View Full Version : Congragulations to Kevin Mchugh

cheifo
24/10/2005, 11:19 AM
on reachin 100 league goals for Finn Harps.For a fella in his mid twenties
he has done very well.Anybody know current league players who have scored more?Crowe & Byrne I presume?

higgins
24/10/2005, 11:38 AM
Crowe only got his 100th a few months back I think.
Byrne is around 120 as far as I know

Div 1 games should not count :)

EireBadBoy
24/10/2005, 12:05 PM
Aye, he's enjoying himself this season! :p

Strabane_Harp
24/10/2005, 12:30 PM
12 goals for the team on bottom, i would say he is doing quite well Badboy

24/10/2005, 12:37 PM
His lack of ambition in refusing to move to a bigger club is either telling or admirable..........Big fish, small pond.

fbtn
24/10/2005, 12:43 PM
His lack of ambition in refusing to move to a bigger club is either telling or admirable..........Big fish, small pond.

It is called loyalty. If he goes after this season though, I don't think anyone connected with Harps would give him grief about it.

He has a good IT job with the County Council, owns two sports shops and plays for the team he loves. Lack of ambition?? Whatever.

True Harps legend.

Krstic
24/10/2005, 12:53 PM
As much as it has annoyed me in the past when he turned us down, I'd love to see him playing for Derry next year...................can't see it though.

joey B
24/10/2005, 1:06 PM
Congratulations Kevin!!

Speranza
24/10/2005, 1:31 PM
Loyalty my arse, I can see Mr Mc Who heading south to Sligo next year when Harps are sent back to rot in the 1st.

He's a pathetic little twirp who has failed in the premier TWICE. Harp's and Mc Who - both ambitionless SMALL entities who aren't going anywhere.

joey B
24/10/2005, 1:57 PM
How is scoring 12 goals in a team as poor as our's seen as a failure:confused:
Your a sad,bitter little man:rolleyes:

lofty9
24/10/2005, 2:15 PM
From what I hear he'll be doing his greyhound celebrations regularly at the Brandywell next year. ;)

coislaoi
24/10/2005, 2:57 PM
From what I hear he'll be doing his greyhound celebrations regularly at the Brandywell next year. ;)

Heard that too. Isn't one of his shops in Derry or is he going to open one there - something like that?

24/10/2005, 4:35 PM
Fair play to him. A great player. He seems to carry Harps sometimes.

24/10/2005, 4:39 PM
Fair play to the fella .... he seemed to bleed Harps in a few of the interviews over the season !!

Mr_T
24/10/2005, 8:22 PM
Fair play to the fella .... he seemed to bleed Harps in a few of the interviews over the season !!

That he does, as do several of Harps first teamers, some of whom were part of the singing gang on the terraces only a couple of years ago.

Harps team is based on local talent, highlighted by the fact that all of the starting eleven which beat Longford 5-0 on Saturday were born and reared in County Donegal.

24/10/2005, 8:34 PM
Harps team is based on local talent, highlighted by the fact that all of the starting eleven which beat Longford 5-0 on Saturday were born and reared in County Donegal.

Great to hear - one of theings i really envy cork for - being successful with mostly locals.

We dont have one local in our side - though ive heard we'll have one in our side next season ;)

24/10/2005, 8:50 PM
Congrats to him. Quality player, with him in the side Harps can always be threatening, 1 goal is never enough. Top player.

wintz
24/10/2005, 8:54 PM
Is he out of contract on will Derry have to pay a fee? Can't see it being cheap as the guy seems to score for fun in a poor team speaks volumes. Well done that man.

Dyl10
24/10/2005, 9:48 PM
Great to hear - one of theings i really envy cork for - being successful with mostly locals.

We dont have one local in our side - though ive heard we'll have one in our side next season ;)

And who might that be?

24/10/2005, 9:51 PM
...i really envy cork

That explains a lot ;) I'll have to save this post :D

24/10/2005, 10:14 PM

I hope you're not thinking of breaking the bank (again) to sign Killian Brennan.....:p

Speranza
24/10/2005, 10:18 PM
The majority of our squad are also local which means more to the fans.

If Cosmo is referring to Killian Brennan then it has been said before and he hasn't moved. There seems to be an amazing team spirit at the minute and can't see him or anyone leaving pre-season.

24/10/2005, 10:25 PM
one of things i really envy cork for - being successful with mostly locals.

I know ... having one Cork man is like having three others !! Its the job !! ;) :cool: :ball:

25/10/2005, 12:01 AM

To be fair ORA, City fans berated Pizza Hutton when he left a medicore Derry team a few years back to fulfill his publically-stated aim of doing one championship-winning season with Shels. Made himself quite a bit of cash from it, then came back to where his heart was.

I'd love to see McHugh at Derry, and think he'd be a great addition to the squad. Him and Mark Farren up-front on the same pitch, with McCourt feeding balls through from the wing and Martyn and Beckett following up in the midfield - would terrify most teams in the league........

25/10/2005, 12:26 AM
I'd love to see McHugh at Derry, and think he'd be a great addition to the squad. Him and Mark Farren up-front on the same pitch, with McCourt feeding balls through from the wing and Martyn and Beckett following up in the midfield - would terrify most teams in the league........

Actually if it were to happen, ye should do well in Europe !!

25/10/2005, 8:19 AM
That explains a lot ;) I'll have to save this post :D

Doh, thats me fcuked now :( - but seriously its great seeing a team with mostly locals doing well - though i suppose ye havent won anything yet :p

carrickharp
25/10/2005, 10:31 AM
Well done Kev, looking foward to you getting another 100 goals for Harps;)

25/10/2005, 2:03 PM
Complete list of centurions from the eL. Active players in italics.

235 – Brendan Bradley
182 – Pat Morley
178 – Turlough O’Connor
162 – Donal Leahy
158 – Stephen Geoghegan
156 – Johnny Matthews
153 – Alfie Hale
143 – Paul McGee
141 – Eric Barber
135 – Sean McCarthy
135 – Jonathan Speak
132 – Mick Leech
130 – Eugene Davis
130 – Jack Fitzgerald
129 – John Caulfield
129 – Austin Noonan
126 – Paddy Coad
120 – Shay Gibbons
118 – Paddy O’Leary
118 – Derek Swan
117 – Mick Byrne
117 – Des Kennedy
117 – Michael O’Connor
115 – David Byrne
111 – Dessie Glynn
115 – Glen Crowe
113 – Andy Myler
112 – Jason Byrne
110 – Con McLoughlin
109 – Paddy Ambrose
109 – Ronnie Whelan Snr
107 – Barry O’Connor
106 – Garry Hulmes
105 – Tim O’Keeffe
103 – Paul Newe
101 – Terry Eviston
100 – Kevin McHugh
100 – Richie Parsons

carrickharp
25/10/2005, 3:02 PM
5 ex Harps players in that list:
Brendan Bradley
Paul McGee
Con McLaughlin
Jonathan Speak
Richie Parsons

25/10/2005, 4:10 PM
Complete list of centurions from the eL.

Of the ones not playing now .... Who was the best ??

25/10/2005, 4:36 PM
Of the ones not playing now .... Who was the best ??

I dunno, but I reckon the guy with the most goals? :rolleyes:

25/10/2005, 4:53 PM
I dunno, but I reckon the guy with the most goals? :rolleyes:

Is that the only thing you measure it by ??

25/10/2005, 4:59 PM
Is that the only thing you measure it by ??

No, Brendan Bradley is a League of Ireland legend (even though an ex-Harp) and of that list I believe him to be the best - oh, and he happens to have scored the most goals; as I previously pointed out.

25/10/2005, 5:17 PM
Alfie Hale could be a shoe-in there aswell i'd say !!

26/10/2005, 12:20 AM
Complete list of centurions from the eL. Active players in italics.

235 – Brendan Bradley
182 – Pat Morley
178 – Turlough O’Connor
162 – Donal Leahy
158 – Stephen Geoghegan
156 – Johnny Matthews
153 – Alfie Hale
143 – Paul McGee
141 – Eric Barber
135 – Sean McCarthy
135 – Jonathan Speak
132 – Mick Leech
130 – Eugene Davis
130 – Jack Fitzgerald
129 – John Caulfield
129 – Austin Noonan
126 – Paddy Coad
120 – Shay Gibbons
118 – Paddy O’Leary
118 – Derek Swan
117 – Mick Byrne
117 – Des Kennedy
117 – Michael O’Connor
115 – David Byrne
111 – Dessie Glynn
115 – Glen Crowe
113 – Andy Myler
112 – Jason Byrne
110 – Con McLoughlin
109 – Paddy Ambrose
109 – Ronnie Whelan Snr
107 – Barry O’Connor
106 – Garry Hulmes
105 – Tim O’Keeffe
103 – Paul Newe
101 – Terry Eviston
100 – Kevin McHugh
100 – Richie Parsons

Great to see/have that list Sheridan.

Where did you get it from ? Are you the new EL Statto....? :D

26/10/2005, 12:22 AM
Where did you get it from ? Are you the new EL Statto....? :DHa, not a chance, it's on Aertel;) :p

26/10/2005, 12:33 AM
Great to see/have that list Sheridan.

Where did you get it from ? Are you the new EL Statto....? :D
It's culled from an eL press release, a surprisingly bountiful source of information and statistics, to give Andy Needham his due. I'd be interested to learn whether, contrary to expectations, some kind of central statistics repository does exist for stuff like this, and what else might be accessible.

26/10/2005, 12:34 AM
It's culled from an eL press release.Where did you find this though?:confused:

26/10/2005, 12:37 AM
Where did you find this though?:confused:
They're circulated by the eL to those on their media mailing list.

They're normally posted on the Shels MB, if you're curious.

26/10/2005, 12:44 AM
They're circulated by the eL to those on their media mailing list.

They're normally posted on the Shels MB, if you're curious.Ok cheers;)

30/10/2005, 1:13 PM
Kevin McHugh might have entered the record books after his two goals against Longford Town last Saturday night that made him only the 38th player in League history to score 100 League of Ireland goals, but another record was broken that night also that not too many might have noticed.

For the first time ever in League football, Harps fielded an entire first eleven made up of Donegal men. The team also had a Donegal man managing them - Anthony Gorman. The side that beat Longford Town 5-0 was as follows:

Cullen (Buncrana)

McGowan (Ballybofey) Bradley (Ballybofey) Boyle (Killybegs) Minnock (Convoy)

Gethins (Lifford) Funston (Letterkenny) Gorman (Letterkenny) McGrenaghan (Fanad)

McHugh (Killea) Breen (Stranorlar)

The above team, between them, have played an amazing 1880 games for the club, scoring 235 goals.

Last week though wasn't the first time that the club fielded an all-Donegal eleven in a competitive fixture. Against Monaghan United in the 2004 League Cup, the club also fielded an all-Donegal team and won that night 3-0.

http://www.soccercentral.ie/viewstory.asp?id=15557&mainheading=Other&viewstory=yes

30/10/2005, 1:20 PM
Good on them - fans like to see local players in their squad.

Though to be fair, I suspect their poor performances this season may be in some part due to the limited mix of players in their squad. There really aren't 11 Premier-standard Donegal men in the Harps squad.....