View Full Version : DCFC tickets for Cork game
11/11/2005, 10:35 AM
http://www.derrycityfc.net/displaystory.php?storyid=305
11/11/2005, 11:58 PM
Seem to be discouraging fans from travelling without a ticket.
Krstic
14/11/2005, 8:13 AM
Kev, maybe you should change that story now to.
Derry City FC shaft Season ticket holders over tickets to Cork match!!!
I don't see how your season ticket holders are being shafted as there are limited number of tickets available.
RTE should have a reporter in Derry pub for reactions to fridays game if they want to have good coverage.
Krstic
14/11/2005, 1:26 PM
I don't see how your season ticket holders are being shafted as there are limited number of tickets available.
RTE should have a reporter in Derry pub for reactions to fridays game if they want to have good coverage.
Not one of Derry City's allocation of tickets went on open sale to season tickets holders.
According to Jim Roddy on radio Foyle this morning, the tickets went to sponsors, players and employees of Derry City.
Now why post on the website (as Kevs link above shows) and put it in the local paper that tickets would go on sale to members on Sunday morning and then not make any available.??? And to make matters worse, why, if they knew the tickets were all gone on saturday night, didn't they announce it to the crowd in order that the people who waited outside the brandywell from 6O'Clock on Sunday Morning, could have stayed in their beds???
The truth is, if you were in the know, you got as many tickets as you required.
And the saps who stood in the cold on Sunday morning got nowt but lies and silly excuses.
My Da and Uncle had their trip to Cork planned months ago, and now they face going to Cork with no tickets and having to watch the game in a bar, yet I could name you at least 10 people from Derry whom i know personally, they rarely attend Derry games yet they are going to Cork with tickets and all.
Jim Roddy is quoted in the BBC website today saying that sponsors demands for tickets increased after Saturdays game, the truth is the tickets were gone before Saturdays game.
Sponsors, Players and employees deserve to get tickets but not as many as they want.
I'm very disappointed with this whole saga but I'm even more Disappointed by Jim Roddy's response, but not surprised.
When things go well at the Brandywell it's the real fans who get screwed over, once things go belly-up Jim will be only to happy to come begging saps like my Da to buy into this scheme and that scheme in order to help Derry City.
14/11/2005, 2:01 PM
I am not going to argue each and every point, and undoubtedly mistakes were made.
However no-one got "as many as they wanted".
Speranza
14/11/2005, 2:21 PM
Kristic, the board demonstrated their sterling attitude to the supporters of our club by putting the hard graft in to bring back tickets for those who queued from silly hours of the morning. I don't know about you but Jim Roddy and Hugh Mc Daid phoning people to explain the situation is "not" what i call shafting the fans.
By asking for tickets back the board recognised mistakes were made, they didn't have to do that! I don't know if I would have the balls to phone sponsers who finance the club and ask them to return tickets.
Jim Roddy was there at 8:30 in the morning and he phoned a mate of mine at 10:30 PM that night. Obviously sponsers gave tickets to some people who arguably didn't deserve them and people asked for too many but a 14 hour day to correct that garners my respect!
Sad state of affairs indeed. Maybe your players will boycott the game in sympathy. ;)
Krstic
14/11/2005, 2:38 PM
Well I'll tell you how Fckued up it is Speranza.
I'm only after getting my hands on not one but 2 tickets, just 5 minutes ago from a friend of my Father-in-Law.
This guy doesn't go to the Brandywell, I asked him how he got the tickets and his response was "Och sure when you're in the know"
Now that's my Da and my uncle sorted, but I still don't think it's fair.
And for your information, I was at the brandywell office on saturday morning and was told that the Cork tickets were all gone then!!! So Jim's line today that sponsors demand rose after Saturdays game is Crap!!!
In my opninion the Sponsors, players, employees and volunteers are entitled to their tickets, but lets be honest, are they entitled to 500????
And as I'm sure Kev could easily clarify, Jim Roddy has my Da's season ticket from Sunday morning but hasn't got round to ringing him yet.
If this was the FAI's handling of tickets distribution you guys would be first to have a go, so lets not be hypocrites.:mad:
Speranza
14/11/2005, 3:07 PM
I am not being a hypocrite. I was fuming yesterday morning about the arrangements.
IMO and this will be laughed at by most people but i don't know why sponsors are allowed to get tickets. If someone was ploughing money into the club for nothing then fair enough but they aren't the term "sponsor" clearly means that their particular business is benefitting from being showcased to over 2500 people every two weeks. Therefore the club benefits via increased funda and the business befits via advertisting!
That however is not how it works but even if sponsers did get tickets why didn't they just get one for themselves and someone to go along with them.
I'm obviously just theorising as I'm not financial director of the club and therefore have little understanding fo the relationship the club has with it's sponsers.
Same with stewards, they get paid and they look after security again mutually beneficial!
I too know of so many cases of tickets been mishandled and it makes me sick! Yesterday this is what annoyed me but to what degree can the board be accountable for the actions of its employees?
14/11/2005, 3:22 PM
Krstic,
Dunno what the story is with yer da.
I was one of the people phoning everyone back last night with the news about no more tickets being available. We spent well over four hours ringing round people
AFAIK we attempted to make contact with everyone who we have a name and number for. Some people who had brought up three or four season tickets we only had one number for them and we contacted the person we had the number for.
In a minority of cases we had no number for them, or the number was incorrect.
14/11/2005, 11:50 PM
It is easy in hindsight but why didn't two of ye come down to cork and buy a 100 or so tickets.
It was inevitable there was going to be an issue.
Looks to me like Jim Roddy reluctantly had to sort out all obligations re sponsors etc. and did his level best to retrieve the situation afterwards for the fans who queued up in the early hours of the morning.
Incidentally, i'm all for City seeking to gain an advantage and not giving Derry more tickets than they have to but IF Lennox was obliged to give Derry 480 tickets and only produced 400 then maybe something can be done about that.
Also, there MAY not be tickets available on the night Friday but there WILL most definately be touts.
My advice to City and Derry fans would be not to haggle with them but to point them out to the gardai and ask them for one of their tickets.
Speranza
15/11/2005, 12:54 AM
Cork gave us more than our allocation in the first place which was something I'm sure our board won't forget if this occurs with locations switched.
Also more people than I first anticipated have tickets via the credit card booking system.
Cork gave us more than our allocation in the first place which was something I'm sure our board won't forget if this occurs with locations switched.
Also more people than I first anticipated have tickets via the credit card booking system.
Cork gave 500 tickets out of a capacity of 8500. That's 5.88%, how much are they supposed to give, is it 5% or 10%?
Krstic
15/11/2005, 7:52 AM
Kev my Da got a phone call yesterday afternoon, so credit where it's due.
I'm going now to cancel my days leave for Friday and I'm going to cry lots and lots:( :(
15/11/2005, 8:56 AM
Cork gave 500 tickets out of a capacity of 8500. That's 5.88%, how much are they supposed to give, is it 5% or 10%?
We gave 500 out of a capacity of 7500. That's nearly 7%.
No-one from Derry was refused a ticket through our club shop AFAIK.
500 is approx. 3.5 times the number that Derry brought down for the Cup semi.
I don't think that we're obliged to give a specific percentage, but CCFC have been generous in this process IMO, it's just a shame that we don't have enough seats to meet the demand.
500 is approx. 3.5 times the number that Derry brought down for the Cup semi.
500 is also 17% of the 3000 that turned up for last game of the season in the Brandywell.
daniel
15/11/2005, 12:11 PM
Rite give over about tickets the record is broken now, unlucky for any body who hasnt gotten tickets and im sorry that they havent and so is every other Derry City fan, but what i can not take is people on here giving off about the club when they tried their damndest to get tickets or to atleast notify people who gave their name and number that there was no tickets going to be available, fer f*ck sake we have a massive game on friday so get back to what we do best and support the f*cking team fer christ sake, this sort of behvaiour affects players and staff alike.
Also i'd just like to say a big well done to Jim Roddy, the man did absolutley everything he could for the fans, he gave up his sunday for them which shows how high he regards them, and a well done to anybody else who helped him out like Kev for also voluntarily giving up his sunday also.Well done lads and thanks, shows what the fans mean!!
Speranza
15/11/2005, 1:45 PM
Pete, the 3000 figure isn't official.
With the stand packed and the Lone Moor side also jammed I would say 4,500 - 5,000
Krstic
16/11/2005, 8:37 AM
Rite give over about tickets the record is broken now, unlucky for any body who hasnt gotten tickets and im sorry that they havent and so is every other Derry City fan, but what i can not take is people on here giving off about the club when they tried their damndest to get tickets or to atleast notify people who gave their name and number that there was no tickets going to be available, fer f*ck sake we have a massive game on friday so get back to what we do best and support the f*cking team fer christ sake, this sort of behvaiour affects players and staff alike.
Also i'd just like to say a big well done to Jim Roddy, the man did absolutley everything he could for the fans, he gave up his sunday for them which shows how high he regards them, and a well done to anybody else who helped him out like Kev for also voluntarily giving up his sunday also.Well done lads and thanks, shows what the fans mean!!
Daniel your post is a wee bit insulting to those with no tickets, I feel some people have a right to be disappointed.
However I'll give you some advice.
LOSE YOUR GREMLINS-PHONE 0800 100 900
PHONE FREE FOR READING, WRITING AND MATHS COURSES:ball: