View Full Version : Racist incident in Liverpool v Anderlecht

redgav
01/11/2005, 10:48 PM
can't believe that in this day and age ,a professional footballer would racially abuse another footballer on the pitch in the way it was done tonite
The look of hurt on sissoko's face was heart breaking after it
Uefa should throw the book at him ,tho knowing that shower of bottlers ,it'll be swept under the carpet

way to go tv3 ( and the agenda filled sky ) totally misreading the incident and even more so missing neilsens interview afterwards
Delighted the referee took action against the player -

pity sky can't be saying anything nice about a referee that sent of both their wonderboys tho

01/11/2005, 10:52 PM
Who abused Sissoko and in what way?:confused:

redgav
01/11/2005, 11:00 PM
Who abused Sissoko and in what way?:confused:

yer man that got sent off,the serbian fella for anderlecht - came on as sub , was tripped as he went past sissoko ,and when he got up called him something that sounds like " You fcukin moon"
Nielson was standing next to him,heard it and gave him a straight red ...said after the game on ITV that he sent him off for giving racist abuse

TV3 and Sky chose to ignore this fact and instead focus on his sending off fatboy and the ponce in past england games

01/11/2005, 11:24 PM
TV3 and Sky chose to ignore this fact and instead focus on his sending off fatboy and the ponce in past england games

Why does'nt this surprise me:( .

They should hit this guy (racist, if proven.did'nt see it myself) heavy with a ban and fine and then literally throw the book at him and I hope its heay with sharp edges:mad: .

Clifford
01/11/2005, 11:28 PM
yer man that got sent off,the serbian fella for anderlecht - came on as sub , was tripped as he went past sissoko ,and when he got up called him something that sounds like " You fcukin moon"
Nielson was standing next to him,heard it and gave him a straight red ...said after the game on ITV that he sent him off for giving racist abuse

Story correct, but I watched Tosh and Lawro state they thought it was harsh at the time, but then they saw the replay and were both appaled that what it appeared was said looked racist. So TV3 did not gloss over it.

Good on Kim as well, good ref.

01/11/2005, 11:32 PM
This is disgracful. I didn't see the game or the incident so cant comment on what happened but this player should be given a season long ban. Racism is not acceptable in football anymore:mad:

Clifford
01/11/2005, 11:40 PM
This is disgracful. I didn't see the game or the incident so cant comment on what happened but this player should be given a season long ban. Racism is not acceptable in football anymore:mad:

Need to throw him out for a long time, he's caught on camera saying it. I only hope that Sissoko and Pool make a point of getting this guy done cos it's heartbreaking that it still happens.

I'm watching Chels game in Seville now and I'm not sure what to make of some of the noises coming from the stands either.

02/11/2005, 1:46 AM
Racism was never acceptable in football Sligoman.Course it was. It was often acceptable in football years ago just like it was acceptable in life too, unfortunately:mad:

lim abroad
02/11/2005, 4:26 AM
Course it was. It was often acceptable in football years ago just like it was acceptable in life too, unfortunately:mad:
think you're way off the mark there.

02/11/2005, 7:24 AM
think you're way off the mark there.

Acceptable might be the wrong word for sligoman to use.
But he's certainly correct if his point is that it was tolerated.

beautifulrock
02/11/2005, 7:38 AM
Well done to the referee, no hesitation the red card was straight out. The look of surprise on the Anderlecht player was amazing, almost implying that he had no right to get sent off for making this remark.

To be fair to TV3, once it started to become clear that it was for a racist remark then they ame down heavily on the offender.

finlma
02/11/2005, 8:13 AM
I think the two boys on ITV were too thick to realise why he was sent off or else they didn't feel like handling the hot racism potato. Memories of Big Ron came flooding back.

02/11/2005, 8:29 AM
But he's certainly correct if his point is that it was tolerated.
Yeah, you just have to look at the success of sitcoms like "Love Thy Neighbour", and the people who looked at Alf Garnet as a hero in Till Death Do Us Part.

02/11/2005, 9:39 AM
wasnt the point of "till death do us part" to show up people like alf garnett for the idiots they are .

ccfcman
02/11/2005, 10:19 AM
long ban. Racism is not acceptable in football anymore:mad:

And when the hell was it acceptable?

CraftyToePoke
02/11/2005, 10:19 AM
Phil Thompson on the sky soccer special did say he could only assume it must have been for a racist remark when it first happened. i didnt watch that chanel much longer though so i dont know how much more he was 'allowed' to say on it.

i went to club bruges v racing genk in the belgian league about a year ago and some of the tripe coming from the stands from both sets of supporters towards black players genuinely shocked me.and within view and earshot of stewards.

all towards the players on the opposing side,not to their own sides black players. so it is tolerated over there to some extent. not good.

JoeSemi
02/11/2005, 11:34 AM
I think we've been here before with Serbs so its not surprising in that sense. No footballer should be subjected to that abuse in this day and age and fair play to Nielsen for acting so decisively. Also makes you think what any black teamates of his think of it all. None too pleased I'd imagine.

02/11/2005, 11:41 AM
wasnt the point of "till death do us part" to show up people like alf garnett for the idiots they are .
Yes, but (far to) many couldn't see it.

02/11/2005, 11:41 AM
Hate to cause a row or anything here but isn't there a slight bit of hypocrisy at the crux of what is a freedom of speech issue? Don't get me wrong I am by no means a racist and most of the policies of the far right disgust me but why is it that it is presumed banter to call somone from Dublin a junkie or someone from Limerick Stab City scum etc. but when you insult a black player it is going beyond the pale. Surely someon born in Dublin or Limerick can help it no more than someone else can help the colour of their skin :confused:

Could it not be that the whole hub bub about racism in recent times merely involves a lot of the guilty conciences of the weak willed liberal left?

02/11/2005, 12:46 PM
But he's certainly correct if his point is that it was tolerated.Yeah, I suppose that's a better way of putting it:o. It was used in football and nobody really bothered about it so it was tolerated/accepted

Tired&Emotional
02/11/2005, 1:17 PM
I'm watching Chels game in Seville now and I'm not sure what to make of some of the noises coming from the stands either.

Yes - I heard racist chants/monkey noises coming from the Betis fans last nite as well directed at Essien and Gallas.....heard it for the first 20-25 mins or so but then seemed to stop or more likey a microphone near them was moved/ switched off. The Spanish fans are still at it.....:mad:

02/11/2005, 1:30 PM
Don't get me wrong I am by no means a racist ... but

Always a dodgy phrase to use in discussions about race/racism. It's used so often to kick-off a racist rant that it always raises red flags (By the way, I'm not implying that's what you were doing :) ).

It's like the old "some of my best friends are black" or the more common "How can I be racist - I work with a black fella and I don't have any problem with him but..."

02/11/2005, 1:38 PM
It was your man Jestrovic.

I'm not condoning it but it's happened with Serbs before.

02/11/2005, 1:47 PM
(By the way, I'm not implying that's what you were doing :) ).

Apologies, I'm not as elequent as I could be early in the day :o
Its just an interesting point that was put to me last night and I thought could do with some following up. Why is it that racial abuse is suddenly so unacceptable? I mean, surely anyone can see a distinct difference between racially abusing an opponent to rile them up and being an actual, fully fledged KKK member who keeps people pickled in barrells at the bottom of his garden. :confused:

BTW I agree that the old excuses you wheeled out are indeed pathetic in their cowardice. If I've a problem with someone I've a problem with them their race doesn't and shouldn't come into it.

As for Superfranks post about it happening with Serb's before :rolleyes:

02/11/2005, 1:50 PM
As for Superfranks post about it happening with Serb's before :rolleyes:
Sounds racist, I know but ever hear of Sinisa Mijhalovic?

02/11/2005, 1:59 PM

Yes indeed I have, had quite a detailed conversation about him on the way to Dublin City Saturday as it turns outs :p

Now have you ever heard of the Klu Klux Klan, the BNP, the Lega Nord..... see the point I'm getting at :confused: Any percieved racism by the Serb people, although unacceptable is understandable given the tragic history of their country. To single them out as racists in a racism thread when there are other much bigger candidates smacks a tiny bit of hypocrisy

02/11/2005, 2:06 PM
I hate those Serbs, they're all racists. :rolleyes:

02/11/2005, 2:07 PM
Now have you ever heard of the Klu Klux Klan, the BNP, the Lega Nord..... see the point I'm getting at :confused: Any percieved racism by the Serb people, although unacceptable is understandable given the tragic history of their country. To single them out as racists in a racism thread when there are other much bigger candidates smacks a tiny bit of hypocrisy
Did I say all Serbs are racist?? No.

I said it has happened with Serbs before.

I'm sure it's happened with Irish people before, oh wait I just called us all racists, run to the hills.

It's very easy to generalise.

I suppose the BBC are also racist seen as they call him a Serb here. (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/europe/4398894.stm)

02/11/2005, 2:13 PM
It's very easy to generalise.

Indeed it is a point you so brilliantly proved on post 24 of this thread ;) :)

The Mihajlovic comment actually raised an interesting point that goes back to my earlier posts. At the time Mihajlovic said that the reason he called Viera a monkey was because Viera called him a "dirty gypsy" Where was Viera's worldwide condemnation for his racial slur :confused:

02/11/2005, 2:17 PM
Lim Till I Die hits the nail on the head for me. Cut out the Serbian stuff. There are millions of Serbs. Why are people pointing out the Serbian link if they're not trying to insinuate something?

02/11/2005, 2:17 PM
why is it that it is presumed banter to call somone from Dublin a junkie or someone from Limerick Stab City scumAs far as I'm concerned, it's not. It's hard to trap it on Foot.ie because it's so prevalent, but I try to tackle people on it when I get a chance. If you or anyone else see someone using those terms on Foot.ie, you should click the Report This Post icon at the top-right of the post.

http://foot.ie/images/buttons/report.gif

The term "banter" is used both at games and here on Foot.ie far too much as an excuse for ignorant behaviour. I don't like it one bit, and I have a major problem with the word because of that.

02/11/2005, 2:18 PM
Indeed it is a point you so brilliantly proved on post 24 of this thread ;) :)

The Mihajlovic comment actually raised an interesting point that goes back to my earlier posts. At the time Mihajlovic said that the reason he called Viera a monkey was because Viera called him a "dirty gypsy" Where was Viera's worldwide condemnation for his racial slur :confused:
For the last time, I did NOT say "All Serbians are racist", I said "it has happened with Serbians before" Read into that anyway you want but I will not have anyone call me something I'm not.

Viera's comments are news to me.

02/11/2005, 2:20 PM
Lim Till I Die hits the nail on the head for me. Cut out the Serbian stuff. There are millions of Serbs. Why are people pointing out the Serbian link if they're not trying to insinuate something?
I was merely saying it had happened with Serbs before, it's not my fault if people are so conniving and paranoid they have to find hidden agendas for everything people post on here.

02/11/2005, 2:21 PM
As far as I'm concerned, it's not. It's hard to trap it on Foot.ie because it's so prevalent, but I try to tackle people on it when I get a chance. If you or anyone else see someone using those terms on Foot.ie, you should click the Report This Post icon at the top-right of the post.Expect a sharp increase in bad posts been reported so Adam cos that term is used a lot on here

02/11/2005, 2:22 PM
As far as I'm concerned, it's not. It's hard to trap it on Foot.ie because it's so prevalent, but I try to tackle people on it when I get a chance. If you or anyone else see someone using those terms on Foot.ie, you should click the Report This Post icon at the top-right of the post.

http://foot.ie/images/buttons/report.gif

The term "banter" is used both at games and here on Foot.ie far too much as an excuse for ignorant behaviour. I don't like it one bit, and I have a major problem with the word because of that.

Fair enough. The point that I was trying to get across was that these terms seem to be far more socially acceptable than racist remarks and I personally don't see the difference

02/11/2005, 2:26 PM
I was merely saying it had happened with Serbs before, it's not my fault if people are so conniving and paranoid they have to find hidden agendas for everything people post on here.

Yes, but why even mention the "S" word :confused: . It's common knowledge that a lot of Serbs are unjustifiably percieved as racist and for you to enforce that stereotype in a racism thread was pretty stupid

As for Viera's comment's being news to you, of course they are, think you'll find all the media jumped on the "Let's hang the racist Slav" bandwagon and ignored that poor innocent angel Viera's part in any argument

02/11/2005, 3:23 PM
Expect a sharp increase in bad posts been reported so Adam cos that term is used a lot on hereWell, it'll filter through the mods anyway, because that's the way Foot.ie is set up. But I wouldn't mind receiving all of those complaints, it's something I feel should be dealt with. I just hope the mods will deal with it the way I'd like them to.

02/11/2005, 5:22 PM

I fail to see why you'd feel the need to mention this point. What exactly were you saying with it if you weren't making an insinuation or comment about Serbs?

1 9 2 8
02/11/2005, 5:34 PM
Glad you feel that way. I hope you now know to take action against racist scum

02/11/2005, 5:35 PM
If you or anyone else see someone using those terms on Foot.ie, you should click the Report This Post icon at the top-right of the post.

I can't see any icon at the top right of any post.

02/11/2005, 5:58 PM

Thats because, as we've told you thousands of times, you're a fascist... :D

Anyway, genrally speaking (I know:rolleyes: ) there's far more casual rascism in eastern european countries than there is here (or the UK, where we get most of our media from) It also doesn't help that the vast majority of football supporters are young males, who as a breed are particularly ignorent and liable to join in with group activites when ****ed on cheap beer

02/11/2005, 6:00 PM
I can't see any icon at the top right of any post.http://beecher.org/media/v/screens/icon.html

Thats because, as we've told you thousands of times, you're a fascist... :D But I'm not any more. I'm Such. A Bitch.

CraftyToePoke
03/11/2005, 9:29 AM
Hate to cause a row or anything here but isn't there a slight bit of hypocrisy at the crux of what is a freedom of speech issue? Don't get me wrong I am by no means a racist and most of the policies of the far right disgust me but why is it that it is presumed banter to call somone from Dublin a junkie or someone from Limerick Stab City scum etc. but when you insult a black player it is going beyond the pale. Surely someon born in Dublin or Limerick can help it no more than someone else can help the colour of their skin :confused:

Could it not be that the whole hub bub about racism in recent times merely involves a lot of the guilty conciences of the weak willed liberal left?

I think the difference between calling someone from dublin a junkie or calling you or i a stab city knacker, and racially abusing someone are poles apart because the dubliner or the limerick man may not be a junkie or a knifer .... but the black person is black.

do you get me?

03/11/2005, 9:37 AM
I think the difference between calling someone from dublin a junkie or calling you or i a stab city knacker, and racially abusing someone are poles apart because the dubliner or the limerick man may not be a junkie or a knifer .... but the black person is black.

do you get me?

A fair and valid point :o But is the person in question still not getting abused for something completely outside their control :confused:

I just though it was a bit of a moral issue to bring up. Why is it that people at a game can get away with all kinds of abuse (with the two above examples they might even get a cheap laugh or two depending on the game) but if someone was to start making monkey noises they would be most likely banned

CraftyToePoke
03/11/2005, 10:10 AM
A fair and valid point :o But is the person in question still not getting abused for something completely outside their control :confused:

I just though it was a bit of a moral issue to bring up. Why is it that people at a game can get away with all kinds of abuse (with the two above examples they might even get a cheap laugh or two depending on the game) but if someone was to start making monkey noises they would be most likely banned

I see what you are getting at and in the strictest terms, i suppose both both are unacceptable , but they are definately not one and the same.the origins of racial abuse are far more sinister than those of a bit of limerick/dublin name calling, and should be treated as such.

03/11/2005, 10:24 AM
I see what you are getting at and in the strictest terms, i suppose both both are unacceptable , but they are definately not one and the same.the origins of racial abuse are far more sinister than those of a bit of limerick/dublin name calling, and should be treated as such.

Agreed to a certain extent that they are not the same. Personally it doesn't bother me in the slightest what race someone is (9 out of 10 people are ar$es regardless of colour/creed :) ) but does it not raise a moral issue within this insanely politically correct society of ours?

Surely if race was of as little consequence to most people as they make out then the boundaries would not only be blurred but non-existant and racially abusing someone would be deemed unacceptable only in the same context as calling someone fat, ugly etc. would be unacceptable

CraftyToePoke
03/11/2005, 10:53 AM
Agreed to a certain extent that they are not the same. Personally it doesn't bother me in the slightest what race someone is (9 out of 10 people are ar$es regardless of colour/creed :) ) but does it not raise a moral issue within this insanely politically correct society of ours?

Surely if race was of as little consequence to most people as they make out then the boundaries would not only be blurred but non-existant and racially abusing someone would be deemed unacceptable only in the same context as calling someone fat, ugly etc. would be unacceptable

yes,but in reality,society is a long way from that and there are degrees of wrongness (is that even a word?:confused: ) rightly or wrongly. and what went on in that game the other night must cease to occur.it can never be any other way. it will,im my opinion,always be in a different sphere to the other 'isms' in society.

03/11/2005, 11:05 AM
yes,but in reality,society is a long way from that and there are degrees of wrongness (is that even a word ) rightly or wrongly. and what went on in that game the other night must cease to occur.it can never be any other way. it will,im my opinion,always be in a different sphere to the other 'isms' in society.

Fair Enough. Personally I still think there is a lot of free speech/ hypocrisy problems involved with this issue that need ironing out. I also think we could probably spend forever and a day arguing about it :o

As for "wrongness" being a word I've been known to use it after several pints ;) :)

Sliogán Dóite
03/11/2005, 12:00 PM
http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,1563,1607246,00.html

06/11/2005, 8:11 AM

Insulting anyone because of what they look like , what ethnicity they have , or their national identity, is xenophobic and racist. Sissoko has like everyone else the right, not to have to put up with that sh1t on or off the football field.

And being Anti-Serb is as bad as any other form of prejudice. For the record Jestrovic claims he told Sissoko to go **** himself..... which in itself is not racist, as he would have said it just as easily to any opponent in a similar situation.
He pleads guilty to using bad language and swearing. Now some referees also see that as a red card offense.

And just because Mihajlovic has a track record in this area is no reason to tar all of his fellow professional sportsmen from his country with the same brush.

And one final point Referee Nielsen has a track record of being an attention seeker... Alan Kelly syndrome if you like