View Full Version : Fixtures weekend 20/23rd Feb
sbgawa
20/02/2026, 4:16 PM
Premier Division Derry City v Bohemians Shelbourne v Galway United Waterford v Sligo Rovers Shamrock Rovers v St. Patrick's Athletic Dundalk v Drogheda UnitedFirst DivisionFriday 20th Finn Harps v UCD Kerry v Athlone Town Treaty United v Bray Wanderers Wexford v Cork CitySaturday 21st Longford Town v Cobh RamblersPremier Division Monday 23rd Sh0amrock Rovers v Dundalk
sbgawa
20/02/2026, 4:18 PM
Sorry i will do it on my mobile next week, this formatting thing is doing my head in.Anyway Hopefully we are off to a winning start tonight
sessylU
20/02/2026, 8:35 PM
Early days, time needed to gel, can't say anything for sure at this early stage, it's a long season and so on and so on, but, Derry look very poor. Bohs are a good side and aren't letting them play, but nor is it clear what Derry's plan is. Very disjointed, too many passes to nothing. They look like units that haven't played together (which in fairness, they haven't) but they also don't seem to know what it is they're supposed to be trying to do. Players shouting at each other, and ignoring each other.
I'm not convinced James McClean should start in centre-mid. Can Lynch drop him? Can he drop Patrick, even?
Where's Alex Bannon? Played brilliantly two weeks ago, now is nowhere to be seen: replaced by a midfielder last week (destabilising the core of the team) and by a left back this week. Another player that Lynch has fallen out with?
sbgawa
20/02/2026, 8:57 PM
Brennan was superb for Rovers tonight deserdvedly MOM , Pats had their chances though.Its bohs to lose from here :)
Calcio Jack
20/02/2026, 8:58 PM
Adam Brennan was outstanding for Rovers …. An assist and a goal and one of the best debuts I’ve ever seen….. Rovers look to be in robust good shape….. as for Pats …. They looked dreadful….. I wonder for how long will Kenny get if performances like that continue ?
20/02/2026, 9:03 PM
So about 2 minutes in 2 games and 4 points dropped. No better time than Monday to pick up that first win. I like this Dundalk side, early days but there is a tenacity, character, work ethic and some ability with a manager that just seems to get tactics.
20/02/2026, 9:38 PM
Oriel Park badly needs a new pitch. Youd think that flares in numbers would have been expected. Drogs fans have always targeted the surface with flares. Put netting up in front of the away section and if it annoys anyone well speak to Drog ultras.
20/02/2026, 10:03 PM
Good Harps performance tonight. Wonderful goal from Conor Tourish. Funny for all the chat from UCD over the years, Collie O'Neill and the 'wrestlers' talk mostly, they were as cynical a side as I've seen in Finn Park for some time now. Body-checking, leaving the shoulder in, leaving the foot in, and their fair share of dirty challenges. Harps' Shaunie Bradley can probably count himself fortunate to have stayed on the pitch for a high challenge of his own, but it was constant throughout the game from UCD. Haven't seen a UCD side as cynical and dirty in a long while.
2 Year Contract
20/02/2026, 10:15 PM
First half in Tallaght was much like the game in the Aviva a couple of weeks ago, neither side did anything of note really first half. Second half Pats had a really good 15-20 min spell of pressure, hit the post twice, really should’ve scored at least one of them and it might’ve been a different game. Poor defending for both goals after that and it did feel like game over once rovers took the lead. Brennan looked very good for rovers, who brought on Noonan, Burke and Byrne from the bench to change the game, depth that will likely see nobody in the league get near them this year by the looks of things. Bar Mulraney, who was dirt and put in a classic 2025 performance of backwards passing, putting in minimal effort off the ball and over hitting crosses in promising positions before turning into Casper the (overweight) ghost in the second half till he was subbed off, allowing rovers to win the game
ger121
20/02/2026, 11:02 PM
3 tricky enough fixtures, 3 cleansheets, 7 points and top of the table. I think we are looking good for the February Cup.
Roones26
21/02/2026, 12:19 AM
For all the chat recently on programmes I see Bartley said on Twitter there that's it for Harps and the printed programme
legendz
21/02/2026, 12:39 AM
Is it time for panic? Kerry are doomed.
10 league games without a win. A core group who haven't achieved a season average of more than a point per game. Kerry supporters were disappointed to see Teahan leave for Dundalk. Have Kerry signed any players that supporters of other clubs were disappointed to see go?
Colin Healy has branded tonight's loss at home to Athlone Town as "not good enough". He was saying the same after Wexford at home in the previous home game. Same after Bray away and UCD away. "Not good enough" is becoming a broken record at the moment.
Kiki Balboa
21/02/2026, 4:50 AM
Another 2 points dropped by Dundalk on the pitch. Should have won.
Typical Drogheda off the pitch. Clearly, they went to vandalise and cause damage to the new pitch going by the statements of their fans before and after.
Faced no repercussions for their disgraceful behaviour in 2024, and doubt they will face any repercussions again. A club handled with kiddies gloves for whatever reason.
MoydowMonty
21/02/2026, 5:55 AM
Is it time for panic? Kerry are doomed.10 league games without a win. A core group who haven't achieved a season average of more than a point per game. Kerry supporters were disappointed to see Teahan leave for Dundalk. Have Kerry signed any players that supporters of other clubs were disappointed to see go?Colin Healy has branded tonight's loss at home to Athlone Town as "not good enough". He was saying the same after Wexford at home in the previous home game. Same after Bray away and UCD away. "Not good enough" is becoming a broken record at the moment.Well ghe first thing he needs to do is swap keepers. I wasn't Halwax's biggest fam at Longford, but he's more reliable than Connor. His mistakes are the reason ye don't have a point. Ya might even be on 2 points or even 4 atm and things wouldn't look so gloomy. Don't know how he's getting the nod, that goal last night was shocking.Aside that, yeah just not good enough with those signings. Still have time before hitting any panic button, but Kerry should comfortably be in top 3, you'd be disappointed if ye are scraping for 5th
Poor game at the RSC last night with not many chances. Amond hit the bar with a penalty. Sligo had a few half chances in 2nd half and had a good penalty shout in last minute but ref didn't give it. I'm hoping Waterford's new signings are just taking time to settle in but looks like both teams last night could struggle again.
Shinkicker
21/02/2026, 7:34 AM
Bohs fully deserved their win. By far the better team ,never let Derry play. I don't know where Derry go from here, they are very disjointed. Players looked like they weren't comfortable in their positions. While Bohs looked like they been together for a long time, excellent defensively and every player working tirelessly. It's great to see this. The squad is now a full Reynolds squad so it will be interesting to see what they can do.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
21/02/2026, 7:35 AM
Decent first 45 in Derry (who it turns out aren’t that good) and then we’ve been horrendous since. Last night was an awful game but still Waterford had enough chances to win. Then we should have been given a chance to knick it at the end with a penalty but would not have deserved it. See what we’re like in Galway but I’d have us as the worst team in the league at the moment.
21/02/2026, 8:38 AM
Another 2 points dropped by Dundalk on the pitch. Should have won.Typical Drogheda off the pitch. Clearly, they went to vandalise and cause damage to the new pitch going by the statements of their fans before and after. Faced no repercussions for their disgraceful behaviour in 2024, and doubt they will face any repercussions again. A club handled with kiddies gloves for whatever reason.An update on how the kid that was burnt is would be good. Intentional damage to the pitch is quite sad and shows how pathetic the culprits are. But if their behaviour has injured a young fan then the pitch is a distant 2nd concern!I would see this as as bad as what happened in the RSC with Rovers fans. Wasnt there talk of suspended stadium bans after that? The number of flares thrown on the pitch last night should pobably have resulted in the game being stopped, it would have indicated that it was considere a serious incident. Rovers were quick to condemn what happened in the RSC and issued bans. Its the least that should happen after last night. I havent seen anything from DUFC yet.How Dundalk fans or a section of us behave after this will be interesting. It'd be nice to think all that will happen in the future is a show of pure contempt.
21/02/2026, 8:53 AM
Treaty were woeful in attack, but Bray really could have been down to 10 men within the first 2 minutes.
Have a look at the LOI highlights. It's wide but he would certainly have had a shot at goal.
Kiki Balboa
21/02/2026, 8:58 AM
I would see this as as bad as what happened in the RSC with Rovers fans. Wasnt there talk of suspended stadium bans after that?
For me, its way worse than what happened st Rovers.
Every club has a moron who does something stupid. And Rovers fans at least sorted that problem out themselves to their credit.
Their is a difference with the official ultras group going to a game with the sole purpose of throwing flares around. The idea of their tifo display was to vandalise the pitch and cause damage. Burning a 12 year is just another consequence of their moronic behaviour.
Drogheda will protect them like they always do.
Dalymountrower
21/02/2026, 9:28 AM
For me, its way worse than what happened st Rovers.
Every club has a moron who does something stupid. And Rovers fans at least sorted that problem out themselves to their credit.
Their is a difference with the official ultras group going to a game with the sole purpose of throwing flares around. The idea of their tifo display was to vandalise the pitch and cause damage. Burning a 12 year is just another consequence of their moronic behaviour.
Drogheda will protect them like they always do.
Sorry to hear that happening in Dundalk.
Hope the kid is ok.
Footage of fireworks being fired out of the ground onto Dundalk fans on the street too.
Time for those ultra groupds to he charged with reckless endangerment if thry irgsnise flare" displays"
On a positive note,limiting away fans to members only , sensible PSNI and clubs advice to travelling fans and friendly stewarding meant the game in the Brandwell went off peacefully last night.
Bohs were very good at times .Derry were very disjointed.Mc Clean as midfield playmaker is killing them.
ontheotherhand
21/02/2026, 9:30 AM
Rovers very comfortable against pats despite starting a few that won't be in our best 11. Pats, outside of a 10 mins spell offered nothing and I don't really see what Kenny is trying to do there tbh. Maybe just need to get players back but I'd be concerned if I was a pats fan.
Adam Brennan had one of the best debuts I've seen. Already looks a level above and if he keeps it up he will be gone soon. Wasn't sure we'd be able to replace Honohan but Brennan did everything Josh used to do. Defended like a demon and his attacking play was unreal. Some of his first touches were just sublime.
Bohs winning the league in February, two months ahead of schedule. Fair play to them.
McClean and Derry doesn't seem like the match made in heaven it was supposed to be.
Early days all round of course. Great to be back.
WoodquayBoy
21/02/2026, 9:33 AM
Hammer the club (Drogheda) with a big fine and then watch them weed out the troublemakers. Same with any other club - if your fans cause trouble, you’re paying the price, might force clubs who don’t act to do something about the problem.
wonder88
21/02/2026, 9:53 AM
A positive result and a vital first point for Galway in an engrossing game in Tolka last night. It is very much a new Galway team, but there is some encouraging signs there. Shelbourne have some really good players and will be up near the top of the table I expect. Good to see the repairs to the new stand behind the goal nearly finished and the pitch looked good also. I didn't get to the home game 2 weeks ago, so it was great to be back. ( With the Irish weather, do we start the season 2 weeks too early?).
Most but not all clubs have a minority who get drawn into trouble, the common theme is age and possibly under the influence and maybe encouraged by older fans. No one minds banter, its actually important for the atmosphere, the classic Bill Shankly line 'football without fans (cans) is nothing' it adds to the atmosphere.
Last night was the first game in well over a year where over 100 away fans attended, Drogs didn't quite sell out their 500 but it was 400+, this time though the % of those looking to actively and pre arrange vandalise and destruct property was clear, it was up to 50 people possibly more.
1/ Brand new fence in front buckled in two sections, ripped apart.
2/ Up to 20 seats ripped up from solid foundation and 2 seats burnt beyond use.
3/ Lost count, was 30 at the last time of checking that high burning (not the standard) flares thrown at a low angle to cause immediate damage on impact to the new pitch (first time visiting supporters attending).
Dundalk fans have been no angels at times, but last night was a disgrace by Drogheda, up to 20 volunteers gave up Sat mornings in Jan and Feb solely to work on the away end, fencing, painting, power hose (contractor), the massive clean up behind with jcb's, it was just depressing to look at the damage to the area and black burnt patches over the pitch.
The place looked so well too overall with new lights and the badly needed new pitch, great buzz entering the ground and just under 4k at it, then the away fans started their organised plan.
21/02/2026, 10:02 AM
I have seen a pic of the kid that was injured, its nasty enough, whole side of his face burned. He is very very lucky that it looks to be superficial. Any worse and someone was in trouble for GBH and a Garada invetigation would be underway. There still could be if a report is made by his graudians to Gardai. I wont post a link up, its out there if people want to look for it. Its no the smartest of things to do moments after the Minister for Sport, responsible for grant funding, had just opened the new pitch. These things can influence the decision makers. New Dundalk CEO is recently retired Director of Services with Louth CoCo. When it comes to who pays for repairs he's still a highly regarded and connected to another organisation you need on your side for well a lot of stuff. It may not be too easy to brush off in the coming days.
21/02/2026, 10:09 AM
I just don't know who gets enjoyment out of criminal damage. What possesses anyone to rip up seats, fencing, and burn a pitch in the manner they did. This is definitely the worst case of vandalism the league has seen in quite some time, and the FAI need to come down very hard on Drogheda here. Dundalk need to be sending repair bills for the pitch to Trivela, and there needs to be a stadium ban for Drogheda supporters. I don't care if it seems harsh, or an overreaction, but a proper example needs to be set here.
21/02/2026, 10:11 AM
Most but not all clubs have a minority who get drawn into trouble, the common theme is age and possibly under the influence and maybe encouraged by older fans. No one minds banter, its actually important for the atmosphere, the classic Bill Shankly line 'football without fans (cans) is nothing' it adds to the atmosphere.Last night was the first game in well over a year where over 100 away fans attended, Drogs didn't quite sell out their 500 but it was 400+, this time though the % of those looking to actively and pre arrange vandalise and destruct property was clear, it was up to 50 people possibly more.1/ Brand new fence in front buckled in two sections, ripped apart.2/ Up to 20 seats ripped up from solid foundation and 2 seats burnt beyond use.3/ Lost count, was 30 at the last time of checking that high burning (not the standard) flares thrown at a low angle to cause immediate damage on impact to the new pitch (first time visiting supporters attending).Dundalk fans have been no angels at times, but last night was a disgrace by Drogheda, up to 20 volunteers gave up Sat mornings in Jan and Feb solely to work on the away end, fencing, painting, power hose (contractor), the massive clean up behind with jcb's, it was just depressing to look at the damage to the area and black burnt patches over the pitch.The place looked so well too overall with new lights and the badly needed new pitch, great buzz entering the ground and just under 4k at it, then the away fans started their organised plan.Im more surpried today at the amount of Drogheda people laughing or dismissing what happened, a lot of thats what you get for using an artificial surface or 'bouncy castle' that some super witty person came up with years ago. They are not kids either. There hasnt even been any widespread criticism of the fact that there was somone injured during this messing. Whatever about the pitch I thought there'd be some copping on that this was dangerous and beyond targeting a rival club when your own fans were hurt.
21/02/2026, 10:12 AM
I have seen a pic of the kid that was injured, its nasty enough, whole side of his face burned. He is very very lucky that it looks to be superficial. Any worse and someone was in trouble for GBH and a Garada invetigation would be underway. There still could be if a report is made by his graudians to Gardai. I wont post a link up, its out there if people want to look for it. Its no the smartest of things to do moments after the Minister for Sport, responsible for grant funding, had just opened the new pitch. These things can influence the decision makers. New Dundalk CEO is recently retired Director of Services with Louth CoCo. When it comes to who pays for repairs he's still a highly regarded and connected to another organisation you need on your side for well a lot of stuff. It may too easy to brush off in the coming days.I had my own 12 year old and 9 year old sons in Finn Park last night and I shudder at the thought of my child being badly burnt by fireworks or flares. Its utterly shocking behaviour and I can only hope that lad makes a full recovery and isn't scarred for life either from the firework, or the thought of attending his local LOI ground. In a time where the very same lads who throw these fireworks will call others barstoolers or bemoan the lack of crowds at games, they'll be the very same people who put others off attending.
dundalkfc10
21/02/2026, 10:28 AM
The Drogheda ultra group have a video on their socials laughing about what happened last night After all there statement's during the week about Joanna (which were 100% correct)!If they are not banned from games, Drogheda obvs don't care about kids getting hurt On the game, sickner to lose the win at the end like we did but that's 2 games now and we will easily finish well away from relegation if that's the standard of teams we are playing
Kiki Balboa
21/02/2026, 10:34 AM
What's annoying me this morning is Drogheda Fans online almost feel entitled to cause damage in Oriel. Lots of justification of their actions, while their ultras group are openly celebrating it (again shows their entitlement and how they are coddled by the club).On OrielWeb, they are saying the damage could be as much as E100k, and Dundalk might not be able to host home games for a while. Hopefully that is wrong, and Drogheda foot any bill.
sbgawa
21/02/2026, 10:38 AM
Your earlier post Nigel about "who takes pleasure in criminal damage" is a good questionIn my experience its people who dont contribute anything to the club beyond a ticket , never volunteer, never fund raise , sell raffle tickets etc. when you know how hard people in the league work to put facilities in place you wouldnt dream about wrecking them
dundalkfc10
21/02/2026, 10:50 AM
Your earlier post Nigel about "who takes pleasure in criminal damage" is a good questionIn my experience its people who dont contribute anything to the club beyond a ticket , never volunteer, never fund raise , sell raffle tickets etc. when you know how hard people in the league work to put facilities in place you wouldnt dream about wrecking them
The sad part about all this is the F45 group do volunteer around Drogheda and are happy about what happened. Celebrating it on their socials
Not one word about the poor kid though so clearly they are just a bunch of scumbags volunteering or not
ger121
21/02/2026, 10:56 AM
Optics are an important thing. There was a lot of news about the new pitch and it was a positive story. I believe there was even Government politicians at the match. This therefore looks quite bad. My feeling is that this one won’t pass without a serious sanction for the Drogs. The FAI will be looking to make an example of someone. It’s always about the optics…
ger121
21/02/2026, 10:57 AM
The sad part about all this is the F45 group do volunteer around Drogheda and are happy about what happened. Celebrating it on their socials
Not one word about the poor kid though so clearly they are just a bunch of scumbags volunteering or not
I did not know about the kid till I read it here. That makes it when worse. I hope he will be ok.
Inchicore
21/02/2026, 10:58 AM
If the 1st two games are anything to go by, Kenny hasn't changed anything regarding his approach. So much for spending time shadowing coaches in England.
He needs to play 1 or both of forrester and Palmer on Friday v Dundalk. Nothing, absolutely nothing going forward in both our games so far.
On a side note, have we lost our identity of having one of the best pathways for academy players since Kenny arrived?
He would rather pay high wages to mercenaries than give our academy players a pathway.
D24Saint
21/02/2026, 11:07 AM
If the 1st two games are anything to go by, Kenny hasn't changed anything regarding his approach. So much for spending time shadowing coaches in England. He needs to play 1 or both of forrester and Palmer on Friday v Dundalk. Nothing, absolutely nothing going forward in both our games so far. On a side note, have we lost our identity of having one of the best pathways for academy players since Kenny arrived?He would rather pay high wages to mercenaries than give our academy players a pathway.The whole SK era looks like it’s going to be an expensive dead end. The chap looks washed up as a coach at the moment. He might need a break from the game. I find watching his teams very frustrating since the start of last season. There is very little identity to the side and it’s all a bit paint by numbers for my taste.
Inchicore
21/02/2026, 11:19 AM
He got this job on the back of what he did at Dundalk. OK he built the team up but he had the biggest budget, biggest squad, league was a 2 horse race and some teams were still part time. The league is a different animal these days and he hasn't been able to adapt to it.
Comes across as a nice guy but can't see him being here for the summer transfer window.
With that, our DOF should go too. Talks a good game but hasn't a clue. Unfortunately he has GK wrapped around his finger.
From top to bottom as they say......
21/02/2026, 11:47 AM
What's annoying me this morning is Drogheda Fans online almost feel entitled to cause damage in Oriel. Lots of justification of their actions, while their ultras group are openly celebrating it (again shows their entitlement and how they are coddled by the club).On OrielWeb, they are saying the damage could be as much as E100k, and Dundalk might not be able to host home games for a while. Hopefully that is wrong, and Drogheda foot any bill.Im genuinely baffled by the wider response south of the county. Has there been a case where Rovers or Bohs fans go to a game against each other with the open sole intent to just to cause as much damage as possible. Yes seats get broken, idiots dancing on them, some halfwit might smash a toilet or something. But I dont recall large amounts of a travelling support collectively behaving in such a way in LoI. Its beyond fights on the street after which would have angered me for disgracing my club. On this I feel like the parent of a seriously out of control teenager that is hurting people with real malice. Its like diappointment, concern and fear (that its not being roundly condemned overwhelingly....what ha gone wrong with people, a serious erosion of cop on. Maybe we've alll gotten older and wiser together on this forum as in the past there would outrage and finger pointing in ridiculous 'our schooligans are slightly less worse than yours' way. This was more sinister than stupidity and mischief. I think a lot of people are missing the real issue with this - saying that searches were inadequate, that others will just do the same (which I actually dont believe, an individual can alway let everyone down but I dont think fan groups across the league would be going to Oriel Park thinking this is what we are going to do); people referring back to Dundalk fans in United Park doing something. Lots of justification but few just coming out and saying it was bad form, its a bad look for our club, expressing embaressment, club statement condeming it (even if its just due to the injured kid, which according to his family his coat was alight also along with the flash burns to the face). It should be a wake-up call not denial and deflection, where were werent far off one of the worst incidents in LoI if that kid had been a bit less lucky. For Dundalk too in terms of how they police games. Netting will probaly go up now, just to make the away end an even more welcoming experience. think Deuty Drog used to post here and he is the only Drog fan Ive seen expressing embaressment, where are the rest?
MeathDrog
21/02/2026, 12:40 PM
I can only echo what has already been said here. I can't understand the mindset that not only condones but cheers on what happened last night.
I've seen comments made by Drogheda fans on FB who really should know better. People who are married, have kids etc. You could understand it if it came from an immature teen. The whole incident (and week) has left me feeling depressed tbh.
21/02/2026, 12:41 PM
He got this job on the back of what he did at Dundalk. OK he built the team up but he had the biggest budget, biggest squad, league was a 2 horse race and some teams were still part time. The league is a different animal these days and he hasn't been able to adapt to it.
In his defence, his first half season at Pat's was very promising. 11 wins in a row (was it?) and ended up in a title race.
Last season was a disaster, and this season then needs to be an improvement for a coach of his profile.
Inchicore
21/02/2026, 1:22 PM
He had a slow start to Pats after taking over from Daly. A good run in Europe lead to the 11 wins in a row.....which corresponded with several players looking for a new contract which back fired after several were given big deals to stay on.
Kiki Balboa
21/02/2026, 1:39 PM
Journalists are saying Drogheda fans are going to be banned from some away games.
Which I don't get, it penalising other clubs for Droghedas behaviour. Why not give them a home match ban ?
ger121
21/02/2026, 3:41 PM
The whole SK era looks like it’s going to be an expensive dead end. The chap looks washed up as a coach at the moment. He might need a break from the game. I find watching his teams very frustrating since the start of last season. There is very little identity to the side and it’s all a bit paint by numbers for my taste.
I know he started coaching at a very young age but he has been around a very very long time. Managers have a certain number of years in the game and it feels like his time is coming to an end.
21/02/2026, 5:47 PM
Ive always that a coaching teams is as important as a manager. Does depend on how much a manager is willing to listen. Its no secret that Kenny has great belief in the way he wasnts the game played, committment to players to a fault. We can all see that the days of slow build-up, possession based game ihasnt the impact it did. Things have gone to higher intesnity, more direct, and posession means little enough. Sam Allardyce would be bank in his element where lesser sides are not trying to outplay quality oppoition but back to POMO, long throw ins in to the box and all. Maybe Gartland is too much a Kenny man to offer alternative thinking. The one strength Kenny had was getting a lot more out of average players than anyone should, creating real belief but from what Pats fans are saying they are not leaving it all on the pitch, no late goals, showing too much trust in some lads. Its not unfixable. Big spenders are not getting the return youd expect recenly. Rovers win leagues but can be sketchy although the can afford to pick and choose when to perform, go up gears or just do enough.
I think a strong point on any manager is how an opposition fan rates him, for example when Dundalk had that disaster period with Noel King for one month, SK was linked, I would have loved him to come back, but we were a basket case, he was right to pass.
Now with the re-build, and things looking up, the ground finally looking good for all its faults, the lights are amazing strength and the pitch looks great, ball seems to zip across it, back to same Q on SK now, not on your nelly as they say, I wouldn't even consider it if it came to a choice between him and Kilduff.
That said, for some reason I do see him coming back to Dundalk at some point, but years and years away, more so for his personal location as he's living in Blackrock.
On Pats, they have yet to play a home game, I think a little harsh to say he's struggling, but if he misses europe again, I would question if Kelleher will stick with him, then again he will need paid off, as prob has at least 2-3 years left on his contract. Pats may well improve this season though, very early stages.
Just on the Drogs thing, word on banning them for their next away game, I also don't get the logic on that as its only punishing the home club hosting, and in this case its Sligo (their next home game).
As its a Sat night, its one of the more attractive games, ok the Drogs fans may well miss out, but its more the case that Sligo will suffer as if Drogs took say 350 over, that's around 6k (I've estimated mix of most adults / kids and avg price), so that's not exactly fair why Sligo should take the hit.
Anyway, seems Drogs might have more concerns on a very bad week for them per this and if their owners are seriously considering their position. Anyway thats none of my concern, more is that they should be billed for all damages last night.
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/drogheda-to-assist-with-oriel-park-investigation-as-owners-trivela-consider-future-after-dramatic-week/a1043900578.html
For some reason, I cannot use the QUOTE function, this is a post in reply to MeathDrog
You seem a decent guy and a proper football fan, appreciate your words after last night, and I can tell you if boot was on the other shoe I`d be furious at Dundalk fans celebrating doing wanton damage, as would any supporter.
We met your club secretary in the away end around 10pm last night, he was absolutely disgusted with the damage and had his hands on his face, I didn't catch his name, he also verbally apologised to the Dundalk CEO on behalf the club.
We all know clubs have morons (we also have), but last night was just off the scale, plus it was all planned and comments made during the week from the F45 that it would happen too was just unbelievable, and more so given the week that Drogs had with the sensitive behind the scenes things going on.
In summary, not that I have much influence, but any I have and with friends and supporter groups, we will be doing our best to 'guide' away fans going to next Drogs game to behave properly, 2 wrongs don't make a right etc.
21/02/2026, 10:40 PM
They've already had a couple of away bans, they are totally ineffective. The FAI need to take some flack here I'm afraid. The level of violence has been escalating very quickly in this fixture in recent years. It's gone from breaking into each other's grounds and stealing flags to on pitch brawls and now plain outright pre planned criminal damage and running battles in the streets.
I don't like calling for it as it effects genuine match going fans but there needs to be a home stadium closure, a serious fine and a concrete warning that if there's as much as a sweet wrapper thrown again it's a points deduction.
If last night is swept under carpet like the 2024 brawl was and like Derry v Bohs was last year then this will only escalate further. What's next, a stabbing? That may sound incredibly dramatic but we are talking about completely brain dead individuals who have been dragged up.
22/02/2026, 1:01 PM
On the 'quote' issue, ive found if you click it and when it start with the loading circle or whatever it called, click it again and it load for me.