View Full Version : Things to do in Dublin during the day?

07/10/2005, 8:20 AM
Looking for some help here please guys. Got asked a question last night at training which left me a bit stumped. One of my team mates is going to Dublin for the weekend next week with his friend and asked me about places to go during the day.

It's not really something I've ever really thought about because a weekend away for me usually involves very little culture and as much drinking as possible so I naturally suggested going to a match but his friend isn't really into football so he doesn't think he'd be interested. Other than the Guinness museum which he already knew about, I didn't really have a clue:o

I told him I'd check it out for him so if anybody has any suggestions I'd appreciate it:)

Dublin12
07/10/2005, 8:23 AM
www.visitdublin.com

07/10/2005, 8:24 AM
VIKING Splash is supposed to be great.Its converted ww2 DUCS that go around various sights and and includes a trip into the water in ringsend I think.

tickets are about 15 euro I think ?

Dublin12
07/10/2005, 8:28 AM
VIKING Splash is supposed to be great.Its converted ww2 DUCS that go around various sights and and includes a trip into the water in ringsend I think.

tickets are about 15 euro I think ?

Or have a trip on the new Liffey cruise and enjoy the smell:D all for 11 Euro.

07/10/2005, 8:33 AM
Looking for some help here please guys. Got asked a question last night at training which left me a bit stumped. One of my team mates is going to Dublin for the weekend next week with his friend and asked me about places to go during the day.

It's not really something I've ever really thought about because a weekend away for me usually involves very little culture and as much drinking as possible so I naturally suggested going to a match but his friend isn't really into football so he doesn't think he'd be interested. Other than the Guinness museum which he already knew about, I didn't really have a clue:o

I told him I'd check it out for him so if anybody has any suggestions I'd appreciate it:)

I'd that problem a few months ago - sent her to the guinness store, kilmainham and the bus tour - after that i was stuck so we just went on the lash for the rest of her trip

Drumcondra Red
07/10/2005, 8:46 AM
The zoo, botanic gardens, shopping, open top bus, ghost bus tour, viking splash tour, guinness factory, kilmainham, art galleries, museums, gaa museum and transport mseum to name a whole heap!!!

noby
07/10/2005, 9:15 AM
Pubs are open during the day too.

I always try to go to the Porterhouse in the afternoon when I'm in that dublin. Completly unrecognisable to the cattle-mart it'll have turned in to 6 hours later.

carrickharp
07/10/2005, 9:48 AM
Pubs are open during the day too.

I always try to go to the Porterhouse in the afternoon when I'm in that dublin. Completly unrecognisable to the cattle-mart it'll have turned in to 6 hours later.
Judge Roy Beans at the bottom of Grafton Street is now a Porterhouse also.

noby
07/10/2005, 9:55 AM
Judge Roy Beans at the bottom of Grafton Street is now a Porterhouse also.
Duly noted. Heading that direction tomorrow

anto1208
07/10/2005, 11:40 AM
Things to do in Dublin

Heroin

07/10/2005, 11:44 AM
Kilmainham Jail is quite good
it's only 5 quid and u get a guided tour lasts about an hour and a half
(if ur into that kind o' thing)

Dublin12
07/10/2005, 11:44 AM
You're on post number 666 be careful;)

07/10/2005, 11:51 AM
Croke park tour is ok if a bit over priced (22 quid i think)
Did it last year enjoyed it but the museum is better
tour guide was a real cracker!! though even if she didn't know what she was talking about half the time

noby
07/10/2005, 12:07 PM
22 quid!? I'd expect a match for that.

anto eile
07/10/2005, 12:14 PM
E22-a bit expensive?!

anto1208
07/10/2005, 12:41 PM
You're on post number 666 be careful;)

twas the devil that made me say it !!

07/10/2005, 12:45 PM

i am,i've been a few times,it's brilliant

carrickharp
07/10/2005, 12:48 PM
Go see the new Phil Lynott statue on Harry Street (off Grafton Street) and then go downstairs in Bruxelles for some traditional music;)

07/10/2005, 1:33 PM
Thanks lads, I suppose I'll have to ask him at the game tomorrow what he'd actually be interested in first before I tell him what's on offer!

Doubt it if he'd be into Art Museums and the Botanical Gardens! Keep the suggestions coming if ye can think of anything else:)

07/10/2005, 1:41 PM
Drive to Cork.

Drumcondra Red
07/10/2005, 2:12 PM

Its very good and informative!!!

Drive to Cork.

So you can turn around and come back to Dublin??? That would take about a day!!!:D

07/10/2005, 2:15 PM
Drive to Cork.

Beat me to it! :mad:

liam88
07/10/2005, 7:12 PM
Glanevain if you like that sort of thing has a brilliant tour completly free-think it's only on Tuesday and Thursday though-not to heavy at all and really good history-guide know what he's talking about! :)

08/10/2005, 6:52 AM
Lads the Guided Bus tour is the thing. Buy your tickets at the Dublin Bus Office at O'Connell Street you get a map with a list of the places of interest it stops at including the Guinness Hop Store and Whiskey Corner. If you play your cards right it could not only take the whole day but you might have a few places you need to visit the following day.

The National Museum and Natural History Museum have free entry too but be warned they are shut on Mondays