View Full Version : O'Neill not interest in being next Ireland Manager

Pages : 1 [2]

26/10/2005, 8:53 PM
Pats fans won't be favoured on this forum if they want their own country to fail. tut tut.

26/10/2005, 8:58 PM
Don't really care. Pats are my team. Never thought I'd say it but Ireland can fook off.

26/10/2005, 9:03 PM
Don't really care. Pats are my team. Never thought I'd say it but Ireland can fook off.

26/10/2005, 9:05 PM
I don't understand that at all tbh, I'd have very little interest in football if I didn't care about Ireland.

27/10/2005, 2:50 AM
I was fully behind Kerr up til the last 2 matches but was 50/50 about letting him go as long as someone that the FAI felt were better was brought in. The main reason for this is I couldn't stand any more of the anti-Kerr crap in the media and was fed up with them putting a negative spin on everything. With every day that goes past I just feel more strongly that the FAI have completely fecked it up and Kerr should have been given another chance.
The difference between a new contract or none was thin. Probably 2 points but on the last night, 2 points looked very far away. I believe 2 points would have taken most of the ground away from Delaney and the fickle media. What hit me most was to see Delaney publicly denigrating Kerr on TV when spouting out his criteria and the qualities that the next manager should have. Absolutely no grace to appreciate the dedication to the job that Kerr brought.

27/10/2005, 7:17 AM
pardon:confused:

sorry man, I meant the journalist who asked MON the awkward question. Nothin you said!!!

27/10/2005, 10:08 AM
By the way, hilarious stuff from Tony Cascarino in the Hot Press This week. After getting stuck into Kerr he then gives his views on the new manager. According to Cas the new man should be "somebody who has first hand knowledge of Irish football from the Eircom league up" - Um you mean, someone like, say, Brian Kerr, Tony ?. He then states his preferred candidate to be Martin O'Neill, who, despite his undoubted qualities, certainly doesn't have first hand knowledge of the game here. Tony then comes up with this little gem "I think there's talent at clubs like Cork City and Shelbourne that could be developed by the right manager" Really Tony, how the hell do you know that ? Anyone seen him at Turners Cross or Tolka lately? Mind you, I am impressed that he can name two clubs from the league here :p

He's clearly been spending too much time with Dolan in the Setanta studios - the poor lad is brainwashed. He was calling it the "Air-Con League" :D a few weeks ago and now he's singing its praises. Also note the criticism of Brian Kerr and touting Martin O'Neill for the job. Dolan was convinced the FAI had already approached MO'N and it was a done deal before Kerr got the bullet. Let's hope he put a large wager on it! :p

27/10/2005, 10:18 AM
In fairness lads, hold off the criticism off JD and the FAI until we find out who is appointed. They may just surprise us all yet.

I have a feeling yesterdays comments by MON may be a bit of a smokescreen, wouldnt be surprised if he ends up in the job in a few months. He has stated his desire in the past at managing Ireland.

From what Ive heard the FAI have received a huge amount of applications for the job......might throw one in meself.

wallis
27/10/2005, 10:34 AM
Lets face it , the chances of us having a manager before christmas are about zero.

They can take their time , we dont have a game before March and nothing competitive till september.

My guess - the FAI will wait until the summer , see whose about , who has been sacked or quit and then make the appointment. That way there will be a lot of managers on the market because in all honesty the only ones being touted now are either

1 . out of a job (so not considered good enough for any other position)
2. ex-players with little or no experience
3. 'names' being touted up who frankly have no chance

Its going to be a lonnnng season.

27/10/2005, 10:46 AM
Lets face it , the chances of us having a manager before christmas are about zero.

They can take their time , we dont have a game before March and nothing competitive till september.

My guess - the FAI will wait until the summer , see whose about , who has been sacked or quit and then make the appointment. That way there will be a lot of managers on the market because in all honesty the only ones being touted now are either

1 . out of a job (so not considered good enough for any other position)
2. ex-players with little or no experience
3. 'names' being touted up who frankly have no chance

Its going to be a lonnnng season.
Wallis, Disagree and have only just posted reasons why (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?p=377077#post377077) on another thread

Don Vito
27/10/2005, 12:24 PM
In fairness lads, hold off the criticism off JD and the FAI until we find out who is appointed. They may just surprise us all yet.

I have a feeling yesterdays comments by MON may be a bit of a smokescreen, wouldnt be surprised if he ends up in the job in a few months. He has stated his desire in the past at managing Ireland.

From what Ive heard the FAI have received a huge amount of applications for the job......might throw one in meself.

Agree with you here Elroy, don't think MON is out of the running yet. The FAI will prob give him till May to decide. They've probably agreed that he plays it down in public, that way if they have to appoint someone else it won't look like they are second choice to MON.

youngirish
27/10/2005, 12:52 PM
They need this time to get someone good with some decent managerial experience behind them at a decent level. They went for the cheap approach last time with BK and look what that got us our poorest qualifying campaign in living memory and almost three years where our best competitive win was against those powers of world football Albania.

BobbySands
27/10/2005, 1:12 PM
I could tolerate the FAI being shortsighted and stupid in terminating Kerr while there is no real alternative lined up. After all they have always been incompetent messers.

What I'll alway find hard to forgive is the nasty, vindictive, backstabbing way in which they treated their manager.

SaucyJack
27/10/2005, 1:23 PM
Rehagel? any thoughts?

Greek coach emerges as possible candidate

October 27, 2005

Otto Rehhagel, who guided Greece to a shock victory in the European Championships last year, could emerge as a serious candidate for the vacant Irish manager’s job after his future in the Greek job was revealed as uncertain this week.

The German sent shockwaves through the world of football as his ultra-organised side eclipsed the best teams on the continent to lift the Euro 2004 title in Portugal.

However, his side failed to qualify for next summer’s World Cup finals and, while the Greek federation want to keep him on for another term, his contract expires at the end of the calendar year and he has yet to make a decision on his future.

Vassilis Gagatsis, the president of the Greek federation, said: “We all have faith in Rehhagel, he is the coach that can give more to this team and is the most reliable solution for us.

"In my opinion he is going to stay but that might change. I cannot confirm that he is staying with the same certainty I had after the European Championship.

"He probably has not made his mind up yet. He would like to stay and that is the fans’ wish too. All the media, all the people want Otto Rehhagel.”

The race for the Irish manager’s hotseat was blown wide open on Wednesday when long-time favourite Martin O’Neill ruled himself out, while Frenchman Philippe Troussier, who had made his interest known last week, was revealed as the new manager of African side Morocco.

http://www.eleven-a-side.com/boysingreen/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=19713

27/10/2005, 1:30 PM
Its not over until its over as they say and the same goes for the MoN debate. He could well take the job next August when we play our first competitive match. I cant see the FAI racing to appoint a new manager just yet.

Green Army Girl
27/10/2005, 1:37 PM
I thought i heard that Martin O'Neill is still on the Celtics payroll in a "consultancy role" which he gets something like €50,000.00 and of course with his wife being sick there is no real need for him to take the job even though it would be obviously a great honour.

Maybe they need a woman to fill the job and no jokes this time :)

27/10/2005, 2:56 PM
€50,000.00

add another 0 before the , there love

id say he would be well tempted by the money in the above case! :)

Green Army Girl
27/10/2005, 3:55 PM
add another 0 before the , there love

id say he would be well tempted by the money in the above case! :)

€500,000.00, im telling you lads you get Gabby Yorath for €50,000.00 and sure she could ask her dad for advice. I know nobody is not going to agree with me but i think Ray Houghton wouldnt be a bad choice i dont think he has his badges and hasnt managed but maybe in a few years time when he might have these two things i wouldnt say he would be half bad.