View Full Version : 2nd leg latest

Pages : 1 [2] 3

junkie
25/11/2005, 10:43 PM
No club is bigger than the league and no club deserves the right to be in the Premier division.

The league didn't lose anything tonight and it didn't gain anything either.

25/11/2005, 10:45 PM
I think people jumping in feet first to post now is stupid .... let it lie and reply tomorrow. The impact on the league will be sizable i would think despite what singular opinions might be.

As i said ... Rovers should take stock and look and gather resources to get back up, all focus should be on that.

25/11/2005, 10:45 PM
One thing is for sure this is great for the 1st Divison....adds a bit of interest to it.Galway,Harps,Rovers....3 clubs who should be in the premier and one of them is guaranteed at least 2 more years in this **** hole of a league.Can't wait for next year.....bar us nobody in this league brings an away support(sligo are up)so at least there will be 4 matches with great atmosphere's in Terryland next year.:)

B-Stand
25/11/2005, 10:46 PM
disagree with you there Face , if they are good enough to come up they will and if they arent welll they wont.

Absolutely, Athlone Town and Dundalk, to name just two clubs, were massive clubs in the eL within the last 20 years. What f**king right do the Shambles have ahead of these? None whatsoever! This homeless arselicking is pathetic. They're down now, they have the to earn the right to be back up with the BIG CLUB & Co.

25/11/2005, 10:49 PM
The impact on the league will be sizable i would think despite what singular opinions might be.

How Aface? Apart from some individual subjective opinions how they enjoy the atmosphere of playing Rovers, how will there be a sizeable impact on the league?

25/11/2005, 10:52 PM
I think people jumping in feet first to post now is stupid .... let it lie and reply tomorrow. The impact on the league will be sizable i would think despite what singular opinions might be.

How so? Honestly, if they were going out of business I'd feel sorry for them, but they're only going down a division ffs. If it is so disasterous for the premier then it's surely fantastic for the first division.

I don't see why it's such a disaster though, as Bohs Till I Die said, the added revenue of a dublin derby with them is compensated by the security costs the scum that attaches itself to their club generates. To clubs outside Dublin they'll barely notice the difference except maybe Cork who seem to have a bit of a rivalry with them that can boost gates.

25/11/2005, 10:53 PM
Athlone and Dundalk .... and Limerick and Waterford to boot, were great in their hay-day (sp?) .... i am not saying that ..... what i am saying is that Shamrock Rovers were the league at one stage, and that was a long long stage .... more people across Europe, IF they have heard of Ireland probably know of Rovers .... and none else ...... no Athlone, Dundalk, Limerick, Waterford ... even Cork City :) .... that is what we'll miss .... i know people dont see this straight away .... but time will tell if they are no back up quick smart !!

25/11/2005, 10:56 PM
They're not gone out of existence, only relegated. And history has nothing to do with their current team and clown of a manager.

And tbh thanks to the Deportivo thing last year that foreigners thing isn't true now anyway I'd say.

Anyway, I would not be suprised to see them in the premier divison next season. The FAI afterall haven't decided how many teams we'll have next year, and wont do until febuary. What a competent bunch of people :)

The Sheliban
25/11/2005, 10:58 PM
Bad Day for Rovers, Great Day for Socialism

James Connolly and Larkin will be cheering,
Behold the red flag fluttering on high.
Its what the aristocracy was fearing,
As peasants smash the windows at Versailles.

The Internationale sounds out strongly,
As gold is snatched from fat and grubby hands.
The so-called experts all forecast it wrongly –
A ray of hope goes out to many lands.

For too long now the Premier Division
Has creamed what cash our football generates,
While lesser clubs are treated with derision
And forced to live off ever-dwindling gates.

But now the mighty Rovers are defeated
Their Majesties are slickly overthrown,
And next year their supporters will be treated
To trips to lovely Limerick and Athlone.

To Monaghan and Galway and Kilkenny,
The Hoops will bring their monetary support.
And yes, they’re sure to spend a pretty penny
At clubs who’ve been financially distraught.

So up and holler Vive la Revolution!
And raise a glass to Dermot Keely’s health.
For Dublin City’s perfect execution
Redistributed some of football’s wealth.

sfc red
25/11/2005, 11:04 PM
Dublin City are there ON MERIT.
We can all safely bring our loved ones to Dublin City games.
Bye bye Rovers

25/11/2005, 11:07 PM
clown of a manager.

If there was ever a guy you couldn't rely on !! :( :o :mad:

25/11/2005, 11:08 PM
Quit with the smiley faces sligomanFeck off, no I wont!:mad: :p.

sfc red
25/11/2005, 11:10 PM
Sligoman, fair play on your sig...Any tips for the weekend?? :)

coislaoi
25/11/2005, 11:27 PM
The first thing to say is congrats to Dublin City on their promotion. Whether I like it or not they clearly deserve it. They had the all important momentum going into the playoffs whereas Shamrock Rovers on the other hand were like a deflating balloon.:eek:

Whatever your views on Shamrock Rovers and their "scum element" (which most clubs have to one degree or another) their demotion to the first division is not good news for the league overall. I know that most Cork City fans look to the fixture list to see when and where we are playing the Hoops. They bring the biggest away following to Turners Cross and always create atmosphere. Bohs fans, what are you guys going to do without your Dublin derbys and always guaranteed 1/2 biggest gates of the season?

No disrespect to Dublin City, who I re-iterate are there on merit, but they have no fans and an absolute príck of a chairman/chief executive/owner.

I never thought I would say it but, Shamrock Rovers we will miss you.:(

25/11/2005, 11:29 PM
Sligoman, fair play on your sig...Any tips for the weekend??:D, it's been there since pre-season, I'm just glad it's finally come true:). About 2 months ago a Shams fan told me it was time to change it cos it wasn't gonna happen:rolleyes:.

shedhead
25/11/2005, 11:33 PM
Rovers are dead, long live the rovers.

They deserve to be where they are. Sligo bring alot more to the premier then shams. Firstly a ground and better support. lets see how much of these "loyal" fans pay into 1st div games next year. I bet you harps and galway will have bigger attendences

The Sheliban
25/11/2005, 11:34 PM
The Rovers board last season to my mind did a most unforgivable thing - they poached the manager from the only team that could relegate them, with three games left to go in the season. Whatever the rights and wrongs of Roddy's decision to jump ship when he did, what the Board of Rovers did was totally unethical and immoral.
It doesn't often happen, but when it does, its sweet.
What goes around, comes around.

25/11/2005, 11:36 PM
The Rovers board last season to my mind did a most unforgivable thing - they poached the manager from the only team that could relegate them, with three games left to go in the season. Whatever the rights and wrongs of Roddy's decision to jump ship when he did, what the Board of Rovers did was totally unethical and immoral.
It doesn't often happen, but when it does, its sweet.
What goes around, comes around.

People should not forget that like many other things this was not a Rovers first. Drogs did the same to UCD three seasons ago. Only it backfired and almost relegated them.:D

harpskid
25/11/2005, 11:43 PM
No club is bigger than the league and no club deserves the right to be in the Premier division

100% spot on there!

As much as I hate those swines Keely and Sneery, they're there on merit.

iceman
25/11/2005, 11:50 PM
Wait for the obvious High Court challenge over the 8 point deduction.

26/11/2005, 1:21 AM
Continuity Home Farm may deserve to be in the Prem by merit, but by any other measure they shouldn't be there.

They will bring nothing - repeat, NOTHING to the Premiership.

We've swopped one Homeless Dublin-based club run by fans and with decent support for another homeless Dublin-based club run by a delusional **** and with absurdly little support. I challenge any Dublin City fan to tell me how that is good for the Premier division. You are the Milton Keynes Dons of Ireland - unloved, unwanted, and unlikely to survive beyond the short-to-medium term.

If a chain is only as strong as its weakest link, then the Premier Division of the Eircom League just got a whole lot weaker...

On the positive side, I suspect this will be the base-line Year Zero for Rovers. Things can only get better from here. Finish Tallaght and get out of the graveyard league asap.

A bad day for our league...

26/11/2005, 2:28 AM
Just wait until the FAI expand the league and render this beautiful moment meaningless.

I don't see any change to the league format next season, as the 12-team Premier Division has once again being a success this season. There may be extra promotion/relegation places next year however. By now, they can't change the Premier Division to a 10-team league next season, and there is zero chance of there being a 22-team league, as even the FAI won't be mad enough to force (part-time) clubs to play 42 league games in 8 months!! :eek: The current 12/10 team leagues will remain in situ until the end of next season at least.

We are relegated, but if there are extra promotion places on offer next year, we stand a good chance of coming back to where we belong in 2007.

Whatever your views on Shamrock Rovers, their demotion to the first division is not good news for the league overall. I know that most Cork City fans look to the fixture list to see when and where we are playing the Hoops. They bring the biggest away following to Turners Cross and always create atmosphere.

Shamrock Rovers we will miss you.

Our relegation will cost every Premier Division club money next season, as they will lose 500-1,000 fans that would be there if we were playing. That's a lot of money down the drain, the likes of money that Bohs gloaters and other debt-ridden clubs like them, could do with. Ask Jim Roddy, Jim Hanley, Brian Lennox, and even Gerry Cuffe if they're happy losing that amount of money next season, especially as we are often the biggest draw in town. :( Yeah, you certainly will miss us.

A bad day for our league.

It's a sad day for the league when the league's best-run club are replaced next year by a club with a fake title, no support, no heart, and no soul, i.e. nothing. The league this year was great domestically, but Home Farm getting promoted has soured it to a certain extent. The club are a throwback to the bad old days which dominated this league for so long, as they represent all the problems with it. :(

It is an awful end to a good season.

26/11/2005, 2:52 AM
Hate seein' Rovers relegated TBH, but as a few pointed out, no team has a divine right to be in the top flight - but the bottom line is, it was bad management in the background that relegated them and not strictly the foorball. I just hope they don't go the way of Dundalk and get lost in the mire indefinitely.

Might be good for the 1st division regulars though, as it might raise the profile of the division for 2006.

Dr.Nightdub
26/11/2005, 2:59 AM
Continuity Home Farm may deserve to be in the Prem by merit, but by any other measure they shouldn't be there.

We've swopped one Homeless Dublin-based club run by fans and with decent support for another homeless Dublin-based club run by a delusional **** and with absurdly little support. I challenge any Dublin City fan to tell me how that is good for the Premier division. You are the Milton Keynes Dons of Ireland - unloved, unwanted, and unlikely to survive beyond the short-to-medium term.

If a chain is only as strong as its weakest link, then the Premier Division of the Eircom League just got a whole lot weaker...

On the positive side, I suspect this will be the base-line Year Zero for Rovers. Things can only get better from here. Finish Tallaght and get out of the graveyard league asap.

What he said.

bohs til i die
26/11/2005, 7:59 AM
Our relegation will cost every Premier Division club money next season, as they will lose 500-1,000 fans that would be there if we were playing. That's a lot of money down the drain, the likes of money that Bohs gloaters and other debt-ridden clubs like them, could do with. Ask Jim Roddy, Jim Hanley, Brian Lennox, and even Gerry Cuffe if they're happy losing that amount of money next season, especially as we are often the biggest draw in town. :( Yeah, you certainly will miss us.

We would only be playing Rovers at home ONCE next season, so our gate income will be down very slightly. You would only be bringing those 500-1000 to Dalyer once, so thats all Bohs lose out on.

We are talking about €15000, not €250,000 so get over yourself.

Anyway, Bohs v Rovers in the cup would make up for that little loss :)

Battery Rover
26/11/2005, 8:08 AM
I just hope they don't go the way of Dundalk and get lost in the mire indefinitely.

That is the problem down here. If you don't get out the first year it gets harder due to lack of money through the gates to invest in players.
This is where you really find out who your supporters are.

Might be good for the 1st division regulars though, as it might raise the profile of the division for 2006

That is a positive from Rovers going down. The Dublin media might realise that there are two divisions in this country and imagine teams outside the Pale

But at least some good matches next year. Just in time for our new ground opening at the end of June hopefully.

26/11/2005, 9:06 AM
It's a sad day for the league when the league's best run club

A pretty big statement from a club that cheated with their license application and spent half the season paying ridiculous wages they couldn't afford.

Rovers may be well run now, but the current regime did benefit from the deeds of the previous board to some extent- it could well be that but for their overspending last season Rovers would have been in the first division already.

The next year will really show if Rovers are well-run or not, as it stands it's too soon to tell.

26/11/2005, 9:42 AM

Spot on, as I've been saying on all these DCFC/Rovers threads.
Last night's result has cost every club in the Premier League money, at the very time it's so badly needed.
DCFC attracted a massive 85 paying customers to their home game with Limerick FC this season. Thats EXACTLY what the eL Premier division needs, isn't it? :rolleyes:

After a season of unprecedented TV coverage and interest, this is a terrible result for the eL. DCFC might be there on merit on the field, but how in the name of God can a little egomaniac's personal pet project do anything for this league?

hoopy
26/11/2005, 10:00 AM
Thanks for all the bitter comments from fans of the usual 2 or 3 clubs. We lost our premier div status on the pitch so let's leave it at that. On a brighter note I'm 100% confident that we'll be straight back up, as our soon to be unveiled new manager is the ideal man to do it. Ps, to all those fans who continue to bark on about Rovers 'getting away' with things, I ask one question. How's your clubs tax clearance cert coming along?

26/11/2005, 10:15 AM
Our tax situation is grand- we pay every cent that's due on time, every time, and have done for the last four or five years at least.

Ceirtlis
26/11/2005, 10:55 AM
I dont think it will be particularly easy for rovers to get promoted next season if the current format prevails. they were dreadful towards the end of the season and the current team would not get promoted. galway united should be gearing towards a promotion push next season and harps will be up there too. they deserved to be relegated and i think they overestimate there importance some what, in my 11 years of watching league of ireland they have never been anything special.

26/11/2005, 10:59 AM
Very good point.Rovers won't find it easy to go straight up.I mean they lost to Dublin who we comfortably hammered 2 times this year and if only for a bad start would have finished ahead of them.Then aswell as us Harps and Shams there is Kilkenny,Limerick,Dundalk and cobh....so it's gonna be atough year next year......can't wait though...finally 2 away supports in Terryland!

sfc red
26/11/2005, 10:59 AM

Absolute bóllox. Clubs get promoted, win relegation, win leagues, qualify for Europe ON GAMES WON AND POINTS WON - therefore Dublin City do deserve to be in the top flight. If you had your way, the top 12 supported clubs would be there and there would be no point in playing football every year.

chippie0001
26/11/2005, 11:05 AM
As a football fan I am torn. Its a great laugh that Rovers are down, but on the negative side looking for those fixtures when they come out was always number 1. If the format stays the same then we won't have 3 derbies against them, instead against Dublin City, and thats almost a pain worse than death. However as a fan to see your biggest rivals go down is amusing.

In a way I think its fair also. Rovers while not the current board, but the club have gained from spending money they never had. Pats recently did a deal with the revenue and will have to repay all their liability, my club probably the same. Rovers get a chance to restart and if it works for them they will be better off in the long run. And before anyone says it was the old board thats how football the world works, it was the leeds/Napoli/Marseile/Swindon/Fiorentia boards but the fans suffer. When it happens to us, and it will, we will suffer.

I agree that DC offer nothing to the league, although I do admire Seery who has not stopped trying. His devotion to the cause is a lesson to us all and he has achieved this almost on his own. Also times change what were big clubs no longer are. Look at the UK, anyone want to argue that Burnley or Blackpool are bigger than Chelsea cause they won more in the past? Rovers could not win even one of the games so on the pitch they went down.

chippie0001
26/11/2005, 11:08 AM
Next year is going to be a reall ya hard year to get of the First division you will have Harps, Galway, Dundalk, Limerick Cobh, Kilkenny( Scully going or Staying will have a big say in their chances ) ! It will be tight to get out but i think we may see a return to the 2 up and 1 playoff place next year !

I doubt it rumours are they want to go back to 10 teams for the 2007 season so if its stays 12 teams this year it could be 3 down and 1 up. Although they may go to 22 teams for next season and the top 10 making the 2007 season. Only in Ireland could they not have decided the league for next year yet :rolleyes:

26/11/2005, 11:43 AM
Was at the game witha few pats fans. Bohs and shels fans either side of it. No trouble and all wanting the same thing. A great day for irish football when that happens...

Absolutely terrible game. Neither side deserved to be in the premier.

Lets just hope DC are relagated next year and replaced by Harps, Limerick, Galway, Athlone or Cobh.

26/11/2005, 12:07 PM
Dublin City are there ON MERIT.
We can all safely bring our loved ones to Dublin City games.

Maybe you can.
Mine refuse point blank to waste good Nintendo time on CHF, and I will only be going as penance.

sullanefc
26/11/2005, 12:28 PM
I think all teams in the Premier Division have lost a big fixture in their calender for next season. It's sad to see Rovers going down, especially when it's that joke of a club coming up in their place. From a Cork City perspective Cork City Vs Dublin City won't attract the same crowd as Cork City Vs Shamrock Rovers would have. That is how it will affect every single club in the premier Division.

But on a positive note, I think Rovers will add to the First Division next year.

Our league would be pretty boring if we knew who was going down every year. No club should be untouchable and think they are above relegation. I think it is time for Rovers to take stock, iron things out, and put everything into getting back into the premier (without bankrupting the club that is).

bluemovie
26/11/2005, 1:08 PM
Congratulaions to Dublin City and especially to Ben Whelehan - a very good player who the Blues would have liked to have kept had it not been for work commitments. I saw Rocky yesterday afternoon and wished him luck. That must've been what swung it for them!

I think ambivalent is the word that describes how I felt. Rovers offer more to the Premier, they're one of our biggest home gates and it would have been good for supporter-power if the 400 Club had kept them up. On the other hand, DC won fair and square, it'll be great for the First Division in terms of bigger gates and media interest and I don't rememeber too many Rovers fans shedding tears when we were relegated - or Dundalk or Shels for that matter.

The vultures will be circling now. Barry Murphy is too good for the First Division. Will Molloy, Shelley, Rutherford, McDonagh, McDonnell leave? Where will Rovers play next year? Santry?

I feel sorry for genuine Rovers fans. Their season was a lot like ours with every kind of sh*t thrown at them. Thank God we had Pat Dolan not Roddy Collins. Keep the heads up and build on the good work done off the field this year.

bigmac
26/11/2005, 1:14 PM
Yeah, I agree with Bluemovie for the most part, and all those people going around saying it's bad for the league, FFS they're still in the league! The league doesn't stop after the 12th team in the premier you know. They failed to stay up on the pitch and to be perfectly frank, once we were safe I don't give a toss who goes down.

26/11/2005, 7:05 PM
Absolute bóllox. Clubs get promoted, win relegation, win leagues, qualify for Europe ON GAMES WON AND POINTS WON - therefore Dublin City do deserve to be in the top flight. If you had your way, the top 12 supported clubs would be there and there would be no point in playing football every year.

I said Dublin City deserved to be there on merit. :rolleyes:

But let me put it this way - imagine Dublin City didn't currently exist, and a team decided to drop out of the EL. Then imagine there were 2 candidates to replace that team - one being Dublin City, with no history or historical support at all, no hinterland from which to attempt to generate such support, no ground of their own and no plans to evn get one. Then imagine the oteh team was - well, pretty much ANYONE ! Even other Dublin clubs like Bellevue (who have access rights to Tolka). Given the choice between adding a Dublin City to our league, or pretty much any other club - what do you think the EL/FAI would decide to do ? If we're being honest with ourselves, we know the answer. And that says it all to me really - literally ANy other team would be considered to contribute more to Irish football in particular, and the Premier Division in general, than Dublin City.

If only Seery hadn't 'bought' the Home Farm franchise and stopped the EL/FAI from making the obvious choice outlined above....

26/11/2005, 7:08 PM
Yeah, I agree with Bluemovie for the most part, and all those people going around saying it's bad for the league, FFS they're still in the league! The league doesn't stop after the 12th team in the premier you know. They failed to stay up on the pitch and to be perfectly frank, once we were safe I don't give a toss who goes down.

But the league is only as strong as its weakest club. Dublin City weren't the weakest team on the pitch - Rovers were. But off it, I'd say they are by far the weakest team to play in the Premier. No history, no fans, no hinterland, no ground, and no plans to get one. Could it contribute any less....?

26/11/2005, 7:49 PM
But the league is only as strong as its weakest club. Dublin City weren't the weakest team on the pitch - Rovers were. But off it, I'd say they are by far the weakest team to play in the Premier.
No outstanding debts, forward thinking board, good young squad... Its all relative steve. IMO opinion they've as much claim to be a premier club as UCD.

26/11/2005, 8:09 PM
No outstanding debts, forward thinking board, good young squad... Its all relative steve. IMO opinion they've as much claim to be a premier club as UCD.

Worms ... Open .... Can !!

Rebal Boy
26/11/2005, 8:29 PM
Lads Dublin City are promated because they deserve to be. If they didn't deserve it they wouldn't be there. We'll just have to take it. one of the main reasons people aren't happy that Dublin City are up is because they don't have too many fans. Thats no bodys fault. Its just people don't come to games and no one can forse a person to do so. Us fans go to cheer on our beloved teams wheather its Cork City, Shelbourne, St. Pats, Bohs and so on, because we want to support our local team. Most of Irelands soccer supporters cheer on a Premiership club I do myself or a Scottish Club. We can't changed people opians on what they think of the LOI. People are giving out about Dublin City only having crowds of about 50-100. Its not their fault. Its happening to U.C.D too. So theirs no point of giving out about Dublin City being in the Premier Division because its not going to change anything.
Am I right with all the above???

26/11/2005, 8:59 PM
And that says it all to me really - literally ANy other team would be considered to contribute more to Irish football in particular, and the Premier Division in general, than Dublin City.
I think this particular monument to idiocy speaks eloquently enough for itself without further comment on my part.

The comparison with MK Dons is a telling one. Essentially a parallel is being drawn with a scenario whereby a club from an allegedly over-represented captial city, with negligible support and no fixed abode - nothing, in fact, save for a modicum of success on the field - was deposed in favour of a club with a wide, untapped catchment area, ambitious, well-resourced owners and well-advanced plans to construct a modern stadium. Basically the wet dream of every dribbling buffoon who recites the same hoary rhetoric in indictment of Dublin City. Congratulations, you just became inextricably trapped in your own logic to an extent that I never considered possible.

It's also intriguing to note that the imbeciles who bleat incessantly about "franchises" are invariably the same morons who wish to preserve in aspic some alleged optimal configuration of clubs for all eternity (the very epitome of the American franchise concept.)

I'm also deriving considerable amusement from this notion that Dublin City FC have gatecrashed some sacrosanct, inviolate entity known as the eircom League. The eircom League is a shambles. It's a shambles because those who have exercised dominion over it (i.e., the "big" clubs) have allowed it to degenerate into a shambles. If any supporter of Shamrock Rovers, Derry City or whomever wishes to point fingers at those who have trailed the name of domestic football through the mud, all I can say is that I hope they have in their possession a serviceable mirror.

Speaking of which, the FAI and Setanta Sports were by all accounts dumbfounded at the extent and professionalism of the co-operation in staging and televising the game at such exiguously short notice afforded them by Dublin City. Which begs the question, what have the rest of you been doing to them all season, and what kind of impression have you left?

26/11/2005, 9:05 PM
Wait for the obvious High Court challenge over the 8 point deduction.
Let them. The High Court will impose the correct UEFA Licence punishment which was to be refused a licence to play in the league in the first place. There'll be no appeal. Had Rovers won the play-off, though, there's no doubt Seery would have whined, as he did the last time when he held up the Longford-Harps play-off by about a week.

Speranza
26/11/2005, 10:14 PM
If any supporter of Shamrock Rovers, Derry City or whomever wishes to point fingers at those who have trailed the name of domestic football through the mud, all I can say is that I hope they have in their possession a serviceable mirror.

True, every day I aspire for my club to reach the level of professionalism and plans for the future that Dublin City have. Between plans for the building of a stadium and attaining a sustainable amount of fans, how will we ever get to the same level as the Dinosaur of Irish football that is Seery's ego trip!

27/11/2005, 6:43 AM
What a rubbish game between 2 terrible teams.

Absolutely terrible game. Neither side deserved to be in the premier.

From 23/11:

if you like to watch bad players, long ball football, midfield cul-de-sacs, and very few chances, never mind goals, then tune in. But you have been warned. It will be ugly, boring at times, and almost unwatchable. Home Farm-Rovers will certainly not be sexy football.

Pay attention in future! :mad:

27/11/2005, 11:37 AM
when i see shams in the 1st division section it doesnt seem right!