View Full Version : Which was the first International you attended?

28/11/2005, 12:59 PM
I was brought hand in hand by both my parents to the game below. Remember nothing about it except there was lots of room to stand and I think it was the only soccer match my mother went to:

Sunday, August 12th, 1962

European Championship qualifier

Dalymount Park, Dublin

Republic of Ireland 4 (Cantwell 2, Tuohy, Fogarty)
Iceland 2 (R Jonsson 2)

Ireland: Alan Kelly (Preston North End), Tony Dunne (Manchester Utd), Tommy Traynor (Southampton), Pat Saward (Huddersfield Town), Charlie Hurley (Sunderland) capt, Mick Meagan (Everton), Alfie Hale (Doncaster Rovers), Johnny Giles (Manchester Utd), Noel Cantwell (Manchester Utd), Amby Fogarty (Sunderland), Liam Touhy (Newcastle Utd)

Iceland: Danielsson, Njalsson, B Felixson, Amason, H Felixson, S Jonsson, Agustsson, Beck, R Jonsson, Schram, T Jonsson

Rasher Touhy played for Newcastle - didn't remember that.

28/11/2005, 1:09 PM
Ireland v. Finland in 1990 - was it Brady's testimonial? We were losing 1-0 with a few minutes to go when Aldridge hit the bar and Kevin Sheedy nodded home the rebound.

28/11/2005, 1:14 PM
25th April 1990

Ireland 1-0 Russia

Staunton scored with a Free Kick.

Still haven't seen the goal since, remember it fondly overall, though it was my one and only time in the West Stand (which I hated, surrounded by suits who hardly celebrated the goal).

Paulie
28/11/2005, 1:21 PM
Wales in (I think) 1992 in the RDS. A brutal game which we lost 1-0 as far as I remember. I got the ticket from the husband of a woman I was working with at the time. I haven't seen her in 7 or 8 years but I still get tickets off him for every game. A pretty decent skin in fairness.

Dotsy
28/11/2005, 1:29 PM
Friendly against Argentina in 1979 in LR. Drew 0:0

soccerc
28/11/2005, 2:01 PM
Poland at Dalymount, 1969 if I recall rightly.

28/11/2005, 2:13 PM
Poland must have been 68 or 70 soccerc

15.05.1968 Dublin Poland 2-2
06.05.1970 Dublin Poland 1-2

It is well documented why we played so many away friendlies in Poland so I suppose they got to come here for return fixtures. :D

My first one was Switzerland 1975 at Lansdowne. We won 2-1. I was 8.

First away game was Holland 81.

I can't remember my first Limerick game. I attended a few towards the end of 70/71 season . The earliest one I can remember was Kevin Fitzpatrick's testimonial in 71/72 when I was in the stand for the first time as opposed to the old Popular Side. My mother was pregnant with me at the 1966 Cup final though.

28/11/2005, 2:25 PM
Didn't make my first one until Brian Kerr's first home game against Norway, despite having lived in Dublin for a few months in 1999.
Duff scored to win 1-0. Tore Andre Flo was warming up in front of the North Terrace and was booed for playing for Rangers, but he just laughed it off.

soccerc
28/11/2005, 2:48 PM
Poland must have been 68 or 70 soccerc

It was the '68, 2-2 draw. Uncle was a Bohs member and we went in the members entrance. The old man and the uncle had a few pints before, at half time and full time. Me, all I got was Miwadi and crisps along with a green and white bobble hat and scarf.

Captain Tinrib
28/11/2005, 2:55 PM
Ireland v China March 29th 2005:confused: (better late than never!!

PaulB
28/11/2005, 2:57 PM
Ireland vs France 1976, 1-0 Chippy scored, still remember it to this day..

Donal81
28/11/2005, 3:30 PM
Blimey, that's a tough one. A few testimonials, Packie Bonner, Paul McGrath, Kevin Moran, but first proper game was, I think, a friendly against Croatia in which Niall Quinn and Keith O'Neil scored, 2-2 draw. June 1996.

keenanboy
28/11/2005, 3:34 PM
I think it was Ireland Vs Morocco in Dalymount in 1989 (I think). I seem to remember dave O'leary lobbing packie with a looping backpass it bounced over him and up off the crossbar. Think the game was 0-0 muck.

28/11/2005, 3:57 PM
I think it was Ireland Vs Morocco in Dalymount in 1989 (I think). I seem to remember dave O'leary lobbing packie with a looping backpass it bounced over him and up off the crossbar. Think the game was 0-0 muck.

Are you sure that was 0-0. I thought Aldridge got his first goal in that game or was that against Tunisia (too lazy to check Google) ?

28/11/2005, 4:06 PM
I'm almost sure it was September 1990 (first fixture after Italia '90.) Recall that incident vividly. I think it was Denis Irwin's début, and to the best of my recollection David Kelly scored in a 1-0 win for Ireland.

My first, last and only visit to see Ireland play at Lansdowne Road was Kevin Moran's testimonial against (another :rolleyes: ) Premiership XI in May 1994. Ireland won 5-1.

Armando
28/11/2005, 4:43 PM
Incredibly it was England v Ireland at Euro '88 at the age of almost 9. Thanks once again Dad. I distinctly remember him persuading my Mam that we should all go to Germany and that there would be no trouble (hooligans etc.) at the games.
I remember when I used to think I was Irelands lucky charm. We couldn't get into the Holland game at the same tournament and I was convinced it was partly my fault for not being there! It wasn't until Spain at Lansdowne in the USA 94 qualifiers, dozens of games later that I went to a game and saw them lose.

SeanieBoy
28/11/2005, 4:46 PM
Wales v Ireland in Cardiff, I think the year was 1997, not sure. It was a terrible goal, Vinny Jones played for Wales & they scored a disallowed goal in the 1st few minutes!!

Armando
28/11/2005, 4:47 PM
Wales in (I think) 1992 in the RDS. A brutal game which we lost 1-0 as far as I remember. I got the ticket from the husband of a woman I was working with at the time. I haven't seen her in 7 or 8 years but I still get tickets off him for every game. A pretty decent skin in fairness.

One of the few games of that period that I missed. We had 2 tickets for the game, but only myself and younger brother could go. My mam was having none of it because we were too young, so the tickets went to waste. Further fuelling my theory of the time that I was Irelands lucky charm because as you say they lost!

ccfcgirl
28/11/2005, 4:49 PM
Ireland0-0 Mexico around 1998(friendly)

Metrostars
28/11/2005, 6:29 PM
25th April 1990

Ireland 1-0 Russia

Still haven't seen the goal since, remember it fondly overall, though it was my one and only time in the West Stand (which I hated, surrounded by suits who hardly celebrated the goal).

mine too!

28/11/2005, 6:30 PM
I have a vague memory of my dad taking me to a friendly before USA 94 at Landsdowne. A team sarting with b perhaps (Bolivia, Bulgaria?). Anyone know who we played around then?

Donegalcelt
28/11/2005, 7:12 PM
Yeah Bolivia, John Sheridan scored a screamer in the last few minutes. April or May 1994. Mine was against Belguim in 1987 at the age of seven. Ended scoreless. Was supposed to go to the Brazil friendly a few weeks later but had to make my communion that day:(

28/11/2005, 7:22 PM
Yeah Bolivia, John Sheridan scored a screamer in the last few minutes. April or May 1994. Mine was against Belguim in 1987 at the age of seven. Ended scoreless. Was supposed to go to the Brazil friendly a few weeks later but had to make my communion that day:(

Hmmmm, Bolivia, yeah, I was there, can't remember a thing. USA 94 made me a football fan so I wouldn't really have known what was going on.

macdermesser
28/11/2005, 9:44 PM
Ireland v Yugoslavia .. I think it was in 1987. A friendly .. though there were too quite close to each other, so not sure. About 18,000 at the game and I remember Kevin Moran scoring and saluting the South Terrace .. think Mic Mc Carthy got the other one. Should have googled all this before posting .. but it was definitely one of the friendly matches before Euro 88. Got onto the pitch at the end and saw Jack Charlton give Bobby Robson the finger (he was spying for England before Stuttgart). Asked Arnold O' Opel (god this memory thing) to get autographs for me from the dressing room and he thought I wanted his autograph and signed the programme himself.:rolleyes:

Noelys Guitar
28/11/2005, 9:50 PM
Ireland V USSR 3-0 at Dalyer. Still the greatest game I have ever been to. Went sick from school with 3 others. I can remember some of the the crowd using ladders to get into the ground. It was 20 pence in for schoolboys. The Johnnys giant killers banner in the shed. The Givens hatrick. Mancini being sent off. Brady and Giles running amok. Magic stuff.

Noelys Guitar
28/11/2005, 10:03 PM
Actually my first international was in Dalymount against Poland October 73. 1-0 to Ireland just a few days afer Poland had knocked England out of the WC. I can remember Alfie Hale coming on as a sub late in the game. And Paddy Mulligan booting the ball out of the ground twice near the end of the game.

28/11/2005, 10:10 PM
I have a vague memory of my dad taking me to a friendly before USA 94 at Landsdowne. A team sarting with b perhaps (Bolivia, Bulgaria?). Anyone know who we played around then?
Yeah, Bolivia - first game played under lights in Lansdowne.

oconghc2
28/11/2005, 10:12 PM
25th April 1990

Ireland 1-0 Russia

yeah same here! only 8 at the time.

I remember them games becaus eme and my mate used to go in and share a seat!! My dad would lift one of us over the turnstile! Did it a few times I remember - another time against USA - !! Imagine you could still do that now!!

maybe you can?

28/11/2005, 10:12 PM
Ireland v Yugoslavia .. I think it was in 1987. A friendly .. though there were too quite close to each other, so not sure. About 18,000 at the game and I remember Kevin Moran scoring and saluting the South Terrace .. think Mic Mc Carthy got the other one. Should have googled all this before posting .. but it was definitely one of the friendly matches before Euro 88. Got onto the pitch at the end and saw Jack Charlton give Bobby Robson the finger (he was spying for England before Stuttgart). Asked Arnold O' Opel (god this memory thing) to get autographs for me from the dressing room and he thought I wanted his autograph and signed the programme himself.:rolleyes:
The game v Yugoslavia was in April 1988. There was a lot less than 18000 at it nearer 10 or 12. Both goals came from corners Mick McCarthy was given the first goal although it was the Yugoslav GK that punched the ball in the net. Kevin Moran got the second in the second half.

The Opel man was Arnold O'Byrne!:)

28/11/2005, 10:24 PM
Actually my first international was in Dalymount against Poland October 73. 1-0 to Ireland just a few days afer Poland had knocked England out of the WC. I can remember Alfie Hale coming on as a sub late in the game. And Paddy Mulligan booting the ball out of the ground twice near the end of the game.
Do you remember who scored for Ireland?

soccerc
28/11/2005, 10:43 PM
Ireland V USSR 3-0 at Dalyer. It was 20 pence in for schoolboys.
25 new pence actually.........................................

28/11/2005, 11:58 PM
My first Ireland game was probably Packie Bonner's testimonial game against Celtic in Lansdowne, I think it was back in 94 sometime but I'm open to correction;).

29/11/2005, 12:11 AM
It is well documented why we played so many away friendlies in Poland so I suppose they got to come here for return fixtures. :D

Haven't heard this. Any chance of elaborating?

Mine was v Hungary in roughly 1989, McGrath scored.

29/11/2005, 12:20 AM
1972 against France at Dalymount, this game was a humdinger. Apart from the almighty squeeze, Giles, the goals, the victory, my other memory is when Eoin Hand got man and ball with a fierce tackle then turned to the crowd pumping his fist. Got home in time to catch the highlights on tv.

Snoop Drog
29/11/2005, 1:57 AM
1993 Vs Norn Iron. 3 nil result. Sat next to Roy Keane's mum!!:D

Colbert Report
29/11/2005, 2:15 AM
Ireland vs. Bolivia was NOT the first game played under the lights at Landsdowne. I've only been once to Landsdowne in my life and it was the first game under the lights, Liverpool vs. LOI XI. Liverpool won 2-0 I believe, a young Robbie Fowler who nobody knew was pointed out by my father as a future superstar.

Colbert Report
29/11/2005, 2:17 AM
snoog drog i remember that match, we were up three nil at the half but that was it. the return leg at windsor is my favourite ireland football moment, we were down 1-0 and it looked like it was over until Mark McLoughlin came on as a sub and scored a cracker to tie it up and we were on the America!

Snoop Drog
29/11/2005, 2:51 AM
snoog drog i remember that match, we were up three nil at the half but that was it. the return leg at windsor is my favourite ireland football moment, we were down 1-0 and it looked like it was over until Mark McLoughlin came on as a sub and scored a cracker to tie it up and we were on the America!

vega007- That's the one. Can't remember the scorers but I think Staunton got at least one.

Yes Mark McLoughlin scored a great goal- His brother Alan would have been proud of him ;)

macdermesser
29/11/2005, 5:55 AM
The game v Yugoslavia was in April 1988. There was a lot less than 18000 at it nearer 10 or 12. Both goals came from corners Mick McCarthy was given the first goal although it was the Yugoslav GK that punched the ball in the net. Kevin Moran got the second in the second half.

The Opel man was Arnold O'Byrne!:)

thanks Superhoops for your excellent memory:) Its coming back to me now .. didn't Mark Kelly make his debut in that match? I think (here we go again) he played for Portmsouth at the time, he was about 17 and he was going to be the new George Best. Actually did a few good things in the game (I'm beginning to think now actually that I am mixing this up with another friendly).

29/11/2005, 6:33 AM
My first Ireland game was probably Packie Bonner's testimonial game against Celtic in Lansdowne, I think it was back in 94 sometime but I'm open to correction;).
played on 18 May 1997.

29/11/2005, 6:37 AM
vega007- That's the one. Can't remember the scorers but I think Staunton got at least one.
Andy Townsend got the first and Niall Quinn the second. I think Staunton's goal came directly from a corner. We were 3-0 up at half-time.

29/11/2005, 7:00 AM
Haven't heard this. Any chance of elaborating?

Lets just say the Poles were very hospitable especially the Polish women. We apparently were happy to play friendlies in remote spots too. It meant arriving early and packing the players off on a bus somewhere. Some officials even gave up their own seats and had to stay behind in Warsaw too and miss the game. ;)

Kevin77
29/11/2005, 7:08 AM
v Bulgaria 1987. I was 10. Won 2-0. I think both goals were headers. McGrath and Moran from memory. Liam Brady got sent off.

All I can really remember is when one of the goals went in, I couldn't see who had scored cos the whole crowd were on their feet. We were in the West Stand.

Dotsy
29/11/2005, 8:43 AM
Wales v Ireland in Cardiff, I think the year was 1997, not sure. It was a terrible goal, Vinny Jones played for Wales & they scored a disallowed goal in the 1st few minutes!!

I was at that too. It was February 1997. Brutal match ended 0:0, It was a miserable night never stopped raining. Notable only for been Paul McGraths last match for Ireland.

fergalr
29/11/2005, 12:21 PM
Another home game against Poland (!). This was in Dalier on April 24th 1977 - a terrible 0-0 draw - my only memories are of Mark Lawrenson making his debut and Ray Treacy chasing after a Pole who had given him a kick.

Prior to that I'd been to the Johnny Giles testimonial at Lansdown but I've no recollection as to the year.

29/11/2005, 12:28 PM
v Bulgaria 1987. I was 10. Won 2-0. I think both goals were headers. McGrath and Moran from memory. Liam Brady got sent off.

All I can really remember is when one of the goals went in, I couldn't see who had scored cos the whole crowd were on their feet. We were in the West Stand.

Vital win. Without it there would have been no Euro 88 etc. However, it was tinged with sadness with Brady getting sent off. We knew if we qualified he wouldn't be available for the 1st two games in Germany (sending offs carried over to Championships in those days). As it happened he was injured anyway.

29/11/2005, 1:32 PM
Liam Brady's testimonial was my first game, I think it was in the early 90s. I remember nothing about the game really (score or opposition even!) except that I think Brady was taken off pretty early for some reason.

Krstic
29/11/2005, 1:49 PM

Same here!!

29/11/2005, 2:08 PM
Ireland vs. Bolivia was NOT the first game played under the lights at Landsdowne. I've only been once to Landsdowne in my life and it was the first game under the lights, Liverpool vs. LOI XI. Liverpool won 2-0 I believe, a young Robbie Fowler who nobody knew was pointed out by my father as a future superstar.

That was in October 1993. NL leading 1-0 from a Pat Morley lob with minutes to go when they got 2 lucky goals. Absolutely sick to see "Irish" people jumping around when the winner went in.:rolleyes:

First Ireland game Sep 84 against Russia with Mickey Walsh scoring. First away game Egypt in Palermo.

Reddladd
29/11/2005, 2:11 PM
I was at the game v Spain in November 82 if I'm correct. It ended up a 3-3 draw after the Spanish had taken a 3-1 lead. Aisley Grimes scored the first for us and Kevin O'Callaghan had a brilliant game tormenting them down the right wing, sending over crosses like there was no tomorrow. I think it was Michey Walsh, not 100% sure, who appeared to have got the ball over the line which would have given us a 4-3 win but it wasn't to be.

I also remember that day because being from the country hadn't seen to many 'skin heads' but there were plenty in the East stand that day.
They set fire to a couple of Spanish flags and then they chased what few Spanish supporters were at the game accross the pitch at the back of the stand with the Gardai in hot pursuit.
It was my first international match and I'd never seen such a mad shower of huars gathered in the one place. Great game though.