View Full Version : Politics or Totty Watch?

10/11/2005, 7:43 AM
I've been thinking about adding one of these as a subforum of OT for a little while now; more Politics than TW, someone else suggested TW. First of all, should I go ahead with it? Bear in mind when replying that, in both cases: a) the rules will be very, very strict; and b) excellent moderators that will need quite a bit of time will be needed.

(I'm not looking for nominations right now, and my usual rule (nomination = disqualification) about them is currently in effect.)

Secondly, what should the rules be? In Politics at the very least I think we would need rules along the lines of Boards.ie, i.e. no news without opinion, no facts without evidence. I think we would need to define specific rules regarding the North too though, because of a slightly higher potential for Trouble on Foot.ie. Pardon the pun.

As regards TW, I'd imagine there should be no nudity. Possibly access to the forum should be by request only, a la the Soccer and Slydice forums on Boards.ie; however if that was the case I might be inclined to allow nudity, as long as it wasn't [I]gaping nudity, if you catch my drift. I think we should also make it accessible to both sexes and all sexualities, i.e. there should be a rule disallowing bitching about boy-toy posts; although posts should be flagged carefully so people don't see what they don't want to see.

If the feedback is good, I'll tack a poll onto this and we'll take a vote. [EDIT: Screw it, poll added, for 20 days.] We're only doing one now, so don't try to push me into doing both. We'll probably come back to the other later though.

I already have a sponsor for skinning the new forum btw. This description will be most appropriate if the vote goes towards TW. :)

10/11/2005, 8:36 AM
Think you're asking for trouble Adam with the politics one. At the moment there's isn't too much political stuff here and the litttle there is is usually decent debate (now Conor74 is gone :) ) I think having its own section wouldn't encourage those who are really into politics (they're going to post it in OT anyway) but rather would encourage the idiots to post.

As for the TW forum, I think to make it viable you'd have to have it for registered members only and you can either have it heavily moderated or make it a "not safe for work" board. Not saying you should have hardore stuff either BTW

The only other forum we have on our board is the Gambling forum. People give hints, tips and picks on all sports. Just an idea

10/11/2005, 8:50 AM
Politics.
I'm not intelligent enough to post on politics.ie:) and we can put celtic and rangers crap in there aswell.
Totty Watch should be left to grow as the glorious thread it is.

10/11/2005, 8:58 AM
Some of the political stuff gets so heavy that it's depressing. It would be nice to have it sectioned off.

10/11/2005, 8:59 AM
Politics if anything.

TW gets on well enough as a single thread, while politics generates plenty of them.

Some of the political stuff gets so heavy that it's depressing. It would be nice to have it sectioned off.
Good point.

10/11/2005, 9:00 AM
Think you're asking for trouble Adam with the politics one. At the moment there's isn't too much political stuff hereYou might be right about the former, but I think you could be wrong about the latter. There's actually quite a lot of low-level political discussion in OT imho, or I get that impression anyway. Low-level is good; I like low-level. :)

the litttle there is is usually decent debate (now Conor74 is gone :) ) I think having its own section wouldn't encourage those who are really into politics (they're going to post it in OT anyway) but rather would encourage the idiots to post.You could well be right, but by the same token it might encourage a few people that don't usually think about or talk about politics to browse a little, and maybe join in after a while. Particularly if it /is/ kept low-level, calm and reasonably intelligent. That would be good imho, we need more of that in Ireland.

As for the TW forum, I think to make it viable you'd have to have it for registered members onlyDefinitely.

and you can either have it heavily moderatedDefinitely.

or make it a "not safe for work" board. Not saying you should have hardore stuff either BTWI actually thought about that, and dismissed it. Not for the TW forum anyway. However I have zero objection to hardcore pornography - not weird or gross stuff, but mainstream hardcore - and would consider it at a later date; because to a certain extent it fits with the laddish/lassish culture of football. However it would have to be a subscription forum, not so much to make money - although I wouldn't complain - but for age verification and terms and conditions purposes. And it wouldn't happen for a good while anyway, Foot.ie still has some stabilising to do before I'd go near it.

The only other forum we have on our board is the Gambling forum. People give hints, tips and picks on all sports. Just an ideaIt's popped up as a concept before, but there isn't the demand on Foot.ie yet. Maybe later.

Cheers for the feedback.

10/11/2005, 9:03 AM
I'm not intelligent enough to post on politics.ie:)I know that feeling, I regularly feel completely outgunned on the Politics forum on Boards. ;)

and we can put celtic and rangers crap in there aswell.Definitely not. That kind of crap will never be welcome on Foot.ie again. The North in general possibly, but with very strict, specific rules.

Totty Watch should be left to grow as the glorious thread it is.I was kind of thinking that myself.

Some of the political stuff gets so heavy that it's depressing. It would be nice to have it sectioned off.Another good reason.

TW gets on well enough as a single thread, while politics generates plenty of them.Again, that's my thinking too.

jofyisgod
10/11/2005, 9:04 AM
Good idea about Politics one, as long as it doesn't become a 'The North' forum...

Does TW warrant a forum?-it is essentially what Off-Topic is about, not sure it's needed.

Good ideas though

10/11/2005, 9:36 AM
BTW I'd be very, very careful when selecting a mod for the political forum. it'd have to be somebody who'd show absolutely no bias (rules out all corkies :p ) and be smart enough to know whats going on (rules out me and most others...)

10/11/2005, 9:40 AM
You have a few problems. A TW forum will make the place tacky. The TW thread I see more a bit of craic and banter, a forum would make the board a bit tacky and seperate the TW from the banter.

A Politics forum? Hmmmmm. Would be a good outlet for discussion on the board as political expression is a bit curtailed here (for very good reasons though). How would you go about a Politics forum though? You'd have to allow for a fairly full range of opionions on the political spectrum. It could just turn into a left wing/liberal view airing forum where anyone edging to the right would be bludgeoned into silence making the forum pointless. But by doing this you'd have to be prepared for trouble. I'm not saying to allow ********** like views but you'd have to allow expression from the right. I also think that the saying 'attack the post no the poster' would have to be paramount to the rules of such a forum.

10/11/2005, 9:43 AM
I wouldn't have any sub forum on politics or totty watch. Politics descends into farce more often than not and IMO is not worth the hassle. The totty watch thread can just continue as it is in the Off Topic section if there's enough appeal.

Saves you having to appoint a moderator to do a messy job.:)

10/11/2005, 9:44 AM
...How would you go about a Politics forum though? You'd have to allow for a fairly full range of opionions on the political spectrum. It could just turn into a left wing/liberal view airing forum where anyone edging to the right would be bludgeoned into silence making the forum pointless...
That's a very good point. If you create a politics forum, you'll need to be very careful about who you pick to mod it. It's very easy for a mod in that position to supress opinions that don't mesh with his own.

10/11/2005, 9:44 AM
I know that feeling, I regularly feel completely outgunned on the Politics forum on Boards. ;)

Definitely not. That kind of crap will never be welcome on Foot.ie again. The North in general possibly, but with very strict, specific rules.

I was kind of thinking that myself.

Was just looking at the threads in Off Topic there and i reckon if ya had two threads News & Politics and a broad one called community or something that would probably cater for everything imaginable.

All those tabloid news links that A Face puts on at two in the morning about children born with six toes and stuff could even be put onto News & Politics.
Community could cope with stuff like g-mail invites, meet-ups, how to tune your digital channels, advice on holiday destinations etc.
Ya could have totty porn watch then as a totally different forum for subscription or something.

All this of course has to conform with being a footie site i suppose but i don't think people would come here instead of boards.ie to talk about the issues of the day.

10/11/2005, 9:50 AM
I also meant to say. The more forums you add and the more you diversify a board its cohesion begins to weaken and specific forums can become dry. Generally a board that takes this path sees its Off Topic forum become weaker and weaker and this is in essence the soul of most boards. Possibly something to think about too, though you seem to have made your decision to add something Adam.

10/11/2005, 9:55 AM
I'd take this thread as an example of what could happen in a Politics forum:
http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=31115&page=2

I don't think Condex has necessarily said anything wrong here. Maybe the militant Islam line was bordering a bit towards the edge. However he simply expressed an alternate view which could be considered not so liberal and was bashed for airing his views. I think his comment that the cultures are perhaps too wide to integrate is not unreasonable yet he was made out to be uneducated and poorly read for not sharing a liberal view.

10/11/2005, 12:00 PM
I went for neither as I'd be worried what type of crap Off Topic would be left with then :D

Don't think totty watch merits it tbh, but can see where the access restrictions would be useful (for both the site and posters).

Politics I'm not sure on. Think it's generally alright here, but then as one of the mods I don't think I'm on enough to prevent threads spiralling out of control like the last Northern one did. One solution on the modding would be 2 mods one from the PD Foot.ie fringe and one of us lefties - no locking's or binnings by either of them without consulting the other.

btw don't see much wrong with the Condex thread linked there. People should put up or not post if - He should be able to argue the point coherently and even if I don't agree, there is an arguement there if he'd make it properly.(as should those responding, DCFC Steve got off his high horse eventually to blast him out of the water, no need for the insults if he'd gone that way first time).

10/11/2005, 12:04 PM
There would definitely be two mods. Profiling would be involved. :)

10/11/2005, 12:17 PM
I'm not intelligent enough to post on politics.ie

it has nothing to do with intelligence risteard, all it has to to with is knowledge. if you are knowledeable you can back up any argument/discussion with fact(s) and therefore come across as intelligent a la dcfcsteve. the intelligent part is how you construct your point.

hamish
10/11/2005, 12:19 PM
I'm referring to Newshound website again and though it's left of centre, the mods have a bloody awful job trying to control the "drive by ambush" trolls who dump stupid stuff in all threads. Whenever there is a section dealing with Scooter Libby, for example, you get a waterfall of commenst like "...but Clinton got a blow job, that's worse" or "fcuk off to France, ya Commie, left wing, tree hugging, liberals.." etc etc. No matter what they do, they have to continuously delete or put O/T whenever this happens. It is awful time consuming for the mods. Then the trolls, use a different name or hijack someone elses name and continue on in the same vein.

As for totty watch, I'm probably the last one who should comment on that but, while I have no objections to nudity-watchers if that floats their boat, I think there might be many who would object to porn. Dammit, I'm sure there are plenty of porn sites that people can visit if they want their jollies but tasteful nudity or topless (i know, I know, a can of worms there) might be ok. And you just know that, once you link to a porn picture, loads of porn
sh!te is bound to flood into it uninvited, possibly, child porn or beastiality etc.

Besides, Dahamsta, you just know that some dipstick will mention any porn on Foot.ie to the tabloids and you'll end up with "concerned Mothers of 15" screaming in The Sun or Ireland on Sunday about Foot.ie and its "filth dragging our Irish youth in to the gutter" yadda yaddda yadda. I don't think it's worth the hassle. I posted, also, a picture from a bikini selling website which one member thought was making it dodgy for her to click on my examples even though it was merely a selling site NOT anything remotely dodgy.

Another example, I posted a fully clothed Sylvia Saint picture in Tottyland (she IS very pretty) but the receivers got completely different (and explicit) pictures than what I posted. Worse again, the pic of Sylvia I posted was from a NEWS website not a porno site so there seems no protection whatever the source. Peadar knows the technological aspect to that - he explained it to me at the time.

Seriously, the best part of Totty Watch is the banter, wisecracking and slagging that goes on in it. The pics are just a means to have some craic with each other. Seriously.:o

10/11/2005, 12:21 PM
might encourage a few people that don't usually think about or talk about politics to browse a little

very good point. i would fall into this category. its a way of increasing your knowledge base, currently a thread ( political that is ) diverses so much that it could be broken into different threads, and those with interest in specifics can browse the separate threads. as peadar says some of it gets very heavy and cant be arsed to read through the whole lot etc.

10/11/2005, 12:26 PM
I'm referring to Newshound website again and though it's left of centre, the mods have a bloody awful job... It is awful time consuming for the mods. Then the trolls, use a different name or hijack someone elses name and continue on in the same vein. Dahamsta's happily IP banned in the past. You can also require that registrations be manually activated in VBulletin.

Besides, Dahamsta, you just know that some dipstick will mention any porn on Foot.ie to the tabloids and you'll end up with "concerned Mothers of 15" screaming in The Sun or Ireland on Sunday about Foot.ie and its "filth dragging our Irish youth in to the gutter" yadda yaddda yadda. I don't think it's worth the hassle.
I'd find that very amusing. What exactly would those people do?

Eire06
10/11/2005, 12:41 PM
I think the totty watch idea is horrible - in particular to the nudity part this is not a porn site it is a football site, it would bring down the standard of the site.. Totty watch is a bit of fun at the moment apart from a few posters putting up dodgy images don't turn it into sleaze

The politics would be the best decision if I had to choose between the two but it would be very hard to moderate. I would say call it News or Current Affairs so it would keep people to topics that are in the news at the moment rather than people putting up stupid posts just for an argument

hamish
10/11/2005, 12:43 PM
yet he was made out to be uneducated and poorly read for not sharing a liberal view.

Very true PS. Again, on the Newshounds website, wingnuts who post unsubstantiated BS get a terrible time of it and abusive replies but, TBF, any Republicans who post a moderate post and fairly debate without name calling get a fair shake.

I'll try and post an example from that site to illustrate my point. Surprisingly for the US they DON'T do what Foot.ie does, blank out bad language.

deleted - response to O/T comment

Posted by: MCMetal at November 7, 2005 03:51 PM

deleted - response to O/T comment

Posted by: Liz PbD at November 7, 2005 03:52 PM

or
All -

Please stop responding toO/T troll posts & making me delete yoiur responses too. Jeez, just gimme a minute ok?

Posted by: nancy at November 7, 2005 06:21 PM

deleted

freedom lover -
If you continue to post on this thread, I will ban you for 24 hours.
nancy

Posted by: freedom lover at November 8, 2005 10:40 AM

freedom lover -
You were warned, but you just couldn't pay attention. Now you're banned for 24 hours. Check back tomorrow.
nancy

Posted by: freedom lover at November 8, 2005 10:52 AM

Subject: LOOOOOSERS
LOOOOSERS

Subject: YOU'RE A JOKE
WHAT A JOKE.... NEXT YOU'RE GOING TO COMMENT THAT SORROS DIDN'T RUN A SMEAR CAMPAIGN AGAINST BUSH...
BTW... YOU GUYS LOST THE ELECTION... LOL

Subject: SCREW YOU
SCREW YOU

"Coulter hot"
-Gobbelsballs

Yeah, if you find transvestites attractive, sicko.

Wokeup(the REAL one),

Sad little imposter clown has returned, just letting you know.

Wokeup(the FAKE one),

You sir, are a pathetic chicken****, using other people's names on this blog so you can't get called out...how cowardly of you. Why don't you be a real man or woman and post you're real name, troll?

Jonathon

BTW: Wokeup is a Vietnam Vet, since you're inpersonating him, tell us of YOUR service, sad little imposter clown...we're wating...

Posted by: Jonathon Holmes at November 1, 2005 10:12 PM

Above are some examples of the harsher side of Newshound from left and right but by no means the worst.

Hope it helps Dahamsta.

hamish
10/11/2005, 12:56 PM
I think the totty watch idea is horrible Totty watch is a bit of fun at the moment apart from a few posters putting up dodgy images don't turn it into sleaze

Sorry about that Eire06 - I remember you being very cross with me about that bikini selling pic I posted a few months ago. That's why I mentioned it above but, until now, not your name.

While I didn't agree with you about that actual picture I agree with you that it would be best not to have porn or dodgy images in Totty Watch. I learned my lesson with the Sylvia Saint one and she had her clothes ON.

Peace out.

hamish
10/11/2005, 1:02 PM
I'd find that very amusing. What exactly would those people do?

Basically John83, give Foot.ie a great deal of BAD publicity in the gutter press and a load of hassle for Dahamsta and mods. You'd have headlines like "Ban this porn site" or "Must we allow this filth into our children's homes".

You know well that it would happen. It also might scare away advertisers on Foot.ie or potential ones. Sorry if I didn't make my point clearly.:o

10/11/2005, 1:04 PM
TW gets on well enough as a single thread, while politics generates plenty of them.I tend to agree with this. Their is no need need for a sub forum for Totty. It suits just having one thread about it. While I dont really care about a sub forum for politics I think it would be a better idea than having a TW one.

10/11/2005, 1:05 PM
Just on the COndex post. I had a go at him, not for lack of knowledge (Although it may appear that way) but for posting hugely simplified posts when the points had been discussed in detail already. Its not his viewpoint I disgareed with it, it was his post. If he's not up to speed on the situation, don't post.

10/11/2005, 1:14 PM
Basically John83, give Foot.ie a great deal of BAD publicity in the gutter press and a load of hassle for Dahamsta and mods. You'd have headlines like "Ban this porn site" or "Must we allow this filth into our children's homes".
I've never been terribly concerned with what the gutter press is whinging about, but I fail to see how press coverage, negative or no, would make much work. There might be half a dozen bannings to be made, but that's nothing new.

It also might scare away advertisers on Foot.ie or potential ones.
I don't think Google ads pay any attention to the press. If I'm wrong, I stand corrected. Potential future advertisers might be scared off, but that's another matter, one offset by the likely increase in site traffic substantial press coverage would bring.

Anyway, I'd rather not debate this. It doesn't look like there's any support for a TW sub-forum anyway, and I'd prefer TW to remain as harmless as it currently is.

hamish
10/11/2005, 1:23 PM
I've never been terribly concerned with what the gutter press is whinging about, but I fail to see how press coverage, negative or no, would make much work. There might be half a dozen bannings to be made, but that's nothing new.

I don't think Google ads pay any attention to the press. If I'm wrong, I stand corrected. Potential future advertisers might be scared off, but that's another matter, one offset by the likely increase in site traffic substantial press coverage would bring.

Anyway, I'd rather not debate this. It doesn't look like there's any support for a TW sub-forum anyway, and I'd prefer TW to remain as harmless as it currently is.

See where you're coming from John. I couldn't give two fcuks about the gutter press either but could Foot.ie's existence be under threat by bad publicity if it carried porn??? Dunno really.
I think websites can be shut down, can't they. That's what I'd be worried about.
I remember in the school I used to work, a religous education teacher bringing in a copy of Hot Press when they started carrying those phone sex adverts and getting on to the parents and local shops to stop selling the magazine. This might have made the kids even more curious to buy it but the damage was done then and the shops stopped selling it.
Not a great analogy there but I'd really worry if the bad publicity overwhelmed Foot.ie.
Maybe I'm totally wrong. I don't know.
Cheers.

Eire06
10/11/2005, 1:29 PM
Sorry about that Eire06 - I remember you being very cross with me about that bikini selling pic I posted a few months ago. That's why I mentioned it above but, until now, not your name.

While I didn't agree with you about that actual picture I agree with you that it would be best not to have porn or dodgy images in Totty Watch. I learned my lesson with the Sylvia Saint one and she had her clothes ON.

Peace out.

It wasn't the content that bothered me, that was grand it was the warning I got to my machine in work about accessing unsuitable web pages!! There was far worse that yours posted, it was the nude\topless ones that I complained about...:o

I don't bother looking at that thread anymore just in case

hamish
10/11/2005, 1:42 PM
It wasn't the content that bothered me, that was grand it was the warning I got to my machine in work about accessing unsuitable web pages!! There was far worse that yours posted, it was the nude\topless ones that I complained about...

I don't bother looking at that thread anymore just in case

Actually we've gone very clean lately - coincidentally since I haven't been around for a while LOL.:D

I posted a nice set of pics last night of ladies in my age group, fully clothed and looking for men too, good Heavens.:eek: So I cover (nopun intended) all age groups in my quest against ageism in tottyland.

I didn't know that office computers warned about websites??? That's a new one. Maybe it was a competitor to your company. Does your company manufacture swimwear??

Just messin' with you Eire06.

Don't exile yourself from tottyland just yet. We miss you.:D

10/11/2005, 1:47 PM
There would definitely be two mods. Profiling would be involved.

Would that involve fingerprinting or DNA samples?

10/11/2005, 1:47 PM
So are ya just going to go with whatever the result of the poll is?

10/11/2005, 1:58 PM
I don't normally opine, but I would fear the worst for TW to be anything other than it is now, a bit of harmless banter with a little(or a lot) of erotica thrown in. It ain't broke, so don't fix it.

As for politics, well, that might not be a bad idea. I would think it would be easier to moderate.

10/11/2005, 1:58 PM
The politics would be the best decision if I had to choose between the two but it would be very hard to moderate. I would say call it News or Current Affairs so it would keep people to topics that are in the news at the moment rather than people putting up stupid posts just for an argumentI was thinking that myself earlier, but I couldn't think of a suitable title. Current Affairs would be perfect.

So are ya just going to go with whatever the result of the poll is?Probably, but only because it's leaning the way I am. :)

10/11/2005, 2:01 PM
I'd say he'd have to if over 50% of registered members voted for it....

10/11/2005, 2:02 PM
You trying to foment a revolution Dodge? My sekrit police'll be around for a chat shortly. :)

10/11/2005, 2:04 PM
I'd say he'd have to if over 50% of registered members voted for it....

What if Totty Watch and Neither formed a coalition? :D

hamish
10/11/2005, 2:17 PM
What if Totty Watch and Neither formed a coalition?

LOL:D :D :D

10/11/2005, 2:22 PM
What if Totty Watch and Neither formed a coalition? :D
So that would be what, the Coalition of the Neither regions?

10/11/2005, 2:25 PM
What if Totty Watch and Neither formed a coalition? :DAh come on Peadar, that's like saying "What if Baldy Noonan gets elected Leader again?" :)

hamish
10/11/2005, 4:16 PM
Ah come on Peadar, that's like saying "What if Baldy Noonan gets elected Leader again?"

:D :D :D

LMAO - they say there's a lack of quality comedy writers in this country. Not with all the witty stuff I see in Foot.ie. You guys crack me up, ye really do.

Youse could all be millilonaires in that genre.

10/11/2005, 4:20 PM
The Totty Watch - Neither coalition is winning.
Woo Hoo! :D

Gerrit
10/11/2005, 8:24 PM
I voted totty-watch for several reasons:

1) The current thread is very difficult to handle: too many pages, you don't know what page to look for which girl... A thread per model would make things easier (maybe if you would include photo posting as well... ;))

2) I find politics much more interesting than shamelessly staring at female bodies (trying to save my reputation here :D) but I am afraid a politics forum is asking for troubles when certain issues come along.

11/11/2005, 8:40 AM
The Totty Watch - Neither coalition is winning.
Woo Hoo! :D
Currently level with the Political/AN Other left wing axis of evil...

noby
11/11/2005, 10:06 AM
I voted for A.N.Other. They're like the Greens, all well intentioned, but not seriously going to get in. I'm so confident of it, that I don't even have definite preference for another forum. I mean, what's the point?

Although, as it stands, we could get in on the coat tails of the politics forum.
In that case, I nominate a beer forum. (it's friday, I think about beer alot on fridays)

11/11/2005, 10:17 AM
CAn we vote out any Forums? I vote the Cork one! Who's with me?!?!

13/11/2005, 12:19 AM
CAn we vote out any Forums? I vote the Cork one! Who's with me?!?!

:D :D he heheheeh

13/11/2005, 1:20 AM
'Neither' is the decision from the dfx- jury.....:cool: :D

Metrostars
13/11/2005, 2:52 AM
I was a mod on another website for the Politics forum and it was a nightmare. As well as the sheer quantity of reading, everyday was filled of banning posters and trying to stop fights. I gave it up after a while.
Dont do it.