View Full Version : who goes for next season
06/11/2005, 7:14 PM
now that we are up....well not offically but anyway,who do ye think should be released as they wont cut it in the premier division...
1.Gorman
2.Gallagher
3.Chris Kelly
4.Rossiter
5.Jim Sheridan(if he is still around)
6.Alvarez(but he is sound man so maybe he should stay):)
06/11/2005, 7:15 PM
4.RossiterRossiter is only on loan, he will be returning to Harps at the end of the season, unless Sean decides to try and sign him, which I hope he does:). :p
06/11/2005, 7:19 PM
oh good....cheerio Rossi,enjoy the first division again.
06/11/2005, 8:06 PM
Gareth Gorman, Philly Gallagher, Christopher Kelly, Carlos Alvarez and Alan Flynn;)
06/11/2005, 8:40 PM
Chris kelly should stay because he is very dedicated and loves the club....although he wont get a game (ever) he can play with the 21's
06/11/2005, 8:51 PM
Chris kelly should stay because he is very dedicated and loves the club....although he wont get a game (ever) he can play with the 21'sThat is no reason to keep him. He's been clinging onto the club for the past few seasons now. He has no chance of making the first team so, bye bye!
06/11/2005, 8:52 PM
cruel...but only to be kind sligoman.
cant ever see him playing for us in the Premier Division
roversforever
06/11/2005, 9:04 PM
carlos has been offered a new contract but he hasn't signed anything yet.i reckon he'll get rid of stevie o donnell...he must have a personal problem with him when he's not playing him.
06/11/2005, 9:05 PM
well he hasnt been playing for us in the first either...
so i doubt he would get a game now!
Is it true by the way that Sean Connor registered himself as a player this season so we might see him action against Kilkenny if all goes well!
06/11/2005, 9:08 PM
Is it true by the way that Sean Connor registered himself as a player this season so we might see him action against Kilkenny if all goes well!Hadn't heard that but I wouldn't mind seeing it:D. Sean Connor Vs. Pat Scully, on and off the pitch:eek:
Mayo Red
07/11/2005, 2:02 PM
i reckon he'll get rid of stevie o donnell...he must have a personal problem with him when he's not playing him.
It's a shame that Sean doesn't seem to rate him because he is a good player and always gives 100% when he is playing!
07/11/2005, 2:03 PM
I would actually keep Carlos cos i do think he has potential and he is only young
Mayo Red
07/11/2005, 2:09 PM
I would actually keep Carlos cos i do think he has potential and he is only young
Ya, great pace and skill, if only he could learn to head the ball.
07/11/2005, 2:11 PM
I would actually keep Carlos cos i do think he has potential and he is only youngHe has potential alright but no point in keeping him to sit on the bench. Maybe we could loan him out to a first division club for all of next season?:confused: I'm sure the likes of Monaghan or Kildare wouldn't mind having him
07/11/2005, 2:13 PM
He has potential alright but no point in keeping him to sit on the bench. Maybe we could loan him out to a first division club for all of next season?:confused: I'm sure the likes of Monaghan or Kildare wouldn't mind having him
maybe for a couple of months...give him a few games and see what he does..
07/11/2005, 4:37 PM
He is a good footballer and is quite fast..but he needs to get stuck in more! he's afraid of a tackle
showgies
07/11/2005, 4:44 PM
Sean Connors ?
Who's in for next season ?
Pat Dolan ?
07/11/2005, 4:45 PM
Are you takin the p**s?, please say your takin the p**s!!
07/11/2005, 5:40 PM
ya maybe he would keep Carlos,and i know who would like him on loan...galway and harps.
07/11/2005, 6:11 PM
Hardly.. He scored 2 goals against us and maybe 1 or 2 others, he isnt good enough.
Moran, Lavine , and O'Dowd for backup.Haha, he's better than O'Dowd anyday:p . Yes, he only scored four but in fairness he didn't really play that many either;)
07/11/2005, 6:15 PM
I think O'Dowd is much better.:rolleyes:
Ok, fair enough, but dont forget Alvarez scored two in a friendly against Ballymote Celtic and one against Derry City at the start of the season;) :D
07/11/2005, 8:30 PM
Sean Connors ?
Who's in for next season ?
Pat Dolan ?
No he's not Seanies going to get the Ireland job!
Hell of a lot harder than the rovers one!
akearins
08/11/2005, 9:22 AM
Not going to say anything on players to go.
Playeers in I'd like to see:
Mark Rossiter(if he is ok to play again)
Anthony Gorman (experience would be invaluable)
Kevin McHugh (if Derry dont try and sign him)
Alan Cawley (sort out right wing for next season)
Pat Purcell (need centre half cover)
And one or two more Harps players might be an option if they go down (Chris Breen)
08/11/2005, 11:42 AM
Mark Rossiter(if he is ok to play again)
Anthony Gorman (experience would be invaluable)
Kevin McHugh (if Derry dont try and sign him)
Alan Cawley (sort out right wing for next season)
Pat Purcell (need centre half cover)
And one or two more Harps players might be an option if they go down (Chris Breen)Add Colm Heffernan to all that and we're sorted;)
redrov2005
09/11/2005, 9:29 AM
Lads for Premier division survival you need players who can cut in the Premier division. With respect ,if Alan Cawley can't make it at Shels and is struggling at Longford then i'm not sure of he is the answer.
Offering Carlos Alvarez a new contract doesn't make sense for the same reason. If he can't do it in the first Division then he's hardly going to trouble defences in the Premier.
Financially We can't afford to carry players who are not seriously challenging for positions.
shedhead
09/11/2005, 10:18 AM
Ya i agree, dont think alverez is good enough. Dont tink McT is a good enough first team premier div player either. The only players i think that can cut it in the prem are
O'Hara, Burns, Lowe, Raf, O'Grady
and maybe McNamara, Flannery, Feeney, McT and Faz as Squad players
Only time will tell
09/11/2005, 10:20 AM
mc tiernan is premier division quality imo....15 goals next season i think he will get....
Mitch Buchanon
09/11/2005, 10:32 AM
Wouldn't it be great if we could afford Kevin McHugh. Does anyone know how long he has left on his contract. Surely he won't go back down to div 1 again.
Don't Derry City have some sort of rule that you have to live in Derry to play for them. It could swing it in our favour.
09/11/2005, 11:12 AM
we should swap brown and alvarez for mchugh with a bit extra money too.....but if we let brown go we'll probably have to pay compensation as he has about 2 years on his contract.
09/11/2005, 12:02 PM
i wouldnt release alvarez for the simple reason that yes he may not be premier quality at the moment but at he is our fourth choice striker and i dont think we will be going into the new season with 4 strikers who are all premier division class . very few teams in the prem can say that about their strikers anyway.
09/11/2005, 12:54 PM
Dont tink McT is a good enough first team premier div player either. The only players i think that can cut it in the prem are
O'Hara, Burns, Lowe, Raf, O'Grady
and maybe FlanneryI cant believe someone actually thinks McTiernan wouldn't make it in the Premier but Flannery might:D
09/11/2005, 12:55 PM
eh no they have flannery and mc t on the same level there!
09/11/2005, 12:59 PM
eh no they have flannery and mc t on the same level there!Well yeah but before that he says he doesn't think McT would make it so he's kind of contradicting himself
shedhead
09/11/2005, 5:21 PM
I said he isnt a good enough first team player, maybe as a squad player fair enough. He can be very frustrating at times. He played against such **** defences this year and scored sweet fcuk all for league champions. He has pace, but his touch is poor, positional sense is poor and rarely looks for the pass. As a pace player who plays off the back foot he should always know where he is in relation to the last man back to beat the offside trap and he never does, wait till he comes up against Prem def players, i dont think he will get a sniff(how many times has he been offside this year,cant blame the lino for all of them)). a few years ago at the start of Dons reign i rated him highly but he has taken a few steps backwards since then(and i do blame Don for that).
09/02/2006, 11:53 AM
These have to go:
Gareth Gorman, Philly Gallagher, Christopher Kelly, Carlos Alvarez and Alan Flynn;)4 out of 5 aint bad:D.
Redzer
09/02/2006, 12:34 PM
4 out of 5 aint bad:D.
Gareth Gorman, Staying.
Carlos Alvarez, Staying.
4 out of 5, Eh:D
10/02/2006, 1:26 PM
Gareth Gorman, Staying.
Carlos Alvarez, Staying.
4 out of 5, Eh:D:rolleyes:. Gareth Gorman is no longer a part of the squad, therefore, he is in fact gone, for next season.
Maybe you should think before you type in future;).
:rolleyes:. Gareth Gorman is no longer a part of the squad, therefore, he is in fact gone, for next season.
I know G's new role is as a coach but didnt he sign a contract that he can play as well if need be?
10/02/2006, 2:08 PM
I know G's new role is as a coach but didnt he sign a contract that he can play as well if need be?Nope.
Redzer
10/02/2006, 2:33 PM
:rolleyes:. Gareth Gorman is no longer a part of the squad, therefore, he is in fact gone, for next season.
The heading of the tread is "who goes for next season".
So Gareth Gorman is NOT gone anywhere, so maybe you should get your facts straight before you tell me what to do.:rolleyes:
The squad is not announced yet for this season, so who knows, he may yet register as a player.
1 9 2 8
10/02/2006, 5:24 PM
I was talking to Gareth not so long ago and he said he will be able to play for Rovers next season so you can get of your high horse sligoman :D
10/02/2006, 6:27 PM
The heading of the tread is "who goes for next season".
So Gareth Gorman is NOT gone anywhere, so maybe you should get your facts straight before you tell me what to do.
The squad is not announced yet for this season, so who knows, he may yet register as a player.If you read the first post, it says:
now that we are up....well not offically but anyway,who do ye think should be released as they wont cut it in the premier division...that means, PLAYERS. Gareth Gorman is no longer a player at this club, FACT! Take a look here (http://www.sligorovers.com/news/news_reports/2005/20051212_squad.htm), do you see him on the squad list? No, it says he's moving to a coaching role, along with Gerry Carr.
I was talking to Gareth not so long ago and he said he will be able to play for Rovers next season so you can get of your high horse sligoman :DYou also said that Keith Foy would not be signing for Rovers, so I think that answers that;) :D.
Redzer
11/02/2006, 10:01 AM
If you read the first post, it says: now that we are up....well not offically but anyway,who do ye think should be released as they wont cut it in the premier division...
I'll agree to differ with you, but as it clearly states in your quote" who do you think should be released". Gareth Gorman has not been released. You can put any meaning you like on it, but GG is still part of Sligo Rovers.
It may have meant players, but it does not state that.
End of conversation.
1 9 2 8
11/02/2006, 10:58 AM
.You also said that Keith Foy would not be signing for Rovers, so I think that answers that;) :D.
But I was right about Heffernan