View Full Version : George Best has passed away
Daxion
25/11/2005, 6:01 PM
The Tribute is now on BBC1
Rebal Boy
25/11/2005, 6:02 PM
RIP George Best.:( You gave Football a great name.
25/11/2005, 6:37 PM
George, you will be remembered as a footballing genius forever. R.I.P.:(.
Great player and perfectly fitted his surname BEST as that is what he was
R.I.P
Saint Tom
25/11/2005, 6:46 PM
remarkable man and a true genius
a lesson for everyone
hamish
25/11/2005, 6:59 PM
Ah Jaysus, another from my generation has left us.
Very down today.
That same horrible feeling when Rory Gallagher, Phil Lynott, Bobby Moore and John Lennon left this mortal coil.
May he rest in peace, no pain or sadness for him anymore.
Finding it harder and harder to relate to sport today, That'll probably pass but right now I'm having a little trip through the sixties and seventies and there are fine memories from then. George lit those footballing times up.
You older folks will know what I mean.
RIP George Best and thank you.:(
Noelys Guitar
25/11/2005, 7:42 PM
Great, great player. A true genius. Very sad day for football fans. Will always remember his goal against Sheffield United. The incredible balance. For me the best player I have ever seen. RIP George.
SunnySweeney
25/11/2005, 7:43 PM
George,
You were the Best,
God bless you.
MervilleUnited
25/11/2005, 7:45 PM
Big Debate on BBC 5 Live about a tribute to George, top of the list a charity match at Old Trafford between an All-Ireland Selection and Manchester United, with proceeds to Childrens Charities here and in the UK.
Could possibly be the ultimate tribute to a man who was the most talented sportsman Ireland has ever produced:ball:
JoeSemi
25/11/2005, 9:22 PM
George Best made the beautiful game look more simple and beautiful than any other. You'll be sorely missed.
Rest In Peace George.
junkie
25/11/2005, 9:26 PM
Thank you for the wonderful memories you have given me George.
You're a hero to me and you will NEVER be forgotten. You will always live on in the hearts of minds of everyone.
God bless your soul,
R.I.P. 4ever legend
Just looking at clips of his footballing genius this evening on network 2 made me realise how big of a legend the man is. I wish I could have saw him play in the flesh.
May he rest in peace.
25/11/2005, 9:37 PM
:( I'll never forget you George, you are and always will be a LEGEND!
Rest in peace!:(
26/11/2005, 12:56 AM
Some nice tributes on the BBC NI programme. Maybe we once had a thought that Duff would let his hair down and let it rip like that.The Charlton comb over was pretty good. Then George's nutmegs, just how many players did he nutmeg over the 12 years? or stand there with the ball "come on make your move" and its Bobby fxkin' Moore who then ends up on his backside.
I heard on the BBC that Cruyff sent in his tribute "Best was the most skilled player to emerge from Britain", arrogant sh!t, he could be still smarting from being at the top of George's nutmegged hall of fame.
26/11/2005, 4:42 AM
RIP George. The man we all tried to copy on the pitch - he made it look easy, but it never was!!!. Man I hope there's footballs up there - twould be great to have kick around with ye someday!!!!
(side note...totally annoyed at the fact, that when he was fallin' off the wagon he was Irish, now he's "the best the UK has ever produced" :mad: )
BobbyHans
26/11/2005, 8:10 AM
God bless you georgie.
RIP Legend.
There was a lovely tribute piece done on the local radio station here yesterday evening, featuring radio interview with Best, commentary on some of the goals he scored and followed by the song "Belfast child". Very moving piece
Fortuna1886
26/11/2005, 11:06 AM
What can you say that others haven't said already?
I'm not the wishy-washy sort but this feels a wee different, one of us you see, someone we could relate too. Hero, Idol,Icon,God, Genius take your pick depending on your point of view.
Thinking of him evokes every emotion going,
Pride that someone from this wee lump of rock went out into the big bad world and became the greatest entertainer the Football World has and will ever know, someone that showed there was more to here than the usual crap.
Anger that he could have achieved more than he did but then again was his dark side the reason he achieved what he did.
Pity that someone of his stature was often seen in the position's he found himself, especially the late 80's early nineties. The Terry Wogan interview was a low point for me.
Sadness that I didn't see him play, sadness that I didn't get the chance to take a picture of him scaring the bejesus out of the opposition, sadness that I can't sit my son upon my knee and tell him all the great stories about his genius that others have told me as I grew up. All very selfish I know.
Laughter at his antics off the pitch, even though he crossed the line into an area of excess, he lived his life to the full. How many of us can say that. Some will say it’s the quality of your life, not quantity. 59 is far too young to go but boy did he pack in some living. Mind you I’m sure his family would rather he was a boring oul fart who was still with them tonight
Content that he has left an indelible mark on the History of this planet, even today’s generation think of Besties footballing ability first and foremost. The rest is a side issue.
I never met him, I never saw him play a competitive match, I didn't have posters of him on my wall but for some reason feel incredibly sad that he's gone.
George Best-there will never be another like him.
glentoranfan
26/11/2005, 6:49 PM
Very sad news, there is certainly a big glum cloud over N. Ireland about this, as I am sure there is elsewhere.
What is also tragic is the man's downfall, as waste of a great, very rare talent and of a life. Despite all that, I think he'll be remembered as a footballing great, perhaps, the greatest.
One thing I would like to say is my disgust at the press. They sat outside that hospital all night waiting for the man to die. Yes, to hear the news as soon as, fair enough, but all they could sit and say is, it's not long now, only a matter of time etc etc. For f**k sake like, just shut up! I'll tell you, if they took off their fancy suits, they'd sprout wings!
Finally, the english press are the biggest joke. For years throughout Bestie's life they regarded him as the alco scum from that back-water place where they are riot and kill eachother, Belfast. As soon as he dies, he is all of a sudden the best piece of British talent there ever was, and that Manchester was where he would be most missed!
F**king double standards or what. Typical English trying to sponge off our hero. He was Northern Irish, and more specifically East Belfast, born and bread.
Go get your own talent.
Sorry I have to end on that note, but just typical members of the press and their hypocracy.
a
R.I.P. Bestie - a legend, the greatest. Thanks for the memories you give to the people of Northern Ireland, for giving us a hero and somebody to be proud off.
26/11/2005, 7:32 PM
Lovely piece on the premiership tonight where they just showed some clips with a piece of music in the background instead of the commentary. Very poignant and very sad.
As a Leeds fan I'm disgusted with what a handful got up to at Millwall today.
W@nkers all.
RIP.
deadman
27/11/2005, 11:39 AM
Saw an ad in today's Tribune saying, literally, 'Bestie at the Spire, dublin ... 3.0pm ...'
anyone know what's going on????
tribute i presume
big p from owc
28/11/2005, 8:07 AM
besties death has been a severe blow to everybody in northern ireland and further afield so i think this news is very fitting . RIP GEORGE.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/4475276.stm
28/11/2005, 10:32 AM
Sad to see George go. a true legend. Up there with Maradonna and Pele as arguably the greatest footballer of all time. I would love to have seen him in his prime.
A connection too for our league as he did play with Cork Celtic albeit briefly in the 1970s.
Hulsey
28/11/2005, 10:45 AM
I'm a Leeds fan myself and hate man u (I refuse to give them capital letters!) but I have to say that I was absolutely disgusted to hear a section of the Leeds away support disrupting the minutes silence in honour of a great player and more importantly a fellow human being. When we played at Old Trafford after the passing of King John Charles, the united fans payed him the respect he deserved and some small minded idiots couldn't do the same for Best. Anyone who disrupts a minutes silence is pure scum!
big p from owc
28/11/2005, 11:14 AM
I'm a Leeds fan myself and hate man u (I refuse to give them capital letters!) but I have to say that I was absolutely disgusted to hear a section of the Leeds away support disrupting the minutes silence in honour of a great player and more importantly a fellow human being. When we played at Old Trafford after the passing of King John Charles, the united fans payed him the respect he deserved and some small minded idiots couldn't do the same for Best. Anyone who disrupts a minutes silence is pure scum!
also being discussed by some furious leeds fans on the OWC website.
http://ourweecountry.ipbhost.com/index.php?showtopic=10728
28/11/2005, 11:24 AM
Gone but never forgotten a true Irish legend
ynwa RIP Georgie
28/11/2005, 12:03 PM
George Best R.I.P. very sad that he's gone, a complete once off and a character with some remarkable stories. The applause at some of the games Saturday were very fitting, how can you mark the passing of a talent like that with silence. I totally agree though that the English press have been disgraceful, with their 8 page pull-outs on Bestie a week before he died. A sad day for the North.
28/11/2005, 1:12 PM
RIP
Definately in the top two of Georgies to grace the Cross.
28/11/2005, 5:58 PM
Saw an ad in today's Tribune saying, literally, 'Bestie at the Spire, dublin ... 3.0pm ...'
anyone know what's going on????
tribute i presume
Bestie at the Spire, 3 days after the funeral is it.:confused: Sounds familiar...:cool:
04/12/2005, 10:45 PM
Wonderful ceremony for Georgie on Saturday, made me cry at times. It was refreshing to witness a funeral from Northern Ireland on tv that wasn't political, no disrespect to George. Made me proud to have been born in the same city as such a talent. It's just amazing that out of such a small population, we were so lucky to see the emergence of a genius...
Brian Kennedy and Peter Corry were perfect for the ceremony, one funny thing I noticed and I am sure George would have a good laugh at himself was the sight of Sven Goran Eriksson, attempting to mime the hymns, he looked totally lost! :D
Georgie, Best by name, Best by nature.
RIP :( :ball:
Thunderblaster
18/12/2005, 8:05 PM
I signed the book of condolences in Belfast and I must say that the floral, scarves, pictures and jersies tributes outside the City Hall was amazing. Everybody was taking pictures of the little shrine. I'd imagine that Roselawn Cemetry has had more visitors since the funeral.
Gerrit
20/12/2005, 6:29 PM
Is it just me, but I find it quite disgusting that Man U released a dvd with Best's highlights only 2 weeks after his death. The man has just died and his ex-employers already try to make money out of his departure. A minute of silence is an easy way to pretend you care, but in the end it's all about money :mad: Maybe I am being totally wrong here, but if I were a relative of Best right now I'd be furious. Total lack of disrespect to try to gain profits out of someone's death.
21/12/2005, 8:41 AM
Is it just me, but I find it quite disgusting that Man U released a dvd with Best's highlights only 2 weeks after his death. The man has just died and his ex-employers already try to make money out of his departure. A minute of silence is an easy way to pretend you care, but in the end it's all about money :mad: Maybe I am being totally wrong here, but if I were a relative of Best right now I'd be furious. Total lack of disrespect to try to gain profits out of someone's death.
I think you'll find that the DVD United have on sale about Best has been so since 2001. I think you'll also find that since he died, the United board have made a £250,000 donation to the various bodies that research Liver disease, and plans are in place to launch a George Best scholarship for 3 kids every year.
Speaking of being disrespectful, try and have your facts in order before speculating and muck spreading on a thread that is here for people to pay their respects to and gracefully remember a football GOD.
:mad: :mad:
Gerrit
21/12/2005, 8:32 PM
I wasn't aware of the donation, should have researched that. Mea culpa.
I just find it a bit unappropriate to advertise this DVD right after his departure. I'd say it may be most respectful to let the family moarn in silence and quietness.