View Full Version : Royal Doyle Takes the quiet path

garykelly
08/11/2005, 1:38 PM
Thought this might be of interest. They seem to thinks it's great that he cost so little for Reading to buy.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/r/reading/4415602.stm

08/11/2005, 3:48 PM
Thought this might be of interest. They seem to thinks it's great that he cost so little for Reading to buy.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/r/reading/4415602.stm

It is great that he cost so little. Great if you're anyone other than an Irish football supporter.

Doyle cost only £80,000. As the article rightly points out, he's doing just as well as a striker who Reading paid £1m over the Summer. Derry City got £100,000 from Carlisle for Darren Kelly a few seasons back. Those two figures show that the Doyle deal was bad business for Cork. If Doyle had joined Reading from an English League outfit, I'm convinced they would've paid more for him.

English clubs consistently offer poor money to Irish clubs, because they know they can. When was the last time an Irish club refused to accept such an offer from an English club....?

Only when Irish clubs stop panicking at the faintest whiff of money and grow the balls to say 'no' to low offers will we start to get the true value of our better players. Until then, one or two Doyle's will be sold off every season at bargain basin prices....

08/11/2005, 4:58 PM
While you're right that Irish clubs should hold out Steve, Cork clearly had no choice in the matter due to the minimum fee release clause in Doyle's contract. That in itself is another story which you can trawl through the Cork forum to see about.

nismo
08/11/2005, 5:56 PM
lets be honest if city had asked for more money they would not have bought him.

its just luck he is after acheving so much so fast,even city fans have to admit they would not have thought he'd do this well so fast.

if they dont there just fooling themselves.

08/11/2005, 6:03 PM

its just luck he is after acheving so much so fast,even city fans have to admit they would not have thought he'd do this well so fast.

Why ? Why was £80,000 the magic figure...?

If he'd been sold for £70,000, you'd be syaing the same thing ! Even though they could clearly pay more.

If he'd been bought for £90,000 you'd be saying the same thing ! Even though they'd have stumped up more.

Why is £80k the magic number ? Reading aren't short of cash. Buying a footballer is a negotiation process. I'm convinced that English clubs go into that process expecting to pay small sums, and that's what we let them do.

So what if Cork hadn't got more for him anyway ? If he was really that good- which he is - he would've gone to someone else at some other point anyway. And he could've made Cork's title run-in a lot easier....

08/11/2005, 6:40 PM

Well Fúck them then if they werent prepared to pay more than 80 grand for him a player they presumably had rated .

derm
09/11/2005, 9:40 AM

AFAIK you can't demand more money than is in the minimum release fee :rolleyes:

09/11/2005, 9:47 AM

You could not have written a more inaccurate post.
You are completely wrong from start to finish.:rolleyes:

Reading would have paid more for him, though we were not in a position to ask for more. Fact.
His success has nothing to do with luck, it's to do with his standard of play.
We knew he'd do this well, we thought Reading was beneath him, and I said as much on reading's forums, go check!

09/11/2005, 9:55 AM
AFAIK you can't demand more money than is in the minimum release fee :rolleyes:

Well, that make it a release fee then - not a minimum release fee..... :eek:

Ronnie
09/11/2005, 10:16 AM
Once you have a release fee that becomes the minimum. If you don't put a figure on it then the release fee is 0.
Prices paid for players depend on what the club selling cannot afford to do without, Rovers let McCourt go - they could not do without the cash available. Leeds were forced to sell players cheap - if Celtic offered Derry money for Farren today Derry might have to sell him, even if he was going to miss the last 2 games, the only haggling point is the price.

09/11/2005, 10:22 AM
I think I just read this thread in the Ireland forum....surely where it belongs as Doyle is no longer part of the EL.:confused:

09/11/2005, 10:54 AM
It looks like Bray could lose Conor Sinnot to Reading on a free.
He played for the Reading reserves in their 1-0 defeat at the hands of Bristol City.
He's in the third week of his trial with Reading.

09/11/2005, 11:01 AM
Once you have a release fee that becomes the minimum. If you don't put a figure on it then the release fee is 0.
Prices paid for players depend on what the club selling cannot afford to do without, Rovers let McCourt go - they could not do without the cash available. Leeds were forced to sell players cheap - if Celtic offered Derry money for Farren today Derry might have to sell him, even if he was going to miss the last 2 games, the only haggling point is the price.

I don't have a problem with selling - I do have a problem selling for peanuts.

Who was Derry's last overseas sale ? Darren Kelly. How much did we get for him ? £100k. Bingo - a good day's work....

I really think this is something the FAI should be helping out all clubs with. A common consensus should be established that we're letting players go too cheaply. Perhaps training in negotiation skills is genuinely required ?

09/11/2005, 1:47 PM
This is all old news but I believe City would have held out what for a true value of Doyle. Everything out Chairman has said in recent years would be consistent with that.

Doyle was the eL player in last 2 season with greatest potential which is why City fans rated him so highly.

bigmac
09/11/2005, 4:10 PM

Isn't the release fee a value in the player's contract at which you have to let him leave? If so, then a contract without a release fee doesn't mean that the release value is zero, it means that the club doesn't have to sell the player if they don't want to. In terms of clubs not getting ripped off, fair play to Daryl Murphy, who signed a new contract with Waterford just before moving to Sunderland, to make sure the club would get a transfer fee for him, not often a player keeps the club's interests at heart during a move.

Finlay Harp
09/11/2005, 4:29 PM
Whats the highest transfer fee a club has paid for a league of Ireland player?

09/11/2005, 4:40 PM
When was the last time an Irish club refused to accept such an offer from an English club?
About ten seconds before Steve Coppell pointed at the small print and said "but what about that Brian?" and started doing the Mr.Burns laugh.

Nismo your first line is wrong. Reading, the Dolans and Coppell were watching him for months and knew he was far superior to someone like Daryll Murphy.
Not that they'd have gone anywhere at all near the half million Lennox claimed to be demanding on RedFM.
Ha.
Nice try Brian.

09/11/2005, 8:04 PM

.......... WUM !!

garykelly
10/11/2005, 8:41 AM
Isn't the release fee a value in the player's contract at which you have to let him leave? If so, then a contract without a release fee doesn't mean that the release value is zero, it means that the club doesn't have to sell the player if they don't want to. In terms of clubs not getting ripped off, fair play to Daryl Murphy, who signed a new contract with Waterford just before moving to Sunderland, to make sure the club would get a transfer fee for him, not often a player keeps the club's interests at heart during a move.

It's called a Minimum Fee Release Clause and is negotiated when a player signs a contract for an amount specified at the time of negotiations. No club would ever put in zero in this clause. If a contract has no Min Fee Release Clause in it then club can decide to accept or reject whatever offer comes in. However if a players contract has a min fee release clause then once the value of this clause is met, the club has to accept the offer. Dolan obviously knew the terms of Doyles contract and informed his bro of the value. It's rare in the EL for a player to have such a clause like this. In terms of Murphy, Sunderland would have to have paid some sort of fee for him, whether he had a contract with Waterford or not.

bigmac
10/11/2005, 10:00 AM
In terms of Murphy, Sunderland would have to have paid some sort of fee for him, whether he had a contract with Waterford or not.
how come? could they not have waited for his contract to run out and taken him on a free? It's usual for a player's value to dip towards the end of a contract as a club seeks to get something and not lose him for free.

The rest is pretty much what I said - was just pointing out to ronnie that not having a clause doesn't mean the fee is zero.

10/11/2005, 10:27 AM
how come? could they not have waited for his contract to run out and taken him on a free? It's usual for a player's value to dip towards the end of a contract as a club seeks to get something and not lose him for free.

He is under 23 years old so Waterford would be entitled to compensation for "developing" him. Unfortunately the eL is probably looked at as standard of Rymans league & the fact he only at ye for 2 years would have meant small sum of money...

EireBadBoy
11/11/2005, 8:47 AM
If these clubs are entitled to these sums of compensation for 17 y.o then surely EL clubs are being truly ripped off!!

Chelsea could end up paying more than £2.5m for three teenage stars after a hearing in front of the Football League appeals committee.
The Premiership champions have been told to pay an initial £200,000 for Bristol Rovers' Scott Sinclair and £150,000 for Stockport's Harry Worley.

Gillingham's Ryan Bertrand will cost them an initial £125,000.

But the fees could rise considerably if the youngsters prove to be a success under Jose Mourinho at Stamford Bridge.

Stockport manager Chris Turner was satisfied with the outcome of the tribunal: "It's been a fair outcome for us. Ideally we would prefer the player to stay but I think we got fair monies up front.

"There's enormous potential, that's why we offered him a deal we had never offered a young player before, in terms of giving him a professional contract straight away at 17.

"This season he would have been progressing into our first-team squad like James Tunnicliffe is.

"It goes without saying, he's going to find a lot harder to progress to the Chelsea first team than he would have at Stockport.

"But he's got all the trappings of success around him down there and it can only give him good experience."

11/11/2005, 10:25 AM
If the FAI cared they would campaign to UEFA and/or FIFA.

It may be hard to argue the case on the quality of the eL but most players transferred recently would be U21 internationals which if compared with similar players in other countries would mean huge increase in compensation.

13/11/2005, 1:12 PM
Bump .... are we getting ripped off ??