in every game to produce something.its ridiculous he has been playin as little as he has for ireland.
doherty should be gotten rid of he hasnt played well in a long time.i wouldnt be throwing players in who are just getting a start in the premiership now. it takes a while to up the standard to international football and might do more damage than good at the moment.
people seem to rave about players that havent played cause they get a couple a good write ups in the paper and then when they have a couple of games at lansdowne were they make a few mistakes then everyone is sayin they are crap.
cant understand the get rid of morrison comments. i thought he played alrite for us in the last qualifiers. i wouldnt be overly keen to jettison anyone who could do a job for us as we have such a small pool of players but deffo think doherty has just not been up to the standard of international level.
04/12/2005, 12:53 PM
Alan Quinn just has to be in the squad in my opinion. I can't understand how Kerr was leaving him out.
livehead1
04/12/2005, 1:36 PM
joey o'brien had another good game yesterday in defence for bolton, especially against arsenal. im sure i heard that allardyce wanted to take him out the side to protect him but he seems to be getting stronger each game, if he holds his place then he would certainly be in the squad come the friendlies in march