View Full Version : Who would you like your club to sign?
06/11/2005, 9:06 AM
Glen Crowe is going nowhere, Glen Fitz is a top top striker, and why would Gary O'Neill leave for UCD???
For an education of course, something to fall back on when his knees are knackered and he can't play football anymore!
Fergal Harkin from Bohs - but that isn't likely
James Gallagher - recall from his loan
Kevin Ramsey - would be a nice addition, although mightn't be on the cheap side.
If we're relegated then as long as the young first teamers are kept on (Gethins, Kev, Breen, Funston, Wizzy and Cullen) and the bunch of talent coming out from the U21 side are played (Crossan, Cowan, Devenny, Seydak) I'll be more than happy as we'd more than likely tear the First Division in shreds with that talent.
However if we stay up (extremely unlikely) - then a tall striker is essential as is a central defender as is a central midfielder. I'd take Jamie Harris on loan from Shels - would be ideal as he's a good CB and tall enough for set-pieces.
harpskid
06/11/2005, 9:44 AM
If we're relegated then as long as the young first teamers are kept on (Gethins, Kev, Breen, Funston, Wizzy and Cullen) and the bunch of talent coming out from the U21 side are played (Crossan, Cowan, Devenny, Seydak) I'll be more than happy as we'd more than likely tear the First Division in shreds with that talent.
I'd keep Cullen, Mc Hugh, Funston, Mc Gowan and Breen. The rest - cheerio!!
Would keep Gorman too in some sort of a managerial capacity, but I'd imagine the playing days are over.
Our under 21 team play Shels in the semi final this evening and there's plenty of talent there, although not in the key position for us - centre back! Darragh Mc Gee plays there at the mo. but he done well at right back on his first team debut last night. Think that's his preferred position.
Big Scolty is flying in and out of Liverpool and the mo, and would say this season may finish him.
I just hope we can hold on to the good players and root out the deadwood
06/11/2005, 8:29 PM
Ndo .... he aint getting his game at Shels and we could do with a player of his height and skill. He would slot in perfectly imo.
We need someone up front aswell .... McHugh would be great but could see it happening. I dunno .... but thats where we need players anyway.
06/11/2005, 9:01 PM
Dont forget lads ye are getting Rossiter back at the end of the season i know how much ye love him:)
06/11/2005, 9:26 PM
Alan Murphy back from Derry, Shane Bradley, Rafael Cretaro, Of course McHugh,
Realistically somebody like Ger McCarthy
There is big signings on the way.
06/11/2005, 9:27 PM
There is big signings on the way.Getting another lotto machine are ye?:confused::rolleyes: :D
06/11/2005, 9:27 PM
Getting another lotto machine are ye?:rolleyes: :D
No sligoman you'll see.;)
do you know something we dont know conor?
06/11/2005, 9:32 PM
Is that a private joke? I'm new to the site.Here. (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=30449):D
Hopefully Stephen Grant will sign for Cork City and i would like to see us making a big effort to sign a genuine top goalscorer in the league...Jason Byrne would be perfect..i would be surprised though but you never know if we can get into the Champions League..
In terms of 'new' signings, Fitzpatrick, Stephen Grant and Shane Robinson.
However the very first signatures I want for next season are Murphy, Rutherford, McGuinness and Molloy.:)
lofty9
07/11/2005, 10:55 AM
Darren Kelly.
mchurl
07/11/2005, 1:17 PM
jason byrne back at bray with him and zayed we would be unstopable:D
We desparately need midfielders. Grand for keepers and efence, OK up front if Armstrong, Larsson and Doyle keep fit (need one more IMO) but midfield is a shambles. Would love to signa tough tackling hard man, someone like Reynolds 9though obviously not Reynolds..). We need someone for right of midfield too, maybe Kirby?
Krstic
07/11/2005, 1:50 PM
Darren Kelly.
Totally agree Lofty9.
07/11/2005, 2:08 PM
A left back, any left back. Other than that our starting 11 now hasn't really got any weaknesses and is really clicking. Get someone new in and you'd have him, Hawkins, Rogers/Harris, Heary, Hoolahan, Reynolds/Byrne, Ndo, Ryan, Byrne, O'Neill/Crowe with one of the two in goal.
Get rid of a few squad members as there's no need having so many of them.
07/11/2005, 2:33 PM
a right midfielder, any one. we'll give you billy woods for free as a sweetner.
Krstic
07/11/2005, 2:54 PM
I know it would never happen but I'd love Ndo, best non Derry City player I've seen this season.
07/11/2005, 3:40 PM
do you know something we dont know conor?
Ive heard one or two names that's all....but i won't be mentioning them Barry.;)
08/11/2005, 11:13 AM
I think UCD actually need three centre-backs, a left winger, a tall goalscoring striker and if we lose Quigley a quality goalkeeper. :confused: I disagree with half that. We don't need centre halves, we just need Kenna and McNally fit. I'd argue we need a left back, but otherwise we've got a decent first string back line.
Yeah, a left winger would be good, but I don't see us signing anyone there. If we get a left back, Micko's a decent option there, though I wouldn't like to see him and Hurley both on the wings - very little pace or dribbling between them. Podge McWalter will probably continue to be the first choice there, unless Doyle comes through.
We do need a striker, but I think Gallagher deserves a chance if Quigley is left out. He's kept more clean sheets than not in his UCD career.
08/11/2005, 11:26 AM
Conor is keeping secrets.
Franny Carter will be returning:)
08/11/2005, 12:53 PM
Old bald man, he ain't what he used to be. ;)
hes not old ! he's the same age as me!!:o
As for his ability, hes still up to first division standards !!:o
Theres only one Franny Carter
He's got no hair
But we dont care
Walking in a franny wonderland
08/11/2005, 4:08 PM
Ya i know that Terry.;)
Eamon Zayed would be top of my list anyway.
08/11/2005, 10:49 PM
John 83
We need Kenna and McNally fit plus at least two other decent centre-backs when they aren't. This season's experience proves it.
Na Chlairsigh
09/11/2005, 5:10 AM
Fergal Harkin
local former captain returns......dream come true
09/11/2005, 7:09 AM
I knew Fran Carter was returning From Canada and joining us, don't tell me thats it Conor, I do like Fran but i hope there is more work done in the transfer market this year.
As i said i don't know anything defenite but i have heard other names.
Sonic
09/11/2005, 10:51 AM
Realistic signings :cool:
In fairness you did say who we would like t sign in that case wayne rooney.
Realistically kevin mchugh and with the amount of players they have sitting in the stand shels cud get rid of a few midfielders at a cut down price...................... stewy any1:confused: ;)
09/11/2005, 2:11 PM
Ha ha. Legend, I'd forgotten about that. Hope Galway come up next year now. :D
09/11/2005, 2:43 PM
John 83
We need Kenna and McNally fit plus at least two other decent centre-backs when they aren't. This season's experience proves it.
We're UCD though, not an EPL club. Our thin squad even facilitates the academy nature of our club with U-21s being constantly tossed in to fill positions. Sometimes they aren't up to it and sometimes they are, but it means youth always gets a chance and the revolver belt keeps turning.
09/11/2005, 3:18 PM
Any chance Dupay might be out of UCD?
Quite likely I'd say unfortunately.
11/11/2005, 6:22 PM
We're going up so anything is possible...
F**k it! Thierry Henry!;)