View Full Version : McGeady to quit Celtic?

09/10/2005, 3:57 PM
Haven't seen this anywhere else, take it with a pinch of salt.
Someone should remnind him of Liam Miller...
from setanta (http://www.setanta.com/content/setanta/website.nsf/systemcontent/newsarticle?open&articleid=f41b84bebe6ef54880257095003b36c3&folder=website-uk&parentfolder=website&noex&ref=rss)

McGeady ready to quit Bhoys
The Republic of Ireland Aiden McGeady may be on the verge of handing in a transfer request at Celtic, with manager Gordon Strachan unwilling to hand him an extended run in the Bhoys first team.

The midfield, who has started just one game this season, issued an ultimatum to Strachan at the weekend, saying: "I will see how things are around Christmas time and make a decision then.

"I don't want to spend the whole season on the bench, that's not going to do anything for me.

"If I want to get into the Ireland team the main thing to be doing is playing first team football for your club - which I'm not doing now."

Earlier in the season, Strachan said of McGeady: "What everyone forgets is that he's a young man, I did it myself, you come into the team, play well, then have a couple of bad games and ask yourself, 'Where am I going?'

"The game's easier when you first come in, it's like playing your first World Cup, it's much easier to be a star. Come back four years later when people are asking you to be a star again? That's what players find hard: the expectations are phenomenal."

09/10/2005, 4:35 PM
Let me see
have to agree with tetsujin's original point ....Liam Miller #2 anyone?

09/10/2005, 4:58 PM
haha international team. He not even good enough for the U21s. Who would sign him anyway?

09/10/2005, 5:00 PM
Mac Geady is a flop... same old story, lots of hype by the irish media but doesnt do it at the higher levels. Same with Josh , same with Miller.

Listen son, maybe if you tried a bit harder at Celtic you wouldnt be on the bench FFS

**edit, maybe not a flop but the fella has a serious bad run of poor form

10/10/2005, 1:04 PM
He not even good enough for the U21s.
ffs pete don't be silly.

colster
10/10/2005, 1:14 PM
Mac Geady is a flop... same old story, lots of hype by the irish media but doesnt do it at the higher levels. Same with Josh , same with Miller.

Listen son, maybe if you tried a bit harder at Celtic you wouldnt be on the bench FFS

**edit, maybe not a flop but the fella has a serious bad run of poor form

I remember Duff had a similar problem when he was that age. He needs to build himself up a bit more. Learn his trade. Remember Duff wasn't a regular at international level until he was 21/22 (probably should have been earlier). Give him time!!

10/10/2005, 3:19 PM
ffs pete don't be silly.

ok maybe a bit too much but he was useless for U21s v France.

10/10/2005, 3:24 PM
ffs pete don't be silly.

If you went to Larnaca last Friday afternoon you'd be agreeing with Pete. He was utter rubbish! The most over hyped, one trick pony to ever pull on the green shirt of Ireland.
He's likely to start tomorrow night if you fancy going along to the Swiss game and seeing for yourself.

Roverstillidie
10/10/2005, 3:38 PM
celtic MB's and gossip sites reckon there could be truth in this. Man U is the hot tip.
apparently ronaldo might be busy for the next 4-8 years. whatever that means.

10/10/2005, 3:43 PM
celtic MB's and gossip sites reckon there could be truth in this. Man U is the hot tip.
It was on football365's rumours of the day about a year ago that Fergie was looking to sign McGeady. Again, someone show him what happened to Liam Miller after he moved to United from Celtic.

10/10/2005, 3:52 PM
from a celtic mailing list - don't know the origin

SCOTTISH PREMIER NEWS

Republic of Ireland Under-21 manager Don Givens has urged Aiden McGeady
to remain with Celtic rather than consider a move away from Parkhead.

McGeady made 37 appearances last season under Martin O'Neill, but under
new boss Gordon Strachan he has made just four this term, playing only
16 minutes of first-team football since the end of July.

That change of circumstance has led the 19-year-old winger to consider
his Bhoys future under Strachan, and the possibility he may leave during
the January transfer window if his situation fails to improve.

McGeady will have seen how the careers of fellow Under-21 players Glenn
Whelan and Willo Flood have improved since they left Manchester City
where they were barely able to get a game.

Whelan joined Sheffield Wednesday in a permanent deal last summer and is
now a regular for the Owls, while Flood is currently on loan at Coventry
and again is a first-team member.

But Givens said: "Aiden's situation is slightly different in that he
played almost 40 games for Celtic last season.

"There has since been a change of manager and he is going through a
situation that must be quite hard to handle for a young lad.

"Last season he was playing regularly and being talked about, now he is
almost out of the first-team picture and you don't know how that is
working away in his head.

"Psychologically it must be hard for him to deal with, but it's another
part of the learning curve for him, and instead of thinking about trying
to get out he should try to come through it.

"Surely somebody who played nearly 40 games for the first team last
season cannot be that far away this season. He hasn't suddenly become a
bad player overnight.

"Hopefully the boy will get through it because his attitude is always
terrific and he loves his football. I know from watching him the ability
is there.

"If he needs advice then I will offer it to him, even though you are not
going to be able to change the situation."

The Republic's UEFA Under-21 Championship qualification campaign ends on
Tuesday night at Shelbourne's Tolka Park where Switzerland are the
visitors.

Givens will be without Luton defender Keith Keane who picked up a calf
injury in Friday's 1-1 draw with Cyprus in Larnaca, while Liverpool
midfielder Darren Potter is also sidelined through suspension.

Kevin Deery from Derry City and Fulham's Michael Timlin have been called
up as the Republic look to end an eight-match winless run, leading to
Givens describing the campaign as "one of disappointment".

He added: "We've not performed to the level we could have done, we've
made crucial errors that have been very costly overall.

"A lot of levels need to be raised if we are to do well on Tuesday, and
in the future."

10/10/2005, 4:16 PM
If you went to Larnaca last Friday afternoon you'd be agreeing with Pete. He was utter rubbish! The most over hyped, one trick pony to ever pull on the green shirt of Ireland.
He's likely to start tomorrow night if you fancy going along to the Swiss game and seeing for yourself.
Take away the last 2 games and he's been the best player in the majority of games for the U21's. Haven't a clue whats up with him recently.

10/10/2005, 4:22 PM
Haven't a clue whats up with him recently.

He's believing the hype about himself?
Lets just see how he plays tomorrow night.

soccerc
10/10/2005, 4:25 PM
Take away the last 2 games and he's been the best player in the majority of games for the U21's. Haven't a clue whats up with him recently.

I'd disagree, for me it was Jay Tabb who has been the best player of this campaign.

10/10/2005, 4:33 PM
One point about the likes of Mac Geady and players like him. When people see players like him at a young age and they spot talent, they are sometimes rushed into the international side and 1st team of the club and then they suffer a big drop in form after a while.

The best managers hold the young players back (like giggs etc). Even when they are whinging and crying about not playing. When they do start they have outgrowned that funny part of their career and in most cases dont have a big drop in form and play a lot longer than other players.

Kerr and others have done the right thing with mc geady. im sure he will pick up his form again and the fact he is complaining being on the bench is a good sign IMO. He is time enough starting in the national side when he is 21. Robbie was rushed through and look at him now, hardly inspiring.

Junior
10/10/2005, 6:02 PM
ok maybe a bit too much but he was useless for U21s v France.

To be fair the whole side were feckin useless that night - outplayed and outfought by a far superior side.

As always seems to be the case with a youngster - People give him grief for the hype created by media/fans. I doubt he ever saw himself as a world beater based on his performances to date.

He's had some excellent and some not so great performances for Celtic. Hopefully he'll come good, he's just got to knuckle down and try and break in to the first team at Celtic. Use Beattie, Maloney and McManus as peers and not Burchill, Miller, Crainey etc...

When Duff first played for the senior team for Ireland he was muck, a complete headless chicken - Now he is one of the only world class players we've got.

Stick with it Aiden!!!!

Junior
10/10/2005, 6:04 PM
He's believing the hype about himself?

How the fcuk do you know that?

More likely a lack of first team football for celtic and the resulting lack of confidence which is a key factor for 'flair' players such as McGeady.

19/10/2005, 3:14 PM
Only a reserve game but hopefully he's hitting form:

Aiden McGeady served up a magnificent match-winner as the reserves went one better than their senior counterparts with a hard-fought and thoroughly deserved victory away to Hearts.

The win sees Kenny McDowall’s side advance into fifth position and Man of the Match McGeady, who’s made no secret of his frustration at a recent lack of first team involvement, struck the telling blow with a superb free-kick that merely typified the overall quality of his often-scintillating play.

...Soon, however, Marshall was again reduced to the role of mere spectator as play flowed back to the other end, where the increasingly influential McGeady showed superb skill to carved out a half-chance for Stephen Pearson that, under pressure, the midfielder could only slice wide.

...McGeady was fast becoming the game’s outstanding player and, in the dying seconds of the first half, he came within a whisker of the goal his play deserved, twisting in from the left past a bemused Ibrahim Tall only to watched in despair as his low right-foot shot same crashing back off the inside of MacDonald’s right-hand post.

This was proving a fine, competitive reserve clash, and a similar pattern of Celtic dominance emerged after the break, with the strong running of Pearson and Paul Lawson in midfield giving McGeady the platform to continue teasing the home defence with a series of mesmerizing solo runs.

...That was until, with little over a minute left, Gardyne won a free-kick 25 yards out to afford McGeady a fitting opportunity to set the seal on a vintage performance by sending the ball curling over the Hearts wall and dipping in at the helpless MacDonald’s top right-hand corner.

19/10/2005, 3:24 PM
I wobnder if his loss of form is as a result of doing extra gym training to build himself up?

19/10/2005, 4:31 PM
Just seen this on a Celtic forum (a lot of Celtic fans are equally as critical of McGeady as some of the Cork lads on here):

Just talking to a celtic u17 player who was at the game and he said McGeady performance was out of this world he chased everything won tackles and looked dangerous each time he got the ball...He described it as the best individual performance he has seen in a long time????
Strachan was at the game, he usually is at the reserve games.

TheBoss
19/10/2005, 10:52 PM
McGeady will be a very good player if he played games and is not at Celtic. I am so annoyed that Strachan will not play him. He needs to move away from Celtic, to get first team football as he has the ability to become a very good player for Ireland.

20/10/2005, 8:18 AM
McGeady will be a very good player if he played games and is not at Celtic. I am so annoyed that Strachan will not play him. He needs to move away from Celtic, to get first team football as he has the ability to become a very good player for Ireland.
Why should Strachan play him in fairness? Only Thompson may warrant being dropped instead of him and even then, Maloney would come in instead of Thompson. Its a strong midfield.

Junior
20/10/2005, 9:32 AM

Thats rubbish. McGeady has a good chance at Celtic. His last performances for the first team were below par, other more deserving players are ahead of him as Eirebhoy has said (Beattie, Maloney are two).

Perhaps he should follow Crainey to Southampton, Burchill to numerous ****e teams around the UK, Miller to Man U's training ground OR Perhaps he should just knuckle down and bide his time and show what he is worth to strachan and Celtic??