View Full Version : Questions for the manager

16/10/2005, 4:03 PM
Post them here in case you cant make it to the online chat on Wednesday and someone might ask some of them;)

16/10/2005, 4:06 PM
Why isnt steven o donnell playing?I know you has a bit of trouble with him but now he is back you might aswell use him.We need goals and he can both create and score them for us.

16/10/2005, 6:54 PM
Vinny, you've already been suspended from Foot.ie once, and you've been warned about personal insults at least once since that happened. If I see one more report, I'm banning you from the site permanently, understand?

16/10/2005, 8:44 PM
Does he think the shedheads should ave been banned, now that there is no atmosphere whatsoever in the showgrounds!

Shiba
18/10/2005, 12:03 AM
Does he think the shedheads should ave been banned, now that there is no atmosphere whatsoever in the showgrounds!

Does He think that a Father with a young child should have to put up with verbal abuse (Being accused of child molesting) by the so called "Shed Heads" for the sake of a handful of songs?

Or would He like to see this man or people like him to come back with a few friends in a more positive and welcoming atmosphere to generate more posiitve senarios for de club?

18/10/2005, 10:24 AM
can we appeal mc t's red card as we have video evidence that galway are cheating scum

19/10/2005, 1:57 PM
Seen on the Mons forum that there going to arrange a night out with the players at the end of the season. I think we should do the same:cool:. Anyone?:confused::D

19/10/2005, 2:00 PM
Online Chat. (http://pub21.bravenet.com/chat/show.php/1779265662)

garykelly
19/10/2005, 2:02 PM
Seen on the Mons forum that there going to arrange a night out with the players at the end of the season. I think we should do the same:cool:. Anyone?:confused::D

this was brought up at the trust meeting. If anyone would like to help organise such an event then please let us know.

19/10/2005, 2:13 PM
this was brought up at the trust meeting. If anyone would like to help organise such an event then please let us know.I wont bother suggesting it to the manager then if the trust are going to organise it?:confused:

19/10/2005, 3:57 PM
Whatever happened to Chris Cotterill(loan signing from Birmingham), I know he left but I dont remember the club ever saying why?:confused:

19/10/2005, 3:58 PM
Did he ever sign?I dont think so.

19/10/2005, 4:00 PM
Did he ever sign?I dont think so.He did afaik. He was in the stand for one of the games too I think

19/10/2005, 4:01 PM
i tired to log on but failed stars

19/10/2005, 4:06 PM
Ya so did I...doesnt look good.

19/10/2005, 4:07 PM
Ya so did I...doesnt look good.In the chat?:confused: I got in ok;)

19/10/2005, 4:07 PM
like a goose

you wana go to internet cafe?

19/10/2005, 4:11 PM
like a fox...no,its not till 6.30 anyway...we will see.
You might not be able to download it there either.

19/10/2005, 4:12 PM
i'm in. it wont work if you are in the college.

19/10/2005, 4:13 PM
itw worth a shot though

as gus said it wont work in college

19/10/2005, 4:14 PM
ya but what is the point in going the whole way into town and then it not working.

19/10/2005, 4:15 PM
pints?:rolleyes:

well whats the point doin nothing

19/10/2005, 4:16 PM
ya but what is the point in going the whole way into town and then it not working.Eh, pm lads?:confused:. This has gone way off-topic now:mad:

19/10/2005, 4:18 PM
well your not on the topic when you post messages like that....

19/10/2005, 4:20 PM
well your not on the topic when you post messages like that....:rolleyes:

19/10/2005, 4:20 PM
ya sorry mother

pm than stars

19/10/2005, 5:16 PM
Lads in future can ye keep posts like that to PM , thats what its there for.

19/10/2005, 5:51 PM
online ended 18:50:(

19/10/2005, 5:56 PM
online ended 18:50:(Cos training was earlier than expected, but Paraic said he'll be at a Fans Forum being held on the night before the Cobh match and will answer any questions then, so go to that;)

19/10/2005, 6:09 PM
ill wear my best dress

19/10/2005, 7:02 PM
sean> Hi folks - I have to be quick, got to get to training - keep the questions short.

<sligoman> What's your prediction for the Limerick game?

<sean> Re the limerick game, we're going to win the game, but I don't make prediction :-)

<sligoman> Whatever happened to Chris Cotterill, I know he left but I dont remember the club ever saying why?
<sean> Re Chris Cotterill, he had complications with an injury.

<sean> RE the players for next season, this isn't the time to talk about that - let's concentrate on this season, but I know in my own mind.

<Alan Ryan> What is your reaction to theincidents against Dublin cIty and Galway Utd
<sean> Re the crowd trouble, I'm too busy watching the game - I didn't see anything

<gustavo> What have been the highlights so far of your first full season in charge of Sligo Rovers?
<sean> Re the highlight's of the season, it's not over lets, lets wait and see.

<sligoman> If we get promot ed, how many of the current squad do you think can "cut it" in the Premier Division?

<sean> I won't discuss the current squad, but will be looking for five new players.

<sligoman> Can we appeal McT's red card as we have video evidence that galway cheated him?
<sean> Re McTs red card, we are appealing - a video has been sent off today

<Alan Ryan> Do you think the atmosphere is good in the showgrounds or do you think it has only been good when Pats and Galway have came?

<sean> The atmosphere has been good on occassions and I understand this with the bigger games , teams. All I'm concerned about now is the atmosphere for the next couple of home games.

<sligoman> Do you think the Cobh game will be the title decider?

<sean> I'd love the Cobh game to be the decider, but I think we'll have to win at least two more games after Cobh, but all we're doing is concentrating on one game at a time at the moment.

<Alan Ryan> Do you think that we should be beating the likes of Dundalk and Galway etc if were going to be winning the league.

<sean> Not really - we're still top of the table, they were both difficult games and we didn't get beat.

<sligoman> Are you concerned about our recent run of not winning games and failing to score a lot?
<Sean Connor> Not really - we're still top of the table, they were both difficult games and we didn't get beat.

<Sean> Sorry lads, I have to go. Training was brought forward tonight at short notice, but I’ll be attending a Fans Forum on the night before the Cobh game and he hope to see you all there. Thanks for coming on long and apologies for leaving so early.

showgies
20/10/2005, 10:59 AM
Complete waste of time, Lip service really, another box ticked to say Sean talked to the fans…………….he wasn't too worried about training during the week when he was over in England trying to get his coaching badge.

roversforever
20/10/2005, 11:01 AM
what was the point of that?he didn't give us any information about anything.he knows everything in his head.i thought the point of him coming on here was that he would share it with us:(

nephin
20/10/2005, 11:15 AM
Well he did say there would be a fans forum before the Cobh match. If so then that would be an excellant opputunity for fans to pose the questions to his face.
Most managers won't even come on-line to take questions from fans.

20/10/2005, 11:45 AM
still though i found it very uninformative :(

Redzer
20/10/2005, 12:42 PM
Did he give one straight answer to a question. If he hasn't the time to do it right, then he should not have bothered his bolix, rushing on and rushing off.

d rovers
20/10/2005, 12:49 PM
why would you bother going to the fan forum if sean is just going to come out with the same platitudes? i'll probably go to see what he has to say, but from the results of the online chat i wouldn't be expecting him to say anything interesting.

Paraic
20/10/2005, 3:05 PM
Seeing as there were only four or five people who actually bothered dialling in, I think it's a bit rich that a whole bunch of people are now jumping on the bandwagon and saying it was a waste of time.

In fairness to Sean, he was under serious time pressure and was rushing his responses and therefore, they were not as informative as in previous chats. It was too late to cancel by the time I knew that training was brought forward so I decided to press ahead to make the most of it.

I don't know of any other eircom league manager that goes on line and I think if you look back at previous chats, they have generally been worthwhile.

However, if people don't want to continue with these chats, then that's grand, we won't do them. In any case, we probably won't be going on-line again until prior to the 2006 season.

showgies
21/10/2005, 8:16 AM
Here ya are Paraic, just picking up your rattle you dropped from the pram…………………..……I don’t think we were having ago at the concept of the having a Manager on Line and certainly weren’t calling for it to be abandoned. In fact I think it is a great initiative, whoever thought of the idea should be commended, whether it was the webteam or Don O’Riordan or whoever.

We were just a little disappointed with the content and the hastiness of it all. Maybe all will be rectified at the Fans Forum before the Cobh game.

By the way, the reason for some of us not logging in on the night has nothing to do with a lack of interest on the contrary, but in my case its lack of technology.

roversforever
21/10/2005, 9:53 AM
....and in my case its because i was working.and im sorry but as far as im concerned we have every right to say if we're not happy with the lack of info he was giving us and most of us weren't happy.and surely as manager its sean who arranges the time for training??it smacks of a bad excuse.

d rovers
21/10/2005, 11:15 AM
i wasn't having a dig at whoever organised the on line session, or the thinking behind it. fair play for getting sean on line - it's just a pity he couldn't have made it a more worthwhile exercise. my gripe was strictly with the manager. hopefully that will be sorted with the fans forum. if i had been able to i would have logged on, but work & lack of internet access put paid to that.

21/10/2005, 12:39 PM
It sounds to me that there wasn't a lack of interest but just bad timing?

Maybe if the manager gave say 3 times and dates when he would be available for questioning, and then the supporters could vote on which time would also suit them? Therefore it would be maximising the amount of people that would be available to question the manager??

Just a thought

d rovers
21/10/2005, 1:49 PM
hopefully the fans forum the night before the cobh game will suit most people. i suppose you aren't going to keep everyone happy no matter what time you do these things.

21/10/2005, 2:04 PM
The manager online is a great way for the fans to keep in touch with the club and the manager. It's normally very worthwhile but unfortunately this time there was a clash with training which was nobody's fault as it was a last minute change. Personally, I think the manager isn't doing this enough, DO'R came on at the end of every month and talked to us and I think Sean should and could be doing the same. Just an idea;)

Paraic
21/10/2005, 2:54 PM
D rover, there was certainly no offense taken on my part. bottom line - we didn't have time to do a decent chat.

Terry - the timing of these things can be a problem, mainly becasue of my own availability - Sean's touch typing isn't great ! - and in fairness to Sean to a lesser extent his availability.

sligoman, re having Sean on more often, probably not of much benefit. I think there's a risk of repetition if he's on too frequently. This happened with DO'R and we reduced the number of chats - perhaps reflecting results !!!

I try to get him on every 2 - 3 months, at key points in the season so that there's a bit of novelty to the thing. I'm not sure if there's much benefit beyond that.

Any views/perspectives appreciated.

Paraic

21/10/2005, 3:01 PM
sligoman, re having Sean on more often, probably not of much benefit. I think there's a risk of repetition if he's on too frequently. This happened with DO'R and we reduced the number of chats - perhaps reflecting results !!!

I try to get him on every 2 - 3 months, at key points in the season so that there's a bit of novelty to the thing. I'm not sure if there's much benefit beyond that.I know but it had been a while since he was on last. I found no point in commenting on games that were weeks ago, for example, there was no point in chatting to him about the Cork City game because that would have been forgotten about at this stage, whereas if he was on at the end of every month then there would be about 4 games that month so you could comment about them all, understand?:confused::o