View Full Version : Pats Away
Colie
13/10/2005, 12:47 PM
Many going?
I'll be over on the far terrace coz a load of my mates are Pats fans & I'm going to enjoy socking to them when we beat them easily.
13/10/2005, 12:48 PM
I think whoever's going is heading into the stand. That's what Poor Student was saying yesterday anyway.
A win'd be nice - big step towards confirming safety and also I'd like to see one of the Big 4 Dubiln clubs go down!
get there early lads, huge crowd expected...
13/10/2005, 5:48 PM
get there early lads, huge crowd expected...
That's a joke right? I'm asking on the off chance I'm missing something big.:confused:
Well lads Colie has made it clear where he will be. We can join him and freeze even more or stay in the stand. Where do ye want to go? I'm just asking because I don't want to pay an extra fiver and find you all over in the other side.
13/10/2005, 7:54 PM
Fair enough so. Running warfare with the Pat's kids on the terrace again.
13/10/2005, 8:18 PM
Add in the uncovered stand and sure wasn't Bray more than adequate enough preperation for that?:D
Someone please tell Harpo of the change of plans as I told him we'd go to the main stand.
I think whoever's going is heading into the stand. That's what Poor Student was saying yesterday anyway.
A win'd be nice - big step towards confirming safety and also I'd like to see one of the Big 4 Dubiln clubs go down!
Are UCD still worried about relegation ? Jesus lads did'nt think that would be a thought what so ever. Just can't understand whats wrong with Pats this season, they have the players, is it all down to Johnny Mc ? any time i've seen them play he never seems to play his strongest team, leaving players on the bench and playing players out of position
You're not biased at all Roo? :)
Either way you're right...
You're not biased at all Roo? :)
Either way you're right...
No not what so ever, i dont follow Pats, Robbie playing for them does'nt change that. I want him to do well, not the team.
I just expected a lot more form them this season after the players that were brought in pre-season
No not what so ever, i dont follow Pats, Robbie playing for them does'nt change that. I want him to do well, not the team.
I just expected a lot more form them this season after the players that were brought in pre-season
Yeah, I thought with Stuey Holt and Vinny they'd be pushing for europe...
The only preseason signing who play regularly are Ryan (who's been great) and Caffrey (who's not). Rest of the team was either there or come in since.
14/10/2005, 12:03 PM
Is it terrace then? Doesn't bother me either way, although the couple of euro saving wouldn't go amiss!
On Pats, they haven't looked any worse than the last couple of years on the two occasions I've seen them this year (not that that's a huge compliment I suppose!).
Not much goin. Tony Mac was solid as hell & probs man of the match. Pats are pretty rubbish. Yer man Doyle on the wing wasn't bad either.
16/10/2005, 4:14 PM
UCD ended their three-game losing run with a 0-0 draw in Richmond Park in a disappointing game which St Pat's really should have won but for the lack of any sort of ability up front. Given UCD's woeful record in Richmond - with only two wins ever - a draw probably isn't the worst of outcomes; it also marked the seventh 0-0 between the two teams in the last 13 encounters.
The Students welcomed back Tony McDonnell, Alan Mahon and Stephen Hurley from suspension and Brian Gannon from injury and were consequently scarcely recognisable from the team which lined out in Cork. One other change saw Derek Doyle brought in to replace Anto Murphy, who dropped to the bench. St Pat's had former Students Barry Ryan and Robbie Doyle in their line-up, with Ryan captaining the Saints.
Pat's were the better side over the 90 minutes, but changed completely once they got within sight of goal. Ger Rowe had a great chance when he drilled a pull-back towards goal, but Mick O'Donnell - playing his 200th league game for UCD - blocked superbly. Another cross from the left was dummied by two Pat's players into open space, while many of their other efforts were wild, with the stewards far busier than UCD keeper Darren Quigley.
UCD created relatively little in the opening half, although Derek Doyle had a penalty shout waved away as he went down just inside the area. The second half was much more even, however, although the Students' final ball into the area was all too often easy pickings for Barry Ryan, while St Pat's were still sending shots out of the ground with regularity. The introduction of Anto Murphy and Conan Byrne improved things, and the duo were involved in UCD's best chance of the match on 83 minutes when Murphy's flick on ran for Byrne, who tried to turn the ball first time past Ryan, but the keeper pulled off a fine save. However, right at the death, he was outdone by an even better reaction save from Darren Quigley, who batted away a Pat's shot from close range in a crowded penalty area.
UCD - Quigley; Mahon, O'Donnell, Kenna, McDonnell; Hurley, Dicker, Gannon (Murphy), D Doyle (C Byrne); Martin, McWalter. Subs not used - Dupuy, Gallagher, AN Other
Att - c 800
17/10/2005, 10:02 AM
Not much goin. Tony Mac was solid as hell & probs man of the match. Pats are pretty rubbish. Yer man Doyle on the wing wasn't bad either.
Going back to my point of McDonnell playing players out of position, Robbie Doyle is not or never will be a left winger :confused:
17/10/2005, 12:22 PM
He means Derek Doyle, not Robbie Doyle. Derek was playing left-wing for us on Friday.
17/10/2005, 12:31 PM
Robbie was playing on the left wing for Pats as well thou, but Yeah Yer man Derek Doyle looks like a handy player.....
17/10/2005, 4:55 PM
Robbie was playing on the left wing for Pats as well thou, but Yeah Yer man Derek Doyle looks like a handy player.....
Really? He seemed to be attacking with all the force of soggy paper( and not Bounce either) down a left wing that Pats were defending by the power of thought alone.
Really? He seemed to be attacking with all the force of soggy paper( and not Bounce either) down a left wing that Pats were defending by the power of thought alone.He didn't crash & burn on his first run out which is great to see esp in a league match. Look at Brian Gannon on the right wing for example & he seems to hold his own (with the big boys:D ) pretty well now.