View Full Version : World Cup Draw - Discussion only
Metrostars
16/11/2005, 8:19 PM
The draw for the World Cup finals will take place on December 9th. Based on the formula FIFA used at the last World Cup in 2002, the top 8 seeds are:
Brazil
Spain
Germany
Mexico
Argentina
England
France
Italy
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/4356050.stm
My guess at the pots for drawing the groups are:
Pot A (Seeds): Brazil, Spain, Germany, Mexico, Argentina, England, France, Italy
Pot B (UEFA): Netherlands, Ukraine, Poland, Croatia, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland, Czech Republic
Pot C (Africa+Concacaf): Angola, Cote d'Ivoire, Togo, Ghana, Tunisia, USA, Costa Rica, T&T
Pot D (Conmebol+Asia+Oceania+Last UEFA): Ecuador, Paraguay, Japan, Iran, South Korea, Saudi Arabia, Austrailia, Serbia and Montenegro
Then again, maybe FIFA might do their usual shenanigans and decide Mexico is not a seed and put the Netherlands as a seed instead. But this is my guess anyway.
berni23
02/12/2005, 12:53 PM
netherlands definatly deserve it more than mexico
Thunderblaster
05/12/2005, 1:37 PM
My group predictions: England Germany Brazil
Poland Switzerland Sweden
Paraguay Australia Saudi Arabia
Trinidad and Tobago Togo Costa Rica
France Spain Italy Mexico Argentina
Croatia Serbia and Montenegro Holland Ukraine Portugal
Iran Japan Czech Republic Ecuador South Korea
Ghana Angola Ivory Coast Tunisia USA
What's your thoughts folks?
Metrostars
05/12/2005, 2:19 PM
netherlands definatly deserve it more than mexico
Mexico has earned it. Consistantly qualifying (where were Holland in '02) plus they had a good Confed Cup a few months ago.
05/12/2005, 2:23 PM
i dont care cos we arent there.
05/12/2005, 3:31 PM
i dont care cos we arent there.
Thanks for telling us all.
The World Cup draw will belive on BBC this Friday around 8 o'clock.
05/12/2005, 9:35 PM
The World Cup draw will belive on BBC this Friday around 8 o'clock.
I'll be watching it with excitement.....even though we are not there :o
05/12/2005, 9:38 PM
The World Cup draw will belive on BBC this Friday around 8 o'clock.pm or am?:confused:
Jon'o
05/12/2005, 11:47 PM
pm or am?:confused:
AM... will be 9 in germany ;)
Failing that Pingu is on bbc2 at 9am on friday !
06/12/2005, 6:54 AM
It is pm - on Friday night. info is correct re time on BBC - 8.15 however fifaworldcup website implies 8.15 CET which is 7.15pm here.
06/12/2005, 7:27 AM
It is pm - on Friday night. info is correct re time on BBC - 8.15 however fifaworldcup website implies 8.15 CET which is 7.15pm here.
You're forgetting to account for the interminable and insufferable preliminaries...
06/12/2005, 10:29 AM
pm or am?:confused:
In all fairness sligoman, did you honestly expect FIFA to put something on at 8.15 in the mornig when most of the countries involved are in the CET/GMT zones?
Metrostars
06/12/2005, 12:21 PM
Mexico are a seed as I predicted:
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=351289&cc=5739
LEIPZIG, Dec 6 (Reuters) - Hosts Germany and defending champions Brazil were named among the top eight seeds for the World Cup finals as expected on Tuesday, along with England, Spain, Mexico, France, Argentina and Italy.
FIFA decided the rest of the draw, which takes place on Friday, would group teams in pots according to their geographical locations rather than their current world ranking or previous World Cup performances. The USA and Holland have both just missed out on being seeded.
The second pot will contain Australia, the five African finalists: Ghana, Ivory Coast, Tunisia, Angola and Togo, plus the two lower ranked South American teams Ecuador and Paraguay.
The third pot will comprise eight European teams: Croatia, Czech Republic, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland and Ukraine.
The fourth pot will comprise four Asian teams: Iran, Japan, Saudi Arabia, South Korea and the three remaining from CONCACAF Costa Rica, Trinidad & Tobago and the United States.
A special pot will contain only Serbia & Montenegro, the lowest ranked European team, who will be placed in a group including either Brazil, Argentina or Mexico.
06/12/2005, 6:07 PM
In all fairness sligoman, did you honestly expect FIFA to put something on at 8.15 in the mornig when most of the countries involved are in the CET/GMT zones?In all fairness superfrank, you should have said pm in yer original post, it's an extra two letters, that's all!;):p.
08/12/2005, 10:42 AM
In all fairness superfrank, you should have said pm in yer original post, it's an extra two letters, that's all!;):p.
I'll PM you!!!......later.
What a fix. Mexico in top 8 countries!! :eek:
I think FIFA decide the groupings & then devise a scheme to make those groupings happen.
Metrostars
08/12/2005, 1:50 PM
I think FIFA decide the groupings & then devise a scheme to make those groupings happen.
What country deserved it more than Mexico?
08/12/2005, 2:24 PM
Don't they call it "coefficients"?
09/12/2005, 7:27 PM
Here we go. I'll replace the "Qualified Teams" sticky with one of the groups when they're done.
Or if GT wants to do it......
09/12/2005, 7:45 PM
England Vs. Paraguay. Not as easy as some may think it is:)
09/12/2005, 7:48 PM
Mexico - Angola - Portugal - Iran
Germany - Ecuador - Poland -Costa Rica
Argentina - Ivory Coast -Holland - Serbia/Montenegro
Italy-Ghana-Czech Rep-USA
Brazil - Australia -Croatia-Japan
France - Togo - Switzerland - South Korea
Spain-Tunisia-Ukraine -Saudi Arabia
England - Paraguay- Sweden - Trinidad and Tobago
09/12/2005, 7:50 PM
England get Sweden too:). Argentina get Holland
09/12/2005, 7:55 PM
Franco-Suisse rematch!!
09/12/2005, 7:56 PM
Franco-Suisse rematch!!Yep. Sweeden will be happy with the friendly with us cos whoever England get in their group always seems to want to play us:D.
09/12/2005, 8:05 PM
I reckon those in bold are the favourites to go through - but that ain't how it always works. I reckon England might struggle TBH. The African nations are pure unknown quantities and well capable of throwing a spanner in many teams works.
09/12/2005, 8:07 PM
Anyone hear Gary Lineker and co on BBC tv talking about how it's the best draw England could have got:mad:. Trinidad are the third team in their group btw. T&T are probably the only team that they'd be fairly sure of victory, even at that, they might cause an upset.
The English media do really feck themselves up by saying such sh!te. Hope Sweden and the others kick the sh!te out of them. Teach them a lesson like:).
Metrostars
09/12/2005, 8:09 PM
The Spain group is a bit of a joke.
09/12/2005, 8:12 PM
ThatGuy
09/12/2005, 8:17 PM
Avery John v Wayne Rooney, bring it on!
ThatGuy
09/12/2005, 8:21 PM
Anyone hear Gary Lineker and co on BBC tv talking about how it's the best draw England could have got:mad:. Trinidad are the third team in their group btw. T&T are probably the only team that they'd be fairly sure of victory, even at that, they might cause an upset.
The English media do really feck themselves up by saying such sh!te. Hope Sweden and the others kick the sh!te out of them. Teach them a lesson like:).
It's a great draw for England. The group is one that they should win as they are the best team, they will probably have qualification wrapped up before the Swedish game. Meanwhile they will more than likely be playing Poland in the second round, which is a game they would also be strongly fancied to win.
Basically, they have the Quarter Final in the bag if they play anywhere near what they are capapble of. Then, who knows how far they could go. They could even win it.
In saying that, I hope Avery and co. knock the stuffing out of them and that they're on the first plane back to En-ger-land.
09/12/2005, 8:24 PM
Avery John v Wayne Rooney, bring it on!
Thats gas!!!
I've a feelin' that Italy might struggle in their group - not easy at all, but as usual they'll probably sneak through.
Can't wait for Argentina - Holland match.
Metrostars
09/12/2005, 8:35 PM
Thats gas!!!
I've a feelin' that Italy might struggle in their group - not easy at all, but as usual they'll probably sneak through.
Can't wait for Argentina - Holland match.
almost a replay of the 1990 group with Italy, USA and Czechoslovakia in the same group.
Thats a tough group, if the US gets past the first round again, I think Euros will be less inclined to dismis them. Italy are nortoriously poor starters so you never know what will happen.
09/12/2005, 8:41 PM
does anyone think the draw is fixed ?
Even though it has been suggested that there won't be a 'group of death' in next year's World Cup due to the qualification failure of the top three African nations, I believe the group consisting of Argentina, Holland, Ivory Coast and Serbia/Montenegro surely represents the nearest thing to such a group.
Avery John V Wayne Rooney should be an intrigueing battle.
09/12/2005, 8:43 PM
almost a replay of the 1990 group with Italy, USA and Czechoslovakia in the same group.
Thats a tough group, if the US gets past the first round again, I think Euros will be less inclined to dismis them. Italy are nortoriously poor starters so you never know what will happen.
I think the days of the US being dismissed out of hand are coming to an end. The States always had the "surprise element" going into previous finals as everyone underestimated them. I doubt that thats goin' to happen this year.
If it does then either Italy or the Czech republic WILL NOT get through the first round.
ThatGuy
09/12/2005, 8:50 PM
I doubt people like Matthaus and Pelé would risk their integrity, so no I don't think it was fixed anyway. Though judging by the conspiracy theories thread in the off-topic section it seems that some people are desperate to believe conspiracies despite conclusive evidence!
brine3
09/12/2005, 9:01 PM
I feel sick. Look at that Swiss group, that could have been us. And they're playing in the Westfalenstadion too - by far the coolest stadium in Germany. I had TST-5 tickets. Feck.
09/12/2005, 9:05 PM
tbh lads im not overally sad that we missed out.. its not like the late 80s when we had a really good team. the team we have at the moment is old and poor with no real class about it. It could well be another WC1994. Ill watch the futty without to many hangups (even if england get to the final)
09/12/2005, 9:05 PM
Depends on what you mean by fixed,for a start by keeping the so called "big teams" apart is a way of "fixing" the draw before you even pull out a single Team.
If you mean the actual drawing out of the teams...........highly unlikely/improbable.
09/12/2005, 9:13 PM
Anyone hear Gary Lineker and co on BBC tv talking about how it's the best draw England could have got:mad:.
whats wrong with that ?
it pretty much is
hamish
09/12/2005, 9:13 PM
France and Switzerland in the same group after being in the same qualifying group????:confused:
I thought this wasn't allowed to happen???
09/12/2005, 9:16 PM
whats wrong with that ?
it pretty much isNot in the slightest. Are Sweden an easy team? Are Paraguay? No. The only easy team in that group is T&T.
Closed Account 2
09/12/2005, 9:20 PM
Even though it has been suggested that there won't be a 'group of death' in next year's World Cup due to the qualification failure of the top three African nations, I believe the group consisting of Argentina, Holland, Ivory Coast and Serbia/Montenegro surely represents the nearest thing to such a group.
Thats a tricky one alright, but Brazil, Croatia, Australia & Japan is also a tricky one. I've a feeling there could be a shock in that one and can see the other three pushing Brazil all the way and wouldnt be that suprised (or dissapointed) if they didnt make it through the group stages, bit like France in 2002 after winning it in 1998.
Easiest group is probably the Spanish one, Saudis are pathetic, Tunisia arent much kop either and that leaves them and the Ukraine.
My group predicitions
Winners
-------
Mexico
Germany
Holland
Italy
Japan
France
Spain
Sweden
Runners Up
----------
Portugal
Poland
Serbia
Czechs
Auzzie, Auzzie Auzzies
Korea
Ukraine
England
Think Mexico are a class act, and they and the Portuguese will be too strong for the inexperienced Angolans and the Iranians (who only seem to cut the Mustard at home).
Hard to look beyond Germany (home teams always do well) and Poland in the group, think Costa Rica are lacking in quality and Ecuador will struggle without the talismanic Alexi Aguinagua, and Kaviedes has been in poor form over recent years.
The next group Ivory Coast, Argentina, Dutch and Serbia is a real cracker. All those teams play great football and I expect great matches from that group. Its a tough one to call but the Dutch have grown in strenght over the last 18 months and have some great young players coming thru (like the lad at Hamburg, Bulharoius). The Ivorians are good, imo the best African team in the cup, but fate has dealt them a cruel blow here and in any other group I'd fancy them, but I fear a lack of experience will cost them. So the last match will see a head to head Serbia v Argentina, this will be a cracker make no mistake - I just fancy the Serbs to eek through like the Swedes did in Japan against Argentina.
The next group will probably be simple enough for the Italians, leaving Ghana, the Czechs and USA going for the last place. I think the Ghanians will struggle, and again it will be a last match decider between the Czechs and the USA, think the Czechs will just scrape it.
The next group will be the suprise imo. I think Auzzies will cause lots of problems as theyre well organised and have a big man upfront (Viduka) which can cause teams problems. Think the Japanese have a good set of technical players (Kodji Nakata, Ono, Takahara, Nakamura, Hide Nakata) and will be very quick on the ground and have the stamina to last through the full 90 and beyond.
Think the French and Korea will get thru the next group. Could have been us and I'd have fancied us to get far :(
Spain and Ukraine should walk the next group.
England, Sweden, Paraguay and T&T. I can see the Swedes winning this, think the Paraguayans have a chance (England usually play badly in their opening matches in cups), but i would be suprised if the English didnt make it.
09/12/2005, 9:25 PM
Not in the slightest. Are Sweden an easy team? Are Paraguay? No. The only easy team in that group is T&T.
Who said anything about easy ?
you in your original post said they said it was "the best they could have got"
big difference between that and easy
09/12/2005, 9:28 PM
Who said anything about easy ?
you in your original post said they said it was "the best they could have got"
big difference between that and easyYeah but what do you think he meant by that?:confused: He wasn't meaning it's a great group cos of the great meetings or whatever
09/12/2005, 10:30 PM
Go to this page and click on the link for the score predictor:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/world_cup_2006/default.stm
I gave it a lash and came up with the following 1/4 final pairings:
Germany v Holland
England v Argentina
Italy v France
Brazil v Spain
09/12/2005, 10:51 PM
i got
GermanyvHolland
EnglandvArgentina
Czech RepvFrance
BrazilvUkraine
10/12/2005, 12:55 AM
......England, Sweden, Paraguay and T&T. I can see the Swedes winning this, think the Paraguayans have a chance (England usually play badly in their opening matches in cups), but i would be suprised if the English didnt make it.
The winners from Group A (likely to be Germany or Poland) play the runners-up from Group B (likely to be England or Sweden).
Group A will be completed before the final games in Group B (England v Sweden and Paraguay v Trin/Tobago). I suspect England would prefer to play Poland and if by any chance Poland top Group A, it would not be any surprise to see an England v Sweden result which would see England second in the group. However, if England did top their group and avoided the Germans in the second round they are still likely to be facing Holland, Portugal or Argentina in the quarters.
If by some chance. England make it to the semi-final, I think they will win it.
Metrostars
10/12/2005, 3:12 AM
I got...
England-Portugal
Sweden-Holland
United States-Ukraine
Brazil-France
Closed Account 2
10/12/2005, 8:48 AM
I got
QF1
GermanyvPortugal