View Full Version : A team to make the Swiss Roll?

11/10/2005, 10:34 PM
Given.
Carr, O Brien, Breen, Harte
A Reid, Holland, Robbie Keane, Kilbane
Morrison, Elliot.

Will this line up frighten the Swiss?
Does it frighten you?

Are they all available?

Might use Robbie as a super sub though :ball:

Opps almost forgot the keeper.:o

The Legend
11/10/2005, 10:39 PM
Make the Swiss roll over with laughter, thats probably the worse back 4 i've ever seen... and the rest of it isnt much either...

Given
Finnan Cunningham Dunne Carr
S.Reid Holland Kavanagh A.Reid
Morrison Keane

11/10/2005, 11:14 PM
Finnan was subbed and I don't think he is as good as last season.
Cunningham is getting on.
O Brien is *probably* a safer bet than Dunne.
Breen has been in good form (Actim top 100).
Harte can score from a free kick.
Holland is a safe holding player.
Kilbane is better on the wing were he can use his energy.
Robbie is decent in midfield and can score from there.
Two tall(ish) player up front.
Might start with O Shea rather than Keane (also more hight and keep Keane frustrated on the bench)
Not sure about Kav now, he may try too hard.

Anyway I just though I would throw some ideas in.

11/10/2005, 11:14 PM
Given.
Carr, O Brien, Breen, Harte
A Reid, Holland, Robbie Keane, Kilbane
Morrison, Elliot.

Will this line up frighten the Swiss?
Does it frighten you?

Don't know about the Swiss, but that team bloody terrifies me:eek:

I'd go with - Given, Carr, Dunne, Cunningham(Just)Finnan, S. Reid, Holland, Kavanagh, A.Reid, Elliot, Keane.

onenilgameover
11/10/2005, 11:46 PM
Kilbane should lose his place but I doubt kerr has the balls to drop him...
Holland for Kilbane
O'brien to come in for Dunne
Harte for O'shea
Morrison for elliot if Robbie starts doin crappy little flicks and acting the
bo!lox take him straight off for elliot.
S Reid for Duff
Kav stays cos there's no one else to play in the middle..
The middle of the pitch in fact scares the hell out of me.

11/10/2005, 11:52 PM
--------------------Given

--Carr------Cunningham------Doherty------Harte

--S.Reid------Kavanagh-----Kilbane-------A.Reid

------------Keane---------Morrison

Kevin77
12/10/2005, 5:18 AM
--------------------Given

--Carr------Cunningham------Doherty------Harte

--S.Reid------Kavanagh-----Kilbane-------A.Reid

------------Keane---------Morrison

Doherty! DOHERTY at centre half! Dear God noooooooo!

Dunne, O'Brien and Breen are all ahead of him! I'd even argue that Paul Butler of Leeds is a better centre half (or at least on par).

Doherty has had his chance. He shouldn't be in the squad as a centre half...and definitely not as a striker either.

on_me_head_son
12/10/2005, 6:39 AM
I'd go with:

-----------------------------Given

-----Carr----------Cunningham------------Dunne-------Kilbane:eek:

----S. Reid-------Holland---------------O'Shea--------A.Reid

---------------Robbie-------------Morrison

finlma
12/10/2005, 8:21 AM
We all need a team of grays breen's :)

Gray Breen - is he Gary's evil twin??

Here's what the team will be:
----------------------Given
Carr----Cunningham------Dunne------Harte
Finnan---Holland-------Kilbane-----A. Reid
---------Keane-----Morrisson

Personally I'd switch Finnan for Steven Reid but the above is what I think Kerr will go with.

12/10/2005, 10:09 AM
Doherty! DOHERTY at centre half! Dear God noooooooo!We need his height for this game, that's why I picked him;)

macdermesser
12/10/2005, 10:13 AM
Gray Breen - is he Gary's evil twin??

Here's what the team will be:
----------------------Given
Carr----Cunningham------Dunne------Harte
Finnan---Holland-------Kilbane-----A. Reid
---------Keane-----Morrisson

Personally I'd switch Finnan for Steven Reid but the above is what I think Kerr will go with.

Well there is Gary Breen in one of the younger teams, so that's two for starters.

Think Kerr will go with the team you have too .. he mentioned Harte yesterday. Maybe O'Brien for Dunne if Dunne is not fit. Personally, I think we're asking for trouble playing Harte .. but hopefully he can score one goal more than all the goals he causes.

Tired&Emotional
12/10/2005, 10:20 AM
------------Given---------
Finnan--Cunningham--Dunne--Harte
S Reid---Holland----Kilbane--A.Reid
-------Keane-----Morrison--------

I reckon this will be the team that starts, Elliott & Kav on the bench

12/10/2005, 11:17 AM
When will the team be announced?

Tired&Emotional
12/10/2005, 11:24 AM
An hour before ko....i think

Hecko
12/10/2005, 11:25 AM
Doherty??? that's nearly as desparate as Uri Geller

Given

Finnan (much better than Carr now),
Cunningham,
Dunne,
Harte (Shea is rubbish and the deadball might be our best chance of scoring)

S.Reid (pace and workrate)
Kavanagh
Holland (Kilbane too poor in the middle)
A.Reid

Elliott
Morrison

Give Robbie a kick up the arse and he'll have something to prove off the bench.

ranting rover
12/10/2005, 11:25 AM
I'd love to see this:

S Reid-----Kavanagh----A.Reid
------------Keane-------
-------Elliott-----Morrison

But expect to see this:

S Reid---Holland----Kavanagh--A.Reid
-------Keane-----Morrison

12/10/2005, 11:30 AM
Given

Carr Dunne Kenny Harte

S Reid Kilbane Holland A Reid

Keano Clinton

what I think Kerr will pick

as_i_say
12/10/2005, 11:55 AM
God i cant understand why some of you would still have kilbane in there at all, never mind in center mid. Before anyone starts, im one of his biggest fans but he is a total confidence player and MUST be dropped from this game.

It always irritates the hell out of me when I hear these di cks giving Kev abuse about games and years gone by. He was great against France away because he was having the season of his life for everton. He has been our worst player now for 2 games and has to go.

I would also drop Carr who looked nervous and was generally sh ite. O shea-goes without saying, should not have played the last 2 games. Bring in Stephen Reid.
Up front its 2 from 3-Kerrs only tough decision imo. Dunne-I'd still pick him over O brien, only just.

Given
Finnan---------Dunne-----------Cunningham--------Harte

S.Reid---------Kavanagh--------Holland------------A. Reid
Morrisson Keane

With elliott to come on after 45 when robbies done moaning about not getting frees/pennos.

zerocoolie
12/10/2005, 12:04 PM
I hope it's

-----------Given--------------
Carr-Cunningham-Dunne-O'Shea
S.Reid-Holland-Kavanagh-A.Reid
--------Elliot----Clinton--------

with Keano to come on after 60/65 mins for Clinto and maybe score.

Although there is a case for Harte for dead ball situations, is he worth the risk defensively? No pace IMHO. And besides, the Reids can both hit a good free kick too... (remember Cameroon in the WC for S.R and France recently for A.R)

Josser ain't the best left back, and seems more comfortable at CB or CM, but now isn't the time to ar$e with those postitions.

ShelsLimerick
12/10/2005, 12:22 PM
Given

Carr Cunningham Dunne Harte

A Reid Kavanagh Holland Kilbane

Morrison Keane

Thats the team Kerr will pick. Personally I'd have Finnan in for Carr, but otherwise the same.

Can't see why everyone is picking Steven Reid.

zerocoolie
12/10/2005, 12:30 PM
I think because Andy Reid can go Left Wing and Kilbane is not playing his best this season..

ShelsLimerick
12/10/2005, 12:32 PM
Kerr will not drop Kilbane for a big game like this. Simple as.

zerocoolie
12/10/2005, 12:34 PM
is he right tho'?

Surely the young guys on the bench would love to get in there tonight and show a bit of passion...

Tired&Emotional
12/10/2005, 3:09 PM
Although I called for Keano to be dropped and Elliott to stay in the team, in the immediate aftermath of the Cyrus game, I would say BK will favour experience over youthful passion (from the start anyway)......I would probably agree with him on that one..

12/10/2005, 3:16 PM
I think I'd go for

Given,
Finnan, Cunningham, Dunne, Harte

S Reid, Kavanagh, Kilbane, A Reid,

Morrison, Keane.

Looks like he'll play Kilbane on the left though by all accounts. If you're at the game, don't start on him ffs if it's not happening for him. Get behind everybody and keep supporting.

Tired&Emotional
12/10/2005, 3:26 PM
I, for one, would NEVER start on BK (or any Ireland manager) no matter what. I'll be 110% behind the team.....

C'MON IRELAND !

**EDIT** ....wouldn't start giving stick to any player either....it's pointless....we're in this together!!

macdermesser
12/10/2005, 3:29 PM
I think I'd go for

Given,
Finnan, Cunningham, Dunne, Harte

S Reid, Kavanagh, Kilbane, A Reid,

Morrison, Keane.

Looks like he'll play Kilbane on the left though by all accounts. If you're at the game, don't start on him ffs if it's not happening for him. Get behind everybody and keep supporting.

Fully agree ... if anyone starts giving Kilbane any stick, please give them back stick for not being a proper fan. The lads need our support tonight .. and Kilbane is one of the players who does give his all.

skbio_toronto
12/10/2005, 5:44 PM
I second that motion. For tonight, its vital that we get fully behind every player on the Irish team. It seems to clear that Kilbane is going through one of his many lulls at the moment. The last thing he needs is the yobbo element getting on his case. In whats a must win game, we can't tolerate any negativity like that from 'supporters'.

From my vantage point here in Halifax, Nova Scotia. Can't even get to see the game out here! I'll be roaring encouragement at my computer screen here, for what thats worth.

Jaysus, I'm as nervous as a known, convicted rapist whose just been sent to prison... Well almost :p

FarBeag
12/10/2005, 6:05 PM
Hart is playing left back,O'Shea in midfield with A Reid,kilbane and holland ,Clint and rob up front..What ye think??