View Full Version : Trimming the squad.
It's obvious that the above mentioned is going to happen. If I'm not mistaken, here is the squad at the moment.
Gary Cassin, Stephen O'Brien, Michael Dempsey, Shay Kelly
Stephen Paisley, Barry Ferguson, Sean Dillon, Danny O'Connor, Sean Prunty
Alan Kirby, Dean Fitzgerald, Davy Byrne, Tom Mohan, Gary Cronin, John Martin, Gary Murphy, Alan Cawley.
Shane Barrett, Paul Keegan, Dessie Baker, Andy Myler, Dave Mooney.
Five Lads in bold, probably definatly gone. Nine in Italics should be staying, all the rest I'm not that bothered by. Would like to keep Barry. But realistically we should be looking at a reduced squad with the young lads making an impact.... will it happen. Times can't be always good, and we need to make in-roads on local devolpment.
town73
05/11/2005, 6:24 PM
Spoke to Sean Prunty today and he spoke about building the squad for next season, getting players in and having more consistency in the league. Not sure it's as clear cut that he's on his way.
I heard that John Martin has infact re-signed for Longford Town (I heard it from a guy who said he was told by Johnnys dad)
Bosco
06/11/2005, 11:32 AM
Wheres Kirby going????????
themull69
06/11/2005, 11:52 AM
I really hope he doesn't go. He's easily one of the best players we have.
I think he has had a bad season by Kirbys standards
06/11/2005, 6:49 PM
What's the story with Keegan? I've heard we're looking to sign him for next season.
Also, youz aren't keeping Cawley?
What's the story with Keegan? I've heard we're looking to sign him for next season.
Also, youz aren't keeping Cawley?
I'd say Keego will be gone, but as of yet no changes have been confirmed
As for Cawley I doubt it, I have heard he is a bit of trouble maker within the squad
06/11/2005, 6:52 PM
Is Keegan any good any more? I know he was a half-decent forward a few years ago - with Bray especially - but seems to be a bit-part player with youz now?
Keegan had a good season for us this year actually (taking into consideration how our season has been). I think he would be in contention for player of the season. He got motm against waterford that was live on tg4 earlier in the year
RockofGibraltar
06/11/2005, 9:48 PM
Hes the kind of player who makes up for his lack of ability with hard graft and grit determination. His work rate in some matches (eg. waterford match on tv) is unbelievable. Unfortunately doesnt score enough goals..thats what lets him down, misses that clinical edge that separates the average strikers from the top strikers. Endears himself to the fans with his work rate though,took his fair share of knocks this season aswell!
06/11/2005, 11:41 PM
I believe Keego's looking to go to Scotland or at least considering it. His fiancee is Scottish and is based there apparently. I doubt he'll end up at UCD, no offence like but I don't see it.
Tallanted
07/11/2005, 11:26 AM
Cawley thought he was a superstar, really good player but no man is bigger than a team, we don't need that sort
07/11/2005, 12:20 PM
His work rate in some matches is unbelievable. Unfortunately doesnt score enough goals..that's what lets him down, misses that clinical edge that separates the average strikers from the top strikers.
Ah right - we've enough of those already, thanks!
Wiseguy
07/11/2005, 4:26 PM
We defo need a clean out alright and i'd have several players up for the chop.IMO those who should be let go or are going are the following
Shane Barrett: Just hasn't lived up to 1st season
Paul Keegan: Not good enough
Barry Ferguson: Leaving anyway
Mick Dempsey: Not good enough
Stephen O' Brien: Leaving anyway
Shay Kelly: Not good enough
Andy Myler: Quite a let down this season
Gary Cronin: See above
Stephen Gough: Not good enough
Next season should be the one where we try and sustain a good league run and score some bloody goals with good cup runs to boot.
missfootie
07/11/2005, 4:36 PM
We defo need a clean out alright and i'd have several players up for the chop.IMO those who should be let go or are going are the following
Paul Keegan: Not good enough
Barry Ferguson: Leaving anyway
Mick Dempsey: Not good enough
Stephen O' Brien: Leaving anyway
Shay Kelly: Not good enough
Andy Myler: Quite a let down this season
Gary Cronin: See above
Alan Gough: Not good enough
Next season should be the one where we try and sustain a good league run and score some bloody goals with good cup runs to boot.
Alan Gough? Who is he?
08/11/2005, 7:01 AM
The season was just getting into the height of it when he was injured and he was out for ages, so I think this season was a disaster for him.
I would keep him in the Team .
Right full that has replaced Murph. :mad: :mad:
He is way too timid. Couple of classic instances of it on Friday. Doesn't show half enough aggression.
He was completely at fault for the UCD goal that put us out of the cup - let his man wander about three/four yards . Bang. Goal. matthews out !"
I think you will both find that his name is infact Steven Gough
08/11/2005, 1:45 PM
keego will prob leave at the end of the season, his father in law died in recent weeks and he will be moving over with his wife to be ( or so i've been told )
now, i'm prob in the minority here.....but whats the difference between garto and baz leaving ??? both to other clubs and lets face it, both for money ????
all the abuse garto took, does baz deserve the same.....for leaving.
missfootie
08/11/2005, 1:51 PM
I think you will both find that his name is infact Steven Gough
I phrased the question in that was cos had the feelin Wiseguy didnt know he was wrong and wanted to give him the chance to see did he really know what he was talking about.... I did no Stephen was his name, hence the reason I only asked one question.... Some plp on this site like to think they know a lot more than they actually do... !
keego will prob leave at the end of the season, his father in law died in recent weeks and he will be moving over with his wife to be ( or so i've been told )
now, i'm prob in the minority here.....but whats the difference between garto and baz leaving ??? both to other clubs and lets face it, both for money ????
Some how I dont think Barry will regret leaving us, the way Garto does. Alot of ill feeling towards Barry and I for one thought Garto was a favourite at the club, didnt know he was being abused.
I phrased the question in that was cos had the feelin Wiseguy didnt know he was wrong and wanted to give him the chance to see did he really know what he was talking about.... I did no Stephen was his name, hence the reason I only asked one question.... Some plp on this site like to think they know a lot more than they actually do... !
I felt I should let Wiseguy and Cop on know the error of their ways ;)
I think the abuse barry has gotten over the season may have been a factor,i dont see why any player should have to put up with that.However bohs fans aren't too unfamiliar with abusing barry either
09/11/2005, 7:20 AM
thank you, i was waiting for someone to make that point.....bohs fans are among the worst at turning on their own players and managers (kenny for example )
so i think that proves that barry isn't moving because of the abuse........€€€€€ signs me thinks........
thank you, i was waiting for someone to make that point.....bohs fans are among the worst at turning on their own players and managers (kenny for example )
so i think that proves that barry isn't moving because of the abuse........€€€€€ signs me thinks........
Is it confirmed that he is definately going to bohs?
Barry has been hounded and (often wrongly) blamed for years by elements of the Town support. Everything from our style of football to the length of the grass seems to have been blamed on Barry. I wouldn't have blamed Barry if he'd left years ago, as he's been a hate figure for some of our support.
It's disingenuous to suggest the situations are the same, Garto was well liked at the club
Of course money comes into it - he's an eL footballer ffs money is the overriding factor for the majority - but I've no idea how the deals compare but even if we matched the bohs deal I wouldn't blame Barry for leaving.
btw Garto was rumoured to have left for €50 a week more - that's why he got the abuse at the time. Whether that was a spin put out by the club I don't know, but it wasn't the fact it was more money but because of the perception it was fook all extra money.
Wiseguy
09/11/2005, 9:03 AM
If Barry leaves so what.You certainly can't blame him.He's been with us for a while now and has been a good servant.Maybe he sees his future else where and if he can get a few extra bob along the way good for him.I'm sure his family life suffers because he has to come down to Longford every couple of weeks and he has probably arrived at a decision that he's better off playing in Dublin.I for one wish him all the best and hopefully whenever he returns to Longford he will greeted with the respect he deserves.As for the Graham Gartland thing,from what i could see he has always been welcomed with open arms.A lot of stories done the rounds about why he left and if the one i heard was true then i can't blame him for leaving.People leave jobs every day for more money and it's no big deal so why make a big deal about this.
09/11/2005, 9:06 AM
Barry has been hounded and (often wrongly) blamed for years by elements of the Town support. Everything from our style of football to the length of the grass seems to have been blamed on Barry. I wouldn't have blamed Barry if he'd left years ago, as he's been a hate figure for some of our support.
It's disingenuous to suggest the situations are the same, Garto was well liked at the club
Of course money comes into it - he's an eL footballer ffs money is the overriding factor for the majority - but I've no idea how the deals compare but even if we matched the bohs deal I wouldn't blame Barry for leaving.
btw Garto was rumoured to have left for €50 a week more - that's why he got the abuse at the time. Whether that was a spin put out by the club I don't know, but it wasn't the fact it was more money but because of the perception it was fook all extra money.
macy, i agree with all you say, but people have to realise barry is leaving because its a job and you go where you get paid better, i dont feel the abuse have any thing to do with it.....
and garto got a full 52 week contract at drogheda and not a part time one that we were offering (30 weeks or something like that ). he told me that himself and i respect its a job and you must go where the money is to be made, its a short career afterall.
I agree, and although there was a lot of shít on here in the days after he left by some posters (including me) who fell for the line that was being put out by somebody, I don't think he has got much abuse. Maybe a few judas calls, but then I aint going to criticise that as I do that to all ex-players, usually tongue firmly in cheek (howareya Stuey :D ).
Sonic
09/11/2005, 10:16 AM
Right full that has replaced Murph. :mad: :mad:
He was completely at fault for the UCD goal that put us out of the cup - let his man wander about three/four yards . Bang. Goal. matthews out !"
will u stop castigating the man for all eternity it was one goal get over it. Sir alan murphy has made lots of them in his time.
Wheres Kirby going????????
Kirby was the only Player who REALLY stood out for Longford in the matches between Bray and Longford this season, remember the 1st match he FCUKING tormented our defence all night, one of the best indivudial displays ive seen all season.
Wiseguy
09/11/2005, 2:25 PM
I wouldn't think Kirby's going anywhere because a) did he not sign a new 2 year contract last year & b) He's very settled in his job here in Longford.
I stand to be corrected.
09/11/2005, 2:42 PM
Correct on point a) definitely and point b) I'd imagine also. He's not going anywhere this season
Wiseguy
09/11/2005, 2:50 PM
With the Flancare development only taking off in Longford i'd imagine he'd be up to his neck in work and by all appearances he has a bright future with Flancare.