View Full Version : Big Argument on RTE2 Now

23/11/2005, 6:40 PM
apparently Dunphy and Brady are really getting under the collar about Keane on RTE 2 .Anyone see it?

23/11/2005, 6:49 PM
Sh!te, missed it:mad:. I was watching the start of the programme but then changed it:o.

23/11/2005, 6:56 PM
Pure class...quality tv. Dunphy had him on the ropes, ref would have stopped it if it was a boxing ring.Big win for Dunph......:D :D . Brady made a bit of a tool of himself Ithought.

23/11/2005, 6:59 PM
Brady made a bit of a tool of himself Ithought.I alway's thought he was one anyway:D.

23/11/2005, 7:32 PM
Didn't see it but apparantly it was over the Rod Liddle article?

23/11/2005, 7:39 PM
Dunphy was banished to one of the other studios to 'analyse the Chelsea game'......:D :D

23/11/2005, 7:39 PM
Apparently Eamonn had a go at Liddle
something like this and this is quoted from another site

"
Bill O'Herlihy was saying to Dunphy that there's another view on Keane, for example a writer from the Sunday Times called him a thug.

Dunphy asked Bill who it was, Bill said he couldn't remember, Dunphy shouted, "I'll tell you who it was, it was Rod Little. He left his wife for a young one" "

23/11/2005, 8:14 PM
Dunphy was way out of line. He was totally wrong about Niall Quinn and that was a low punch he threw calling him useless and an idiot. Its not like Dunphy was ever a half decent player.

Giles and Brady were right about R.Keane. He was a great player but all that sh1te he did since winning the european cup was all wrong. He was way out of line criticising fellow players on the telly.

At the end of the day, players should only be remember for what they did on the pitch. When they go outside that remit then its enough and they have to go.

beautifulrock
23/11/2005, 8:16 PM
Thats pure Dunphu, but I missed it although they said at half time they had a number of texts saying Nial Quinn was a gentleman, where does he fit in in this:confused: :confused:

edit:sorry Jolly was posting the same time as me and didnt see his post

oconghc2
23/11/2005, 8:21 PM
top class comedy!!!

dunphy didnt look like he was thinkin straight! lost it! one stage the 2 of them were in each others faces!!

Dunphy also had a go at Henry and Viera for the way they went looking for new contracts at Arsenal! Said something like - "and Liam works for Arsenal but hes never had a go at either of them! for the way theyve negotiated big contracts"

They all seemed a bit tired and emotional!! You wouldnt get it on Sky!!

23/11/2005, 9:22 PM
Dunphy was showed up for what he truly is tonight.
he has a one track mind leading straight to Roy Keane.At one point he said "everything Roy Keane does is right".........is his pension coming from Keane or something?
HE completly lost it and at one stage took off his mike.

Glapots
23/11/2005, 10:28 PM
Pure class...quality tv. Dunphy had him on the ropes, ref would have stopped it if it was a boxing ring.Big win for Dunph......:D :D . Brady made a bit of a tool of himself Ithought.

I don't kwow what you were watching! It swas obvious that Dunphy lost the plot. Giles & Brady played it cool, it's the only way to deal with a loose canon like Dunphy. There's something seriously up with him.

cheifo
23/11/2005, 11:35 PM
Have to agree with the above,Brady & Giles were lucid, Dunphy
went way over the top.If Niall Quinn is not your cup of tea fair enough but a
"creep" doent give a million big ones to charity.Rod Liddle proably is a creep but dragging his personal life into it was really immature.Have to admit though
compulsive viewing.

Galwayexile
23/11/2005, 11:43 PM
as much as i dislike dunphy , i think hes good for rte as he speaks his mind a bit like george hook in rugby. The fact is that he gets viewers wherever he goes.RTE wont get rid of him..

Glapots
24/11/2005, 12:48 AM
as much as i dislike dunphy , i think hes good for rte as he speaks his mind a bit like george hook in rugby. The fact is that he gets viewers wherever he goes.RTE wont get rid of him..

Funny thing is he may be good for RTE but he does Keane no favours.

deadman
24/11/2005, 12:59 AM
greatest moment of irish sport (entertainment) of all time ... i don't think you can ever take ED too seriously - doesn't take himself that seriously really. that's not journalism ... just using Roy to sell himself

some great lines though

Quinn a "creep"

Rod Liddle "a man who left his wife and child for a young one"

and then he gives out to Bill for calling keane "thug" ... which was completely inaccurate. bill was merely para-phrasing Liddle

rich coming from the saint himself

thought Bill did a brilliant job refereeing dunphy though ... and not usually a fan

BobbySands
24/11/2005, 1:36 AM
To be fair to Eamonn, Quinn is a bit creepy. All that crying in Saipan and then that cringe inducing handshake attempt(photo op) with Roy Keane.

Marked Man
24/11/2005, 2:02 AM
One test for who's the bigger creep: would you rather have Quinn or Dunphyknock round the house unexpectedly on Sunday afternoon?

Dotsy
24/11/2005, 7:46 AM
****e I missed it last night. Dunphy seemed to be slagging himself this morning on the radio. He made a joke that he would be interviewing a bloke who went mad on RTE last night. I really think that most of the time he does these things just to keep in the spotlight and not through any real conviction in what he is saying. As someone said above I don't think he does Keane any favours by holding him up as some kind of role model that can do no wrong.

anto1208
24/11/2005, 7:59 AM
did any one else see his outburst , best bit of tv ive seen in ages i was rolling around the ground laughing brilliant .
he called quinn an idiot , a reporter wrote something about keane being a thug and dumphy said this is the same guy who left his wife for a young one.

can any one get a copy of it ?

finlma
24/11/2005, 8:00 AM
Qulaity TV last night. I'm a big Dunphy fan normally but he did himself no favours last night. He said he wouldn't resort to name calling and in the next sentance called Quinn an idiot. I'm a supporter of Keane too but Dunphy seems to think he is completely flawless which everyone knows is not true.

It was great when he ripped the microphone off but then had a change of heart and stayed.

He was right to slate Liddle. Bill should have had his facts on the story too.

finlma
24/11/2005, 8:03 AM
There's already a thread on this in the Ireland forum.

http://www.foot.ie/showthread.php?t=31633

anto1208
24/11/2005, 8:08 AM
[QUOTE=thejollyrodger] He was way out of line criticising fellow players on the telly.

QUOTE]

im not a utd fan but if they my team played as badly as utd did thatday id want my captain to come out and slate them ,
surely footy hasnt gotten so bad that you cant tell a player who earns 100,000 a week that he had a bad game when he did ,incase you hurt his feelings :eek:

24/11/2005, 8:09 AM
One of the few pre match discussions where there wasnt more than one mention of the teams involved or anything relating to the match!

anto1208
24/11/2005, 8:09 AM
i just spotted that now cheers didnt think of looking for it in the ireland section .

24/11/2005, 8:15 AM
Should really be in off topic...

24/11/2005, 8:22 AM
I missed it but the lads in the house told me all about it.
I think Dunphy is an awful tw@ , but he does liven up
debates :D

24/11/2005, 8:30 AM
Eamo lost the head last night, Classic TV though.
Called Qunnier a "creep" and said that if you want to see the real Quinn then go to the Olimpia and watch I Keano, hilarious stuff.
Quinn too busy creaming it on Sky Sports to be bothered i reckon.
Dunphy looked an awful tool, went too far.
Wetting himself dreaming of a re issue of Keane, ching ching

mandrake
24/11/2005, 9:06 AM
seen it, classic , dunphy was crazy, as someone said earlier is he overdoing the roy keane thing, nothing he can do is wrong according to dunphy...totally over the top slagging off quinn.
would love to let keane\quinn see it and get his reaction.
they'd probably laugh

24/11/2005, 9:16 AM
Totally over the top slagging off quinn. Would love to let keane\quinn see it and get his reaction. They'd probably laugh

No, Quinn would run across the studio to shake Dunphy's hand. I still cringe when I think of that gesture and not one I've forgiven him for. He let down all those people who supported Ireland over Keane in the Saipan issue and yet he still gets stick from Dumpy and Keane. Hah!

I didn't see the whole argument (wife turned over to Corrie :eek) but it looked as if it was getting out of hand until Laughing Bill brought the conversation back to the Liverpool game.

24/11/2005, 9:17 AM
ill move my thread to general football ..

anto1208
24/11/2005, 9:27 AM
(wife turned over to Corrie :eek) .

:mad: :mad: :mad:

24/11/2005, 9:30 AM
:mad: :mad:

I am almost as big a wimp as Quinn allowing her to do it :D

24/11/2005, 9:36 AM
im not a utd fan but if they my team played as badly as utd did thatday id want my captain to come out and slate them ,
surely footy hasnt gotten so bad that you cant tell a player who earns 100,000 a week that he had a bad game when he did ,incase you hurt his feelings :eek:

Im not a man united fan either but its pretty obvious that they are in serious decline. Keane was right in what he said but I agree with Giles and Brady when it comes to their analysis of Keane.

There is a line in football ... certainly have a go in the dressing room and say what needs to be said. But going on public television and airing your woes is not on and its just a wonder how Roy lasted so long.

Giles and Brady are right to seperate what he did on the pitch and what he did off it. Since he won the european cup he has done more talking than playing football IMHO. If players dont have a lot of natural ability they can only raise their game for so long. Eventually they go back to their natural level. Roy never realised that for whatever reason. Fergie produced one good team by genius or accident. Since then he has made a mulititude of errors and signings. Its not the players fault that they dont have the natural ability. Its Fergies incompetence that has them there.

Dunphy made a few good points about opposition finding out what make Duff, Robben and Ronaldo tick. Ronaldo is doing all the flicks and tricks waiting for a pass.

Only2keanos
24/11/2005, 10:10 AM
Watching RTE last night was proof positive as to why it is the best station around for analysts. On Sky, ITV etc, they cant say a bad word whereas on RTE they just give honest opinion. I am sure we have all been involved in heated debates that have resulted from the volatile cocktail of passion for football and a willingness to express your true feelings - especially when the matter at hand involves a certain R. Keane.

This brings me on to the irony of what I saw last night. After enjoying the pre match theatre on RTE, I turned to Sky and who was co-commentating? - none other than Mr. Nice Guy - Niall Quinn - the man Dunphy had labelled an idiot and a creep not 20 minutes earlier. Everyone was great, Crouch, Gerrard, Morientes were all fantastic. Not much made of the fact that the european champions couldnt score against a team that are towards the bottom of their domestic league. Typical Sky analysis. Typical Mr. Nice Guy comments. It got me thinking.

The current Keane debate stems from his outspoken tirade when asked to give analysis on MUTV in the wake of Utds 4-1 defeat to Boro. If Roy Keane was a pundit, who would he work for? If Niall Quinn and Jamie Redknapp are Sky, then Roy Keane along with Brady, Dunphy and Giles, are most definitely RTE. Brady may say Keane manipulates the media, but who doesnt? Beckham, Fergie, Mourinho, Quinn - they all do it. At least with Keane you can be sure that he is calling it as he sees it - which ultimately led to his departure at Utd - as well as at Saipan. It is similar to the level of brutal honesty that Brady, Dunphy and Giles are afforded at RTE.

So dont worry Roy, there will always be a job for you in RTE. Someone mentioned in a previous post the shame it is that we never saw Keane and Brady play together for Ireland. Well I look forward to the day when they can play pundit together for RTE. Then they could finally send Dunphy off to the glue factory.

24/11/2005, 10:19 AM
I dont necceceraly (sp) think that the RTE have pundits that are any better than their British counterparts i think its more the fact that they are commentating on players and teams that arent in the same country as they are , therefore they can be more scathing than the ones in the UK.

24/11/2005, 10:20 AM
I am a United fan, and I agree with Giles and Brady in what they said about Keane going public with his greivances. They should have been kept behind closed doors.

However, I agree with Keane on every single rant he cast off, especially those about that girl Ferdinand, and the pussy aka Fletcher. Liam Brady is a tool imo, a tool of the highest order, and Dunphy more than put him in his place last night when talking about contracts Keane was looking for when he mentioned Vieira and Henry at Arsenal. And I thought Dunphy was very kind in his levels of criticism about that long, smarmy, goody two shoes, two faced laaaanger that is Quinnie....He should stick to washing powder ads with the missus

24/11/2005, 10:29 AM
eamon dunphy is really pathetic...brady mentioned certain journalists have helped keane,dunphy took it personally,maybe brady was trying to rise him...he reacted anyway and showed just how much he would love to be roy keanes arse buddy...

the attack on niall quinn....it had nothing to do with saipan..dunphy just cant leave it alone...

roy keane being called a thug

well now i think the haaland incident was the work of a thug...and "stick it up your bol...." to mc carthy wasnt very nice was it...roy keane has many characteristics of a thug and bill o herhily was only quoting yer man.....

if he wants to talk about running away with a young one...personally i think being drunk on tv and drink driving is more of crime....and so was giving him a chat show

...i enjoyed that

24/11/2005, 10:32 AM
Fergie produced one good team by genius or accident. Since then he has made a mulititude of errors and signings.
I have to say the first part is bollóx, even if the second part is right. The 1994 team was the team - scuppered in Europe by the foriegner rule. Since Veron (a player brought at the top of his game in fairness - not really his fault he couldn't adapt to English football), he's wasted too much trying to "discover" unknowns rather than spend the same money on one or two players (imo).

On Keane, a lot of people are saying he shouldn't have gone public. Can I just point out that whatever he supposedly said has never been aired.

Didn't see the show last night, but Quinn is a creep and puts more spin on his image than Bertie if that's any help?

24/11/2005, 10:35 AM
On Keane, a lot of people are saying he shouldn't have gone public. Can I just point out that whatever he supposedly said has never been aired.

?

Keane presumably thought it would go public and would'nt be pulled.

klein4
24/11/2005, 10:36 AM
I always thought brady was a good analyst altho he now seems to let the arsenal hatred of man u and his own personal resentment of keane for not going to WC 2002 to colour everything. I think Giles is by far the best of them all and his hour on Newstalk everyweek is essential listening to anyone who loves football.

jockser
24/11/2005, 10:39 AM
but Quinn is a creep
Quinn a creep? the guy gave 1 million sterling to charity.
Keane is a thug and a bottler. Always was always will be.
And Dunphy is his ar*e bandit......this topic has been done to death.....

anto1208
24/11/2005, 10:41 AM
I am a United fan, and I agree with Giles and Brady in what they said about Keane going public with his greivances. They should have been kept behind closed doors.

so after an embarresing 4-1 defeat to boro you want you captain to come out and say nothing bad about the team !?!? in case it hurts there feelings ? maybe he should have said its not the winning its the taking part that counts.

keane was dead right to say it and lets not forget he has probibly been saying it in private for weeks but no one listened , and how can you argue with the results it got from players like smith in the chelsea game .

and also note the performance level has dropped back down to the way it was before the outburst since he left .

jockser
24/11/2005, 10:41 AM
I think Giles is by far the best of them all and his hour on Newstalk everyweek is essential listening to anyone who loves football.

well said

24/11/2005, 10:44 AM
Keane presumably thought it would go public and would'nt be pulled.
Well we still don't know exactly what he said. Carefully controlled leaks don't count...

btw Giles is the biggest spoofer of the three of them.

anto1208
24/11/2005, 10:50 AM
Quinn a creep? the guy gave 1 million sterling to charity.
Keane is a thug and a bottler. Always was always will be.
And Dunphy is his ar*e bandit......this topic has been done to death.....

and why do you know quinn gave a million to charity because he went on every show he could get on to tell every one , you dont hear about keane because he does nt brag about it .

and to all the people calling keane a thug do ye actually know what a thug is FFS . if giving one player a kick makes you a thug then god help us all i know ive done a lot worse and so have ye !. and it must make Giles a complete scumbag because he used to kick players up and down the pitch , same with players like pearse, bruce ,robson .......

jockser
24/11/2005, 10:53 AM
and to all the people calling keane a thug do ye actually know what a thug is FFS .

dont forget i called him a bottler too!! :D :D :D

klein4
24/11/2005, 10:56 AM
btw Giles is the biggest spoofer of the three of them.

would disagree with you there. he always seems to approach everything from an angle of common sense. in what way do you think he is a spoofer?

beautifulrock
24/11/2005, 11:04 AM
Disagree Macy, Giles is the best of the three, by quite a bit

24/11/2005, 11:19 AM
so after an embarresing 4-1 defeat to boro you want you captain to come out and say nothing bad about the team !?!? in case it hurts there feelings ? maybe he should have said its not the winning its the taking part that counts.
You can be as critical as you like, provided its constructive, not destructive.Keanes rants were quire dsetructive, with a hidden agenda. While I agree with the content of his criticisms, I cannot see how airing them in the manner in which he tried can be construed as any way helpful to anyone.