View Full Version : Tickets available at Swiss match last week - touts
aidz1
19/10/2005, 10:34 AM
went to landsdowne with a friend last wednesday in search of tickets.
met a lad (english accent- in irish colours) with 2 others (irish) who had 12 tickets to sell for the swiss game outside jurys :eek: .
he explained that he had them for mates coming over from england to watch the game, and due to their plane being delayed they would be unable to get to landsdowne on time. this was at about 18:00
the tickets were all together and were for the south bucket. he said he would sell them at €60 each (€30 over face value).
though i am normally against paying anything over face value, we agreed to buy 2 . why? well...he reckoned it'd be some compensation for the london mates in the airport (which i sympathised), also allayed to the fact that they were together and that i would be sorted with considerable time to relax before the game i couldnt resist.
2 other lads near us also bought 1 each.
we told him we may take another (needed to get more money from atm and phone a mate). however the lad was panicy....and just then, quick as a flash a tout sniffed in, and proceeded to part €470 for the remaining 8 tickets. while the deal was being struck i told him several times not to do it, that he was selling to a scumbag tout and he would get genuine buyers in the matter of minutes. this done to no avail....the tout couldnt believe his luck.
when i did take my seat (great position as a matter of fact) the 8 seats to my right were empty.....just before kickoff 8 no. yanks walk in and took up the seats....they wouldnt tell me how much they paid....in fact they didnt know much about the game either :mad: ...they had heard of a player called duff and enquired of his whereabouts :eek: . they spent more time reading their programmes, staring at us chanting and fitting on their free t-shirts than watching the game....
i dont know.....i hadnt really thought about it until now as i was still getting over the disapointment of the game.....i accept that the forementioned yanks can do what they want when they get in, but what i cannot understand is how anyone in their right mind ( and a supposed irish fan) can sell tickets to touts while others are desperate for tickets...it ****es me off altogther....
btw: apoligies if it was any of you formites that got delayed in the airport for the game - and thanks for the tickets!!.... but in future, let someone else with a stronger character be in charge of dispersing tickets in such circumstances
rant over
19/10/2005, 10:52 AM
Well, the biggest tout at USA 94 is now the FAI's Honorary Vice President and if you read a book caled Scum Airways you'll find out even more about the FAI's touting activities. On that basis I've no problem with touts at Ireland games - everyone's at it expect the saps who buy tickets off these people.
19/10/2005, 11:05 AM
and proceeded to part €470 for the remaining 8 tickets.
The guy would have made an extra €10 if he's sold all his tickets to people like you. Hope that wasn't the London ROISSC allocation.
Junior
19/10/2005, 2:48 PM
I am not impressed with him selling the remainder to touts, equally Im not impressed with him selling them to you at double the cost. How is 30euro (£20 GBP) going to compensate the lads that were delayed?
Its not.
19/10/2005, 4:35 PM
ya its not, i wonder who that was, whoever it is isnt going to admit it anyhow. the thing is though i spose if those guys came over from london especially for the game they had to pay for their flights so maybe he saw it as a way to pay for their flights over like, as they didnt get to see the reason tehy came over if ye get me junior. anyhow i think he more likely did it for a few pints for himself.
whoever he is should know well that there was loads of people looking for tickets.
The guy would have made an extra €10 if he's sold all his tickets to people like you. Hope that wasn't the London ROISSC allocation.
Thought most of the clubs allocation is in the east stand? The september news letter said that any tickets not needed should be returned to the club and that any tickets passed to non members would be excluded from the clubs block booking scheme
Prehaps aidz1 could post up the seat numbers he sat in so that it could be checked if they were rissc block bookers
Thought most of the clubs allocation is in the east stand? The september news letter said that any tickets not needed should be returned to the club and that any tickets passed to non members would be excluded from the clubs block booking scheme
Prehaps aidz1 could post up the seat numbers he sat in so that it could be checked if they were rissc block bookers
Better still he could send them the seat numbers to the Blazers and hope:rolleyes: that they might take them from the touts (as they are) and give them to lads and lassies on the waiting list
it should be dealt with by the rissc before that because they are responsible for the tickets, that is if they were even in the supporters club allocation
19/10/2005, 6:50 PM
it should be dealt with by the rissc before that because they are responsible for the tickets, that is if they were even in the supporters club allocation
Have just spoken to a Block Booker from ROISSC London. They only have 12 tickets in the South Buckets and he and his son have 2 of them. The 12 seats are not together, they are in 3 blocks of 4 in different parts, so there is no way these tickets were from the London Club. He says the club can be contacted through their website www.rissc.org (http://www.rissc.org)
thats allright then, didnt think anyone in the club would have sold tickets on, not that one person alone would have all 12 together
20/10/2005, 8:05 AM
didnt think anyone in the club would have sold tickets on
I wasn't trying to single the club out for blame, simply raising the question about what group in the UK would be allocated so many tickets. Of course there's always the possibility that the tickets were obtained on an individual basis.
20/10/2005, 9:21 AM
I am not impressed with him selling the remainder to touts, equally Im not impressed with him selling them to you at double the cost. How is 30euro (£20 GBP) going to compensate the lads that were delayed?
Its not.
Exactly. The first guy was blatantly touting the tickets himself, so it should have been no surprise that he'd happily sell them to another (more obvious) tout. How do you even know there were other lads stranded at the airport:confused: It seems the seller didn't even take his seat next to you?
In my opinion it's far worse for a so-called genuine fan to rip off fans by charging above face value. A tout is a "businessman" - you know what you're getting from him. Fans taking advantage of other fans is a whole different matter.
Before last years All-Ireland hurling final, a Cork fan tried to sell me a ticket for €120. When I told him I wouldn't pay above face value he laughed and said I had no hope of getting a ticket any cheaper than that. Just then an old guy came up and offered me a ticket for cost price. :D Only thing better would have been for the Cork guy to have been stuck with the extra ticket!
20/10/2005, 10:13 AM
Just then an old guy came up and offered me a ticket for cost price. :D
I got my ticket at face value, the night before the game, from an old Cork Hurling fan. He was almost apologetic that it cost €30. Although I suppose €30 is a fortune when you can remember paying 2 shillings for a game. :)
20/10/2005, 10:56 AM
If you still have the stubs then report the tickets you bought.
sylvo
20/10/2005, 11:40 AM
As has been said, the RISSC has a strict rule about people not being able to make games in Dublin and that rule is that tickets get passed back to the club so to be handed on to members who do not have block bookings.
All our tickets are for the East Stand, with a couple of sets of tickets in the North terrace. And we know that all our members that came over from England didn't have travel problems and all made the game without problems.
As Gary said, the stubs from the tickets should be kept and handed over for the FAI to check where these tickets came from. But he would not have been a RISSC London Member.
the ticket i got was for the south bucket, block S05, ROW 26, SEAT 103.
3 of the stated batch of tickets were to my left. the remaining 8 were to my right hand side.
21/10/2005, 10:48 AM
3 of the stated batch of tickets were to my left. the remaining 8 were to my right hand side.
Not much good posting it here, is it?
Why not email the FAI to let them know?
21/10/2005, 12:51 PM
You should write to the F.A.I. - ticket office - 80, Merrion Square, D2.
enclose the stubs or photocopies and detail how you bought them etc.
they do act on these you know.
I got the impression there were a good few tickets for sale outside the ground before the game, not sure at what price though. I wouldnt mind paying 60 for a ticket, its the likes of people asking 150+ for tickets that is just crazy stuff.
Paid it for the france game and it was well worth being there, its not worth that much. i hate the couple of days before a game and if ive no ticket, become very stupid and try to get my hands on tickets whatever the cost.
Cowboy
22/10/2005, 12:43 PM
You should write to the F.A.I. - ticket office - 80, Merrion Square, D2.
enclose the stubs or photocopies and detail how you bought them etc.
they do act on these you know.
I emailed them a seat number of a touted ticket and i got no reply.
Drumcondra Red
23/10/2005, 2:12 PM
Why do people continually moan about touts but then follow it up by saying, ah sure I'll pay up to €150, fcuk that! This is surely just lining their pockets???