View Full Version : Well done to the United away support

Patrick Dunne
16/10/2005, 3:11 PM
A large crowd travelled up on Saturday night and gave 110% support to the team. Our best vocal away support at a First Division game in several seasons.

We had a fair few newcomers, I hope that they all had a good time.

Our next away bus will be to the First Division game against Kildare County on Saturday 5th November, departing Fibber Magees at 2.30pm sharp. Seats can be booked by pm'ing me or calling Ronan at (087) 6972823.

16/10/2005, 3:16 PM
Ya it was brillaint last night.The noise and atmosphere we created was second to none in this division and would match that created by most premier teams.Fair play to everyone up there!

16/10/2005, 3:18 PM
and would match that created by most premier teams.Are you serious?:confused:

16/10/2005, 3:20 PM
Are you serious?:confused:
Yes.Think of all the gammy teams in the premier.

16/10/2005, 3:21 PM
How many of ye came down on the bus? Did ye bring 1 or 2 buses?:confused:

16/10/2005, 3:22 PM
Don't let this thread go off topic.We made noise and lots of it...they made no noise.

16/10/2005, 3:23 PM
it was no where near as good as the Pats support when they came here earlier this season.

16/10/2005, 3:24 PM
but wait you never sang one song so i dont no what your saying :confused: :confused:Vinny, this has nothing to do with us not creating an atmosphere, we know we dont, I already said in another thread that ye were better than us(but that's not hard is it?). My question was about how are ye better than "most" Premier teams?:confused:. I dont think that was near as good as most Premier teams. Call it sour grapes if you want but it's not

16/10/2005, 3:25 PM
Don't let this thread go off topic.We made noise and lots of it...they made no noise.Actually this isn't going off-topic. Look at the title of the thread again;)

16/10/2005, 3:26 PM
Also I can assure ye that the atmosphere the galway crowd made is nowhere near as good as the ones we make on our travels....Dublin away twice,Monaghan and Cork for example.

16/10/2005, 3:26 PM
Actually this isn't going off-topic. Look at the title of the thread again;)
It is if it turns into a slagging match...we were louder than yee..etc.We brough a 52 seater bus and others travelled via car.

16/10/2005, 3:27 PM
Also I can assure ye that the atmosphere the galway crowd made is nowhere near as good as the ones we make on our travels....Dublin away twice,Monaghan and Cork for example.
:D :D :rolleyes: Whatever!

16/10/2005, 3:28 PM
It is if it turns into a slagging match...we were louder than yee..etc.It wont turn into that, cos we were'nt louder than ye:o

16/10/2005, 3:29 PM
:D :D :rolleyes: Whatever!Actually he's right, for some reason we can do it away but not at home.:confused:

16/10/2005, 3:31 PM
your playing a massive derby game:D, here we go again:rolleyes:

16/10/2005, 3:44 PM
Massive derby game.....I wouldnt call us massive.
as regaurds to our away support,if ye think yers is better fair enough...but it isnt.

thanatos80
16/10/2005, 4:09 PM
Can I make an observation, as an objective third party? One question, first, though. How many GUFC fans went to Sligo? The largest group we (the ECS) had at an away match was about 30 to Portland, but we were able for most of the match to hold our own, noise and atmosphere-wise, with the TA, who had 200-300. Now thats just supporters v supporters, since the casual fans outnumbered both groups, combined, by about 4 to 1. So, with a team that averages around 3000 for a match, we had 1% travel. Now, mind you, it's a 4 hour drive to both our close rivals, and one of them is across an international border, but if you were able to match or surpass our travelling numbers, you did a hell of a lot better, percentage-wise. Also, anytime the away supporters can match or surpass the home supporters for noise, that is a great turnout.

16/10/2005, 4:27 PM
ok ive heard all this about galway sang throughout and yes they did but even the most hardened galway fan must admit that the Main Stand did sing a few times in the second half and if ye didnt hear them,take your hands away from your ears.

16/10/2005, 4:31 PM
ok ive heard all this about galway sang throughout and yes they did but even the most hardened galway fan must admit that the Main Stand did sing a few times in the second half and if ye didnt hear them,take your hands away from your ears.
Yes we heard yee a few times(not many) singing "the Rovers".Only heard it in the second half though.

16/10/2005, 4:37 PM
fair enough but then why is Vinny saying "they never sang one song"

16/10/2005, 4:47 PM
Lads, we know there is no atmosphere in the Showgrounds. If ye think that when ye keep saying that we never sang is hurting us then your wrong. We already know it, it's been discussed on our forum plenty of times, end of story!

16/10/2005, 4:50 PM
Lads, we know there is no atmosphere in the Showgrounds. If ye think that when ye keep saying that we never sang is hurting us then your wrong. We already know it, it's been discussed on our forum plenty of times, end of story!
Yes i know that's why i said previously keep the thread on topic..ie...us and our support....not yee but it went way off topic ages ago.:rolleyes:

16/10/2005, 4:53 PM
Yes i know that's why i said previously keep the thread on topic..ie...us and our support....not yee but it went way off topic ages ago.:rolleyes:It's still not off-topic. We are talking about your support last night

16/10/2005, 8:48 PM
the topic is in the context of their support away from home this season and they are saying it was at its best last night so fair play to ye and good luck for the rest of the season!

Galwayexile
16/10/2005, 10:59 PM
nevermind

Shiba
18/10/2005, 7:11 PM
Sorry joining this thread late,But ye seem to obessed with who sang the loudest or sang more and I think in opinion if you really look at it if the travelling team actually brings fans with them they are actually the one who are more vocal due the fact that most of them have been drinking for at least two hours before any game.And is any away fans including us

18/10/2005, 7:43 PM
Sorry joining this thread late,But ye seem to obessed with who sang the loudest or sang more and I think in opinion if you really look at it if the travelling team actually brings fans with them they are actually the one who are more vocal due the fact that most of them have been drinking for at least two hours before any game.And is any away fans including us
:confused: .Bull****...drink had nothing to do with it....we didn't stop at any pub on the way up.You shouldn't have bothered posting at all!...stupid post!

18/10/2005, 7:46 PM
we didn't stop at any pub on the way up.Fair enough, but I'm sure ye had cans on the bus? I know for a fact that some of ye were drunk cos I seen ye and it was obvious;) :p

18/10/2005, 9:25 PM
well that just proves Shibas point after you dismissed it....

Patrick Dunne
18/10/2005, 11:07 PM
were drinking before the game. We arrived in Sligo at 6.30.
There were no interesting historical or cultural sights in the vicinity of the
Showgrounds. So we went to the pub !

Away support and drinking in the EL are instrinically linked. Doh !:rolleyes:

18/10/2005, 11:10 PM
There were no interesting historical or cultural sights in the vicinity of the Showgrounds.You could have gone to the Cathedral. There might have been mass on:D

Patrick Dunne
18/10/2005, 11:20 PM
.. that there were some elderly worshippers there we could have attacked or assaulted. Dammit !:mad:

Shiba
18/10/2005, 11:53 PM
:confused: .Bull****...drink had nothing to do with it....we didn't stop at any pub on the way up.You shouldn't have bothered posting at all!...stupid post!

Your all missing the point here! What I was saying the travelling supprt always in my opinion are always the more livly as more than likly they have been drinking for at least 2hrs before a game.We've all done.Conor H your very excitable.

Shiba
18/10/2005, 11:59 PM
were drinking before the game. We arrived in Sligo at 6.30.
There were no interesting historical or cultural sights in the vicinity of the
Showgrounds. So we went to the pub !

Away support and drinking in the EL are instrinically linked. Doh !:rolleyes:

Carrowmore tombs are with 5 minutes drive and of course the birthplace of that most famous of Sligo people is within walking Distance of the showgrounds "Kian Egans" former home:D

19/10/2005, 6:42 AM
Your all missing the point here! What I was saying the travelling supprt always in my opinion are always the more livly as more than likly they have been drinking for at least 2hrs before a game.We've all done.Conor H your very excitable.
Fair point but i think the reason away fans are usually more lively is the fact that you get alot of die hards together....so there is no qestion of making noise or leaving out songs etc..

scotsbeer
20/10/2005, 4:15 PM
being on of the over exhuberent ones who celebrated galways goal on saturday i found myself falling over the barrier. with no intentions of invading the pitch (i know how that may have ended up ) i ended up on my arse to my and most of the other galway united fand amusement. this was shortlived as i was booted up the jaxy and then being given a smack in the head by santa. i was a wee bit taken by surprise and questioned the tossers behaviour. fortunately for him i didnt retaliate but i am just waiting for an opportunity (non vioent) for revenge. the subsequent appearance of 3 elderly gaurds resulted in the group of the sligo kids being moved along and WAS not as a result of being abused or attacted by galway united fans. there was friendly singin both ways and that was al.
nuff saidl

20/10/2005, 4:18 PM
So scotsbeer, saying as you were the one who "fell" over the fence, are you going to report it or what are you doing about it?:confused:

20/10/2005, 4:20 PM
So scotsbeer, saying as you were the one who "fell" over the fence, are you going to report it or what are you doing about it?:confused:
Well there was someone who went on the pitch didn't fall not just scotsbeer, he also got a smack.:mad: :D

20/10/2005, 4:21 PM
Well there was someone who went on who didn't fall not just scotsbeer who also got a smack.I'm not having a go, I know at least 2 people went on the pitch and 2 got smacked, I'm just wondering what he's going to do about it?

scotsbeer
20/10/2005, 5:18 PM
FORM WHAT I HAV EBEEN READING THIS STEWARD HAS PREVIOUS SO MAYBE I SHOULD DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT THIS TIME. IS IT A CASE OF "WHATS THE POINT NOTHING WILL BE DONE"? PROBABLY A BIT OF THAT BUT MORE TO DO WITH THE EMBARASSMENT I AM ALREADY SUFFERING FROM THE DIEHARDS FOR FALLING ON MY ARSE.
THAT DOESNT EXCUSE HIS BEHAVIOUR THOUGH.
I WANT TO SET THE RECORD STRAIGHT AGAIN AS THE REPUTATION OF THE GALWAY UNITED FANS AND CLUB ARE MORE IMPORTANT THAN ME BEING EMBARASSED AND PERSONALLY ASSAULTED.
NOT ONE OF THE GALWAY UNITED FANS ATTACKED OR ATTEMPTED TO ATTACK ANY KIDS. THEY WOULD HAVE BEEN SLAPPED THEMSELVES BY ME IF THEY EVEN THOUGHT ABOUT IT. WE HAD SOME YOUNG KIDS AND SOME LADS WITH US AND WE ALL WANT THEM TO ENJOY THE TRIP SO WHY WOULD WE CAUSE ANY BOTHER ?