View Full Version : Trips of the Campaign
Beavis
14/10/2005, 12:40 PM
Now that another campaign has come to an end and we have no Ireland trips to look forward to for another year, which was the best away trip of the campaign ?
Switzerland in September last was quality and fared far better than the 11 months previous. There was only a smaller crowd of about 2,500-3,000 but we were all hoarse by the end and the craic was great around the town before and after the game. Drinking tins on the grass outside Paddy Reillys on a beautiful day before a big game, what more could you ask for. 'Here comes the Tram in green...' was a good laugh.
The game in Paris was a night to remember but the city itself didnt impress me and there wasnt a great buzz in the particular pub I was in before the game.
Israel brought was strange crowd,a mix of hardcore fans and easter pilgrims. It was some llaugh though even if the match was very dull. Table diving in Buzz Stop was among the highlights.
I didnt make Faroes but from what I've heard it was a brilliant trip.
Cyprus, as expected brought a few first timers but there was a good atmosphere around and there was no trouble. Ayia Napa was a great spot and the trip to the match was nuts.
For me I'd have to go for Basel with Israel a close second. How did yous see them?
Schlooooomp
14/10/2005, 12:58 PM
I made all trips bar the Swiss one, for me the Faroes was the best trip, the party after the match was brilliant and over all it was great craic.
After that the were all seriously good...
Well after all the time, effort & money for nothing, I guess there were some chicks for free.
All trips were brill bar Paris which was a bit of a bore & nowhere plays house or trance music for foreigners in the whole fookeen city on a Monday night! ("Ou est la house musique?"). The match itself was the craic.
Sorry to those who didn't make it to the Faroes but it was the best trip of them all & included the best night of my life after the match. Wish yee were there but hey.
Faroe followed by Basel 2 & Israel.
Here's to the good times......;)
Saint Tom
14/10/2005, 1:18 PM
was at basel2, israel and Cyprus and I can say without doubt for me Israel was the best.
Craic was ninety and the locals were sound.
Schlooooomp
14/10/2005, 1:21 PM
Eclipse nightclub after the Faroes game was the last time we have seen the Irish team give it their all...maybe that was the turning point?
Missed the Basle trip but ...
Paris was mad craic.
Id just moved home from Oz and hardly had a pot to píss in so myself,
Schloomp+Loudy booked the cheapest flights we could find,
Dublin-Luton-Paris going out and Paris-Liverpool-Dublin going home.
Got to Luton and in the middle of the night there was a bomb scare or
something ... all out. Turned out to be a fire in Burger Kings kitchen!
We met a girl crying outside trying to get a flight baack to Scotland as she
had just landed home to her flat to find her boyfriend boning her best mate!
A heap of beer in Paris followed by footie under the Eiffel Tower and on to
the game!
Israel was class.
Just Schloomp and myself for this one but had an absolute ball in Mikes Place
and Buzz Bar. Flagged down a local who drove us around Tel Aviv with music
blaring out of the car. We wernt sure whether he was gonna kill us or not, but
he eventually dropped us off at a local pub where we ended up dancing a
conga line on top of the bar in exchange for beer!
Met up with an Isreali guy I met travelling in Oz so that was cool.
Faroes was tent-tastic ...
Loudy, Schloomp and myself met up with the DCU Lads ;) and Finn in
Torshavn.
New tent from Dunnes ... €20
Ground sheet ... €5
Ian Harte grabbing me by the neck and pouring sambuca down my throat,
then dancing topless on the bar before falling off into a bin of ice and having
the bouncers pick me up and place me back on the bar ... priceless
Although The Doc stole Schloomps woman!!!
Met a lad convicted 3 times for interfeering with sheep and another lad who
wanted us help him set up the Faroes Republican Army!
Cyprus ... Ducktastic (private joke!)
The heat absolutely killed me but it was a good trip all the same.
14/10/2005, 2:32 PM
After the geese in Tórshavn? :eek: :D
Nah, it was when we were in London on the way to Cyprus, all the underground
stations we're advertising a show called Ducktastic!
We were fairly drunk and just went into hesterics laughing everytime we saw
the posters so it was the quote of the trip ... well 1 of them ...
Paulie
14/10/2005, 3:46 PM
Was at them all except Israel. The Faroes was the best trip I was on. The night in Eclipse will take some beating.
Beavis
14/10/2005, 5:18 PM
The heat absolutely killed me but it was a good trip all the same.
How did yous get on in Ayai Napa that night after the game? (presuming that was yous in the Athlone jerseys) Realised after I should have invited yiz off on our session but with thinking I was lost and having too much gargle on me I wasnt quite thinking courteously.....:o
18/10/2005, 7:13 AM
I didn't make the Faroes.
Israel was class - easily the best - in fact only for THAT goal it would have been perfect. Wish I could have stayed longer.
Cyprus was good, lovely weather, nice people but Eddie Hobbs could do a job here as they jacked the prices up for us.
Switzerland was fine, lovely city but boring. Come on Turkey.
While 40,000 Irish in the stadium was impressive and the result was good Paris was hardly a memorable trip. Miserable weather didn't help with the highlight being singing Finn Harps songs at 4am in Troyes.
Only went ot the 2 biggies:
Switzerland - great p**s up and met plenty of Eircom League supporters over the 3 nights which made good banter between us all - drogs, pats, rovers and craptown. We had about 8 spare tickets which we couldnt get rid of (all avenues for tickets came up trumps for us :o )
France - highlight was watching the drogs V shels live with about 50 other drogs in a basement in a pub in paris on the friday. Great craic on the day but there were alot of muppets at it (which is understandable the amount of people at it). Will never forget osheas miss :( !!!