View Full Version : Games weekend 27th Feb.

sbgawa
27/02/2026, 1:05 PM
Premier divisionFriday 27thDerry v WaterfordDrogheda v ShelbourneGalway v SligoSt Pats v DundalkBohemians v Shamrock RoversFirst DivisionAthlone v WexfordCobh v Finn HarpsCork v BrayKerry v LongfordUcd v TreatyPremier DivisionMonday 2ndSt Pats v Galway

sbgawa
27/02/2026, 1:11 PM
Tried on both Mobile and Laptop and cant avoid the above lack of spacing.If anyone has a suggestion ......Big game tonight for Rovers awaay to the Table Topping Champions elect.Id probably take a point ratehr than risk going 6 behind but hopefully we can do the business.Drogs v Shels will be an interesting game and i think 3 points for either will signify a good start......I fancy Dundalk to get something at Pats based on what ive seen of both teams .........Derry need a win to stop the already audible mumblings.....In the first it will be interesting to see if Athlone can continue their unexpectedly good start and Cork have the chance to put Bray on the back foot early, a team that some people were talking up as title rivals

27/02/2026, 1:18 PM
I thought Dundalk were pretty impressive against Rovers, so a bit worried about tonight. Lack of firepower is a major concern. We need Keena, Mata and Power back and (hopefully) firing on all cylinders asap.

sbgawa
27/02/2026, 3:20 PM
They were surprisingly good and even with my blinkered eyes i couldnt say they robbed the point.We should have been out od sight by HT, Burke actually cleared on off their line at one stage......but we werent out of sight and they hung in and grabbed an equalizer

Bohtastic
27/02/2026, 3:36 PM
Same old Derby Day emotion. Mix of excitement and crippling anxiety. Why do we put ourselves through it?

27/02/2026, 4:03 PM
I thought Dundalk were pretty impressive against Rovers, so a bit worried about tonight.

Best I've seen in the Brandywell, even though they didn't win.

Early doors to be saying this, but Lynch needs a win tonight. A clean sheet and a win would do much to calm people down.

We now have an actual RB with Cotter in, presumably he'll be straight in. That'll be the fourth player to play there in four games. James McClean looks to be kept in that #6, judging by Lynch's comments, so that'll get people nice and riled up when the line-ups come out. If we do manage to get service to Josh Thomas, he'll score. However, if Waterford do as expected and sit in, it could be a long night.

27/02/2026, 5:54 PM
Its a hard one to call. A draw would make sense but I can see us both losing and winning too. We need to convert draw situation to wins, it was too many draws that hurt us in seasons we struggled in relegation battles, they arent enough even if not losing. St Pats have had such a mediocre start that they will be looking to crank things up. Im going with 2-1, late winner for St Pats as we chase a winner.

dundalkfc10
27/02/2026, 6:45 PM
At least 10 flares let off by Pats fans here in Inchicore

I expect the FAI to come down hard on clubs over this and be plenty of empty sections in grounds over next few weeks

smasherdrog
27/02/2026, 6:49 PM
Sniffer dogs at United Park tonight
Still hundreds of fans outside waiting to go through searching while match on.

27/02/2026, 6:56 PM
Treaty with a bizarre jersey combo of white numbers printed on a white jersey

How is that even allowed? Have genuinely never seen anything like it

Bohtastic
27/02/2026, 8:01 PM
Jaysus. Waterford 2 up on Derry.
There will be hell up there.

A quality game here in Dalymount. We're worth the goal, but the Tallaght crowd always dangerous.

27/02/2026, 8:36 PM
Might just have dodged the impact of a bad beating with other results tonight. If you are going to lose let those below and around you lose or drop points! Derry...without Duffy could be relegation fodder for all the money spent. Dublin Derby hoodoo back?As for flare disruption, well I hope it annoys fans enough to call out those who were responsible, who will try in future. Let some common sense fans prevail and not the self anointed 'best fans brigade', thinking they rule the roost!

Calcio Jack
27/02/2026, 8:57 PM
Bohs lucky to hang on … guess as usual we’ll lose the battle but win the war …. Decent performance by Bohs overall and we looked very undercooked

Shinkicker
27/02/2026, 9:03 PM
What game were you watching, you were hot played in all areas of the park

27/02/2026, 9:07 PM
Good point for Harps on the road. Up and down in one day to Cobh is a truly horrible trip for the players so full marks for getting away with a deserved decent result.

ger121
27/02/2026, 9:11 PM
Bohs lucky to hang on … guess as usual we’ll lose the battle but win the war …. Decent performance by Bohs overall and we looked very undercooked

Madness from us at the end. Wouldn’t be a derby without some drama. You probably should win the war but you need to watch how many battles you lose…

27/02/2026, 9:11 PM
Bohs lucky to hang on … guess as usual we’ll lose the battle but win the war …. Decent performance by Bohs overall and we looked very undercookedOne day you will lose the war too if you insist on losing so many battles. If anyone was half consistent those Dublin Derby results would have broken a lot more of Rovers seasons. If Derry start showing some fight like tonight then this could be a significant influence in where the title goes.

dundalkfc10
27/02/2026, 9:16 PM
Might just have dodged the impact of a bad beating with other results tonight. If you are going to lose let those below and around you lose or drop points! Derry...without Duffy could be relegation fodder for all the money spent. Dublin Derby hoodoo back?As for flare disruption, well I hope it annoys fans enough to call out those who were responsible, who will try in future. Let some common sense fans prevail and not the self anointed 'best fans brigade', thinking they rule the roost!

We were very poor tonight alright but can't complain really with our start overall. Bog game in Galway next week and then a massive weekend with Waterford and Sligo at home Fri and Mon which should show us exactly where we are at

On the flares, which I see were out in Dalymount by both sets fans I see. Only way it's going to stop is if the FAI close ultra sections

da bishop
27/02/2026, 9:31 PM
Another car crash game for Treaty,no points,no goals and the performances especially tonight are absolutely dire ,add in the jersey fiasco tonight it sums up where the club is at the moment....a basket case.Barrett has set the narrative on the club from the start and has filled the airwaves with spoof talk.its 6 years in now and its going nowhere on and off the pitch and dont get me started on the academy ,a disaster.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
27/02/2026, 9:32 PM
Confirming what I thought last week. We’re the worst team in the league. And by a good bit.

Dermobohs
27/02/2026, 9:46 PM
Still not jumping to conclusions , very pleased with our start, apart from the last two minutes!!!
Rovers are sloppy but still the best squad,
Pats may be coming back, Derry also and you’d expect shels to get rolling soon.
Long way to go , but a good start.

oriel
27/02/2026, 10:01 PM
A right royal spanking as they say tonight for Dundalk, maybe 3 away games out of 4 played so far taking its toll, but disappointing.

Onwards to next week, simply have to get something out of Galway (another away game to make it 4 in 5), but at least home to Waterford Fri week, have to be looking to get 4 points from these 2.

Also disappointing to hear about flares at games after all that went on last weekend.

legendz
27/02/2026, 10:13 PM
11 league games without a win. Haven't won a league game since before the Mounthawk miracle.

ontheotherhand
27/02/2026, 10:14 PM
Still not jumping to conclusions , very pleased with our start, apart from the last two minutes!!!

Thought youd win. Was pleasantly surprised we dominated the first half. Haven't seen us outfight and outplay you for a while in dalymount. Undone by sloppy defending of course. We aren't really up to speed yet at all.

You were the better side for the second half. Very slick in possession and Hickey is a really good player.

2-2 probably would've been a fair result but when Dan Cleary is in the team there's always a chance of stupidity.

You'll finish top 3 at least and probably be leading the league after the first round of games. An injury to Whelan would be very damaging though I'd suspect. Night and day between him and our forwards TBF. Great player.

Dalymountrower
27/02/2026, 10:19 PM

Thought Bohs played through their press and midfield very easily.
Once Bohs copped on and kept it on the ground, they were well on top.
The 5 minutes of injury time was a good wake up call and showed why Rovers will be 10 ponts ahead of Bohs by the end of Setember.

27/02/2026, 10:30 PM
11 league games without a win. Haven't won a league game since before the Mounthawk miracle.

Hard to believe but they look to have regressed under Healy

Bohtastic
27/02/2026, 11:11 PM
2-2 probably would've been a fair result but when Dan Cleary is in the team there's always a chance of stupidity.

I think that's green and white tinted glasses you have on there. Another gilt edged chance fell to Rossi, and a goal line clearance at 2-0. You were hanging on for dear life before the late brainfart by Chorazka gave you some hope.

27/02/2026, 11:50 PM
Confirming what I thought last week. We’re the worst team in the league. And by a good bit.Not possible, sure you have tradition on your side!!Bottom 4 as it is tonight could well be the final weeks table, where exactly depends on luck with injuries. My brain is saying that we have enough to stay out of serious trouble if we show the level of intent in the 3 games prior to tonight. The LoI head says that we should be bottom on paper and Sligo will improve, Galway and Waterford should have more than us also. Hopefully Pats have just hit where they should have been game 1, pace and taking chances doing damage.

Jack B
28/02/2026, 12:15 AM
Changed my mind. We're winning the league.

Jack B
28/02/2026, 12:41 AM
Also on a more sincere note, Ryan Edmondson looks a hilarious player. His general play has been pretty impressive - proper nuisance, links play well etc, but whenever he's actually attempted to have a shot he's failed to connect with the ball. Been a bit sublime to the ridiculous with no in between.

Glen Of Aherlow
28/02/2026, 5:34 AM
Also on a more sincere note, Ryan Edmondson looks a hilarious player. His general play has been pretty impressive - proper nuisance, links play well etc, but whenever he's actually attempted to have a shot he's failed to connect with the ball. Been a bit sublime to the ridiculous with no in between.

Edmondson makes Conor Carty look composed , Keena would have had a hat trick if he was on from the start

Nah Nah Nah Nah
28/02/2026, 6:22 AM
Not possible, sure you have tradition on your side!!Bottom 4 as it is tonight could well be the final weeks table, where exactly depends on luck with injuries. My brain is saying that we have enough to stay out of serious trouble if we show the level of intent in the 3 games prior to tonight. The LoI head says that we should be bottom on paper and Sligo will improve, Galway and Waterford should have more than us also. Hopefully Pats have just hit where they should have been game 1, pace and taking chances doing damage.

We look to have not signed well this season whereas you guys have. We’ve barely created a chance in 4 games.

ontheotherhand
28/02/2026, 6:50 AM
I think that's green and white tinted glasses you have on there. Another gilt edged chance fell to Rossi, and a goal line clearance at 2-0. You were hanging on for dear life before the late brainfart by Chorazka gave you some hope.

Maybe so. As I said, I expected us to lose given how we played on Monday. 6 shots on target each so you might be forgetting a few of our chances. Was happy with parts of it, particularly the first half. But you played well in the second. We are lacking something up top without Gaffney. Big risk taken signing him up again but it seemed like the right call last season.

Hickey looks like a great signing for you.

joey B
28/02/2026, 7:18 AM
Great point for us in Cobh,we’ve been rank rotten down there in recent seasons but definitely put in a more resolute display,hanging on a bit at the end but a point gratefully received…..

Dalymountrower
28/02/2026, 7:58 AM
Maybe so. As I said, I expected us to lose given how we played on Monday. 6 shots on target each so you might be forgetting a few of our chances. Was happy with parts of it, particularly the first half. But you played well in the second. We are lacking something up top without Gaffney. Big risk taken signing him up again but it seemed like the right call last season.

Hickey looks like a great signing for you.
Thought first half was even enough, but Bohs well on top in the second until they collectively switched off at 90 minutes.
Hickey is a great signing, as is Todd.
Missing Mullen and Power and DJ Taylor last night , so at least a bit of depth in the squad.
Would be nice to make a go of it being a competitive title fight in our last Dalymount season.

ontheotherhand
28/02/2026, 8:08 AM
Thought first half was even enough, but Bohs well on top in the second until they collectively switched off at 90 minutes.
Hickey is a great signing, as is Todd.
Missing Mullen and Power and DJ Taylor last night , so at least a bit of depth in the squad.
Would be nice to make a go of it being a competitive title fight in our last Dalymount season.

Yeah you look strong. If Whelan stays fit you'll be right there. Really clever player. Of the four contenders you look the most settled already. Probably added exactly what you were missing last season?

We need to find a way to blend the mix we have. Quite disorganised at the moment and missing a focal point up top.

28/02/2026, 3:37 PM
add in the jersey fiasco tonight.
Do you know what the craic was with that out of interest? I presume it's the regular away kit for the season - but I can't understand how anyone commissioned a white shirt with white numbers!

Zico
28/02/2026, 3:58 PM
Hard to believe but they look to have regressed under Healy100% have regressed and the style of football is even worse!!! Awful to watch..

28/02/2026, 5:41 PM
Derry...without Duffy could be relegation fodder for all the money spent.

Can't argue with that.

We got away with one last night. Started well in the first 10/15 minutes, then did what we do and went behind. Horrible, horrible stuff with Beach in goals. I'd probably send him back to Kilmarnock based on that goal alone. (I'd take McMullan off Waterford, if he's available!)
Did little else until after Waterford got their second for a penalty that we all saw coming in slow motion. O'Reilly was always going to commit the goal. Dreadful.

Got one back on the hour, made changes on 70 odd minutes, James McClean amongst them. Got a lot, lot after we scored. It was all Derry from then.
Duffy's second was some touch of skill, even with the questionable Waterford marking. Big Dipo with the third, who would probably start if he was fully fit, really adds to our attack. Such a big presence and a great aerial threat. The fourth goal just felt harsh on Waterford.
Perfect hattrick from Duffy. We're fecked if he gets injured.

The scoreline really wasn't a true reflection of the game. Waterford was very good for the first hour. Could have scored more. At 2-2, Carty hit the inside of the post, and it somehow went out for a goal kick.
I don't think they'll be in bother this season, never mind what the betting markets say.

Lynch got lucky last night. More boos at HT, boos at subs (that's a new one). He's quickly losing the crowd.
Tallaght next week, get your money on both teams to score.

28/02/2026, 5:42 PM
Why was Ruairi Gaffney not playing for shamrock rovers out of interest?

28/02/2026, 6:53 PM

Agree about his general play, actually thought he was quite decent last night in holding the ball up and laying it off, but, by Christ he's appalling in front of goal. How many fresh air swings at the ball has he had now while attempting to shoot ?

Overall, thought we were pretty good last night. I expected more from Dundalk, and they started well in fairness, but once we got in front it was comfortable enough. Need another win on Monday now to back it up. No sign of Ronan Boyce in the squad last night, which seems a bit strange unless he's ill or injured. The Godfather of Soul, James Brown had a good debut though. Another highlight was an absolutely outrageous nutmeg by the one and only Chris Forrestor near the end.

Glen Of Aherlow
28/02/2026, 7:14 PM
Agree about his general play, actually thought he was quite decent last night in holding the ball up and laying it off, but, by Christ he's appalling in front of goal. How many fresh air swings at the ball has he had now while attempting to shoot ?

Overall, thought we were pretty good last night. I expected more from Dundalk, and they started well in fairness, but once we got in front it was comfortable enough. Need another win on Monday now to back it up. No sign of Ronan Boyce in the squad last night, which seems a bit strange unless he's ill or injured. The Godfather of Soul, James Brown had a good debut though. Another highlight was an absolutely outrageous nutmeg by the one and only Chris Forrestor near the end.

Thought it was interesting that when Forrrester came on he seemed to be playing further forward than he would have previously . Would like to see him continue to be played as the furthest forward of the midfield three , when you can do the things he can , you want him as near the opposition goal as possible

da bishop
28/02/2026, 7:40 PM
Do you know what the craic was with that out of interest? I presume it's the regular away kit for the season - but I can't understand how anyone commissioned a white shirt with white numbers!

Looks like a supplier error....looks /... cant understand why they didnt do a short term job on numbers...embarassing tbh.

ontheotherhand
28/02/2026, 8:25 PM
Why was Ruairi Gaffney not playing for shamrock rovers out of interest?

He's injured. Don't think he'll feature much tbh. A risk worth taking but maybe not one that's panned out.

28/02/2026, 10:45 PM
Looks like a supplier error....looks /... cant understand why they didnt do a short term job on numbers...embarassing tbh.Its not as if we all havent seen rolls of black insulating tape used to sort number out at some point. Im pretty sure it was done during one of the inside out jersey occasions!?

01/03/2026, 7:28 AM
Well the famous one would have been Richie Dunne's number 5 drawn onto his jersey in black marker in 2011

Though taking the pitch in jerseys marked with gaffer tape or marker wouldn't have looked any better in fairness

01/03/2026, 4:55 PM
Well the famous one would have been Richie Dunne's number 5 drawn onto his jersey in black marker in 2011

Though taking the pitch in jerseys marked with gaffer tape or marker wouldn't have looked any better in fairness

Speaking of Richard Dunne his late father passed away reccently. Didnt know his father was a very good defender in his day and was part of St Pats Athletic side who won a major trophy in the mid 1960s.

legendz
02/03/2026, 7:55 AM
Hard to believe but they look to have regressed under Healy

Disappointing start after a poor finish to last year. While I was asking tongue in cheek last week - if it is time for panic, the hope is that the new players will gel and go on a reasonable run. Experienced manager - check. Experienced players - check. Going on a reasonable run - time will tell.

Glen Of Aherlow
02/03/2026, 8:55 PM
Left it late , Mata did really well when he came on and great finish from Leavy . Credit to Galway who worked hard , defended well and will be gutted not to get a draw . Another win , another clean sheet and up to 2nd a decent weekend all round

Jack B
03/03/2026, 10:00 AM
Good weekend for us. Different type of game last night where Galway came happy to get a draw and almost succeeded, would still have reservations over Pats' ability to create chances but it's probably not the game to read too much into for that. Great for Leavy to get his goal, looks like it could be a strong partnership between him and Brown down the right side.