View Full Version : U 21s

SeagullScene
18/10/2005, 4:05 PM
I've seen them play a few times and it looks like we have a few up and coming players from the U21s, I think Wayne Byrne, Darren Lacey, Pat Hannigan, Willie Tyrrell & Mick Roche are good enough to come through to the first team....any comments???

18/10/2005, 4:11 PM
There are a few players who will make the grade given the chance and right training etc.... Wayne Byrne, Darren Lacey, Pat Hannigan, Willie Tyrrell, Mick Roche, William Murphy, Peter McGee, Maurice Dunne and Ronan Ivory all have a great chance, quite a few of the lads are still very young so they have a few more seasons in the 21's as well

SeagullScene
18/10/2005, 4:28 PM
do you think any of them will be playing next season??

18/10/2005, 5:10 PM
Wayne Byrne and Mick Roche have made first team appearances this season.

I think Mick Roche will be a good player. He's imo the best player I've seen in the under 21s.

SeagullScene
18/10/2005, 5:28 PM
Are the U21s contracted to Bray or how does it work? How long does Mick Roche have on his if they do?

seagulls nest
18/10/2005, 5:40 PM
not quite sure how it works with regard to 21's and their contracts, they would surely have to have Roche on a contract??

SeagullScene
18/10/2005, 5:41 PM
i agree

seagulls nest
18/10/2005, 5:43 PM
would bray get a fee if he left?

SeagullScene
18/10/2005, 5:44 PM
we're hardly going to bring him through the ranks and then let him go if a better club comes in, surely he is contracted

seagulls nest
18/10/2005, 5:45 PM
well if hes not contracted then,theres nothin to stop him goining to another club or is there??

SeagullScene
18/10/2005, 5:48 PM
as far as i can remember they are all contrated but i'm not 100% sure, it wouldn't make sense for them not to be in some way commited to the club

seagulls nest
18/10/2005, 5:50 PM
well it would be good if someone knew for sure

Rocky Rules
18/10/2005, 10:25 PM
Will Pat Hannigan even be in the Country next season?
What's the story with Willie Tyrrell?
Aren't Tyrrell, Roche, Lacey,Ivory at least (poss 1 or 2 more) at end of 3rd year? McGrory too.

Now that Harps all but mathematically down, why not give some of these lads a 1st team chance in league games?
Is Wayne Byrne mobile enough for 1st team football yet?

19/10/2005, 9:29 AM
Yeah fingers crossed Pat will still be with us next season, had a good chat with him on Sunday night and he's looking forward to the challange. I can see him getting a chance in the team before the season is out as well. This is Wayne Byrne's 1st season at the club so still have a few years left at U21 level which will be good for there development, don't think there quite ready yet to be in the 1st team squad all the time but defo worth being able to call into it. Tyrrell is a great player, himself and Rochey have formed an excellent partnership and will both be involved in the 1st team squad next season, The same goes for Ronan Ivory. Not sure how old William Murphy is ? but another very solid defender who i think has a future at the club. Keith Kelch for some reason has'nt been getting a look in but anytime ive seen him has impressed me a lot, one of the only players at the club who actively drops off for the ball to try and keep possesion. McGrory is 21 so this would be his last season at U21 level but he has totally fallen off the rader with Bray, not in the 1st team squad or the 21's squad. Conor Sinnott and Ross are another 2 who could make the grade given the right coaching, both great at running and taking players on from deep and a lovely passer of the ball. Mauirce Dunne has another year left at U12 level which will helpfully help him bulk up a bit as he is far to light for 1st team football.

Over-all the future is very bright for the club as we have an extremley talented bunch of young lads on our books, hopefully we can bring them on and make them into great 1st teamers

The Wanderer
19/10/2005, 10:52 AM
Hopefully Pat will be here next year, we need a good gaolie big time, thats were we are struggling this year.

The Wanderer
19/10/2005, 11:23 AM
Does anyone have any idea whne the 21's are palying again and if there is any home fixtures left!

SeagullScene
19/10/2005, 11:30 AM
I'd say Roo is the man to answer that question....he's the fact finder!!!

19/10/2005, 11:32 AM
There season is over now

SeagullScene
19/10/2005, 11:34 AM
I knew you wouldn't let us down Roo :p

The Wanderer
19/10/2005, 11:51 AM
Roo are you the health & Saefty officer for Bray! If so i know you.

19/10/2005, 11:53 AM
Nope not me, that's Damien Meaney, but i do work for the club

The Wanderer
19/10/2005, 11:55 AM
I was hoping it wasnt you, otherwise you have ur hand in everything! Damien is all over the place, he has a finger in every pie.

19/10/2005, 12:00 PM
He's a good bloke, does some serious amount of work for charity, nothing but respect fo people like him

SeagullScene
19/10/2005, 12:07 PM
You're right Roo, I don't know the guy but I believe he's invloved with a lot of charitys. Great to see, if only there were more like him

The Wanderer
19/10/2005, 12:58 PM
I agree with you, but was thinking if you are involved with the this to, you would be everywhere, But fair play to Damo anyway.

19/10/2005, 12:58 PM
well yeah i'm a mod on here and am involved with Bray as well ;-)

The Wanderer
19/10/2005, 1:00 PM
Fair play to ya! Its good to be involved, its another interest apart from the pub..