View Full Version : Kerr on Late Late tonight

Armando
14/10/2005, 6:25 PM
....could be interesting, or then again maybe not. I hope it's an in depth probing interview and not a pointless face the music but give nothing away exercise. I'll be watching anyway.

14/10/2005, 6:38 PM
thanks for the heads up. what time is it on at ?

Armando
14/10/2005, 6:41 PM
Programme starts at 9.30 and I'm presuming he'll be the first guest.

M@ttitude
14/10/2005, 8:41 PM
Well tell us night workers what was said???:confused:

14/10/2005, 8:52 PM
Westlife are on now :eek:

crc
14/10/2005, 9:05 PM
just switched it on. has kerr been on yet?

AidoM
14/10/2005, 9:06 PM
just switched it on. has kerr been on yet?

Not yet!!!

ccfcgirl
14/10/2005, 9:11 PM
Post here when he comes on ,I want to stay on net till its on .Thanks

AidoM
14/10/2005, 9:14 PM
Post here when he comes on ,I want to stay on net till its on .Thanks

Gotcha ccfcgirl:p

AidoM
14/10/2005, 9:18 PM
:( He's not the next guest Jackie Collins is. Maybe she';; be more interesting;)

ccfcgirl
14/10/2005, 9:31 PM
:( He's not the next guest Jackie Collins is. Maybe she';; be more interesting;)How did you enjoy Cyprus?

14/10/2005, 9:33 PM
So what did Kerr say then, for us exiled over here!!! ;)

AidoM
14/10/2005, 9:35 PM
Weather was great, tan was good ,cool: , KEO was copious and Lukes was tough but someone had to do it!!

The real downers were the 2 matches:( :(

AidoM
14/10/2005, 9:36 PM

Have patience my son, he has not yet spoken:rolleyes:

AidoM
14/10/2005, 9:37 PM

Can you listen on the Web??

AidoM
14/10/2005, 9:39 PM
He's not on as the next guest but I'll keep watching and let you know

Alant
14/10/2005, 9:40 PM
What was said?

AidoM
14/10/2005, 9:44 PM
What was said?
:confused: See above

14/10/2005, 9:47 PM
still not on id imagine he would be on around 10 past

Armando
14/10/2005, 9:50 PM
We should have known he will be on last. You rarely ,if ever, hear who will be on the show advertised on the channel itself. This way idiots like myself will tune into the entire show. Pat Kenny you have stolen almost 2 hours of my life and I want them back.:mad:

He wont be on till after 11 now.

AidoM
14/10/2005, 9:56 PM
We should have known he will be on last. You rarely ,if ever, hear who will be on the show advertised on the channel itself. This way idiots like myself will tune into the entire show. Pat Kenny you have stolen almost 2 hours of my life and I want them back.:mad:

He wont be on till after 11 now.

You're lucky Pat Kenny has only stolen 2 hours of your life. Look how many Kerr has stolen:mad:

Armando
14/10/2005, 10:01 PM
Maybe I can call in and let them both know exactly that.:D

AidoM
14/10/2005, 10:04 PM
Maybe I can call in and let them both know exactly that.:D

Wouldn't be a regular but I think they have a phone line and you can try it;). I don't know the number but I'm sure somebody can post it:rolleyes:

14/10/2005, 10:12 PM
Have patience my son, he has not yet spoken:rolleyes:
have I had a sex-change? :eek: :D ;)

AidoM
14/10/2005, 10:13 PM
They're on an ad break and Pat's said he's on next

crc
14/10/2005, 10:13 PM
on now. after the break

14/10/2005, 10:14 PM
great, update us when you can, don't throw your beer can at the tv now! :D

AidoM
14/10/2005, 10:21 PM
He's on now

AidoM
14/10/2005, 10:22 PM
Phone line is 1850 715 800

14/10/2005, 10:38 PM
Phone line is 1850 715 800

eh.hello is that Pat? :D
what's happening? Fair play to him for coming on, a lot wouldn't under the circumstances

ccfcgirl
14/10/2005, 10:47 PM
I thought he done very well ,I felt sorry for Kerr ,I thought it was a bit harsh showing him quotes from dunphy,Brady etc .but he answered them well ,

14/10/2005, 10:47 PM
Fair play to Brian he came out fighting made a lot of good points , put Dunphy et al in their place , it was a good interview he made the point dunno if any1 made it here before that the only difference between the 4 teams over the the 12 games was one moment of brilliance from Henry

Armando
14/10/2005, 11:00 PM
Kerr was absolutely fabulous in that interview. It's hard to back against him now after seeing that. The big question is why couldn't he have been as enthusiastic and forthcoming with the media etc. over the last couple of years? The last time I saw him like this was in the press conference when he got the job. Why did we see and hear a different Brian Kerr in the intervening time? It's all very confusing:confused:
I have one piece of advice for him - If somehow he gets another contract give the public exactly what we saw tonight and I can only see vast improvements on and off the field. Somehow I get the feeling now that he got bogged down in the circus surrounding the job and it took his eye away from what he really believed in and felt.

TheJamaicanP.M.
14/10/2005, 11:04 PM
Thought it was a strange performance from Brian. He seemed hyperactive. He had so much to say that he was talking too fast. He should have slowed down and relaxed a bit. Good PR exercise. I feel sorry for him. He is a man with vision and as he said himself, he's a supporter doing the job. However, I don't think he is the right man for the job.

AidoM
14/10/2005, 11:05 PM
Thank god for post its!!. I tried to write down what he said and I only hope I can read the scribbles now.

Just to say lads that he spoke (what could be described as) passionately.

I'm not going to comment on what he said but just relate them. The points are not in any order but here goes

We didn't lose it only Wednesday. There were only 3 points between us and France. The French result was the only one out of sync between the games of the top 4 teams. There was no lack of passion from the players on Wednesday even if it appeared that way on Saturday.
It was unfortunate that all the players were not getting club action. He understands the frustrations of the fans, he's a fan managing the team. He knows more about the job now than he did when he started. We are not like a club team. We introduced new players and it takes time to adapt to football at this level. He and the players had given their best throughout the campaign. He had a plan and a strategy for very game. He had respect from managers in EPL. He had the respect of the players; Roy (twice today) and Kenny had spoken to him about their retirement
He wants to do it again. He understands that FAI have right to review campaign and is in similar situation to anyone else on contract which is subject to review.
He had not seen TV or read papers for 2 weeks. He was shown a clip from the RTE panel on Wed. and said that some of them had tried management but had not been too successful at it.

I'm sorry it's so long but I think that's the main points. I'm sure there's others who will add to it if I've left anything out.

Beavis
14/10/2005, 11:08 PM
Its very hard to vote against him after that. He
portrayed the passion that I thought might be lacking in him, but he now must instill it in the players if given another term. Aside from obviously wanting the national team to be successful, I will be hoping that he can do well because he is a fan and a manager of the fans. To his credit he made the effort to come out to the irish in Basle and Tel Aviv (where I personally came across him) and he was also out for a few jars in the Faroes.

Kerr for another term !

14/10/2005, 11:08 PM
re Messrs Dunphy ,Giles and Brady he said they tried managment werent very good at it and now they think they know everything about it , which IMO is fair comment

AidoM
14/10/2005, 11:22 PM
have I had a sex-change? :eek: :D ;)

I only saw this now

If an apology is due you have it, my daughter:o

onenilgameover
14/10/2005, 11:23 PM
That is totally wrong abou the four teams and the difference being henry's goal. we would have lost out on goal difference had we drawn that game. well maybe between the swiss on away goals over 2 legs but still....he is wrong the difference between us and the other 3 where 3 places...Boo!

15/10/2005, 12:05 AM
I am glad to hear Brian came out fighting but these are some of the questions I would like to ask him.
Does it fully explain our collapse of spirit after scoring against Cyprus that "Cyprus came into the game more"?
Was the long ball game part of the plan against the Swiss or did the players just sorta decide on the pitch?
or Why use the lbg when the team do not know how to play it?
Why continue with the lbg when it was clearly not working?
If there were some things to change in the game against the Swiss what would they be?
The Swiss were surprised at the lack of pressure in the last quarter of the game, were you?
Could you see a goal coming when you replaced 2 strikers with one?
Hartes reappearance, a brave risky move which did not cause too much pain, but O Shea in midfield many thought we were doomed with that selection?
And lets not forget Stuttgart "what exactly is Chris Hughton's role"?
You could say that we lost the group with the points dropped to Israel but when the other 2 did the same and we had yet to play them at home do you not think we were still masters over our own destiny with a clear advantage and we lost it on Wednensday night?
Then the $60,000 Q , will kerr's tribe have to change her name?

15/10/2005, 8:37 AM
fcuk, i was expecting him on first.. he came on last.. if i knew that I probably would have went to bed.

Well I didnt and Im glad, Kerr came out fighting (and pratically ran over to Pat from the start). He is a very passionate man, christ I thought he was going to say something on air that would be a diaster. He made some very good points and showed up the likes of Giles Dunphy and brady for what they are, 3 out of touch clowns.

I think he should be given another crack at the show because im satisfied that he is making the effort and doing things right. Its just that we dont have the players to qualify each campagin.

Clifford
15/10/2005, 9:22 AM
Anyone who watched Brian last night and wouldn't put him back into the job is dead inside. He confirmed the views of those who realise we are a small nation with a limited pool of players who have been playing above our station for a long time and now may have a period of consolidation or worse. He confirmed that there was a strategy in every game and without hanging them made it clear the lack of ability in the squad was the main factor for this. It's one thing wanting slick passing football, but another thing getting it out of slow Kilbane and O Shea and Fat Andy Reid and Robbie K.

I feel for him like most in that it's like one of us doing the job, and I for one am happier with that scenario rather than some jumped up over rated "Prem" expert who will, as BK said, feck off the morn after a game til the next one.

He also blew Fat Pat away with his knowledge, Pat tried to say Fergie, Jose et al didn't give him any credit cos he never played/managed in the Prem. Kerr confirmed this to be crap and even said Fergie has had reason to ask him for favours often. And of course the media rubbish about a bust up with Roy was fabricate by the liars, Roy had been onto him twice yesterday in the lead up to his retirement statement, as had Cunningham the day before.

All in all if the FAI go elsewhere with the job I feel it will be a wrong and bad decision. We've already seen them let one World class manager go in Mick and now it might happen again, there ain't that many of them out there....

15/10/2005, 11:24 AM
....All in all if the FAI go elsewhere with the job I feel it will be a wrong and bad decision. We've already seen them let one World class manager go in Mick and now it might happen again, there ain't that many of them out there....
Agree, a change now would be a total panic measure.

Apart from the question of who else better than Kerr is about and who might want the job, something that has been discussed on other threads. Brian Kerr has put a structure into place that probably only needs retuning rather than rebuilding. All the things that Roy Keane complained about are in place.

The next 12 months must concentrate on bringing in players ready for the Euro 2008 qualifiers and establishing a fairly settled team from the limited choice we have available. With Keane, Cunningham gone and several others likely to follow either by choice or because they will be told they are not seen as part of the future (e.g. Docherty) the likes of Stephen Elliott, Stephen Reid, Alan Quinn, Kevin Doyle?, Aidan McGeady need to be given the opportunity to establish themselves by assuring them of a run of two or three games.

For me, the biggest issue that needs to be resolved is what exactly are the roles, if any, that John O'Shea and Liam Miller will play. One is a passenger on the field, the other is a passenger on the bench. This is not an ABU rant - but these two must be sorted out as far as Ireland are concerned.

I believe Brian Kerr and Chris Hughton can sort this and will learn from their mistakes . Any change of manager/coach is only likely to set us back 6 months, time we do not have.

brine3
15/10/2005, 11:35 AM
Lads, here's an example of the sad state of affairs in Irish football.

The new manager odds page at Paddy Power:
http://www.paddypower.com/bet?action=show_type_by_main_market&category=SOCCER&ev_class_id=115&id=3266

All the managers are listed with just their name, except for "S Kenny" who has (Derry City Manager) in brackets next to his name.

15/10/2005, 12:08 PM
hows that an example ?
anyway just a point i was thinking of this morning pity brian didnt pick up on it .
Pat the Plank was saying to him that the likes of Mourinho and Ferguson wouldnt respect him cos he hasnt played at the highest level , correct me if i'm wrong but hasnt Mourinho no playing experience at any professional level at all ?

15/10/2005, 12:29 PM
Lawrenson backs Kerr to stay on
15/10/2005 - 13:04:50

Mark Lawrenson has backed Brian Kerr to stay as Republic of Ireland manager for the next qualifying campaign.

Kerr failed to lead his side to the World Cup following the goalless draw in midweek against Switzerland, with suggestions he could be replaced.

Lawrenson, the former Liverpool and Ireland defender, believes Kerr should be given the opportunity to get the country into the European Championships in 2008.

He said: “I would keep him on. The players aren’t coming through at the moment and we don’t know who else is interested (in Kerr’s job).

“They just haven’t got the players, we can’t buy them either – they are either there or not.”

The next qualifying campaign will also be without Roy Keane and Kenny Cunningham, who both retired after the draw with Switzerland.
looks like lawerson is backing him. At the end of the day he does make a good point about not having the players. Lawerson was slating him though in the WCQ's

brine3
15/10/2005, 1:51 PM
hows that an example ?

Because they have to mention he's the Derry City manager, because otherwise the people of Ireland wouldn't know who it is. But with every other Joe Ordinary from the lower reaches of the English leagues they just assume you know who they are.

15/10/2005, 1:55 PM
good point!
id rather have kenny than some of the no marks that are in ahead of him

Aldridge ,P Reid Brian Kidd ,D Givens R Whelan Niall Quinn K Moran L Macari

ranieri is an intersting one though

15/10/2005, 1:57 PM
have I had a sex-change? :eek: :D ;)Wouldn't surprise me, ye Northern ones were alway's a bit funny:D ;)

Metrostars
15/10/2005, 3:23 PM
Thank god for post its!!. I tried to write down what he said and I only hope I can read the scribbles now.

Just to say lads that he spoke (what could be described as) passionately.

I'm not going to comment on what he said but just relate them. The points are not in any order but here goes

We didn't lose it only Wednesday. There were only 3 points between us and France. The French result was the only one out of sync between the games of the top 4 teams. .

It's easy for Kerr to say that now but if the game against France had finished 0-0 or 1-1 we still would not have qualified be cause France(+12) and Switzerland(+11) still finished with superior goal difference than us(+7) and Israel(+5).