View Full Version : Irish slang
finlma
04/11/2005, 9:45 AM
One of the funny things I find about living in Ireland is the slang words that come out of different towns/cities. I lived in Limerick for a few years and got to know about scobes and tackies. I've a few mates from Tuam and thats the madest place for slang - they've got their own language there.
Below is a few words of slang, they're origin and translation. Anyone care to add?
Scobe - Knacker / scumbag (Limerick)
Tackies - Runners / trainers (Limerick)
Sham - Knacker / scumbag (Kilkenny / Waterford)
Jammer - Car (Tuam)
Chat - Thing (Tuam)
Chice - Excellent / Great (Tuam)
Reddies - Money (Tuam)
Thats only a few - there are loads more. If someone from Tuam asks you "how many reddies did you pay for that jammer" you'll know what they're talking about.
04/11/2005, 9:53 AM
In Sligo we use Cat for Bad.Never knew it was strange until someone from Donegal started laughing when someone said it.
Da Real Rover
04/11/2005, 10:00 AM
Ya we use sham and mink for scumbag in sligo aswell.
Mint for something real good.
Steamed for being ****ed.
And you could use rank for nearly anything up here.
04/11/2005, 10:10 AM
[QUOTE=finlma]
Scobe - Knacker / scumbag (Limerick)
Tackies - Runners / trainers (Limerick)
Sham - Knacker / scumbag (Kilkenny / Waterford)
Jammer - Car (Tuam)
Chat - Thing (Tuam)
Chice - Excellent / Great (Tuam)
Reddies - Money (Tuam)
[QUOTE]
I'd say there used all over the country, the only ones id never use/heard of would be "Chice" and "Sham"
04/11/2005, 10:11 AM
Grunger for the Skater dudes,but id say that is used everywhere.
04/11/2005, 10:18 AM
the only ones id never use/heard of would be "Chice" and "Sham"
I'd imagine "chice" comes from the mullaghs being unable to pronounce the word, choice.
Dotsy
04/11/2005, 10:21 AM
Jammer and reddies have also been used as long as I can remember in Dublin.
Skanger for knacker but it's probably used all over not just Dublin.
finlma
04/11/2005, 10:26 AM
I'd imagine "chice" comes from the mullaghs being unable to pronounce the word, choice.
It actually comes from choc-ice. Don't ask - you'll have to find a Tuam person.
04/11/2005, 10:45 AM
cat - bad
pup - rogue
cute - sly fooker
quare one - the missus or some slag. no real boundaries there.
tippin - ridin
jees - for jesus, as you dont to take the lords name in vain
dip your ring in this - i dont reallly know what that means but i pretend i do when someone says it, i can take a good guess what it is though.
FLAB - fcuk like a beast.
04/11/2005, 10:57 AM
Sham is used in Limerick as well for knacker
Eire06
04/11/2005, 11:01 AM
hure - as in you f**ker, used in jest
Ya rare hure ya - you fool (used in Donegal an derry a lot)
04/11/2005, 11:08 AM
we say hoor though as in whore but like
your a cute hooor, i spose its just dif dialects is pronounced differently.
ollie
04/11/2005, 11:26 AM
for the cork dictionary click here (http://www.peoplesrepublicofcork.com/index.php?module=Dictionary&func=lettersearch&letterget=All&vid=1)
my favourite is:
I will yeah [compund verb] : I will not.
carrickharp
04/11/2005, 12:05 PM
In Sligo we use Cat for Bad.Never knew it was strange until someone from Donegal started laughing when someone said it.
They laughed? That’s cat!! Donegal is a big county and some of the slag up north Donegal is different than south Donegal.
LONGFORD
mink-knacker
sham-sometimes knacker,sometimes just used as a laugh when talking to someone
munch-food
lush-drink
chatty-thing
boure(spell check)-any woman
feek-nice woman
to feek-to ride
04/11/2005, 3:24 PM
for the cork dictionary click here (http://www.peoplesrepublicofcork.com/index.php?module=Dictionary&func=lettersearch&letterget=All&vid=1)Don't be linking to that bunch of mockeyah (http://www.dowtchaboy.com/) foreign wackers at all boy. Try here (http://www.corkslang.com/), or here (http://www.dowtchaboy.com/). Both BEECHER.NET productions I might add! :)
04/11/2005, 3:37 PM
for the cork dictionary click here (http://www.peoplesrepublicofcork.com/index.php?module=Dictionary&func=lettersearch&letterget=All&vid=1)
my favourite is:
I will yeah [compund verb] : I will not.
In Limerick that's usually answered with "you won't no!"
04/11/2005, 4:37 PM
LONGFORD
mink-knacker
munch-food
lush-drink
chatty-thing
feek-nice woman
to feek-to ride
Alot of them are used here (galway city anyway)
blobbyblob
04/11/2005, 7:21 PM
quare in wexford = very
Bosco
04/11/2005, 11:51 PM
to bowsey-to mess about
bowsey-a messer/waster
Thunderblaster
07/11/2005, 10:35 PM
Gyppo/thady-knacker
Blow in/down the liners-person that moved in from another county
Buffer/bogger/culchie-a rough country farmer
Gaisur/chisler-child
Press-cabinet
Box-television
Banger-old car
Ass-donkey
Slut-prostitute
Bent-a gay/lesbian
Yoyos-euros
Smokes-cigarettes
Gargle-drink
Snug-alcove
Shivnons (phonetic pronounciation)-heat or distant lightning
Minerals-soft drinks
Ginger/carrot-a red head
Till-cash register
Can anyone come up with the nicknames of people living in towns and cities, eg, Dubs are known as Jackeens, Southside Dubs are known as Yuppies, Drogheda people are known as Drogs, Monaghan people are known as Mons.
08/11/2005, 9:30 AM
Some Limerick Expressions :)
cmereaniwantcha = Would you mind coming over here for a second
janawmean = do you no what I mean?
pieball/lachie/pikie = member of the travelling community
swear = are you being wholly truthful?
daaaycnet = nice/decent
della = A woman of dubious character
Tis in my boll ix =I'm not sure thats 100% correct
08/11/2005, 9:36 AM
roscommon people are known as rossies :)
prolly the best one ye can get cos it aint as obvious as mons or drogs anyhoo.
08/11/2005, 11:49 AM
cmereaniwantcha = Would you mind coming over here for a second
janawmean = do you no what I mean?
daaaycnet = nice/decentHa ha, class:D
LONGFORD
mink-knacker
munch-food
lush-drink
chatty-thing
feek-nice woman
to feek-to ride
It's some wheeze alright ;)
08/11/2005, 2:16 PM
Jeetyet= did you eat yet?
Nawjohnto= No, do you want to?
gwayourdah=Really?
Drunk Kildare lingo.
08/11/2005, 2:21 PM
"well boy whats the craic with ya" seems to pass for hello how are you in sligo
08/11/2005, 2:23 PM
"well boy whats the craic with ya" seems to pass for hello how are you in sligoor this: "well, wha are ya up ta?":D
carrickharp
08/11/2005, 2:48 PM
Any crack at ya? (Not to be used in the States as I found out to my pearl on my first time there:eek: )
08/11/2005, 2:53 PM
Any crack at ya? (Not to be used in the States as I found out to my pearl on my first time there:eek: )
Or don't ask for a pack of fag's:eek: :D
the americans get a few quare looks also when they ask for a ride(lift) in this country
Dawn_Run
08/11/2005, 3:33 PM
From Waterford:
whaddayatawkinaboutboy = you're wrong
lack - girlfriend
cant - to kick ones football into an inaccessibile area
eamoss
08/11/2005, 3:48 PM
Dundalk slang, Makes more sense then other ones I think.
Well - Hello
Wee - Small
Now this one is really unheard of but I have heard a few people say it.
Scrag - Female scumbag
Thunderblaster
08/11/2005, 6:25 PM
The biggest slang word in Cork is...... Langer!!:D
08/11/2005, 6:34 PM
Dundalk slang, Makes more sense then other ones I think.
Well - Hello
yup thats used in Sligo too:eek:
08/11/2005, 6:46 PM
yup thats used in Sligo too:eek:Except it's usually followed by the word "sham":D
08/11/2005, 6:52 PM
or
"well boy"
"well buck"
"well bucko"
It's some wheeze alright ;)
:D Some buzz Sham!
SHOES!-used to highlight an individuals shoes
JACKET!-used to highlight an individuals jacket
HD!-used to highlight an individuals choice of hairstyle
Buckying-Drinking