View Full Version : Who has the best website?

harry crumb
22/11/2005, 9:08 PM
Another thread asks who has the best match day programme, but what club is the leader in cyberspace?

22/11/2005, 9:09 PM
Another thread asks who has the best match day programme, but what club is the leader in cyberspace?
The club that won the Golden Spider for it's website....

Buller
22/11/2005, 9:14 PM
Cork City's website is by far the best in my opinion! It looks savage, its updated regularly and has loads of info and pics of recent matches. Definatly the best...

22/11/2005, 9:40 PM
Can we have one thread where nobody nominates there own one?

Don't really visit official sites (prefer the MB thing) that much myself but Bohs one is ****.

22/11/2005, 11:01 PM
Can we have one thread where nobody nominates there own one?

Don't really visit official sites (prefer the MB thing) that much myself but Bohs one is ****.

Same here, bearly go on official sites - sure ye get more news on the mb's - though corks one looks great :eek: !!

Drumcondra Red
23/11/2005, 8:53 AM
Corks is good, but I have to back Gareth's one here, what he's done with the Shelbourne site since taking it over is fantastic, pictures, videos, live updates and news, previews etc what more do you want???

23/11/2005, 8:59 AM
The Bohs one looks ok but is updated too rarely and has little content(Unless you want to know what the club lotto no.s were:rolleyes: )

ollie
23/11/2005, 9:33 AM
Corks is good, but I have to back Gareth's one here, what he's done with the Shelbourne site since taking it over is fantastic, pictures, videos, live updates and news, previews etc what more do you want???

shelbournes is good i have to say.nice and tidy.if i couldn't vote for our own i'd vote for it.haven't been on all the other web sites but that is my opinion of the websites that i've seen.

23/11/2005, 9:34 AM
I would have to say the Cork site myself, sure don't they have the award to back it up ! Shels site is excellent as well. Our site has come on a lot over the past year as well.

23/11/2005, 9:37 AM

.........an online shop
downloadable Club ringtones and Mobile phone wallpapers
goals and/or highlights from every game
audio interviews with players and staff at the club
a banner that says '2005 League Champions'

Seeing as we're not allowed to vote for our own (which is the best IMO)

Shels one has come on leaps and bounds this season in fairness.

Drumcondra Red
23/11/2005, 9:39 AM
Shelbourne have an online shop, and would have goals but permission from RTE and Setanta etc is proving difficult, actually, Gareth was wondering how they get that???

There is a whole range from good to bad so far as websites are concerned, but what I've said about the Cork one, is the closest to a complement you'll get!!!

ThatGuy
23/11/2005, 9:41 AM
Cork and Shels.

23/11/2005, 9:42 AM
I'd have to go for Cork (as much as it kills me to say.... only joking!!)

23/11/2005, 10:00 AM
Shelbourne have an online shop, and would have goals but permission from RTE and Setanta etc is proving difficult, actually, Gareth was wondering how they get that???

There is a whole range from good to bad so far as websites are concerned, but what I've said about the Cork one, is the closest to a complement you'll get!!!

Jesus DR, did you not see the ;) ?

I've loads of time for Gareth and I think he's doing a stellar job on the Shels site. As for the Video rights tell Gareth to contact webmaster@corkcityfc.ie, you can even tell them I sent you, but AFAIK, they asked nicely (seriously!).

Gareth
23/11/2005, 10:16 AM
Tiktok, its not a case of not being able to get the clips but a case of having permission for the TV Stations. We had to take Setanta clips down once the competition was over. We are yet to get the green light to use any other TV station clips. But that will be acedemic next season.

Personally I think websites in general have improved greatly. I feel next season will bring the Shels site on probably 1000%. The last four seasons I have ran it were more finding my feet etc but I feel next season will be the beginning of a vastly improved online service. Hopefully one to challenge Cork's rein as top site amougst Foot.ie.

Btw thanks to anyone saying shels site is good. I like Longfords, Cork clearly has a good setup, but apart from that I don't tend to go on the sites too often. Derry looked well last time I was on it.

23/11/2005, 10:34 AM
Tiktok, its not a case of not being able to get the clips but a case of having permission for the TV Stations.

AFAIK, the lads on our site have permission from all the stations (some come from the Chorus channel) to upload the clips once they've already been seen on TV, so most clips can gop up Tuesday morning after EL weekly is done (as they did this week).

Best to ask them how they went around it at the address I gave though

Gareth
23/11/2005, 10:50 AM
Tiktok, I have mailed the Cork lads before but when "nicely" asking the stations I was told no :). I clearly don't have enough Cork in my accent to pull it off. I am going to see about it again in the close season. Chorus is outside my jurisdiction. Eitherway it will be sorted for next season. I am not going another season without a proper video library.

Btw thanks for the kind words sir!

Larry 'da' Wyse
23/11/2005, 12:13 PM
Athlone Town gets my vote. Ray Egan is doing a great job. Always updated, includes shop and what is happening with the u21s, youths etc.

23/11/2005, 12:32 PM
Aye, Cork and Shels are way ahead of the rest. Athlone's looks well alright. UCD's has probably come on the most during the year since we didn't really have a website last year!:p Not going to comment any more on that though seeing as I update it...!

Monaghan's looks tidy enough, Sligo's and Galway's aren't bad either. In fairness, there's a fair few decent web sites around - could name a few more clubs as well.

monkey magic
23/11/2005, 1:00 PM
hmmm, web design is something very close to my heart,having a degree in e-business. i have to say purely from a design point of view, i actually think the shels site pip's it for me. theres no doubt that content wise corks is streets ahead, the multimedia section is an excellent idea, im just not a fan of white backgronds, or the internal navigation/scroll bars.

theres no doubt these two are streets ahead...

as regards other sites, i only really know our own and sligo's and both are pretty good, if complete opposites, sligos is excellent for content but lacking in design whilst longfords has'nt got enough content other than club news, but design wise its good.

Gareth
23/11/2005, 1:13 PM
monkey magic, in the close season one of the main aims is to move the design to a pure css one. Its almost there but not quite. There is a very good backend on the site and the current site doesn't use a 1/4 of the potential. As a designer myself, I am getting more and more anal about standards and I think Shels was the last site I did that was a hybrid table/css design.

I think our content will catch Corks next season without doubt.

blutil
23/11/2005, 1:15 PM
just copied the links from another site. think they're all there

Bohemian FC
http://www.bohemians.ie

Bray Wanderers
http://www.braywanderers.ie

Cork City FC
http://www.corkcityfc.ie

Derry City FC
http://www.derrycityfc.net

Drogheda United FC
http://www.droghedaunited.ie

Sligo Rovers FC
http://www.sligorovers.com

Longford Town FC
http://www.longfordtownfc.com

UCD
http://www.ucd.ie/soccer/

Waterford United FC
http://www.waterford-united.ie

Shamrock Rovers FC
http://www.shamrockrovers.ie

Shelbourne FC
http://www.shelbournefc.ie

St. Patrick's Athletic FC
http://www.stpatsfc.com

Athlone Town AFC
http://www.athlonetownfc.com

Finn Harps
http://www.finnharps.com

Cobh Ramblers FC
http://www.cobhramblers.com

Dublin City FC
http://www.dublincityfc.com

Dundalk FC
http://www.dundalkfc.com

Galway United FC
http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie

Kildare County FC
http://www.kildarecountyfc.com

Kilkenny City FC
http://www.kilkennycityfc.com

Limerick FC
http://www.geocities.com/sadloserkid/limerick - Supporter's Website

Monaghan United FC
http://www.monaghanunited.ie

monkey magic
23/11/2005, 1:22 PM
with a site that has a lot of changing content, or even for any site really, cascading style sheets make sense, tables can be messy... the site in general has come on so far from the thing that was there before that i wouldent be surprised if ye passed corks next season, keep up the good work! what software do you use? dreamweaver?

Gareth
23/11/2005, 1:29 PM
I never use any applications to produce my code. I use a php textpad and for the html I write it myself. I hate not fully knowing what all my code does and I find applications whack in too much other stuff. I have been kinda doing this stuff for the last 9 years so I find I can produce better stuff when I code it all myself.

Tables should be only used to display tabular data and never used for design and layout. Happily the tags in html are finally being used for what they were meant to be used for now and not just cos it looks right on the web. IE is very forgiving to bad design.

Drumcondra Red
23/11/2005, 1:34 PM
Jaysus lads, simple question, which website is best, you didn't have to turn it into a geek convention!!!

monkey magic
23/11/2005, 1:47 PM
I never use any applications to produce my code. I use a php textpad and for the html I write it myself. I hate not fully knowing what all my code does and I find applications whack in too much other stuff. I have been kinda doing this stuff for the last 9 years so I find I can produce better stuff when I code it all myself.

Tables should be only used to display tabular data and never used for design and layout. Happily the tags in html are finally being used for what they were meant to be used for now and not just cos it looks right on the web. IE is very forgiving to bad design.

fair play. nowhere near that capable myself, tbh experience is probably the best teacher when it comes to website design.what i have is only an add-on one year degree designed to give us the basics of web design i.e. we were thought how to use dreamweaver,access, html, a bit of javascript and we were then taken through the whole creating a website process, from hosting to uploading and editing. spent a lot of time on good design theory and internet marketing aswell so twas interesting. the whole purpose was to give us the skills to act as the middle man in an organisation between the tech people and management.

anyways back on topic:)

23/11/2005, 3:45 PM
Jaysus lads, simple question, which website is best, you didn't have to turn it into a geek convention!!!

:D :D

Our website is bogroll but getting a major overhaul apparently. Fair play to the fan who does it though on his own time.

Shame Limerick and Kilkenny do not have official sites though.........

23/11/2005, 3:50 PM

Quality ! was just thinking the same myself.

POTM of me i reckon......

Gareth
23/11/2005, 4:03 PM
You cant start mentioning websites and not enter into a somewhat technical discussion :). Stop giving Roy POTM, he'll become intolerable!!!

23/11/2005, 4:21 PM
Shesl can have this prize if they want - sure what other website would publise confidential files. Besides have to let them win something.

23/11/2005, 5:01 PM
Quality ! was just thinking the same myself.

POTM of me i reckon......Here (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=30889) then;).

23/11/2005, 7:43 PM
Shame Limerick and Kilkenny do not have official sites though

Fans do the Cork City FC one ... why cant fans of those clubs chip in and help out. There is loads you can do aswell to improve things for the club by having a site !!

Gareth
23/11/2005, 8:57 PM
Likewise the Shels site. Done and run by Shels fans. If you think you can't make a difference your not trying hard enough.

blutil
23/11/2005, 9:58 PM
dao any of the clubs spend money on the sites ?

Gareth
23/11/2005, 10:13 PM
Thats confidential :) Btw I will pm you tomorrow in response to your original one.

Derek
23/11/2005, 11:17 PM

HAve a look at this one www.StPaulsArtaneFC.com This uses tables as the base, with xml, css, Dhtml, asp, etc, etc.

EireBadBoy
24/11/2005, 12:10 AM
It's hard to say which website is 'the best' but fair play to all the people that produce their clubs website, it takes a fair bit of work, usually goes unsung and provides a great deal more info. than any other form of media.

Gareth
24/11/2005, 8:38 AM
HAve a look at this one www.StPaulsArtaneFC.com This uses tables as the base, with xml, css, Dhtml, asp, etc, etc.

Hi Derek, yeah I see that is uses tables. The reason I say that we should move away from using tables for the layout is very simple. Tables are for structuring tabular data, not for presenting visual layout. You can use css to style your tables, but really we should all be moving from that to actually have a tableless design layout and if we need tabular data then use a table. Anyone who has needed to design a very complex layout can tell you using tables ends up in a mess of <table><tr><td> tags with little chance of readability.

CSS is optional, by design. The site may look plain on browsers which don't implement it, but at least (if the site is designed right) it will still work, in the sense of giving the reader full access to the information content. Since access to information always a higher priority than presenting it in a predefined style, this allows a larger audience to visit.

Tables are designed for presenting tabular data, layouts which use tables may make sense to the surfer using a visual browser, but often the underlying structure of the HTML, the document flow, does not linearise well. Thus when the page is viewed on devices that aren't visual browsers running on a PC (e.g. PDA's, mobile phones, voice browsers etc) the content does not make sense.

What makes tables a bad choice is that when used, it is impossible to differentiate reliably which table actually structures tabular data and which is being misused for layout. This effectively prohibits the use of tables in a semantic sense. Since the web is heading toward a human and computer based information environment, tables based layout dole out a large amount of damage for no advantage.

dcfc_1928
24/11/2005, 11:20 AM
I run the Derry one - did a whole redesign recently using CSS throughout.

And no, I don't get any help - financially (or otherwise) from the club!

dcfc_1928
24/11/2005, 11:24 AM
Sorry - still used tables for some info - e.g. fixtures, but I use CSS for the layout.

I run the Derry one - did a whole redesign recently using CSS throughout.

And no, I don't get any help - financially (or otherwise) from the club!

monutdfc
24/11/2005, 11:31 AM
Is having a website a licensing requirement?

Gareth
24/11/2005, 11:31 AM
I'd really be surprised if anyone of us gets financial support. I will look at the Derry site tonight.

24/11/2005, 11:44 AM
Is having a website a licensing requirement?
Don't think so.

Gareth
24/11/2005, 11:51 AM
There are definately IT requirements on it I thought? The Shels site uses tables in many places but I am changing that over the close season. Don't get me wrong, tabular data should be in tables. Thats what they are for. They are not however to be used as Layout structure for a site :).

Drumcondra Red
24/11/2005, 2:09 PM
Oh god! Here we go again! NERD ALERT!!!

Gareth
24/11/2005, 2:49 PM
Roy, you know the way there are lots of other thread, well if you don't wanna read it :), stop. Ya big 10 year old ya.

Drumcondra Red
24/11/2005, 2:55 PM
Stay on topic you plank!!!

Derek
24/11/2005, 10:11 PM
Hi Derek, yeah I see that is uses tables. The reason I say that we should move away from using tables for the layout is very simple. Tables are for structuring tabular data, not for presenting visual layout. You can use css to style your tables, but really we should all be moving from that to actually have a tableless design layout and if we need tabular data then use a table. Anyone who has needed to design a very complex layout can tell you using tables ends up in a mess of <table><tr><td> tags with little chance of readability.

You are right the code becomes spegetti very quickly, can css (and I am a fan of css) display stuff a nice on the eye? I found it difficult to put structure on the site without tables.

Gareth
25/11/2005, 7:48 AM
Derek, with css you just need to comment your code and it can be broken into very simple div sections. Plus you need to read up on iot to know what your doing :). Otherwise it may look right in IE but logically its all over the place and Opera and Firefox will probably expose them problems.

dcfc_1928
25/11/2005, 11:17 AM
Thats the worst!

Trying to get the CSS to behave itself in IE, Firefox AND Opera.

I had a bit of a nightmare with that!

Derek, with css you just need to comment your code and it can be broken into very simple div sections. Plus you need to read up on iot to know what your doing :). Otherwise it may look right in IE but logically its all over the place and Opera and Firefox will probably expose them problems.