View Full Version : Sligo 1-1 Galway

15/10/2005, 8:56 PM
Bad result for us considering we needed to win to keep the gap at the top enough for a slip up against Cobh.
Foley and O'Grady did well in the middle but we rarely got down the wings.Faz hardly touched the ball the whole game so the supply to the forwards wasnt there.McT sending off turned the game.We were pushing for a second at that stage so when he went we just played it cagey til Galway got a man sent off aswell.
Great goal by Flannery,30 yards for ye that didnt see it,straight into the top corner.

deecay
15/10/2005, 9:17 PM
It said on Ocean FM that Flannerys goal was the best scored in the Showgrounds for the past 20 years

15/10/2005, 9:50 PM
Poor result! cant seem to finish off teams. We lack that killer instinct in front of goal at times. thought paul's sending off was harsh, but i'd have to see it again. Eric Lavine is a dirty c**t! Two footed lunge on Cretaro from behind, dived for the free kick which resulted in thier equaliser and nearly elbowed foley in the face and in terryland back in august he done the same!! Worst refereeing performance since Duddy against Dundalk...maybe even worse than that! and that linesman from sligo with the weird name was **** too, it was him who flagged for the free kick after lavine's dive!:mad:

15/10/2005, 10:47 PM
Lavine is a cheating scumbag. He should have been sent off in the first half a few times, I can see why he's suspended a lot for Galway. Scumbag:mad:. I missed McTiernan's sending off so cant comment on it. Super goal by Flannery but that was about it:(. A draw was probably a fair result in the end although I think we did enough to deserve all 3. Limerick is gonna be tough, 3 points a must

15/10/2005, 11:09 PM
It was honours even with two stunning goals, and two sendings-off as Sligo Rovers and Galway United played out a tense draw at The Showgrounds tonight.

The North West derby is always a competitive affair and tonight was no different as the fireworks outside the ground were replicated by the intensity and effort of both sides on the pitch.

Many saw this as a must win for Rovers after the raft of draws in recent matches, but despite the stalemate, the point leaves the Bit O’Red a point clear with a game in hand.

Rovers welcomed back Sean Flannery into the fray following suspension for the Dundalk match and it was Flannery who lit up the night sky with a goal that will be remembered for a long time.

The visitors forced the early pace as Rovers took time to settle into a rhythm. But they more than found their rhythm in the nineteenth minute thanks to a stunning thirty five yard strike from Sean Flannery that fired up the Showgrounds faithful.

The goal came out of nothing as the play seemed to break down after an interchange between Kudozovic and Foley but the Drumcliffe-man steadied himself and fired right-footed into the top corner, giving Gough no chance.

The Tribesmen looked dangerous from Fortune’s set-pieces but were largely restricted in open play until the match approached the half hour mark when an in-swinging O’Brien ball was controlled by Lavine but the blasted over.

Rovers were countering with invention, looking dangerous coming through the middle with the front two laying off or holding up for the advancing midfield men but apart from pot shots by Flannery and McCann, the home side failed to trouble the railway end goal.

Galway forced O’Hara into action on forty two minutes courtesy of some super Lavine skill hopping the ball over O’Grady, controlling and finding Fortune in space but his effort from distance didn’t match the build-up, O’Hara forcing it wide for a corner.

Just when it looked that the Bit O’Red were going to go in the happier at half time, a lunging tackle by Paul McTiernan on Clery as he chased a loose ball in the box led to his dismissal when perhaps a yellow card may have been more appropriate.

With Rovers down to ten men, Galway sought to take the initiative, but it was the home side on nine minutes who had the first chance of the second forty five, when Flannery battled down the left to set Low free but his shot from distance ballooned over the bar.

The sides were level in numbers as the match approached the hour mark when Nigel Keady got a second yellow card for a cheap tackle on Liam Burns. But it was Galway who almost got back on level terms when a Cretaro error gave Philip Reilly the space to cut inside and fire a shot over the bar. On the counter attack, Michael McNamara broke away and it was three on two as he slid the ball wide to Kudozovic whose cross was scrambled into the net but the offside flag was raised.

Rovers didn’t have time to reflect on what might have been as Galway United drew level on sixty-three minutes. Colin Fortune latched on to a simple rolled free kick by O’Brien to strike a scorcher from twenty yards.

The response from the home side’s bench was immediate as Paul Brown was introduced for Kudozovic, Rovers switching to three four two with Cretaro pushing up to the right side of midfield.

Despite the switch neither side could impose themselves on the game. On seventy minutes another McNamara surge let Flannery free in the box and after good work the ball fell to Foley but his effort failed to hit the target. Galway were matching Rovers punch for punch and at the other end Lavine almost put the visitors ahead when he glanced a Reilly cross just wide of the post with O’Hara beaten.

Despite a couple of Flannery efforts in the closing stages and two stunning shots from Conor O’Grady in injury time, the Bit O’Red failed to break the deadlock and are left only a point clear of Cobh Ramblers at the top of the First Division. A lot done, a lot more to do to secure promotion.

15/10/2005, 11:56 PM
well it was a fair result, the ref was a joke, ill say it once and ill say it again raf cretaro is a diving greek scumbag ****, he got three players yellow carded with his dirty diving,on another note witch doesnt say much for your club your stewarts like to punch apposing fans, i hope that old santa claus wanna be gets charged, thinking you can asssault fans like that, not much else reallly the showgrounds is a nice stadium, nice pitch, o hhhhhhhhh ya, you were abit QUIET, you didnt sing one song all night not one, we sang constantly, what happened to wild rovers and stars 50 songs?? didnt sing once, but got no hassel from sligo ppl, it was a memorable trip to say the least i really enjoyed myself thanks.Good to see you enjoyed it but firstly, Raf is not Greek, he's from county Sligo and secondly, he's not a diving scumbag, you must be getting him mixed up with yer man on your side, ERIC LAVINE!:mad:

16/10/2005, 12:12 AM
i no more about your players than you do haha, raf cretaro is origianlly from greece his family own a chiperI know his family own a chipper but he's from Tubbercurry, County Sligo, not Greece;)

glad to see you didnt defend yourself about your lack of chanting and making no athmosphere at all.See other thread;) :p

16/10/2005, 12:19 AM
just one sec look at his name, doesnt sounds like he comes from Mayo does it ?? :DThat's cos he's not from Mayo, he's from Tubbercurry, county Sligo, how many times do you want me to tell ya?:rolleyes: :D

16/10/2005, 12:23 AM
:D :D im gonna kill you :DYa have to find me first;) :p

16/10/2005, 12:26 AM
ill see you again in six months:D :D :rolleyes:Has next seasons cup draw been made already or are you moving to Sligo?:confused::D

16/10/2005, 8:56 AM
i no more about your players than you do haha, raf cretaro is origianlly from greece his family own a chiper,
why is it so that it is an Italian Restraunt his family own..........cos his Father is from fcuking ITALY.

16/10/2005, 12:15 PM
no Vinny,get your facts right before you argue with us knowledgable sligo folk

16/10/2005, 12:27 PM
he is from tubbercurry,his father is from italy .

16/10/2005, 12:36 PM
at least i knew more than sligoman haha im so proud he taught he was from tuberrurry or something at least i new he was from somewhere like greece, italy you say fair enough, and i knew he had a restaurant :D , i am the stats manYou idiot, he is from Tubbercurry, can you not read what we're telling you?:confused:, fcuk sake:rolleyes:

16/10/2005, 12:36 PM
ignore krusty the clown lads

deecay
16/10/2005, 12:48 PM
theie delighted so much with the draw its gone to ther heads

LondonRover
16/10/2005, 1:17 PM
He is from Tubber you thick Galway inbred - I should know, I went to school with the ****er and his brother still plays GAA for Tubber. And he's Italian not Greek - look at the name for God's sake - Rafaele. How many Greeks doi ye know called Raf?

16/10/2005, 1:59 PM
i should no :D :D , but was it mc Cartney? Feeney? O Donnell?Neither. It was Tim McCann

16/10/2005, 3:06 PM
i should no :D :D , but was it mc Cartney? Feeney? O Donnell?
Well lets see is he right???

Nether. It was Tim McCann
Wrong Vinny.

i am going to get a lot of stick from the galway fans now, i am supposed to be the statsman
Obviously your not Statsman.;)

Mayo Red
16/10/2005, 3:22 PM
tuberrurry

Lads ye might be able to help me out with some directions, as ye may have gathered I'm not from Sligo and I was wondering if ye would be able to show me the way to "tuberrurry", I've heard there's a grand little Greek chipper there!:rolleyes:

It seems to take a long time for information to register with some of these Galway lads!:D

As regards the game lastnight a draw was probably a fair result, but the match certainly changed in Galway's favour after McTiernan's harsh sending off. The referee was an absolute disgrace and a joke to both sides. He was overly fussy and never let the game flow, it was very frustrating to watch. Most of his bookings were a joke and he refused to let any advantage go. He was nearly worse than Duddy, and that's saying something! Nice to see Mr Deering back too :rolleyes:.

16/10/2005, 5:02 PM
can anyone tell me how nigel keady wasn't sent off by half time? everytime i've seen lavine play, not just against rovers, i thought he's deserved to be sent off too. how pathetic is it that galway sang "connor what's da score?" when it was one all&celebrated as if they'd won the league. enjoy 7th place lads

16/10/2005, 5:26 PM
Get 2 the point raf isn't diving scum, lavine is!That ref on saturday was pure sh!te and so was de linesman, how could that goal have been offside? It hit a galway defender on de way in! or is it a new eircom league interpretation of de now ridiculous offside rule???

16/10/2005, 5:27 PM
good point man....we should have won considering that there was nothing wrong with the goal.

16/10/2005, 5:36 PM
ya...like a fox.

16/10/2005, 9:00 PM
he dives like a baby
:confused: :confused:

roversforever
17/10/2005, 8:20 AM
did galway have any other shot in the game apart from the goal?i don't remember one.i thought conor o grady was fantastic again.once again the ref was awful and i know a lot of the players are very unhappy with his performance.ye all call lavine a diver etc but in fairness i think that's because ye don't want to give galway fans the satisfaction of admitting the reality.....he is a quality player.

17/10/2005, 10:41 AM
but he is only a teenager and he should stop the trolling.Great game but there was a definite handball in the move that led to Flannery's great goal straight in front of the linesman u wouldnt have seen it in the main stand and how Eric's header went wide ill never know. Very dissappointed with the Sligo crowd I thought the ground would be packed and hopping but it was quieter than Tolka.

Talking to Sligo fans before and after and I feel that Mr, Connor will be on his way at the end of the season Promotion or not he is still seen as a spoofer by a lot of your own.

17/10/2005, 12:01 PM
but he is only a teenager and he should stop the trolling.That's not an excuse, there's plenty of teenagers on here that dont troll;)

roversforever
17/10/2005, 12:08 PM
goal of the season by flannery.can't wait to see it on television tonight.were you watching sligoman??ready to admit yet how wrong you were about him???

17/10/2005, 12:13 PM
were you watching sligoman??ready to admit yet how wrong you were about him???Yes and No;)

17/10/2005, 12:24 PM
Don't apoligise for me thanks.oooohhh, fight fight!:rolleyes: :D

17/10/2005, 12:40 PM
*Spam* *Spam*In case you didn't notice, this is the Sligo Rovers forum so it's you that's spamming:rolleyes:

17/10/2005, 12:45 PM
why did i get banned from the galway forum for one comment and this knob is trolling and abusing our team

ban him admin

17/10/2005, 3:31 PM
Dont even bother with them !

They are a joke you have that clown Conor H as well you think they were us the way to go on ! :rolleyes:
Ah i'm not a clown..thanks.

17/10/2005, 4:06 PM
ban him admin
anyone else think a quick look at this quote looks like an Asian mans name?
wild rover....are you asian?

17/10/2005, 9:01 PM
Some the appointments to these matches are really stupid though. How the hell did they put a sligolinesman at a rovers match at a critical time of season for de rovers? And a Dublin Ref at the Dublin City game, now come on!That dublin ref was absolutely brutal by the way!

Mayo Red
18/10/2005, 9:21 PM
Saw McTiernan's sending off again on EL Weekly, still can't see what it was for, harsh in the extreme, yellow card if anything! Flannery's offside goal could have been given too, but nothing we can do about these decisions now! Not sure what the overall policy is, but the EL should use video evidence in the case of contentious bookings just like the FA in England did over the weekend regarding the Liverpool and Blackburn game.

18/10/2005, 9:25 PM
Saw McTiernan's sending off again on EL Weekly, still can't see what it was for, harsh in the extreme, yellow card if anything! Flannery's offside goal could have been given too, but nothing we can do about these decisions now! Not sure what the overall policy is, but the EL should use video evidence in the case of contentious bookings just like the FA in England did over the weekend regarding the Liverpool and Blackburn game.
Ya but to do that there would have to be cameras at all grounds.They couldn't bring in a policy that applies to the premier and Sligo...could they?.It would be an option in a couple of years when i think there will be cameras at all games...especially if the genesis goes through.

18/10/2005, 9:31 PM
Them 2 linesmen should stick to reffin under 12's on a saturday morning.....there not half good enough to be reffin at this level!!

18/10/2005, 9:48 PM
Ya but to do that there would have to be cameras at all grounds.They couldn't bring in a policy that applies to the premier and Sligo...could they?.It would be an option in a couple of years when i think there will be cameras at all games...especially if the genesis goes through.It's an option now. It's not our fault we have cameras and most other FD teams dont. If it did come in then it's an incentive for ye and the others to start filming yer games:ball:

18/10/2005, 9:54 PM
having the best ground the the first divisionOh ffs do you not get fed up of this sh!te? How in the name of Jaysus have ye the best ground?:rolleyes:

Mayo Red
18/10/2005, 10:03 PM
Oh ffs do you not get fed up of this sh!te? How in the name of Jaysus have ye the best ground?:rolleyes:

Don't take the bait Sligoman, that's all he's after, there always has to be a dig somewhere and it'll just keep running and running!

18/10/2005, 10:06 PM
ya don't take the bait and shut up good lad.How have you not been banned from here yet? Gustavo/Paraic come on, cant you see this?:confused:

18/10/2005, 10:10 PM
ive reccomended he be banned but its not within my powers to do it!

18/10/2005, 10:15 PM
hardly worth a ban, ask a stupid question get a stupid answer, if i was to be banned from this forum then stares and sligoman would have been banned along time ago tbh,How would I be banned, what have I done and who's stares?:confused:

18/10/2005, 10:18 PM
obviously meant stars but thats your idea of a clever comment, you troll our forums.

don't even try and disagree with it.Actually I will disagree, cos I dont. Wild rover did, and he got banned for it. Your doing it here and nothing is happening:confused:

18/10/2005, 10:23 PM
lies lies lies, and how is saying that we have the best stadium in the first Division TROLLING << (sligo's favourite word) :confused: :confused:I'm not just talking about that comment. You've done it loads of times. It's clear that I cant talk to someone so thick so, I give up

18/10/2005, 10:27 PM
whether or not sligoman and the stars should be banned from the galway forum is up to the galway mod but im recommending vinny be banned from this forum purely for the trolling

Mayo Red
18/10/2005, 10:31 PM
They couldn't bring in a policy that applies to the premier and Sligo...could they?.

I'm not saying that they should and there should be no bias, but if legitimate video evidence exists then maybe it could be available for use in such circumstances as appealing bookings. I understand what you're saying about having a level playing field in that all clubs would have to record their games then, but leave it open to them and if an appeal were possible then it might put the onus on them to film games.

Also on a related note, I know there is a cost involved in recording games but from a purely tactical point of view, it would be an advantage for clubs who want to do things more professionally to go over their game tapes to highlight any errors and to aid in their preparations for upcoming matches.

Filming may also aid in the promotion of the club in the media for example, as in Rovers case with EL Weekly.

Mayo Red
18/10/2005, 10:35 PM
Lads this is real childish stuff, don't encourage him!:mad: