View Full Version : Green Island girls

Gerrit
17/11/2005, 8:24 PM
I have a rather shameful question, but I can risk my reputation somehow - as a foreigner I'm not supposed to know from myself, so I have an excuse for asking ;)

A colleague of mine told me that Irish (or in this case Northern Irish) girls never take the first step. In other words: if the man doesn't ask the girl out, nothing will happen.

This kinda ruins it for me, cause I always used the philosophy "if she takes the first step, you know she's interested and never risk a rejection". Looks like I'll have to change tactics :eek:

But is this true? Am I really supposed to do it all myself and risk making a fool of myself? Can't I just wait for a bate to be thrown and bite if it looks good?
In Belgium it's very normal that girls approach men to ask them out. Not here? :confused:

Drumcondra Red
17/11/2005, 9:12 PM
No offence Gerrit, but maybe its just you! If a bird is confident and she likes you, she make a move, just do it yourself, whats the worst that can happen? She says no??? So what!!!

monkey magic
17/11/2005, 9:44 PM
In Belgium it's very normal that girls approach men to ask them out. Not here? :confused:

depends what angle ur cumin from dude, this is obviously a girl you know, you cant be suggesting that girls will randomely come up and ask guys out in a niteclub/pub scene...

anyways you probably need to give her a few light indicators ur interested, and see what kinda response you get.. she could either take a plung and ask u out or she could in turn send a few signals herself, whereupon you would feel a lot safer asking her..

its all about reading the signals as far as im concerned, if ur good at it (not suggesting i am) youl usually get a feel for whether a girls interested

17/11/2005, 10:31 PM
Some Irish girls will go for it, but the default is to let the fella do the work. I think it's just pure laziness myself. You want equal rights, act equal, b*tch.

18/11/2005, 12:17 AM
Some Irish girls will go for it, but the default is to let the fella do the work. I think it's just pure laziness myself. You want equal rights, act equal, b*tch.

:eek: Adam! :mad:

We're just really shy ACTUALLY! Go and ask Gerrit, we don't have the er... 'balls' to do it! :D

18/11/2005, 1:16 AM
We're just really shy ACTUALLY!Guys are shy too. The ones that aren't are invariably tw*ts...

18/11/2005, 1:28 AM
Guys are shy too. The ones that aren't are invariably tw*ts...

I know they are and some girls can be right witches to them which is horrible and breaks confidence etc. I still say Go go go Gerrit! :D

I could never approach a guy...:o Never have, don't think I ever would, according to this thread, maybe I should start! :eek:

finlma
18/11/2005, 7:44 AM
ur cumin from dude,

Sorry for being a pain in the ar$e and going off topic but you're not writing a text message buddy - type the words out. Gets on my nerve that does.

Back on topic - Irish girls do approach guys. Some of them are very forward but like in most cultures it is the guy who will mostly do the approaching

Green Army Girl
18/11/2005, 8:11 AM
I dont think i have ever gone over to a man and made the first move but i would never be a b*tch i would always give him a chance unless he is a complete pr*ck. I see alot of girls do that to fellas and i wouldnt mind they have a face like a box of lego (in bits) Just go for it r you will never know wat could happen, lifes short.

18/11/2005, 8:18 AM
Just go to Coppers. The birds in there will feel you up while you're at the bar and pinch your ass while you're dancing. I'd say you could nearly consider that as a first move. :D

exile
18/11/2005, 8:40 AM
Just go to Coppers. The birds in there will feel you up while you're at the bar and pinch your ass while you're dancing. I'd say you could nearly consider that as a first move. :D

i can testify to that after we left for kennedys last friday night it went all downhill:eek: :D

18/11/2005, 8:42 AM
i cant answer gerrit as i was sure i knew!!!

18/11/2005, 9:02 AM
Just go to Coppers.I was told that about Coppers, but I didn't see it the one (and only) time I was there. The best I ever saw was a place called Quids Inn in Swansea - it was actually two quid in, go figure - and the difference between there and Irish clubs was astounding. If a chick fancied you, she just went for it. No doubt it is (or was) the Welsh equivalent of Coppers, but still...

Great place to go on the p*ss, Swansea. Ferry from Ringaskiddy, drink all the way there and all the way back.

18/11/2005, 9:27 AM
ya i dont beleive that about coppers ive been there a few times now and i have never pulled!!!! and i always pulll!!!LOL

ah no but even the mates cant guarantee a meet.

18/11/2005, 9:30 AM
I never "pull", not into that culture, but I watched other people in Coppers. It goes against everything I heard about it: It's not way easier to score in there, and it's not that bad.

Drumcondra Red
18/11/2005, 9:43 AM
It couldn't be easier if it was on a plate ffs!!!

Eire06
18/11/2005, 9:48 AM
Give over...:rolleyes:
Coppers is like a cattle mart, if your out to buy you'll always get some heifer at the end of the night and If you're anyway decient you'll have the pick of the herd :eek: ..
And Girls can ALWAYS pull in there if they want to:rolleyes:

finlma
18/11/2005, 9:50 AM
In faireness Coppers is like shooting fish in a barell but the fish don't tend to be off the highest quality.

18/11/2005, 10:01 AM
ya if you want a galway minger nurse ya fire ahead. some big heifer, but anything half decent it aint that easy and coppers aint that bad a spot, i think its a good laugh with mates. i remember one night no jokin, but me and another lad must have went up to every single group of girls in there. not trying to get away but just having the craic. i think its that kinda place more so than a meat market.

ya i aint into that "pullin" business either but when i do go out i meant.

18/11/2005, 10:01 AM
It couldn't be easier if it was on a plate ffs!!!

Chalk it down!
The place is almost intimidating, the birds are so forward in there.
I was in there a couple of weeks ago and thought someone was trying to pick my pocket while I was at the bar.
Swung around to see this blonde girl smiling at me while she ran her hand up and down my leg/ass.
I thought I was going through airport security with all the touching up on the dance floor.

18/11/2005, 10:02 AM
And Girls can ALWAYS pull in there if they want to

girls can always pull no matter where they go, unless they are right mingers. if a bird shows interest a lad will be well up for it. cos it generally doesnt happen to lads that birds go up first. and it doesnt so dont come back with the usual muck....unless of course you are going out with some1 it happens the whole fooken time.

18/11/2005, 10:03 AM
[QUOTE]Swung around to see this blonde girl smiling at me while she ran her hand up and down my leg/ass.
[QUOTE]

the only think i ever saw touch you was bridget, when i introduced her to ye and that was to shake your hand and a peck on the cheek to say the usual "nice to meet you"

18/11/2005, 10:07 AM
Perhaps it's easier to score for lads that want to shoot fish in a barrel. I'm not like that, I wouldn't score in a nightclub if you paid me. And the night I was in there, it was exactly the same as 90% of the nightclubs I've been in. Perhaps I was in there on an off night.

18/11/2005, 10:20 AM
the only think i ever saw touch you was bridget

Paul, I never have and never will go on the pull with you because you have an outstanding ability to scare off attractive birds.

18/11/2005, 10:28 AM
not just attractive!!!:D

anto1208
18/11/2005, 10:45 AM
what is with a bunch of lads dancing together , only in ireland do you get this .

here a good few birds will come up to me in pubs or clubs but when im in the uk they go nuts , every pub ,club or even mcdonalds i go into some bird hits on me .

and the irish accent !! they cant get ennough of it , throw in a ould 33 1/3 on there knickers fall off :D :D

Drumcondra Red
18/11/2005, 11:46 AM
Chalk it down!
The place is almost intimidating, the birds are so forward in there.
I was in there a couple of weeks ago and thought someone was trying to pick my pocket while I was at the bar.
Swung around to see this blonde girl smiling at me while she ran her hand up and down my leg/ass.
I thought I was going through airport security with all the touching up on the dance floor.

Are you sure it wasn't Tiktok???

Gerrit
18/11/2005, 7:57 PM
No one night stands for me neither. I find it emptiness. I mean, what's a night of sex when there's no feelings? First there has to be an intellectual connection, then once the bond is there I don't mind to bring on the lubricant. But I would never go into a bar with the idea "let's get a chick in my bed tonight". I'd feel so low if I'd do that.

This is also why apart from Goth pubs I never go out: everyone in those pubs just wants to get drunk or laid, which is very frustrating when I feel like a good chat and nothing more.

As for approaching: I am shy, and just not well socially. I don't feel comfortable or in place when there is a group of people with me.
And reading signs is not my speciality as well. I only misinterpretate them. :(

Drumcondra Red
19/11/2005, 10:50 AM
Nothing wrong with a good ride though!

monkey magic
19/11/2005, 2:53 PM
Sorry for being a pain in the ar$e and going off topic but you're not writing a text message buddy - type the words out. Gets on my nerve that does.

sometimes i dont even realise im doing that, ive gotten so used to it, and my spelling in general is attrocious, so apologies.. i even find it fustrating myself reading it:eek:

on topic: in fairness coppers is a kip, the only reason the girls there are like that is that the're invairably more drunk than your average girl in a nightclub... mind you ive only been there a handful of times so maybe thats unfair. its a bit like envy in sligo.. you may think you're gonna score till she starts pukin in the taxi and/or crying over her ex boyfriend... not my idea of a good nights work

20/11/2005, 12:53 AM
Are you sure it wasn't Tiktok???

Oooooooo, low dig Roy, that one was below the belt :D (although he didnt complain about the glass :p )

16/07/2014, 12:47 AM
Whatever happened to Gerrit?

16/07/2014, 9:19 AM

He re-branded as BonnieShels.

On another note, this is an outstanding thread, why on earth did it never last?

Eminence Grise
16/07/2014, 11:00 AM

Maybe he finally gorrit. D'ye gerrit?

I know, I know...gerrout...

16/07/2014, 3:07 PM

I like that the Shelbourne brand was sufficiently international that a Belgian living in Belfast would support us.

Maybe he finally gorrit. D'ye gerrit?

I know, I know...gerrout...

I certainly hop the on-campus('s's's's's's) comedy is better? :P

You've six weeks to work on it.

16/07/2014, 3:10 PM

Once the likes of Adam got hitched it seemed that there was no longer a need. I'm surprised POSH didn't keep it up for his own reasons. Even for fashion tips.